App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Localist Logo

Localist

Events build communities, and communities drive growth.

see alternatives

(3)

Localist Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

63

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.27/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The calendar has a nice look and has a lot of features integrated into it. It has been stable and reliable throughout the time we've used it.
The integration with our event management system is great and the UX is really good. Super user-friendly and clear with labels, flexible to add your own tags/categories, etc.
Pretty satisfied with it, though there's always room for improvement. Team is responsive and helpful.
The lack of a writable API is discouraging and makes it difficult to integrate with our other systems.
The calendar has little to no spam protection so users can post hundreds of bogus reviews while trying to farm clicks on our platform.
Inability to manage RSS feeds of content in a custom way, but that could just be me.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


63 reviews

Recommended

TB
AvatarImg

Taylor B.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Localist Has Made Life Easier

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our students are our main priority in higher education. We want to be able to provide a solution to them that is going to be easy to use and something that they can use over and over again. I think this tool has helped drive our students to find and participate in events that are meaningful to them.

Pros

We are very happy with our switch to localist. It has has made our event management for our admins so much easier and we have seen a significant increase in our analytics.

Cons

We do wish that there were some more functionality in regards to the notification system for our event admins.

Vendor response

Thanks for your positive review Taylor!

MJ
AvatarImg

Monaco J.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Really love this product - easy to undersand

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to understand. Lots of features but doesn't feel overwhelming

Cons

Doesn't have a monthly view. I honestly don't care. I think it looks good now. But a lot of my visitors complain about this. They want to see a monthly overview without a very long scroll. We have at least 50 events per month so I understand their concerns.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback Monaco!

TC
AvatarImg

TANYA C.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Localist Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the overall usability of the software. It makes calendar submissions easier to digest and organize for the university.

Cons

I don't like the fact that we can't alter some of the templates and/or functionality on our own.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback Tanya. We're releasing some new templates soon. Looking forward to your feedback after that release.

MT
AvatarImg

Michael T.

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Calendar of Events

Reviewed 3 years ago

As a publisher of all that's happening in the Baltimore area, we needed an easy way to publish events. The Localist team helped us with the initial platform launch, and has supported us every step of the way. The software is elegant, and the people behind the software provide excellent customer service.

Pros

Easy to use Allows for user generated content with our review and approval Excellent user experience

Cons

There is nothing that we don't like about the software

Vendor response

Thanks for such a glowing review Michael!

EJ
AvatarImg

Eric J.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Should be so much better

Reviewed 3 years ago

It looked like a promising product but since the first month of implementation, we ran into a wall with support. Anything outside of their tight scope of functionality was not supported and would not even be considered. When things break all you have is an email address to post your issue and then wait.

Pros

The calendar has a nice look and has a lot of features integrated into it. It has been stable and reliable throughout the time we've used it.

Cons

Support has been generally terrible. Anything outside of the basic functionality is simply not supported and they have been unwilling to implement ANY requests that we've made. On several occasions the answers provided by support have been blatantly wrong and only through our own channels have we been able to fix problems that the vendor created. Their API is read-only so making any types of changes require using the GUI which is a nightmare when trying to manage hundreds of events and users. The calendar has little to no spam protection so users can post hundreds of bogus reviews while trying to farm clicks on our platform. Again, support had no solution for this and did not offer to help remove these.

Vendor response

Ouch, I'm sorry to read your review Eric, but your detailed feedback is constructive. I've sent your reviewto a couple of senior people over here at Localist to see what we can do better for you. You'll be hearing from someone soon!

LW
AvatarImg

Lisa W.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Localist is great

Reviewed 3 years ago

The customer service is excellent. The product is easy to use. Makes my work life easier.

Pros

Ease of use. Departments on campus can enter their event information. You can customize the fields.

Cons

Nothing to dislike. Everything is great.

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive review Lisa!

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Almost great

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, it is great when compared to a lot of other calendar tools. It needs a few improvements, but at least they are trying!

Pros

This tool is almost great. Setting everything up is cumbersome, but intuitive. The interface is pretty modern and clean.

Cons

Not the best in terms of accessibility. Event images have no place to add custom alt text and simply get assigned the events title as the alt text. No landmarks used. Headings are all over the place etc. There are some features that they really need to add such as administrators being able to view the calendar from another users account (assume their identity), view edit history on a group or channel, schedule out sponsored events etc.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback! We're catching up on responding to some Capterra reviews, and we wanted to check-in. I wanted to let you know that we are weeks away from launching an improved front-end on the Localist platform. Our goal with this front-end release is to update the design of the customizable layout - without disturbing too much in the existing experience. Maintaining simplicity in the user's experience is critical. We have identified opportunities in key moments of interaction to improve user flows and optimize how content is consumed. Looking forward to this release and would love to get some feedback from you after that release! If you have any questions and concerns hit us up at https://www.localist.com/contact/

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Simple application to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Very easy application to use to manage calendar events and give access to internal/external users

Cons

wish there were more options to maximize the ability to do new, different things

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback! We're catching up on responding to some Capterra reviews, and we wanted to check-in. I wanted to let you know that we are weeks away from launching an improved front-end on the Localist platform. Our goal with this front-end release is to update the design of the customizable layout - without disturbing too much in the existing experience. Maintaining simplicity in the user's experience is critical. We have identified opportunities in key moments of interaction to improve user flows and optimize how content is consumed. Looking forward to this release and would love to get some feedback from you after that release! If you have any questions and concerns hit us up at https://www.localist.com/contact/

KP
AvatarImg

Kristen P.

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Localist is great platform for University calendar

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like that the platform is very user friendly. We train users around the university to add events and is it extremely helpful to be user friendly.

