Wix Reviews

Wix Reviews

Wix

Free Publishing Platform

4.23/5 (104 reviews)
3,475,228     392,645

Flordeliza Sricharoentrakul

Wix is beautiful BUT I am not so happy with the loading time when I am working on my site.

16/06/2017

Free features and media, beautiful site like a pro, affordable costs for added features, easy navigation.

Pros

I can pick and drop contents and make it so beautiful like pro! There are so many wonderful free media to choose from. Most importantly, the paid feature is affordable.

Cons

Just one thing actually, it is the loading time. Everytime I am working on my site, there are several occasions that I can't stand the long loading time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marilyn Barker

Love it. Super easy and lots of options

07/06/2017

Pros

Easy to use, lots of options and templates. You are able to build multiple sites and they offer a variety of templates. Very Affordable.

Cons

Sometimes it can be difficult to find apps that you need and the html part is a little complicated. Sometimes they can be expensive. Wait for a coupon.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lauren Ara

Wix is my favorite website design/blogging software

07/06/2017

Pros

I like that you are able to create a free site and then you just pay to have the ads removed and to connect your domain. It's nice when you have time to create the site and see how it will look before actually paying

Cons

There's nothing I can think of off the top of my head that I disliked about Wix. Maybe they can include more templates, or ideas for bloggers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Janet Almendinger

Great website builder that is easy to use.

07/06/2017

It looks professional so people look through my site.

Pros

It was the first website builder that used flash so I could create a very professional site for my business. It was also easy to do by myself with no previous experience. I even had people ask who did my website and were suprised that I did it myself.

Cons

On some browsers or computers I have a hard time doing website editing , I don't know if this is on my side or wix and you can not edit on a tablet which would be convenient when I am not by a computer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joshua Saunders

Awesome! Super clean, exactly what you expect.

07/06/2017

Pros

It's gotten so good, really powerful. You can make really beautiful websites so quickly, and they've got awesome apps that go with your webpages. I personally love the invoices app, which allows you to send invoices and get paid.

Cons

Hard to think of any. If I had to pick something it's that choosing a category for your page (i.e. "composer portfolio" won't allow you to add any page types from other categories, which I wanted to do.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthias Van Woensel

Disappointed, but I probably expected too much

16/05/2017

I got a website and store up and running fast.

Pros

As advertised, it is extremely easy to set up a beautiful site in minutes. Large collection of layouts and designs to choose from. Adding an online store is a click (and a credit card) away. Website can work on mobile and desktop. Perfect for someone who doesn't know anything about HTML.

Cons

Once you have your basic website, problems emerge. Wix uses a lot of tricks to make it easy to set up but the downside is that all these tricks make every Wix website bloated and slow. If you are a developer and are expecting to "save time" building with Wix in stead of with something like bootstrap, forget it. Yes, it is more work to set up a website from scratch with bootstrap yourself, but you'll have full control over it. So before you go with Wix, do your research. Make sure it is the right solution and you aren't bothered by the downsides that come with it. That said, the problems Wix are probably shared by all website builder services. So this is less of a critique towards Wix and more towards the whole website builder concept.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ariel Kostrna

Wix is an easy-to-use website designer

20/04/2017

Wix does exactly what its advertisements suggest: help you create stunning websites with ease. Wix has many pre-built templates that give you a create start. The drag-and-drop editor is a dream to work with for those of us who aren't in love with Wordpress's complicated editor. Everything is visual, no coding required - a HUGE plus for me! There are options for embedding pictures, gallery, video, even a blogroll. Wix is ideal for product and personal-resume websites. I would suggest looking elsewhere if your main idea is a blog, but Wix is perfect for just about any other type of website. The only cons I can think of is that Wix is not going to treat your website quite as well as Wordpress when it comes to SEO. But that is not a big deal to most of us. It really helps you create a website that will impress people without taking much work at all! I recommend Wix especially for people who have no design or website experience. None required with Wix!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Judith Eastbrook

