App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MagHub Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

99

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.86/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

My overall experience with Maghub is positive. I do not mind navigating through the platform and think there are many helpful features for a successful sales process.
And all of the people that I have met working at MagHub/Aysling has been humble and funny (seriously funny.), it's been a joy to implement this software and see it really help all of our departments.
The quality of design is presented very well for companies, contacts, and financial data in reporting. And the export tool allows for ease of integration to other applications like Microsoft Office.
I regret that I went with the competitor at the time. Two years later and incredibly frustrated with their competitor I called Maghub.
There have been very few negative issues with making the move to MagHub. Our biggest challenge was that we sell many books, articles, and other specialty items on our website.
It can be a bit time consuming entering international addresses since you are forced to pick a state/province for international locations, which can be very tricky with European and Asian countries.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


99 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

James Z.

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MagHub = 5 stars

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall experience has been excellent. It was nerve wracking at first switching from the past software we used but we were able to import our data successfully and had strong help along the way.

Pros

We switched to MagHub at the end of 2016 and found it to be the best option for managing our clients, ads and running in depth reports into our data. Like most new customers, there were some kinks we needed worked out here and there and the MagHub team was very responsive and found solutions to our needs. Overall the ease of use as well as the customization of the software has been very important to us.

Cons

The is very little we dislike about the software. The only thing we have experienced difficulty with is catering it to some of our international sales reps and sales reps that deal with international companies. It can be a bit time consuming entering international addresses since you are forced to pick a state/province for international locations, which can be very tricky with European and Asian countries.

Vendor response

Thank you for your comments James, we are glad the nerve-wracking has surpassed and the group is happy with MagHub. As we continue to grow outside of the US market expect more and more international features to come, similarly to the multiple currencies that was featured recently.

DH
AvatarImg

Dawn H.

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Happy with MagHub

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great platform covers contacts, proposals, sales and production for our magazine and online digital products. MagHub is constantly improving their product and each release brings something that enhances our use of the software.

Cons

Creating custom "on the fly" reporting for detailed sales analysis was effortless in salesforce. In MagHub, it requires an additional fee for access to the data warehouse as well as a basic technical understanding of SQL in order to configure the data.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of MagHub, we would recommend that you learn about our Metabase integration as it's free for any publisher who has a DataWarehouse, and it allows you to create custom reporting, without SQL knowledge/experience!

SC
AvatarImg

Stuart C.

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Should be better

Reviewed 2 years ago

It handles numerous aspects of the company but often does not seem to understand the process of publishers. Feedback is often requested but the response given does not address the issue or fix it.

Pros

The system does integrate numerous departments

Cons

There are numerous reports but they are not set up to provide key information easily. There are many unneeded steps in setting up orders and information is often not captured properly on communication with accounts.

JW
AvatarImg

John W.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MagHub product review

Reviewed 3 years ago

MagHub solves the co-ordination of the publishing business. Each step of the process integrates smoothly, almost without human intervention. From drip e-mail campaigns to prospecting to sales to invoicing to production and distribution, there is no wasted time with duplication, or finding the information that documents what other staff have done on behalf of the client.

Pros

MagHub takes the randomness out of the sales process. By following the call lists, no prospect falls between the cracks and no client gets left behind. The product is easy to use and is intuitive for what a publisher needs. We have been able to customize it to our specific needs. The learning curve is relatively easy compared to other software products we've looked at.

Cons

The only thing on my wish list is that MagHub would integrate with Quick Books desktop version. Currently MagHub integrates with Quick Books Online. We use the desktop version of Quick Books, and my bookkeeper will not change.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of MagHub! We appreciate the thoroughness, and are glad you found the system easy to utilize with your business.

PB
AvatarImg

Poppy B.

Publishing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Changing to the MagHub platform is the best thing we have ever done for our publishing division!

Reviewed 5 years ago

In addition to everything already stated, the switch to MagHub has helped us to cut the costs associated with using two different programs. It has also become a huge time saver for our accounting department.

Pros

Ease of use and having everything in one database is wonderful; the fact that we have combined what we previously had with Pre1 and QuickFill has streamlined the process and made it extremely efficient. Above all, being able to access circulation and advertising info in one place is key for me as a publisher. And I can count on the info being right with MagHub. On the circulation side of the business,...

Cons

There have been very few negative issues with making the move to MagHub. Our biggest challenge was that we sell many books, articles, and other specialty items on our website. While there was no way to handle these sales initially, MagHub was able to set up a great system for us whereby we can now track everything we sell and who we sell it to.

Vendor response

Good afternoon Poppy, Thank you for your expansive review of MagHub! Also, we are glad that MagHub was able to fit your unique needs of books, articles, and other specialty items; as we always tell our clients, MagHub is made by you, for you. MagHub Marketing Team

JT
AvatarImg

John T.

