App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

TriNet Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

3.9

/5

35
77%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.42/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

I love that TriNet just takes care of everything for you, they really are a full featured offering that has everything you need for HR/Payroll and benefits.
The payroll invoice and payroll register are very clear and easy to use. I love that once you enter an employee's basic information, the employee logs into the portal and registers for benefits, etc.
The sheer variety of options and capabilities is excellent. Very good insurance options offered throughout the country.
I don't have enough time to list them all but here are the highlights: (1) They have made several serious mistakes in payroll that caused my and my team countless lost hours.
When I was "sold" on using TriNet I wasn't told that their technology was some of the worst I had seen.
They refused to confirm my employment via phone because it was against their policy.

TriNet users...

Gusto-logocaret
avatar
avatar
listing-logo

Gusto

Rippling-logocaret
listing-logo

Rippling

Paychex Flex-logocaret
listing-logo

Paychex Flex

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise-logocaret
listing-logo

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

How would you rate TriNet?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


35 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One stop shop for most things HR

Reviewed 3 years ago

Highly positive. There is some variability when it comes to customer service, some reps are either new or not as good as others, and some TriNet people are outstanding beyond belief.

Pros

The sheer variety of options and capabilities is excellent. Very good insurance options offered throughout the country.

Cons

Trinet tends to offer large company benefits, which is great, however, some of the competing providers are offering more tailored benefits typically seen in startup companies. It's only a minor issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great PEO and outsourced HR solution for small businesses

Reviewed 9 months ago

Overall, we've had a good experience with TriNet. The "outsourced HR" platform TriNet offers is the right decision for our small business so we don't have to invest in internal HR personnel.

Pros

TriNet helps us manage payroll, talent acquisition and retention, support for our employees, access to "big company" benefits and helps our management team with proactive risk mitigation and data compliance.

Cons

TriNet is expensive and the support we received for our company 401(k) plan was not good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Worst PEO_ Run!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Worst experience of my life, almost could not get the 1st payroll done with them due to glitches, sales people ignore you once they sell the product (selling a product they did not have, this system does NOT job cost)

Pros

The people who work at this company are nice, but the systems they make you use are terrible. They changed the format, sent out two new beta versions, made us the guinea pigs. The programmers create reports that are useless, was told initially they could job cost, they cannot. They lied.

Cons

Everything, not user friendly, terrible reports, very time consuming to enter payroll as you have to use the mouse and keypad. TSheets had to create a custom report for TriNet (their programmers did not know how) to upload hours from TSheets to TriNet, TSheets had to do this FOR TriNet....

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very User Friendly

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

TriNet is incredibly helpful for viewing and downloading my bi-weekly paychecks, accessing my retirement plan portal, submitting expense reports, viewing my health benefits, and tracking time off all in one place. I especially appreciate the "Estimate Balance" feature on the Time Off page, which allows you to view the exact date at which you will hit your earned PTO cap. This has enabled me to always make sure I take off time before I hit my cap, and avoid losing out on well-earned PTO. The TriNet mobile app also gives you access to most, if not all, of the same features that the web browser version offers, so you can check any work-related details you might need to on the go.

Cons

There is honestly nothing I dislike about TriNet. Our company had no cohesive, one stop shop for all of the services TriNet provides until we switched to TriNet, so it solved all of our problems with one software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Product is not bad; customer service is pretty bad

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, TriNet is a pretty good product, and it really takes the burden off a small startup employer who wants to attract and retain talent with high-level benefits plans. It's great that the payroll runs automatically unless there are changes, and the employee self-service registration works well. Customer service is definitely their weakness, and they have a lot of room for improvement there.

Pros

I like the interface for the product; from an administrator's perspective it's fairly easy to use with no training. The payroll invoice and payroll register are very clear and easy to use. I love that once you enter an employee's basic information, the employee logs into the portal and registers for benefits, etc.; so the administrator's work is lightened extensively. The product is really good for small startups who otherwise would not have a lot of resources for HR, Onboarding, Payroll, nor access to large-group benefits plans at large-group rates.

