App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Thought Industries Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

78

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.41/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

We have been happy with the software and they have helped us grow as a company. Their customer services is very responsive and the account management team has been much more helpful in the past year.
Our customers are able to navigate throughout their portal effortlessly, thanks to the ease of customization of the UI. Personally, I enjoy the administration accessibility and implicitness.
Great feature set, especially for paid training business. The standup was super - literally the first such implementation that was as advertised.
We have had several instances where things stopped working as expected, and users admins were affected.
TI currently does not support recertification for recertification. Our users need to recertify every 2 years and we have to create a new course to work around this problem.
Also the built-in gamification and translation functionalities are currently quite limited.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


78 reviews

Recommended

AC
AvatarImg

Amber C.

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We are very pleased with our transition to the T.I. platform and the opportunity for growth.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We needed to transition IO Education learners and educators from an outdated, difficult to use, Learning Management System to a platform that was user-friendly, intuitive and easy to manage. Thought Industries was just the platform to get the job done! Their new Panorama feature helps us to accomplish our specific goals for varying client needs and several different use cases. All while creating uniquely...

Cons

There were a few features that we worked with the Product team to implement in order to reach our desired outcomes, but they were responsive and collaborative. We did like to see more UX flexibility.

PM
AvatarImg

Patricia M.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Learner Experience, Back-End can be Finicky

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great learner experience. UX is very intuitive, Learning Journeys are a great way to guide learners through required content, and platform has a ton of interactive elements for the content itself, which makes for a much more engaging learning experience than just text and videos. Thought Industries is also constantly pushing out new updates and features which we've been able to utilize. There's things we're very much looking forward to launching (e.g., continuing to improve upon more Content Management features)

Cons

Thought Industries has a ton of functionality and can be configured to do most everything we want. However, it can be very finicky to program in the back-end, related options are in different parts of the back-end, and we've had to create a lot of convoluted processes to get everything to operate the way we want.

Vendor response

Hi Patricia! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. We are so happy that you find the UX to be very intuitive and the learner experience to be a positive one. We are always working to improve the UX on both the front and backend and hope you will continue to find these improvements easier to navigate and valuable. Be assured your review is seen by all of our teams. Thank you again!

CW
AvatarImg

Christine W.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

YOU DO NOT WANT MY REVIEW

Reviewed 2 years ago

TRUE COMMITTMENT TO HEL P AND SUPPORT THIS IMPLEMENTATION, IT IS LIKE 'TOO BAD, SO SAD'

Pros

THERE IS NOT ONE POSITIVE THING I CAN SAY ABOUT THIS SOFTWARE, WORKING WITH THE IMPLEMENTATION OR THE LACK OF FEATURES THAT WE REQUIRE. CHOOSING THIS WAS A MISTAKE ON OUR PART THAT WE ARE NOW STUCK.

Cons

THIS LMS SHOULD NEVER BE USED TO TEACH COURSES. WE HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH EVERYTHING FROM HOW TO CONFIGURE, INABILITY TO GRADE DISCUSSION, HOW TO GET OUR MEDIA INTO THE SOFTWARE, HOW TO DEVELOP PAGES, THAT WE HAD TO KNOW HTML TO DO THIS...THE LIST GOES ON AND ON.

Vendor response

Thanks for your feedback. As you can see from the other positive reviews we've received from Higher Education vendors, Thought Industries is an ideal solution for businesses like yours, so Kettering should be no exception. Our Professional Services and Customer Success teams are eager to come together with you to find a solution for the issues you've raised. We look forward to working with you to make the Kettering learning experience the success we believe it can be.

KS
AvatarImg

Kate S.

Publishing, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good value, constantly growing

Reviewed a year ago

We've been able to launch several different types of learning experiences for various clients. I love that we can use the same platform in such different ways depending on the client and the need.

Pros

It's easy to use with a lot of feature options, both included in the base product and available as upgrades. I really appreciate the ongoing efforts to find other software to integrate with the TI system. There are several integrations available and more on the way.

Cons

There is not a lot of flexibility within scripted setups. When creating content or a panorama you have a lot of options, but once you choose options for one reason, there are no work-arounds to solve other use case issues. It's very black and white: Choose this or that, there is no way to choose a little of this and a little of that.