Publishing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool for keeping up with the business

Reviewed 2 years ago

As I said above, it helps sales stay on top of contracts and helps me know exactly where the business is at all times.

Pros

The easy-to-use dashboard lets me know exactly how the business is doing currently and for the upcoming months. The charts and gadgets presentation is excellent. Our bookkeeper is able to stay on top of invoices with the the aging reports which are excellent to check every week. Our layout and design person is able to easily keep up the ads that go in each issue. Our [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] stays right on top of his contacts, knows which renewals are coming and finds it a great way to help our sales. Customer support is outstanding and makes all the difference is using this product vs others.

Cons

The learning curve is somewhat steep. We have to move from an older system and it took some time to learn all the features and get the. I am not a software engineer and sometimes the systems are tough to figure out how to use and change. However the excellent customers service solves this problem.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review MagHub. We are glad that your business adopted the system, and that it's helping all of your departments function seamlessly inside MagHub. Being such a large product that manages all departments, there are certainly a lot of hidden gems, that sometimes take a while to discover, but as you mentioned, our support/project team is up to the task!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Phil L.

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MagHub -- Great CRM solution for publishers

Reviewed 4 years ago

We migrated our in-house CRM database to MagHub in 2017 to take advantage improve our overall order-entry and tracking processes. MagHub understands the needs of publishers and their background was a big asset in the conversion process. The platform has been reliable and their service and support has been top-notch.

Pros

MagHub's service and support through the transition from our CRM to their platform was great. They continue to be responsive to our needs and are consistently bringing new features to their product on a monthly basis. The input from their user community is a big consideration in determining the enhancement schedule. An added plus for us with MagHub is the availability of their Data Warehouse which has opened the door to integration with other 3rd party tools.

Cons

While MagHub has numerous reports available in their system, at times it has been difficult getting users familiar with what reports will meet their needs most appropriately. Reporting enhancements have been added to the product that have helped in this area.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review Phil! It's been a pleasure working with Gardner Business Media, Inc. and I know how much Tom loves adding new reports, and adding new features in the Data Warehouse tool.

TO
AvatarImg

Tim O.

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MagHub is Marvellous

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

MagHub is a superior tool for publishers because it's designed to be used by publishers for exactly what they need to accomplish. MagHub allows me to capitalize on opportunities and stay on top of my brand. At my previous company, we used a San Francisco based software company, requiring a lot of manipulation and extra cost to make it work for us. Bottom-line, MagHub is the perfect fit for publishers and their entire team.

Cons

MagHub is a complete system and great tools for the entire team, but they could improve their email deployment capabilities.

Vendor response

Hi there, thank you for your review of MagHub! We strive to make sure the MagHub platform benefits each and every user, from the ad sales team to the production and layout team. We are currently working on new ways to improve our email templates, and functionality, especially within the automation and sales roles. Stay tuned!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andrew B.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Has worked very well for us as a small community newspaper.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The number of features it offers for the monthly fee. Comparable software was coming in multiple times more expensive. The clean integration with QBO for my accounting needs. The constant improvement that MagHub is doing to keep the software up-to-date and relevant to the industry. Extremely responsive to customer feedback.

Cons

There is an initially steep learning curve to this software but the support team is there to get you started and help you along the way. Also wish the subscriber invoice data would integrate with QBO (though I'm told the next integration update will include this)

Vendor response

Good afternoon Andrew, Thank you for your review of MagHub. We are glad you found value in our platform, and the integrations only we offer. Our Support Staff is always available to assist with on-boarding new employees, new features, updates, releases, etc. MagHub Marketing Team

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Grace C.

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for small businesses and photographers

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy to use for my client base, and we recommend it often to others. It is simple, has a beautiful interface and is straightforward.

Pros

I work for clients who use this software, and request that I use it also for their management system. I love it. It makes it really quick to see where we have sold and utilized ad space, and we can quickly rearrange advertisements without wasting time. It also allows me to see our vendors and see when a member of our team last reached out to them (this is useful for our rule which is to make contact with each one approximately every 30 days). The Notes feature is my favorite, as I often want to keep track of things as I am on the phone with a client.

Cons

Account activity can lag when a client is behind on a payment and has already made it, but otherwise, this is not too much of an issue. Most of the time, the notifications are up to date almost instantly.

Vendor response

Thank you for the thorough review. Often, the MagHub platform is utilized by many others outside of our direct clients, and it's great to hear those comments/feedback.

PA
AvatarImg

Pam A.

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Maghub - a great program at a great value

Reviewed 3 years ago

We moved from Microsoft Dynamics to MagHub in less than 30 days. At the end of 30 days the staff was able to enter orders and production had the reports they needed. We did not have to change any of our processes because Maghub was easily configurable to what we were used to doing.

