Sage One Payroll Reviews

Sage One Payroll Reviews

Sage One Payroll

Cloud-based payroll management solution for small businesses

2.8/5 (10 reviews)
540,381     4,832

veronica brouwer

Terrible

01/02/2017

We could not be less happy with this payroll product. We have been using Sage Payroll since October of 2016 and have had nothing but problems since then. A few of the major problems: Staff with duplicate pay, staff not paid, W2's with incorrect information, inaccurate reports, unable to upload payroll file, middle initials disappearing, staff paid from incorrect departments. These are just a few of our issues over the past year!

Pros

There are no pros from a Payroll Administrator's view

Cons

This system is not user-friendly. There are many unneeded steps for all payroll processes from adding a new employee to entering a pay rate on the pay grid. There isn't a search option when writing a manual check so you need to go through multiple screens to find an employee by the last name. You are unable to select a department for manual checks. After adding new employee you then need to manually add them to the pay grid, again there isn't a search option for this so, you have to go through multiple pages to find them by the last name.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Recommendations to others considering Sage One Payroll

If you are looking into Sage Payroll as an option keep looking! This past year has been one major problem after another and has caused all sorts of extra, time-consuming work for my whole department.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Buckwalter

Not User-Friendly

27/01/2017

I feel like a pretty competent and computer savvy person. The more I use Sage, the less and less I like it. I don't know if it's just my company or what, but every January, I lose my mind. When it's time to update rates & salaries, there are one million steps and once I think I've figured it out, I look at the calculated totals for our next paychecks and almost all of them are incorrect. I have to then call to get things sorted out. I have now been transferred three times. "Self-service" payroll is not an adequate name for this product. I have been told that there are certain features that I can change on my own and others I cannot. It should be 100% self-service or 0%. Additionally, every year the W-2s for two of my employees are incorrect. Overall, running payroll from paycheck to paycheck is a simple process! I'd recommend it for that, but a headache I experience each year in updating totals and doing taxes is starting to make me question whether I should stick with Sage or not. I will say that 80% of the people I speak with in customer support are friendly - so I guess that's good.

Pros

It's quick to use for running payroll.

Cons

Updating rates, salaries, and deductions are very difficult. It causes such a headache.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

4/10

Recommendations to others considering Sage One Payroll

If you have employees that are pastors (have designated housing allowance and clergy pay) DO NOT USE this product. If you have employees who simply get paid hourly or salaried, I recommend this to you.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrea Niessen

Sage 50 payroll with pension module

24/01/2017

Very good software if you got more than 20 employees. It's more complicated than other programs i.e. Bright pay but the pension module makes dealing with automated enrolment very easy. It deals with all correspondence and records every letter sent out in the record of the individual employee.

Pros

See above

Cons

There is no flag when something needs submitting. I.e. HMRC or pension provider.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bill Lawrence

Sage Payroll

24/01/2017

Easy to use. Great for a small business. Just set-up automatic payroll and Sage does the rest. Taxes and direct deposits.

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

Does not have all the bells and whistles of other software

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Sage One Payroll

Easy to use.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ron Finer

Sage Payroll 10-30 Employees

16/11/2016

Very pleased with the ease of use, including salaried and hourly employees. Reports are very detailed and customizable. Optional e-file of reports is not expensive, easy to use and worth the cost

Pros

If you want control of your payroll, Using the built-in Sage Payroll is worth the extra cost

Cons

Nothing really

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Emma Forsyth

Sage Payroll System

07/11/2016

I stared using Sage at the beginning of the year having previously used different payroll software for almost 9 years. My main reason for changing was that even though it had been promised for years the other software did not work on Apple and I needed it to as my main computer is a MacBook. I find Sage to be very good value. Easy to use on all computers. Quick and easy to do a payroll run but there are definitely quite a number of features it is lacking compared to other payroll software but then this may be due to the fact that it does offer such good value for money. I believe they may be adding to it which would be super.

Pros

Ease of use. Price. Can be used on an Apple Mac.

Cons

Lacks certain functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sam Edwards

Difficult to use

03/11/2016

This is an out of date software that does what you need it to do, but in a really difficult and confusing way. There are so many options available and this is one of the most expensive. Truly awful. Although the customer support is actually very good.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katherine Cantrell

Reminded me of an Old DOS Program, functioned well but seemed outdated

04/05/2016

Pros

Ease of use, the software is very user friendly and easy to navigate.

Cons

The amount of screens you had to go through to put in one new hire and the product was from a re-seller and direct support was difficult to obtain

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

4/10

Recommendations to others considering Sage One Payroll

Make sure the software will function for what you need it for BEFORE purchasing.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carlos Uribe

Review for Sage

14/04/2015

Review for Sage

Pros

Friendly user interface, windows compatible, cost effective

Cons

Adds on options, does not work in Mac iOS, no tools for Mac developers

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Sage One Payroll

Make it compatible with Mac iOS, use Mac developers kit

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Frankie Craze

HR rep utilizing this system for talent acquisition and hiring

02/01/2015

Pros

The software allows easy uploading and access of employee documentations for employment regulations.

Cons

When multiple users are on, delays were occurring and documents were lost after uploading failures occurred.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Sage One Payroll

I'd like more security. I think that individuals with access should be allowed to upload documents freely. But reviewing and downloading personal info should be regulated to upper management.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more