Gusto Reviews

Gusto Reviews

Gusto

All-in-one HR, payroll, and health benefits for SMBs.

4.74/5 (117 reviews)
35,584     10,403

Maire Hina Bavarday

Verified Reviewer

BEST Payroll App ever!

23/03/2017

I started to use Gusto in 2015, I have been fully satisfied since! All the time I would spend taking car of HR task was used to grow my business instead. I also had trouble looking for workers comp insurance and they took care of the whole process for me. The self onboarding is awesome, saves paper and time!

Pros

A very complete platform for payroll, the best function is the self on boarding when hiring a new person. All you need is their name and email address and Gusto does the rest! They also make sure your business is HR compliant.

Cons

I wish they had a time tracker or timesheet option for my employees, however I use a separate app called BOOMR that integrates with Gusto. So it's great!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

You can do 1 month free trial, DO TRY IT! even if you use another provider for payroll services, believe me you won't regret and will want to switch with them! so much easier!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ash Kumar

Needs a lot more fatures

06/03/2017

I recently switched from SurePayroll to Gusto to save money, as I am a one person company. I must say that I am having buyer's remorse. In the same of simplicity these guys have created a very inflexible system. I ran into the following issues as soon as I did my first payroll. 1. If you don't do your payroll in time, direct deposit would occur the next month. The only way to fix that is to issue checks to employees. In SurePayroll I could adjust the pay date to any date I wanted as long as it was within the threshold of direct deposit requirements. 2. The QuickBook integration does not create GL entries. I compared the IIF files from SurePayroll and Gusto. There are only subtle differences, which they can fix in a breeze. But, so far the answer has been, sorry for the inconvenience. 3. NJ has so many tax lines on W2. I had to club some of them into one category while entering prior pay-checks. 4. You can get hold of someone to chat or on phone to answer questions, but do not rely on emails. I doubt that they read the emails. Unfortunately they work only on pacific timezone, and only on week days, so good luck if you need them out of this window. The bottom line is that Gusto would do the job for a fair price, but a lot is desired from the product they are currently offering.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brandon Edling

Making Payroll Easy!!!!

01/03/2017

Gusto has been terrific so far. I use it for 2 different business's and it is quick and easy to use once everything is setup.

Pros

Simple interface, inexpensive, easy to use, reminders for payroll

Cons

Customer service is not always available via chat.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jessica Higbee

Love how much time Gusto saves me!

22/02/2017

I love using Gusto. The program is so easy to use and the help center is awesome! If I ever have a question I can generally get it answered there. When I do have to call with questions or when I need help with anything my call is answered quickly and their staff are knowledgeable and very professional!

Pros

How easy it is to use and all the help and support that the company gives its users!

Cons

I am a frugal person so I feel like the price is a little high

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Howay

You will love doing payroll

17/02/2017

Very cool service, light years ahead of all other previous payroll providers we've used. Very friendly UI and processing payroll could not be easier. Saved us money over previous services also. Employees are given their own access which is very nice. Only hiccup was some errors were made during onboard conversion. Someone didn't pay close attention. But it was corrected quickly and we were credited a couple months of service. Support is helpful and responsive.

Pros

Beautiful UI, good support.

Cons

None.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Maire B. Rosa

Ideal HR choice for us!

27/01/2017

I initially started to use Gusto because I needed a company who could provide payroll services but also make sure our company was in compliance with everything else regarded payroll and the hiring process, as well as worker's comp and benefits. So far (it's been over a year) we are truly satisfied. We also integrated Boomr for time tracking within Gusto, so no more looking for timesheets at the end of the week.

Pros

Everything in one place: payroll, workers comp, benefits, time tracker (with Boomr integrated) Customer service on chat! Easy to get new employees on board

Cons

Health benefit not yet available for Georgia but coming soon!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

They let you try their service for a month for free, so you get a chance to try before paying, but it's super cheap after and no contract!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Natalie Turner

GUSTO is the way to go

27/01/2017

GUSTO is a great solution for the small business owner. Always adding and expanding their services.