Pros

Ease of customization and implementation. MagHub updates the product each month, fixing reported bugs and introducing new features.

Cons

At the time we converted, the reporting on digital revenue was slightly inadequate. With the regular MagHub updates the product now has multiple options available for revenue recognition and viewing.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of MagHub! Our goal for any new user of MagHub switching from another platform, is to get them up and running as soon as possible! It takes both our team and your team's dedication implementation and you've shown your dedication!

MC
AvatarImg

Mary C.

Publishing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thanks for coming to the rescue!

Reviewed a year ago

MayHub came to our rescue five years ago when our old CRM system crashed and we lost 100% of our data. They kindly onboarded us in a speedy but efficient manner and we have never looked back. I really can't say enough great things about MagHub...they have been there with us every step of the way. I also must say that I truly appreciate my friendship with [SENSITIVE CONTENT] who I have leaned on many times.[SENSITIVE CONTENT] has also been outstanding as well and has gone out of his way to help with "special" requests. I look forward to diving in deeper to the software and utilizing even more features that we currently don't use. I highly recommend MagHub to all PMA members!

Pros

It's a great software to track sales, forecast, build reports (from comparison to sales rep activity), and to manage all aspects of billing (from emailing invoices to detailed billing reports).

Cons

They have a lot of updates and it is hard to stay on top of all of the new features...but we try.

SC
AvatarImg

Samantha C.

Media Production, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Quarterly magazine company using MagHub

Reviewed 3 years ago

The benefits of MagHub for our company have been the sales tools, easy invoicing process, and digital tear sheets.

Pros

MagHub is a fantastic tool for our sales team. The team enjoys the ease with which they can track their clients, forecast their goals, and send and receive contracts/signatures. This has streamlined our sales process.

Cons

MagHub seems as though it was created with magazine publishers that publish weekly or monthly magazines in mind more so than quarterly publishers, which made some of the features difficult for us to adjust to. We do not use the software to manage our production schedule or mailing list for this reason. The integration was a bit difficult at the beginning because we were switching from not using a CRM system at all (just tracking everything through spreadsheets and paper files) to this, but our whole team is now adept at using it.

Vendor response

Thank you for your MagHub review. We understand that sometimes it takes some adjustments to get used to a new software system; however, we're glad your team took the time to adopt MagHub.

JH
AvatarImg

Judy H.

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Program

Reviewed 2 years ago

While I may not use all of the components of MagHub, I am a daily user and am certainly appreciative of its many features and ease of use. I highly recommend MagHub to anyone looking for a CRM.

Pros

MagHub software delivers! The CRM is great in contact information storing, pulling reports, adding notes, etc. When requesting something to add that our users would benefit from - MagHub's support team is there to fill the request. And, having the software web-based allows users to have access from anywhere they can access the internet.

Cons

Being a distribution manager, we tried utilizing the distribution component in MagHub and ended up just using the subscription component to print lists for deliveries.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of MagHub! We are glad you have found the value of being able to utilize MagHub and its support anywhere there is an internet connection! Subscriptions and Distribution are two components we are looking to expand upon in the near future, stay tuned for those updates!

GS
AvatarImg

Greg S.

Airlines/Aviation, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Aviation

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good for follow up contacts and notes

Pros

Ease of use when using to contact existing clients

Cons

Can not add a contact email already in the system

Vendor response

Hi there, thank you for your review of the MagHub platform, we are glad that it is easy to use for your sales team. Regarding your comment, you can actually disable the setting to require each contact to Require Unique Email Address on Contacts.

JB
AvatarImg

Juernene B.

Newspapers, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MagHub Business Balance

Reviewed 2 years ago

MagHub has met my main functional needs to perform my job for invoicing and reporting.

Pros

Client account and order entry is seamless and very user-friendly. Field placement and tabbing is uniformed to the format of screen design, making entry from customized forms efficient and effective to time. The quality of design is presented very well for companies, contacts, and financial data in reporting. And the export tool allows for ease of integration to other applications like Microsoft Office.

Cons

Integration to our existing system was difficult because of the inability to develop templates combining form specifications to cost of ad for quotes and purchase price.

Vendor response

Hi there, thank you for your review of MagHub! We are glad it has fit in well with your existing processes. Integrations can certainly be a struggle from time to time, especially when you have been using it for quite some time. We will continue to work on effective procedures when onboarding groups like yours, to make it as seamless as possible.

JB
AvatarImg

Jay B.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Superior Software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall experience has been wonderful . great customer service. Love the live chat option.

Pros

The CRM functions are superior to anything out there. Allows sales reps to stay organized and more time for getting in sales

Cons

need custom reports set up for billing purposes

Vendor response

Hi there, Thank you for your review of MagHub. We appreciate the feedback about creating custom reports; and our team is consistently adding new reports, as well as new integrations (Metabase) to provide the data you need. Support is our #1 priority at Aysling | MagHub and we're glad we can be of assistance.

