LEAP Features

LEAP

LEAP is the #1 system for lawyers to work anywhere, anytime

3.92/5 (170 reviews)

Competitor Feature Comparison

Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Accrual Accounting
Activity Tracking
Archiving & Retention
Asset Accounting
Audit Trail
Automatic Billing
Bank Reconciliation
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
CRM
Calendar Management
Case Management
Case Notes
Check Writing
Client Management
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Communication Management
Compliance Management
Conflict Management
Contact Database
Contract/License Management
Cross Ledger Posting
Customer Statements
Customizable Branding
Customizable Forms
Customizable Reports
Customizable Templates
Docket Management
Document Automation
Document Capture
Document Classification
Document Generation
Document Management
Document Storage
Document Templates
Email Management
Event Calendar
Expense Tracking
Fee Calculation & Posting
For Legal Professionals
Forms Management
Full Text Search
Invoice Management
Legal Case Management
Microsoft Outlook Integration
Monitoring
Project Time Tracking
Receipt Management
Reminders
Reporting/Analytics
Task Management
Tax Management
Time Tracking
Trust Accounting
Version Control
Visit WebsiteCompare App
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Accrual Accounting
Activity Tracking
Archiving & Retention
Asset Accounting
Audit Trail
Automatic Billing
Bank Reconciliation
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
CRM
Calendar Management
Case Management
Case Notes
Check Writing
Client Management
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Communication Management
Compliance Management
Conflict Management
Contact Database
Contract/License Management
Cross Ledger Posting
Customer Statements
Customizable Branding
Customizable Forms
Customizable Reports
Customizable Templates
Docket Management
Document Automation
Document Capture
Document Classification
Document Generation
Document Management
Document Storage
Document Templates
Email Management
Event Calendar
Expense Tracking
Fee Calculation & Posting
For Legal Professionals
Forms Management
Full Text Search
Invoice Management
Legal Case Management
Microsoft Outlook Integration
Monitoring
Project Time Tracking
Receipt Management
Reminders
Reporting/Analytics
Task Management
Tax Management
Time Tracking
Trust Accounting
Version Control
Learn moreCompare App
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounting
Accrual Accounting
Activity Tracking
Archiving & Retention
Asset Accounting
Audit Trail
Automatic Billing
Bank Reconciliation
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Rate Management
CRM
Calendar Management
Case Management
Case Notes
Check Writing
Client Management
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Communication Management
Compliance Management
Conflict Management
Contact Database
Contract/License Management
Cross Ledger Posting
Customer Statements
Customizable Branding
Customizable Forms
Customizable Reports
Customizable Templates
Docket Management
Document Automation
Document Capture
Document Classification
Document Generation
Document Management
Document Storage
Document Templates
Email Management
Event Calendar
Expense Tracking
Fee Calculation & Posting
For Legal Professionals
Forms Management
Full Text Search
Invoice Management
Legal Case Management
Microsoft Outlook Integration
Monitoring
Project Time Tracking
Receipt Management
Reminders
Reporting/Analytics
Task Management
Tax Management
Time Tracking
Trust Accounting
Version Control
Learn moreCompare App

Mobile apps

iOS App


314 reviews

Requires iOS 10.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Android App


80 reviews

LEAP Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about LEAP's features:

Scott R.

LEAP is best value for small practice lawyers looking for overall practice management software

2021-08-12

Time management, capture of time for billing, quickly generating documents are a real boost in practice.

Pros

Billing, Document Generation and Cloud Storage

Cons

Easy integration with current practice, some complex forms needed a some adjustments

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Linda C.

Leap is not perfect but it could be.

2021-07-16

I actually love it. It has bern indispensable for operating remotely in 2020 and beyond

Pros

Billing and time keeping, email, the mobile app, case and document management,

Cons

The lack of available categories for matter types tgst reflect aspects of real law practice in Illinois

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for your review of LEAP Legal Software. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and our team is glad to hear that your firm is benefiting from LEAP's billing, instant time recording, email integration, document automation, and client management features along with remote accessibility with the LEAP mobile app. We are constantly updating LEAP with pre-configured matter types, and we would like to speak with you more about your firm's areas of law. Please email pma@leap.us to connect with one of our LEAP Practice Management Advisors. We look forward to continuing our efforts in making LEAP a valuable asset for your law firm!