Pros

Vacation tracker, paperless delivery, and record keeping make it easy for the employees. They love the look and fee of their login pages

Cons

Reports section is a little challenging. Not all reports can be found here and require users to unbury in other areas of the system. Compromises the intuition of the system. The rest is awesome!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

While change can be painful, it is well worth it. You won't regret using Gusto as your payroll provider.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Deanne Gustafson

Streamlines Payroll

27/01/2017

Gusto has been very easy for us to use. We like that we can set it to auto-pay. It streamlines our payroll and lets us focus on other tasks.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lois Adams

Once afraid to change Payroll Services

23/01/2017

Prior to our company's transition to Gusto, we used our Accountant, who was across the street from us. Life appeared to be easy; fax the necessary report to them weekly and on Friday walk across the street to pickup the checks. Unfortunately, it was sometimes cumbersome to get reports from them that we occassionaly needed. All company taxes were paid and handled by them and I had 100% confidence in them. I must admit, I was not in favor of moving to Gusto, life was too easy.... In addition, we transitioned at the end of May (mid-quarter). Needless to say, I had many concerns with the payroll that was paid for the first 5 months of the year and not being available thru Gusto.. I am happy to say, that the experience I have had with reports, assistance and all my tax concerns and payroll concerns have gone away. We are very happy with the service and support we get from Gusto.

Pros

We love the support and knowledge that the employees of Gusto have. Always willing to go beyond!

Cons

It is somewhat cumbersome being in a different time zone as them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

Go for it... you will not regret in.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Suzanne Kukuris

Couldn't be easier!

23/01/2017

I never realized how much time I had wasted preparing our company payroll and other HR-related tasks until I found Gusto. I heard of plenty other HR software companies... some good, some terrible. I was a bit reluctant at first, but I dove right in with Gusto and couldn't be happier!

Pros

The customer service is excellent. Whenever I've had a question, big or small, Gusto's representatives have always replied quickly. Most recently, I tried the 'chat' option, and I received my reply in a matter of seconds! That's the kind of efficient service I had hoped for.

Cons

None to speak of

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mariah Cuevas

Best payroll software out there!

20/01/2017

This product is wonderful and affordable. I can give multiple pay rates, I can group my staff into teams and run specific reports for each team, and it integrates right into QuickBooks.

Pros

Easy integration into NimbleSchedule and Quickbooks, I can cancel payroll as many times as I want, I can run as many payrolls as I want (I'm only billed monthly per employee).

Cons

They don't print checks, but if you get everyone on direct deposit it is not really a problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

Try them out, I believe they do 30-60 days free, you won't look back!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sonja Carter

The BEST payroll software out there!

20/01/2017

I LOVE Gusto, after much research and comparing I decided to go with Gusto and I am so glad I did. Easy to use and their customer service is AWESOME!

Pros

I key in a few figures at the end of the week and Gusto does all the rest.

Cons

Sorry, but I cannot think of one thing to say that I do not like about Gusto.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Deanne  Gustafson

Gusto is Great!

19/01/2017

We are really enjoying using Gusto, especially since we can put our payroll on autopilot.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shelbi Simpkins

Fantastic for the small business, even better for the wallet.

19/01/2017

Gusto is great for small companies. We only have 4 people on payroll and there are so many things that could and did go wrong on other payroll systems. Gusto keeps up informed and up to do on documentation, law changes and requirements. Their custom service team is fantastic answer questions and solving problems.

Pros

Customer service, overall user design.

Cons

If you forget to run your payroll by the deadline, your employees will get paid a day late.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

Although their services seem slightly more expensive, they really do provide great service.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carrie Burns

So far so good!!!

13/01/2017

3rd payroll software and so far loving it! The onboarding was seamless, they handled everything and I filled in the blanks. The payroll entry is super easy and the employees get great visibility into their paystubs. The reports are excellent and support is super-responsive! Highly recommended and if you get a referral you both get a bonus!

Pros

Ease of use, cost, great desktop/mobile views

Cons

Nothing so far

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cody Owens

Great tool for Payroll

12/01/2017

Gusto has been excellent for helping us manage our payroll. We have employees in multiple states and them taking care of all the taxes for us frees up our time to work on the business.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
K Thomas

Great Product - Once you get the hang of it!

10/01/2017

Great product for small business owners. Helps with payroll, as well as end of year tax statements.

Pros

Easy to input data and hours.

Cons

If you accidentally click back, you loose all your data inputted. If you choose to input the data (account information, social security number) yourself, not an option to still have it sent to the contractor/employee to have them check it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

Get this if you are a small business, it saves time and once you get the hang of it, you will be able to save time in the long run.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kelli Dore

Gusto for Payroll!

