This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Marketo Engage

Marketing automation for digital marketers

see alternatives

Marketo Engage Reviews - Page 7

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


593 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Marketo - Solid Solution

Reviewed 5 years ago

Marketo is a very solid solution for automating your marketing mix, roadmaping your consumer solutions funnel, and grooming your leads for conversion. It fully integrates with a wide majority of CRM systems and back office ERPs so that you can clearly analyze your ROI per point of sale. This is a professional marketing automation solution that can help deliver exceptional campaigns for your...

Pros

Robust

Cons

Price

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Marketo Automation is next level!

Reviewed 2 years ago

It is absolutely fantastic! There's even group meetings in my area that I am able to attend.

Pros

I like that it is extremely intuitive (once you figure it out)

Cons

It does take some time to get use to the platform, but there is MANY tools to get you there!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Flexible tool that will make any marketing team look like rockstars

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

The absolute ease of the integration with Salesforce.com. It's a product built for marketers, and Marketo clearly uses their own product to their benefit. Marketo is easy to use and you can see the ROI within weeks of launching your marketing programs.

Cons

Marketo has been building out its basic product for years, which all users had access to. But as Marketo has grown, they now have Standard and Enterprise versions and various add-on modules. While it's great that they are innovating, it's makes it tough for smaller companies to take advantage of everything that's being offered, as a lot of the new features are for the Enterprise and add-on modules. A great example of this is their Engagement Programs. If you are on Standard you will have limited access to these, making it hard to take advantage of.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Integrates with Salesforce

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like the fact that you can rank leads based on criteria. When critical high profile leads come in we as a sales team can respond quickly and efficiently.

Cons

If your not familiar with the software it can be challenging as to implementing. Luckily they have help aids.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's been great so far

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We began using Marketo about a year ago. It is much easier to use than our previous Marketing Automation service. It's simple, intuitive and provides amazing automation for our growing company. It's ability to cater to our varying marketing demands is amazing.

Cons

Using/Administering Marketo takes an entire team. It is a beast and requires hours of customization to get it's integrations with our CRM just right.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best marketing programs out there!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Worth looking into for any sized organization!

Pros

Easy to use interface that seamlessly brings together email, mobile, social, digital ads, web management and analytics. Anyone can easily use it as it does not require any training to understand the main functionality.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Marketo is an incredibly powerful system that fulfills all of our lead collection and management.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The system is very flexible. There are nearly limitless options for customization. When familiar, there's not much you can't do with the system.

Cons

There's a learning curve. It's not always intuitive. In some cases, integrations with other systems can be challenging.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A full-featured MAP with great support

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

They have great customer support and account representatives that help with the onboarding process. As for product feature, their Engagement Stream programs and Smart Lists for generating audiences for campaigns are absolutely fantastic, and above all, very user-friendly.

Cons

As with most MAPs, once the basics are mastered, the learning curve increases quite significantly. They have extensive documentation to aid in educating yourself, but not all features available are necessarily known upfront.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Marketo Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Bespoke application bundles that you can purchase for the marketing areas you desire. Very easy and quick integration with Salesforce Extremely scalable Easy to connect to API The smart list builder is quite handy and intuitive

Cons

Initial setup is a beast. It was quite a steep learning curve. SEO dashboards lack far behind other competitors. But then again, why would you use Marketo for SEO anyway?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the Best of Breed

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Marketo has a great content management system for figuring out how to write, organize, and prioritize marketing communications to different buckets of customers. It integrates super well with Salesforce as well, so it's been just what our company has needed.

Cons

Marketo is a leader, but they are also not inexpensive. It was also cost prohibitive to start up an automation program with them. It caused us to put off the decision to get started for longer than we should have.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Marketo bridges every gap in the marketing-sales relationship

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Marketo makes it easy to track leads and accelerate leads to wins as a tool for content creation. In addition to keeping track of each prospect's place in the sales process, marketo is great for creating a database of all collateral for sales to access via marketo links and sending targeted emails to specific prospects across industry, size, location, etc.

Cons

The interface is difficult to use at first. The fact that it's so hard to understand limits users to using only the few features that they are aware of. You'll really need detailed tutorials to get your money's worth with this product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Clunky with Poor Customer Support

Reviewed 5 years ago

My company used Marketo across a small team for about 2 years. Implementation and training were lacking, which contributed to a lot of our problems. Designing emails and landing pages within the application requires a higher level of coding/design skills than other similar applications. We always had difficulty with formatting. Workflows are not very intuitive and it viewing your campaigns at a high level is impossible. However, we were happy with our SFDC integration and were able to mail to very large lists without issue. We switched to Hubspot a year ago and it is easier to use, but Marketo is better if you have a larger database.

Pros

Great for a large database No flags when sending emails to large lists Priced appropriately

Cons

Terrible customer support -- I couldn't reach anyone until I told them that I was canceling my account Clunky interface

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great/intuitive automation software, but hard to use

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ability to create multiple assets within the systems such as landing pages, forms, email marketing campaigns including drips. Within each of those, you are able to get powerful insights back.

Cons

The support is difficult and can be hard to reach. If you do reach them, you either have to wait for a video conference to get in depth help. Also, they can't get into your instance to help.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Automates busy work... but creates more at the same time

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The good thing about Marketo is that it does automate a lot of emails and nurtures a prospect through the whole sales cycle. Since it's also one of the bigger marketing automation platforms, it also integrates fairly well with nearly all other marketing platforms/tools we use.