Cons

I think the reporting functionality lacks a lot of basic reports. I do not like how the I-9 process works. I like that there is online chat for support; however, it's not always effective at solving my problem or answering my question, and the support representatives frequently seem irritated to answer questions, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing solution but not as good as ADP

Reviewed 2 years ago

The overall experience has been good, but when comparing to using ADP, ADP takes the cake by a mile.

Pros

The best part about Tri Net is customer support. They have the best customer service representatives that are not only knowledgeable but super friendly. The solution itself is easy to use, but the app interface can be better. The app interface needs some work, they don't even come close to ADP, but still, get the job done.

Cons

I don't like their app or online interface. It is not user-friendly and you have to really look at where you are clicking or you have to start all over again from the main hub.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Full featured suite for payroll and employee management

Reviewed 5 months ago

Its was comparatively easy to setup and once its all up and running it's really easy to manage moving forward.

Pros

I love that TriNet just takes care of everything for you, they really are a full featured offering that has everything you need for HR/Payroll and benefits.

Cons

It's a little cumbersome to use, their integrations are very obviously just tacked on as an afterthought.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Two time TriNet User

Reviewed 6 months ago

Besides the confirming issue, as an end user I genuinely liked TriNet. However, I've had to employers that used them and both switched out from using them because of pricing.

Pros

TriNet has the best user facing website. It is so easy to navigate, it's fun, it's bright, everything is straight forward. They write their explanations in layman terms, they are thorough and they break it down for those that don't understand what they are reading or looking at.

Cons

They refused to confirm my employment via phone because it was against their policy. It delayed my mortgage. They need to change their policy because it was really not right. They do an automatic PDF of confirming employment but anyone can forge a PDF so most banks don't take it. It was really frustrating not getting someone on the phone and it costs me money for the delay.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Reporting

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

It was easy to manipulate report for needed data. You can run reports for each employee to review overall benefits in PDF that includes graphs and monetary information - great visual tool!

Cons

We had to have our time and labor piece outsourced.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A great choice PEO if you have the $$$

Reviewed a year ago

TriNet served it's purpose for our company while we needed the support. I would recommend them to any new starter company who needs support across multiple features (Payroll, PTO, Expense and Applicant Tracking, Benefits, etc) but as soon as you hit a certain number of employees you will want to manage some of those features yourself due to cost.

Pros

User-friendly and easy enough to navigate.

Cons

It was obvious in the user experience that TriNet had acquired other companies/features in their effort to provide features to their customers. The training and expense tracking would redirect to a separate interface with a separate look/experience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Love This Platform!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Tri-net makes it easy to get any information related to my benefits with my employer at anytime. They even have a mobile app so I can get info. on the go.

Cons

There are no drawback that I encountered in my 7 years using this software. Any time I had an issue, Tri-Net came out with a fix.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent for Outsourcing

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I really liked that the implementation was extremely easy. Everyone was very helpful and the sales team stayed in contact to make sure everything was done correctly

Cons

This is was an expensive tool. We were utilizing it to cut the cost of our healthcare which is did help with but I couldn't imagine pitching the added cost to a company that didn't have that problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Quite possibly the worst company we work with

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience has been horrendous. I don't have enough time to list them all but here are the highlights: (1) They have made several serious mistakes in payroll that caused my and my team countless lost hours. (2) They no longer have a personal rep who knows your account, you now have to go through "Connect 360." I was just in a chat session and the rep said "hold on, while I research your issue"...

Pros

I have found nothing that I like about TriNet.

Cons

When I was "sold" on using TriNet I wasn't told that their technology was some of the worst I had seen. They did upgrade some of the web software but there are still places where you click and find yourself in the old horrible software that is klunky and difficult to use.

Vendor response

Hi Alan, we received your message and confirmed that a member of our team has reached out to you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Disappointed in Changes

Reviewed a year ago

I used to really like TriNet and the personal service they delivered. However, they have changed their customer service model, and we are not happy with the changes they have made.

Pros

I really liked the personal service TriNet used to provide. However, they have changed their Customer Service model to more of a call center instead of having two people assigned to each client.