Vendor response

Thanks, Kate, your team is a pleasure to work with and your suggestions on how to improve the platform are always appreciated. We also appreciate the feedback on the black and white nature of the configuration, lets discuss this when we talk next. 2022 will see big changes around flexibility so digging into your experience to assist with our planning would be great.

BL
AvatarImg

Brionna L.

Professional Training & Coaching, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thought Industries has saved me hours per week

Reviewed 2 years ago

In general, I used to spend about 2 hours a day sending emails and follow ups to member to complete assignments. With Thought Industries, that time is almost completely eliminated.

Pros

Thought Industries is an extremely intuitive and easy to use software. By having our members access content, all in one location, the learning paths have saved us so much time sending repetitive emails. The learner notifications also help us save time by sending learner reminders to complete action items as opposed to sending emails manually.

Cons

I would like for Thought Industries to have flexibility around "required" and "elective" courses in the learning path. There are times where we would like certain modules to be required but we would also still like members to have the capability to move on to the next milestone.

Vendor response

Hi Brionna! Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate it. So glad to hear the platform is saving you approximately 2 hours a day is is extremely intuitive and easy to use. Going to share your entire review with our teams, and be assured our teams will take your thoughts and requests to heart. Thank you again!

SM
AvatarImg

Sam M.

Professional Training & Coaching, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best solution

Reviewed a year ago

We needed to do a number of work arounds to get the system to do what we wanted but it worked. It is being used by our end users and have helped us move our courses online.

Pros

TI is the only company that has ALL the capabilities we need. They are also continually looking at improving the system as well as expanding the languages available.

Cons

It is my understanding that TI will be adding additional capabilities very soon that will cover a majority of our requests so at this point I cannot say what I like least.

Vendor response

Hi Sam, thank you so much for the review! We are so pleased that you have had a great experience with TI. We are continuously improving functionalities and capabilities. I'm very excited to be working closely with your team in 2022 to ensure that you are leveraging the best that the platform can offer! Best, Elaine

CL
AvatarImg

Chad L.

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good Value and Better Integration

Reviewed 2 years ago

At first, TI can be a little intimidating. However, like any software, once you spend some time with it and understand the little nuances, it's really quite powerful.

Pros

We use TI for both external and internal training. Our business cases are complex, but TI is able to mostly accommodate our needs. The integration with Salesforce is also worth the extra spend. It creates a dynamic link between your Sales/Service pipeline and training data.

Cons

TI currently does not support recertification for recertification. Our users need to recertify every 2 years and we have to create a new course to work around this problem. TI is currently working with us to add this feature however.

Vendor response

Hi Chad! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience. We are delighted you have called out our integration strengths and ability to handle complex business cases. We appreciate your support and partnership!

MB
AvatarImg

Mike B.

Public Safety, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great System

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great. I have been very pleased with the operation of the software and the functionality for our team/ clients.

Pros

I enjoy how interactive the system is. I also enjoy the "white label" option for our clients.

Cons

So far I don't have any real complaints.

Vendor response

Hi Mike! We wanted to express our gratitude for taking the time to leave a review and for your positive sentiments. Our best to Jesse and the rest of the team! Thank you again!

MW
AvatarImg

Mike W.

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

You had me at Panoramas!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

As the leader in strategy, finance, and business acumen training, we needed a digital learning solution that we could brand and customize for our clients. Thought Industries has a feature they call Panoramas that allows us to create unique environments for our clients while at the same time allowing us to keep a central repository​ of content. If you're a training company looking to expand your content digitally – Thought Industries should be your first call.

Cons

Getting you into the learning environment is a little kludgy​ – do I enter from a dashboard, a catalog, a learning path…? I guess what I'm saying is the experience prior to actually entering a course isn't the most elegant, but once you're in the course it's smooth sailing - very intuitive.

Vendor response

Thank you for your positive feedback! Reviews like this offer valuable insight into the overall experience. We're thrilled to hear things are going well and look forward to seeing your continued success.

JS
AvatarImg

John S.

E-Learning, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Thought Industries LMS

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have been happy with the software and they have helped us grow as a company. Their customer services is very responsive and the account management team has been much more helpful in the past year.

Pros

The simplicity of adding and deploying our courses as well as managing users.