Read more
Deirdre N.

Leap Review

2021-09-17

Very good for time recording and billing, document creation and email management.

Pros

Email storage.

Cons

User interface could be improved - it can be difficult to navigate within a file once there is a large number of emails and documents.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Georgina H.

Excellent functionality and seamless integration with XERO and Infotrack.

2021-09-17

LEAP is an excellent case management tool with lots of help and support available.

Pros

The import function for documents is extremely useful and easy to use.

Cons

Invoicing is clunky.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Martin M.

Leading Case Management Sooftware on the market

2021-09-15

Having moved from an inadequate system, we enjoy a positive relationship with Leap. It achieves all that we need for the effective running of our busy law practice.

Pros

Integration, ease of use, seamless remote working, Client contacts are collated and communication with Clients is simplified and streamlined, essential time recording is completed with ease. Access to documents is market leading.

Cons

Transfer form an old case management system did present some technical issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Helen Q.

Great Product

2021-07-08

Overall good experience, user friendly and helps manage use the time wisely.

Pros

Its all in one, document creation along with helping case management.

Cons

Sometimes certain issues that need continued work on; work in progress.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for taking the time to review LEAP Legal Software. Our team greatly appreciates your feedback and we are glad to see that your firm is benefiting from LEAP's ease of use, centralized database, document automation, and matter management features. We look forward to continuing our efforts to make LEAP a valuable asset for your law firm!

Read more
Kurt A.

Review

2021-07-20

Very Good

Pros

Document management, space utilization, case preparation are all very important in the legal business and LEAP does it all.

Cons

The time accounting is designed for large firms

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for your recent review of LEAP Legal Software. Our team is glad to hear that your law firm is benefiting from LEAP's comprehensive case and document management features. We look forward to continuing our efforts in making LEAP a valuable asset for your law firm!

Read more
Scott G.

Review of Leap

2021-07-13

Pros

LEAP is great for document automation and case management.

Cons

The price is a little high compared to a lot of the other programs out there.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for taking the time to review LEAP Legal Software. Our team greatly appreciates your feedback. We pride ourselves on providing attorneys with a solution that allows them to manage their entire practice and make more money. We are glad to see that your law firm is benefitting from LEAP's document automation and matter management features. We look forward to continuing our efforts to make LEAP a valuable asset for your firm!

Read more
ERIC F.

LEAP is an excellent and powerful software tool for lawyers

2021-07-16

easier billing

Pros

ease of billing and case management I can identify client accounts easily for billing and responding to inquiries

Cons

I had to seek advise when doing less used billing functions

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


We greatly appreciate your review of LEAP Legal Software. We are glad to hear that LEAP's comprehensive billing and case management features have been a valuable asset for your law firm. If you need any further training on billing functions, please download our Remote Training Catalog: https://bit.ly/2OhdXwO. We look forward to continuing our efforts in making your law firm practice management more efficient!

Read more
Jared L.

truthful review

2021-07-08

The website management communication requires improvement.

Pros

file management and document retention are most important features.

Cons

The billing does not provide histories and account balances from prior billing periods well.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for your review of LEAP Legal Software. We are glad to see that your law firm is benefiting from LEAP's document/court form automation features. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to continuing our efforts to make LEAP a valuable asset for your law firm!

Read more
John S.

JES

2021-07-16

As an associate, I don't really have many experiences with the deeper accounting and management aspects of the program, but for what I use it for (time entries; uploading and editing documents), it is pretty good.

Pros

Very easy to track time, organize documents, and access and collaboratively edit documents.

Cons

Billing aspect is not very intuitive; also the subtle differences between British English and American English can get somewhat annoying.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for your review of LEAP Legal Software. Our team is glad to hear that LEAP's instant time recording and document management features are helping you manage your practice. Please download our Remote Training Catalog: https://bit.ly/2OhdXwO for free training resources that can help you better utilize LEAP and the billing features. We look forward to continuing our efforts in making LEAP a valuable asset for your law firm!