Cons

Sometimes we find some buys within the software. Another thing is that sometimes there are items that we can't customize to our university.

Vendor response

Thanks for your positive review Kristen!

RT
AvatarImg

Richard T.

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Our Experience with Localist

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ease of use and empowerment of users to submit events

Cons

I would like the ability to undo or pull back imported events via bulk upload

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback Richard!

NP
AvatarImg

Nicole P.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Tutorial needed

Pros

Easy to navigate and user friendly. Great service time response

Cons

Don't have any con. I haven't run into any issues

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback and review Nicole!

RB
AvatarImg

Rick B.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Localist- review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ability to add widgets to various digital properties

Cons

Some of the admin UI in unintuitive. We also found an issue with users being able to create their own avatar, in some cases the avatar could be offensive and there is no way to easily "report" that to the calendar admins.

Vendor response

Thanks for your positive and detailed review Rick!

CF
AvatarImg

Chris F.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for event management

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are solving the issue of managing events campus wide. The system helps keep all of our students, staff, faculty, and even those outside the university informed about what is happening. It really does well in most areas.

Pros

It's robust from an administrative perspective, and the UI is welcoming and easy to use.

Cons

The lack of a writable API is discouraging and makes it difficult to integrate with our other systems. Additionally certain administrative features such as event publishing could be streamlined - searching for relevant events for our department is unnecessarily challenging.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback Chris! I've passed your comments along to our support team as well.

DN
AvatarImg

Danielle N.

Hospitality, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Localist Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Very easy to navigate for both the consumer and administrator.

Cons

Integrating an RSS feed from another site. We haven't seemed to figure this out yet.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback Danielle. Sharing this review with the support team and someone will be following up with you.

JN
AvatarImg

Jacqueline N.

Marketing and Advertising, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Localist

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, a lot of options, different settings.

Cons

That it does not flag multiple event entry.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback Jacqueline!

JR
AvatarImg

Jason R.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Localist is a great product that means almost all of our needs

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've never had a complaint from where I sit on their service. They have ALWAYS been helpful.

Pros

- Support team is very responsive and helpful at all times. - Documentation for the front and backend has always been well done. - Localist provides nearly all the features we need as a university to use as a community driven calendaring tool.

Cons

- The API, while rich and well constructed, limits our ability to easily pull events that span multiple days in a simple way. We have to merge each instance of the event into a single one on our end.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback Jason. I'm passing your feedback on to our support team to see if there is an opportunity to improve your experience.

RY
AvatarImg

Rod Y.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Localist Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The widget and API options are great features.

Cons

Some comprises were needed when desired user interface could not be implemented. To be fair, we were asking for the world.

Vendor response

Thanks for such a candid review Rod!

KM
AvatarImg

Katlyn M.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Delightfully Functional Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Being able to house all departments and divisions of our University into this single calendar platform has been a great tool to be able to utilize across our campuses. I definitely enjoy seeing faculty, staff, students, prospective students and parents all being able to log-in to our Localist calendar to see everything our campus has to offer in one place.

Cons

Some of the widget customizers don't mesh well with our University's web platform, but that's more of an issue on our side than Localist.

Vendor response

Thanks for such a detailed review Katlyn!

EF
AvatarImg

Erin F.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Localist Review - September 2019

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love the ease of use. Working with the Localist support team makes changes feel very doable and easy.

Cons

I would like to be able to do more things myself in the software, without the help of the support team.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback and positive review Erin!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kara I.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy Scheduling

Reviewed 4 years ago

I use Localist to manage my organization's event calendar. It allows you to put an image, basic information, contact information as well as hashtags and keywords and allows for the ability to make certain events featured.

Pros

The wealth of information the software allows you to provide.

Cons

This might be due to user error but I find my ability to input certain tags and keywords restricted.

Vendor response

Hey Kara! Thanks for the positive review. We're catching up on some past reviews. I'm hoping you got your tag and keyword issues resolved, but if you haven't, please get in touch, and we will work it out for you! https://www.localist.com/contact/

MK
AvatarImg

Michelle K.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I enjoy the ease of use and the ability to login through multiple methods. This is especially useful for students and other visitors trying to connect to our interface. It is easy to train someone to use the software.

Cons

I like the overall experience so do not have any cons for the software at this time.

Vendor response

Thanks for such a positive review, Michelle!

GM
AvatarImg

Giada M.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Worked well for my institution

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

My university needed a streamlined way to hold all of our events and be able to share them out. This system allows us to do that, and every department uses it now.

Cons

I wish there was a way to view all of the events in a month on a calendar format, rather than a list.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback and positive review Giada!

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Simple and Easy to Use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like this product because it allowed us to customize it for our organization's intent.

Cons

Sometimes the cache takes a really long time to update so you can't see the difference you made to featured items automatically.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review!

JK
AvatarImg

Joe K.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

localist review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Localist is easy to use and flows well.

Cons

Better tracking needed, so you can follow approval process.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review Joe!

BS
AvatarImg

Bryan S.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Wouldn't be my first choice

Reviewed 3 years ago

The beginning was very nice. Getting rid of the image bank was a great idea. After the initial email creation, it was very easy to put event newsletters together.

Pros

The approval of events is pretty easy and it's nice to have all the info involved - when and who submitted it.

Cons

Mostly I don't like the new setup. I don't like having to program in the header, body, footer. It makes me feel like I have to do that every time. They should have had videos from the start, but didn't. So nothing was really clear with the new site.

Vendor response

Hey Bryan! Thanks for your feedback. I've passed your comments along to our support team as well.