SB
AvatarImg

Shannon B.

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Incredible Customer Service

Reviewed 3 years ago

MagHub is by far the best Customer Service I have experienced.

Pros

MagHub helped us streamline many processes that were taking too much time.

Cons

One of the great things about MagHub is they are consistently developing their product and adding new features. The downfall is that sometimes a new feature doesn't have all the bells & whistles it needs to be functional for us.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of MagHub! We always believe that our support model and team is what sets us apart from our competitors, and by reading reviews like yours, it certainly seems accurate. With our agile development process of monthly releases, we have had recent meetings and have ideas on how to improve it for our clients, such as yourself.

JD
AvatarImg

Jasmyne D.

Publishing, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We all love MagHub!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our overall experience is we love it! The fact that it is designed specifically for magazines really helped us with work flows. Thank you MagHub!

Pros

We love the automated reminders for the clients and the staff. Our communications are more precise cause we can send messages about clients directly to a user from the client file. The automated installment invoices helped us greatly with our cash flow as human interaction is not required on payment plans anymore.

Cons

The templates of our documents is limited and not very flexible. The system is American and we are Canadians. Some of Canadian requirements are not met like language settings (we have clients that need their documents in French) and provincial & federal taxes boxes.

Vendor response

Hi there Jasmyne, Thank you for your thorough review of MagHub! We're glad your entire team is enjoying MagHub! With feedback from clients like you, we can continue to add improvements to our system to better suit your needs!

CM
AvatarImg

Colleen M.

Publishing,

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

They worked very closely with us to make sure we had everything set up the way we needed.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The staff at Aysling is supportive, knowledgeable, helpful and best of all, fun to work with. I love the magbuilder component - it makes laying the paper out super easy, and mistakes easy to spot immediately. I wish my staff would use the CRM portion more often, but that's on us!

Cons

The circulation aspect isn't as robust as we need so we do not use it. I'm looking forward to the day that we can.

Vendor response

Good afternoon Colleen, Thank you for your review of MagHub. We pride ourselves with the shared knowledge between all of our departments, and the ability to get to know our clients on a personal level. Regarding the circulation portion, stay tuned. With monthly releases, we make sure each portion of MagHub is focused on. MagHub Marketing Team

JC
AvatarImg

Jenny C.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

designer perspective.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love it! Very organized and keeps it all structured. Thank you!

Pros

how I can make reports and save them. The shortcut link for them really saves me time. how everything is right there.

Cons

I wish the entire line of the report would be colored... not just the section of the status. I tend to look left to right visually and when I look at company name I would like to see the color of the status over there as well.... not just having to glance over and see what the color may be.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of MagHub, we also use the Save Reports and can attest, it saves us a lot of time and clicks as well! We also submitted a Feature Request for your comment about the coloring of reports.

HW
AvatarImg

Heather W.

Publishing, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great order entry system!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This software is so much easier to use and "up-to-date" than our previous order entry system.

Cons

The CRM feature could really use some enhancing. It's definitely lacking in comparison to other true CRM systems such as Salesforce, Pipedrive, Oracle's Siebel, etc.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of MagHub. At Aysling we strive to continuously update our platform monthly, and we're glad that work has been noticed. With our CRM we're constantly making improvements, from new dashboards, better widgets, less clicks, and smoother integrations; we know there are more features/benefits that would help grow our client's ad sales, and we'll keep adding and improving them.

ES
AvatarImg

Eileen S.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product

Reviewed a year ago

Ad proofing, signing contracts and billing have never been easier.

Pros

Mag Hub has all of the benefits of Magazine Manager, Sales Force, and FileMaker Pro in one easy to use software.

Cons

I don't really have criticisms with the software, but no one likes paperwork or data entry.

Vendor response

Eileen, thanks for your positive review! We're glad to hear that MagHub has made your life easier.

JP
AvatarImg

Jeffry P.

Publishing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MagHub Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good overall

Pros

Browser based, fairly intuitive to use, admin from my team members is good

Cons

Final check mark icon in Reports could be a different color so at a quick glance, you would be able to see Final entries in your reports

Vendor response

Hello there, thank you for your review of MagHub. We are glad you have found MagHub to be intuitive; also, thank you for your feedback about the coloring, I have shared this directly with our Product Director to get this resolved in an appropriate manner.

ML
AvatarImg

Marjorie L.

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Maghub

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

able to process sub payment and have sub created at the same time.

Cons

multi steps to do one function. Subs that are bought from outside USA are able to sub for Domestic subs .

Vendor response

Thank you for your review of MagHub, we are consistently removing the need of multiple clicks. It's a big system, but we are making progress.