Read more
Maria N.

Horizon Law Review

2021-09-16

Although Leap is not perfect, in comparison to other case management systems it comes pretty close - so much easier to use and not over complicated.

Pros

Very intuitive, user friendly, layout is easy on the eye, entering information is not too repetitive, easy to find your way around when first time user.

Cons

Accountancy side of things can be confusing when going from old case management system to Leap, the "financial summary" tab could do with being slightly clearer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin S.

Horrible experience

2021-07-08

I stopped using within a week and purchased CLIO. Still waiting for LEAP to respond to my problems.

Pros

Nothing.

Cons

Document management forces you to use put documents into another cloud based system and even if willing to do it, no easy way to upload large legacy cases let alone get them out if you leave LEAP

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


We are sorry to hear that you have not had a good experience with us, so far. We do appreciate your feedback and one of our Practice Management Advisors would like to speak with you to make sure your firm is utilizing our software efficiently. Please email pma@leap.us so we can set up a convenient time to speak with you. We look forward to meeting with you soon.

Read more
Melissa E.

Awful for billing and invoicing

2021-07-13

If I had the administrative power to get another software for case management, I totally would.

Pros

The layout and look of individual cases. That is about it.

Cons

1) that I can't add more than one attorney (some cases have multiple defendants, thus different attorneys) 2) the billing and invoice features are very difficult to understand and use 3) That i cannot properly change /update case status- not enough varied features for the different stages of litigations. 4) searching for documents in a case file is tedious and isn't always accurate

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


We are sorry to hear that you have not had a good experience with us, so far. We appreciate your feedback and would like to hear more about some of the challenges you are facing. Please contact one of our Practice Management Advisors by emailing pma@leap.us. We look forward to speaking with you, showing you how to add attorneys, and making LEAP more efficient for your firm. With regards to updating case statuses, we would like for you to make this request with our Design and Automations Team here: https://pub.email.leaplegal.com/content-feedback-request. Please also download our Remote Training Catalog: https://bit.ly/2OhdXwO. This resource can be used to find training articles, videos, webinars, and more to learn how to best use our software.

Read more
Lucy T.

Fantastic Case Management System

2021-09-15

It enables us to streamline all our cases, time management and billing.

Pros

From the outset I have found everything about Leap to be incredibly user friendly

Cons

Some of the bolt-ons look attractive but would increase our monthly expenditure beyond budget.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nannette K.

Leap review

2021-09-15

We use Leap all day everyday for a number of tasks and find everything works smoothly.

Pros

Management reports and Office reports are great. Invoice Management is another great aspect of leap and easy to use.

Cons

Importing fields into document precedents is also over complicated and difficult to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anthony D.

Leap Review

2020-11-03

Overall I am happy with Leap but will have to develop work-arounds for the billing review and trust application issues.

Pros

The time keeping and document management features are very good.

Cons

Billing is very cumbersome.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for taking the time to review LEAP. We appreciate your positive feedback. Please check community.leap.us for updates and new features for LEAP including accounting, billing, and more. Please contact Support for any issues, available 9am-8pm EST.

Read more
David W.

Beware of LEAP!

2021-07-13

They will not let you cancel, despite their contract providing for a 6 month money back guarantee.

Pros

That it centralizes all of the activities regarding a case file into a matter folder ie client information, emails, documents, ect.

Cons

Also LEAP has no integrated calendar. Instead it uses Outlook, but it doesn't link back to the matter.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


We are sorry to hear that you have not had a good experience with us, so far. We do appreciate your feedback and would like to speak with you to make sure your firm is utilizing our software efficiently. We want every law firm to be fully trained on LEAP and using our software to its fullest capability. We believe our software will be greatly beneficial for firms that agree to the change event. Please email pma@leap.us so we can set up a convenient time to speak with you. You can also find a lot of great training resources in our Remote Training Resources Catalog here: https://bit.ly/2OhdXwO. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Read more
Lisa L.