Cons

Marketo is so incredibly clunky. Just trying to edit a line in one email can take you up to 5 minutes. The look and feel of it is also stuck in the 90s. They don't provide any decent templates so my team is often forced to look elsewhere and then integrate email and landing page templates with Marketo. It's a bear to use but it's simply too much of a hassle to look for another provider.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Marketo - All in one marketing automation solution

Reviewed 5 years ago

Marketo is a robust marketing automation platform. During the two years that I have been using Marketo, I have become a Marketo Certified Expert, a Marketo User Group Leader and a Marketo Champion. It's easy to use and adapt, even coming from another MA platform. The tech stack that you can intertwine with Marketo is just about anything you could want or need. Integration with other plug-ins is simple and easy to set up. One of the biggest advantages of Marketo is the Community (Marketing Nation!) of users that help each other out with best practices, problems, troubleshooting, etc. Marketo is a fantastic product out of the box and I'm quickly learning that there is always new tech to plug in and an unlimited potential to grow.

Pros

Easy to use Integration is simple Robust platform Community of users

Cons

Can be slow at times Support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the trusted marketing software over the world

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very effective for company's growth, serve best for marketing perspective (everything on a single platform)

Pros

There is no doubt, Marketo has a vast list of features and functions on a single platform, which allows us engaging in social sharing, promotion and engagement. Something I like the most about Marketo is, we can customize the modular system as per our needs or as per our marketing strategies. Along with that, the analytics and reports do all the justice to track campaigns or the summary of the company's growth through viable data.

Cons

Though Marketo gives access to integrate and customize the solution, the interface looks little bit old, can make it more attractive. Too many functions, the processes need to be simplified, not that easy. Need more engagement in customer support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Probably the Best

Reviewed 5 years ago

Marketo has been great for our organization. Our business model is one where we get ~100k leads/yr, many of which are people downloading for free one of our many open source data management products. This amount of data necessitates that we have a top notch marketing automation tool at our disposal to do everything we need to with regard to emailing, scoring, lead lifecycle, segmentation, etc.

Pros

Easier to use than Eloqua and more robust than Pardot and Hubspot. Unless you value SFDC nativity (Pardot) or tons of features over usability (Eloqua), then Marketo is most likely going to be the right tool for your business. I've come across very few problems I couldn't handle. It also has a top class sync with SFDC.

Cons

It gets overloaded with data fairly easily so our programs, campaigns, data cleanup, and syncs will stall greatly if we're not careful. You also have to be mindful of how you set up heavy smart lists or campaigns as they could take a while to load. This is also true of analytics. Analytics is not the best.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Various capabilities. Great scalability potential!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The campaign builder feature, integration, and access to the Marketo community is worth it's weight in goal. Also, the content management system creates very effective workflows. One of the best players in the game.

Cons

Not inexpensive and more visibility into what the team is doing would be great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Marketo: the gold standard in Marketing Automation

Reviewed 2 years ago

Awesome. Great for lead nurture, lead scoring, email, forms, and landing pages.

Pros

It's very powerful. They've thought through so many use cases and because of the way it's built to sky really is the limit. If you can think of a campaign you can likely build it in Marketo.

Cons

The UI is a bit clunky and dated. The new Sky interface looks nice, but the tree structure can still make ti feel a bit messy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Integrates well with other platforms

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Integration with salesforce makes it easy to sync lead data into crm Fairly easy to use once programme are setup

Cons

The software sometimes runs slowly. Some steps can be redundant. Sometimes it can be difficult to find errors

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Marketing Automation Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Highly adaptable to all needs Easy interface Great for collaboration Lots of integrations with other software

Cons

Not intuitive for marketing users Need more design tools for landing pages and emails. Hard to build a survey

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Marketo You'll Either Love It or Hate It

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I loved that the product was so in depth. It was engineered well and had the flexibility to integrate easily with almost any platform. This could be done pretty easily if you are familiar with automation platforms and CRM's.

Cons

I like least about it, the same as I like most about it. The in depth engineering of the product made the design functionality underwhelming. The landing page and email creation tools were clunky and not as intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Marketing Automation Platform Available

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The revenue cycle model and revenue cycle explorer in addition to lifecycle and nurture functionalities are what truly set this platform apart.

Cons

No dislikes. This is a really great product and is on a level of it's own in the marketing automation space. More CRM native integration options would be great though!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Marketo is a robust platform - but has had stability issues

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

You can throw a lot at Marketo and it is able to handle most marketing campaigns that you need it to do. It integrates well with Salesforce. Once you get the hand of it, it is easy to use for most campaigns. It also allows you to tokenize and script inside the tokens to add features that aren't built into the product. It's fairly easy to administer for things like custom fields, etc.

Cons

They have had stability issues over the past year, which have sometimes caused problems for time-sensitive campaigns. Also, the email and landing page builder is lacking and sometimes you spend more time than you need to get a template right.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Marketo Proves to be there for their customers

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been using Marketo since 2012. Every release, Marketo has provided more functionality that adds more value to their offering, but what makes Marketo the best solution out there, is its support and community. The solution is backed with Marketo employees and great marketers who are there to help and enable each other to do great things.

Pros

Marketo Community is the best part of Marketo. The tool offers a lot of capabilities from Revenue Modeling, lead scoring to ABM. Again what makes Marketo stand against other competitors is its support and community. They are not only a tool, but a partner.

Cons

I would love to see more reporting around APIs used with Marketo.