09/01/2017

Gusto's payroll portal is super easy to use! Makes contractor payments a snap too! I wish their benefits offering for remote employees was more robust but what they do offer is sufficient!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Zach Larsen

Gusto is great

07/01/2017

Gusto is the easiest payroll service that I have ever used. I can get my W2 whenever I want, and change my different allowances. I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros

I like how it breaks everything down, and it makes it funny at the same time.

Cons

I like everything there is about it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

Use it now. Don't hesitate!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
D E

Gusto is pretty awesome.

05/01/2017

We used Gusto for payroll for our small company during the last couple years. It was nice because it was really simple and had competitive pricing. It also integrated with an insurance provider making it easy to sign up for a reasonable worker's compensation policy.

Pros

Easy, inexpensive.

Cons

Hard to know if you can turn it off bc of compliance concerns. e.g. in our case, we had interns and now do not.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Charity Rhodes

I heart Gusto!

05/01/2017

In December of last year, I found myself taking over payroll for the company that I work for. I quickly learned that our payroll process was very time-consuming and did not run very smooth at all. I suggested that we change our process to the owners of our company and that is when I stumbled across Gusto. I had zero payroll experience and I was spending 1-2 days a week working on payroll. As COO I did not have the time to spend on payroll the way that it was set up. Once we started Gusto and got everything set up it now takes me maybe 30 minutes every two weeks to run payroll. Gusto has excellent customer service and they are very helpful to people like me, who have zero payroll processing experience.

Pros

Easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

I wish there was a way for me to scan in our employee files to Gusto. So that I could go completely paperless as far as HR goes. I have two huge filing cabinets in my office that I would love to get rid of.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gene Taft

Can't calculate Paid time off

22/12/2016

As a small business in NYC, we need to obey NYC PTO rules. Gusto doesn't understand that employees can have up to 40 hours of sick leave per year that is being accrued. For each 30 hours worked employees get 1 hour of sick leave. That is the NYC rule as of 4/1/2014. So, if someone accrued and USED!!! 24 hours of sick leave in 2016, the same person can accrue only another 16 hours. Gusto software takes 40 hours as the limit BUT doesn't subtract USED hours!!! I've ended up playing 56 hours of sick leave to one employee as Gusto software keeps accruing till the same person has 40 hours again without subtracting USED hours. Same story happened with Vacation hours. Gusto programmers do not know about Subtraction as a function. Customer service stated that Gusto software has LIMITATIONS!

Pros

Simple interface with limited functionality.

Cons

Incorrectly calculated pay stubs creating confusion for employees.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

Please find another company that is aware of subtraction between available PTO and used PTO

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Elizabeth Solley

Easy Payroll

08/12/2016

Gusto is the only payroll software that I have tried, however I haven't felt the need to try any others! It is simple to use, has a clean layout, is simple for my employees, and pays painlessly.

Pros

I like that I can save information part way through the process of submitting payroll. This is very helpful if I start payroll before intending to finish. I also really like that my employees can on-board themselves. This saves me time and also minimizes mistakes. The customer service has been really helpful when I needed them. Also, the email reminders are very helpful.

Cons

Unfortunately, they only support addresses in The United States. When a former employee moved to Guam, my only answer for her to get her W-2 was asking her to sign on and retrieve it herself. This was a little frustrating.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

I don't know how the price compares to other services, but it truly has been trouble free.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tia Walter

Great Product!

05/12/2016

I use Gusto to keep track of payments, PTO, taxes, etc. The user experience is extremely easy to use. I love being able to see where I am at financially at the workplace. It's also nice to have all of my info in one place that I can access whenever I need it. Then I don't have to ask the boss and I'm sure he also enjoys that! This tool has simplified my life in a number of different ways.

Pros

I really really like the user interface. It's easy to navigate. I also like having my paystubs, tax info, PTO, and other information all in one place. I can access it whenever I need and I can even pull it up on my phone. They also put in some cool integrations with social media.

Cons

I wish I could do my timecard directly through them. Maybe you can and I just haven't set it up yet. Not sure.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Gusto

Great tool!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Mott

Great New Payroll Tool!

01/12/2016

Our agency just switched over to this platform, and so far it has not disappointed. The breakdown of each paycheck is extremely helpful for employees to see a clear picture of their salary, and the calendar integration is a great feature to let the whole team know when the next pay day is.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more