Cons

The reporting is lacking and it is difficult to customize user reporting.

Vendor response

Hi John! Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your thoughts. We love to hear our platform and account management teams have helped the company grow. We hope the new reporting functionality and improvements will further help you and know that your review is shared with Product and the rest of the teams here. We appreciate our partnership!

JD
AvatarImg

Jeffrey D.

Professional Training & Coaching, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Solid eLearning platform with ability for multi-instance setup

Reviewed a year ago

The team is generally easy to work with. The Tech Support team is really good and very responsive. The Customer Success support we receive hasn't been as helpful - nice people, we have just had a different manager assigned to us every 6 months.

Pros

Course authoring tools are good and allow for many different page and media types. For us, the Panorama functionality is a must and it works well - allowing us to setup unique instances for each of our clients.

Cons

Some functionality/page types are clunky - workbooks don't allow for easy editing, sublicenses don't offer much functionality like we would expect them too, the reporting, while vast is missing some key connection points to make it work for us.

Vendor response

Hi Jeff, thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you have found value in the course authoring tool and the Panoramas. I hope to be able to partner more closely with you in the new year and I'm looking forward to discussing your additional reporting and panorama needs. Best, Elaine C.

JJ
AvatarImg

Jennifer J.

Media Production, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Reliable Platform for Online Learning

Reviewed 4 years ago

Able to quickly build a platform to delivery content to customers.

Pros

Easy to create online courses. Looks fairly professional. Reliable performance. Does what it says on the tin.

Cons

Limited functionality and ability to customize. Development team gives limited attention to suggestions for improvements. Solid platform but in need of modernization.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback. As far as customizations go, our platform is entirely customizable including the ability to leverage HTML and CSS. We've informed your Customer Success Manager around your concerns and she will investigate to see where you're met with limitations. Additionally, we have a Voice of the Customer (VOC) program from which we collect customer feedback and work with our customers directly to better understand their ideas. Once again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to quickly resolving these concerns together.

MB
AvatarImg

Matthew B.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great solution for revenue focused learning businesses

Reviewed 7 years ago

We've really enjoyed working with the Thought Industries team, and their learning solution serves our needs very well. We are currently running over 15 consumer facing learning sites and offering hundreds of courses with the platform, and it's been a very positive experience so far for our organization.

Pros

Being able to create and deliver sites/courses has streamlined our ability to go-to-market. The learner experience from within the courses is very engaging, especially for instructor-led courses where direct interaction and communication is crucial. The eCommerce functionality is great since we can sell courses and get insight into the financial data with the reporting and analytics features.

Cons

Totally satisfied.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback!

SO
AvatarImg

Steven O.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

eLearning

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall: Greatly satisfied with my experience.

Pros

The biggest pro of this product is the customer service. T.I really goes above for their clients.

Cons

The inability to track user completion at the section level. As of now, we are only able to track if a user completes the entire course. We are unable to determine what sections the user completed if the course has not been completed. We are working with T.I to fix this (another example of their great customer service).

Vendor response

Hi Steven! Thank you so much for your kind words about our customer service. They, as well as your cons, will of course be passed along to the team. We appreciate your partnership!

JK
AvatarImg

Joy K.

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Beautiful, still evolving

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall positive but sometimes wish I could speak with a real person - all support is by email only and sometimes it's hard to describe an issue.

Pros

Thought Industries produces beautiful user interfaces and pages and is pleasing to use as an administrator. It accommodates our live-online Zoom-based learning well through Learning Paths, and also permits us to host SCORM-based on-demand learning effectively.

Cons

Learner management is only "OK" - it's hard to find learners (you must type in the full name, not just part of it) to search, learner progress is tracked but only at a high level. Some of the reporting is flexible and powerful and other reporting is very limited.

KM
AvatarImg

Kyle M.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Taking our e-learning to the next level!

Reviewed 2 years ago

At various times I have compared our switch to Thought Industries with going from a bike to a car, or switching from using a card catalog at the library to having google in your pocket. It really has been a huge leap forward for us.

Pros

The biggest pro has to be course authoring. The built in features are robust and easy to use.

Cons

The reporting could be better, but I believe they are working on updates now.