Cons

I really do not like the new Connect 360 they have recently adopted. I also find working with their reporting module somewhat challenging

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Everything in one place

Reviewed a year ago

Overall I was happy with Trinet. The main thing was that everything was accessible through the single dashboard which makes all the difference.

Pros

I liked that all employee benefits were under the trinet system. I have used other systems where health stuff may be viewed from one dashboard but let's say you want to look at your commuter benefits, that may be in another system from some other company. Trinet had everything under a single website/dashboard and I only needed to remember that one login.

Cons

The UI could be made better. It definitely has aa learning curve and seems very corporate and slow. It also reminds you a lot of HR.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Valuable HR & Payroll Partner

Reviewed a year ago

Overall we're very satisfied with TriNet - from the benefits offered to the functionality of the portal and the webinars provided to educate our staff on best practices.

Pros

Communication has been superb. TriNet has created a modern platform that helps us get answers quickly both for admins and the employees. The portal is easy to use and functionality meets our needs.

Cons

Cost is a little high - they are not a low cost provider but the service has been great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best HR platform I've had

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have had a wonderful experience with TriNet as an employee. Having worked for small to extremely large organizations, I have to say I wish more large organizations used it.

Pros

I signed on with a new company and they were proud to say they used Trinet. I didn't think much of it, but once I started using it, not only was it super user friendly, but the real people behind chat are EXTREMELY competent and easy to work with. I have used the chat function many times to address issues and always had them resolved on the first try.

Cons

No real cons. Everything is easy to use and very simple. I don't like that I couldn't find some of the benefits information easily - like pricing when you go to sign up is not published anywhere until you go through the sign up process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Expensive for the Lack of Service

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

I like the concept of a PEO, especially for our company that has employees in several states.

Cons

The support team is less than helpful. Questions receive links to knowledge base instead of having a personal relationship with anyone at TriNet. Upon a termination of an employee we were given bad instructions which cost us $1400 in exit costs. The fees to process are expensive compared to Gusto or other similar providers. The technology platform to understand the different health options is not great. Not intuitive and no one available to help you decipher any of the information. Save yourself a headache and a pile of cash by using a different PEO.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Company provided HR management tool

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

Its UI is intuitive. All the tabs related to payment, benefits, etc are organized well.

Cons

Not much to dislike. It has all the features required for an average employee. It's not essential software for an average employee to perform his/her job duties but it's necessary for HR-related tasks and the HR teams love it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Had high expectations from the sale and they completely failed to deliver

Reviewed 2 years ago

Horrible Lack of integration capabilities manual process lack of automation

Pros

The fact that they would handle payroll tax filings and the ability to help offer diverse benefits

Cons

Their team does not back up what their sales people pitch at all what so ever!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Not too bad

Reviewed 2 years ago

cost for one. they are not as expensive as other software companies.

Pros

I had never heard of Trinet before using it. However, once I did it blew my mind. It was easy to use. Contained all features and services needed for an HR and Payroll system.

Cons

The interface could be a little bit updated. Other than that the product was great and worked for what we needed it for.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A good tool for HR designed for small companies

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Easy to use, you can access all your HR documents in a few clicks.

Cons

The PTO tab is a bit hard to understand, it could be improved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Straightforward and easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago

Simply put, our company is using TriNet to provide HR functionality until we grow to a point where we can hire an HR department. TriNet's efficiency and ease of use has enabled our firm to effectively allocate scarce resources.

Pros

Since I work for a start-up, we employed a third-party HR system, such as Trinet. TriNet made the onboarding process incredibly easy in terms of selecting benefits, implementing direct deposit, etc. I've used a variety of such systems in my career, and TriNet was by far, the easiest to use. Specifically, Trinet provides a "cost calculator" when you're asked to choose contribution levels for disability, insurance, etc; the calculator was invaluable in making informed decisions.

Cons

I honestly have no cons. Trust me, I usually have something critical to add about any product, but not in this case.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

HR mothership

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

Ease of seeing pay stubs, tax information, and requesting time off

Cons

Manager dashboard was a little wonky at times

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for smaller organizations

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Very easy to set-up, use and administer.

Cons

It becomes fairly expensive as your organization grows.