Leap enables us to stay on task with all of our cases.

2021-07-08

There are errors in some of the documents (not our data entries) that we have to address each time.

Pros

I like their data and document management capabilities

Cons

Not being able to update the templates (or add new ones) readily and easily.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for taking the time to review LEAP. Our team is glad to see that your firm is benefiting from LEAP's matter management and document automation features. We appreciate your feedback and would like to invite you to our free webinar on Template Automation Training: https://register.gotowebinar.com/rt/2211712023986453515. We look forward to continuing our efforts in making LEAP a valuable asset to your law firm.

Read more
Neha K.

Sinple powerful strong legal practice management solution

2020-07-06

Excellent legal workflow with power automations

Pros

Management of client from boarding to final billing so easy

Cons

Little complicate to use , also had problem with backup power mechanisms

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for taking the time to review LEAP. We appreciate your positive feedback. We provide firms with a robust list of features and software is powered by AWS with 99.99% uptime to help firms increase profitability and productivity.

Read more
Jerry M.

Migrating to a Cloud Based Legal Management Tool

2021-07-16

Great handholding in the beginning and the do provide help after the initial period, hardest part was learning the new accounting system after being use to my old system.

Pros

The client management tools are easy and intuitive to use

Cons

The accounting tools are not as easy and intuitive but with usage they can be learned

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for your review of LEAP Legal Software. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and our team is glad to hear that your firm is benefiting from LEAP's ease of use and comprehensive case management features. If you need any further assistance learning more about accounting in LEAP, please download our Remote Training Catalog: https://bit.ly/2OhdXwO. You will find a variety of free training resources available for LEAP users. We look forward to continuing our efforts in making LEAP a valuable asset for your law firm!

Read more
greg b.

review of Leap software

2021-07-13

Pros

document management is great as it allows us to go to a cloud based file system.

Cons

a bit cumbersome and time consuming to someone who just wants to do relatively easy things but does not use the software every day.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


We greatly appreciate your review of LEAP Legal Software. Our team is glad to hear that your law firm is benefitting from LEAP's comprehensive case and document/court form management. Download our Remote Training Catalog to learn more efficiencies and get the most out of LEAP: https://bit.ly/2OhdXwO. We look forward to continuing our efforts to improve your law firm's practice management.

Read more
Tyler R.

Horrible software- horrible service

2021-03-24

Horrible. The document management is horrendous.

Pros

The one and only good feature was the automatic billing entry from email feature.

Cons

They will not honor your contract or allow you to cancel.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


We appreciate and welcome all feedback of LEAP so that we can continue to make our software the best practice management solution available for all small law firms. We are sorry to hear that you have been having challenges with some of the features. We recommend that you contact the LEAP Practice Management Advisory Team by emailing pma@leap.us so we can help you resolve some of these challenges. You can also find a lot of great training resources in our Remote Training Resources Catalog here: https://bit.ly/2OhdXwO. At LEAP, we are committed to making LEAP a valuable asset for your firm and we hope to speak with you soon.

Read more
E.F. M.

LEAP Review

2021-07-08

Pros

Having a comprehensive billing and case management program was the goal and LEAP delivered.

Cons

LEAP only integrates with our trust account so we have to use Quickbooks for our operating account.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from LEAP Legal Software


Thank you for taking the time to review LEAP Legal Software. Our team greatly appreciates your feedback and we are glad to see that your firm is benefiting from LEAP's comprehensive case management and billing features, as well as our integrations. We look forward to continuing our efforts to make LEAP a valuable asset for your law firm!

Read more
Helen S.

LEAP is worth a the LEAP of Faith if you are looking for a new case management software.

2021-08-10

I would recommend that if you are looking for a cloud based case management system for Lawyers that you give LEAP a call for a demonstration.

Pros

Using LawConnect, makes it straightforward to share documents with others securely.

Cons

It is on the higher scale for cost but if you use the system as it is designed to be used, which may involve you changing your processes, efficiencies can be achieved, which goes towards offsetting the cost of the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more