Vendor response

Hi Kyle, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your thoughts! Recently spoke with Christina and heard the new Reporting Hub was being put to good use :) Be sure to check it out and reach out with any questions. We love your clever comparisons! So glad our platform has been a huge leap forward for you. And thank you again for your continued partnership!

EL
AvatarImg

Emily L.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great LMS that prioritizes usability and transparency

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The biggest advantages of TI is the ease of creating new courses or webinars to launch. There is a good amount of customization that is allowed, yet not too much that makes it overwhelming or difficult to navigate.

Cons

It is difficult to import in questions to build quizzes and assessments when there is a large external question bank. The GIFT format is not very friendly and often incompatible with the normal language's syntax.

Vendor response

Hi Emily, thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We're always looking for ways to improve our platform so we have taken note of your feedback, we appreciate it.

HS
AvatarImg

Haydn S.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great learning platform

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to build classes. Lots of functionality and flexibility. A ton of different content types in lesson - text, presentation, video, audio, more.

Cons

Not a lot of integrations with other software providers but easy enough to work around with Zapier/scripts.

JM
AvatarImg

Jim M.

Professional Training & Coaching, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Company and software met or exceeded our high expectations for an LMS partner and software platform

Reviewed 6 years ago

Thought Industries LMS has been a great foundation for supporting our online and blended training course development

Pros

The software is flexible, intuitive, current/leading-edge technology, and relatively robust from a functions and features perspective. It is also geared towards the new wave of elearning businesses and hybrid training programs - which best fits our needs.

Cons

No major concerns overall. In the details, the software is highly customizable, but this flexibility requires a relatively high degree of technical acumen to fully exploit.

CP
AvatarImg

Chip P.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

TI Foundational Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have a 10,000+ user base and needed to quickly and easily migrate/ courses from Moodle. TI is easy to work with and they got us set up with minimal pain. We needed to improve the end user experience and reduce the pain points transitioning from a legacy LMS to a new LMS. Our launch was very successful and we have received great end user feedback.

Pros

Ease of setup and use. Intuitive navigation. UI/UX.

Cons

Needs more functionality and less linear navigation. More robust data analytics and reporting. Ability to export all data to data warehouse.

CK
AvatarImg

Carol K.

Education Management, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Food for Thought!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good ideas to make me a better problem solver for my clients.

Pros

Though I am just getting started, I already see the value of a different perspective. I go back to "The Customer Education Playbook" all the time. Their resources allow me to work at my own pace. That is important for me because doing a deep-dive with one quality idea yields the best return. That being said, when I am in a "quantity mode" for ideas, there are no lack of resources! Either way, I win!

Cons

Finding the time to implement so many new ideas!

Vendor response

Hi Carol! We are so thankful for your review and thoughts, and we will certainly share your sentiment regarding our thought leadership content with Daniel and the entire team. We strive to provide the most valuable content to serve our customers and the industry's educational needs and love to see this effort recognized. Thank you again for your continued partnership!

SY
AvatarImg

Sarah Y.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Wide range of features

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

TI provides a lot of options both on our end to build courses as well as for our clients to manage their users.

Cons

The site can be confusing to navigate at times.

JK
AvatarImg

Jesse K.

Security and Investigations, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Everything our company was looking for!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Thought Industries was able to cover everything our company was seeking to use the software for.

Cons

As of right now there have not been any negative feedback from using this software

Vendor response

Hi Jesse, thank you for sharing your thoughts! So glad to hear we have provided everything you were looking for in a platform to support your company. We will still be striving for a 10 out of 10 for an NPS in the coming months and years. Thank you again!

BW
AvatarImg

Benedikt W.

Airlines/Aviation, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good experience

Reviewed 4 years ago

It helped me to try something new and get an overall overview about the processes

Pros

nice too look at easy to use nice design

Cons

sometimes confusing hard to find important information immedeately

Vendor response

Thank you so much for the review! We hope the usability improvements we recently rolled-out help you better locate that important information.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Flexible but not always intuitive

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software is very flexible and allows for course authors to be creative. Video and image integration is easy and allows for visually appealing courses.

Cons

I have used many learning management software programs. Finding what you need to do on the dashboard is something very difficult. I wish the interface was more intuitive. Voice-over for courses needs to be handled better as well.