When to WIX, when not to WIX

15/04/2017

Several years ago, I looked at several entry level website providers. I am not saying they are entry level providers, I mean that they offer entry level website feature sets. Because I had no experience building websites, I chose WIX over Wordpress. I thought Wordpress was a lot of work to learn. My site needs some functionality but it is not complex site. I also did not need an ecommerce site because I am not involved in ecommerce. So I chose WIX. I love WIX. I love the beauty of its templates, I love the flexibility of its design. I am not using the AI feature so I don't know anything about it. The WIX tutorials are some of the best I have ever used. The knowledge base answers nearly every question. I would recommend it to others and I would use it again. But for a different kind of website. Th big problem with WIX is they do not give you access to their source code. Also, if you want to add apps to your site, you must select from their app market. I will say there is a good selection that seems to be growing but what happens is that you end up cobbling together the available apps in order to offer additional services i.e. surveys, instruction manuals, ebooks, free trials and so forth. And WIX offers no live support. You must rely on the support of the app providers, many of whom are very good, I will say. But you can't change WIX. After many intensive months of learning WIX and its app market, I realized I could have learned Wordpress and had much easier time integrating apps from a much wider selection, as in - almost anything. So buying WIX depends on your needs. My website offers a lot of educational experiences and materials, so Wordpress would probably have been better, but WIX is enough. First figure out what functionality you need for your website, then look over the WIX app market to see what is available, then decide. Also WIX's blog is still fairly new and is a bit quirky. But if I were selling arts, food, jewelry, clothing, beautiful things, then I would say WIX all the way.

Pros

Beautiful, easy to use templates

Cons

Limited to using only the apps in their app market.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Wix

Before you buy first figure out what functionality you need for your website, then look over the WIX app market to see what is available, then decide. Don't assume you will be able to get whatever you want.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
dhruv gupta

A good, simple to use and reliable website builder software with many templates

15/04/2017

Wix is a very good option for users with little or no knowledge of Html and other website coding languages. It is easy to use and can be learnt very quick even by a non tech savvy person. It has some limitations though like:- It's mandatory to include e-mail in the contact form. The inbuilt in tools like slideshow maker are good but they should be easier to use and more feature rich which is why some users may have to use third party commercial slideshow apps. And lastly wix has a bit less bandwidth in its most basic plan and second most basic plan.

Pros

Huge collection of templates simple to use

Cons

Some built in apps like slideshow maker should be made more user friendly and easy to use. Pricing plans can be made be made bit more attractive especially in case of bandwidth. Contact form's email mandatory inclusion should not be there.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joshua  Lindsey

Wix has the best Drag-and -drop functionality I've seen!

12/04/2017

I enjoy using Wix to develop our websites. It really allows you to do whatever you want, and put elements where you need them, at a reasonable price. I have too often been limited by software or websites that don't let you customize. Wix is not this way!

Pros

Very customaizable

Cons

Lacks a few useful features, no accordion text, can't embed sites fully.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carol Clark

Fantastic Website Design Software

23/02/2017

I've used Wix to design and build two websites - one for a local garden club and the 2nd for a local historic town. I've been a technologist for over 30+ years and I'm so pleased with how easy Wix is to use. I've been able to do some amazing things using the WIx software. Wix has recently introduced their ADI (artificial design interface) which makes it so easy for just about anyone to create a website. When I started I reviewed Wix, Weebly, and Squarespace and I preferred the ease of use with Wix. You can't go wrong with Wix.

Pros

Very easy to learn and easy to create very professional websites

Cons

No complaints

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wix

Easy to learn, easy to create unique professional designs. Love the software!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jared Jensen

Great website from scratch

11/02/2017

We needed to create a website from scratch to announce and manage an annual event (conference for Risk Managers). Wix was easy to select templates, add our data and put everything we needed, just were we needed it. Only downside was some of the features we needed were at an additional cost. Some we bought, some we lived without.

Pros

Easy to use templates. Ease in editing and adding information and features. Quick and easy

Cons

Having to purchase additional add ons and bonus helpful content.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Wix

Good overall value for what you get. Great to start a website from absolute scratch. Ground up design.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Cohn

It's a good start.

10/02/2017

I used Wix for the development of my first web page. It was a good starting point to get used to an online market and design something that looked nice. Wix has improved some of its features of late, but has some quirks that make it not ideal for further business use and development. I enjoyed my time with Wix, but for aesthetic, professionalism and SEO purposes ended up transferring to SquareSpace.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Quirky, not as functional, not as strong SEO

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
(Computer Software company, 1-10 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Powerful features, but non existent support

09/02/2017

Of all web design tools, I had experience with WIX offers more design features than others, but it all go to waste a moment something stops working. I could not rely on them to bring any of my designs into production.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
lisa jimmy

Free and easy to use

02/02/2017

Wix is very easy to use and flexible. They are always adding new features and apps to suit any needs, especially for any business. this is so easy to use! I can update my site whenever I need to and have complete control. Lots of choices for templates too! Awesome!

Pros

Ease-of-use.

Cons

none found yet

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wix

you must try it

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Esther Moskovitz

I've got two websites using wix

02/02/2017

Wix was easy to figure out how to use, and the websites look very professional. I'm happy with my website.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bethany Siu

Great if you need a quick simple website

01/02/2017

Wix and Weebly are very similar. Of the two, I slightly preferred Wix just in terms of the overall design and options, but if you're looking for a simple drag-and-drop website builder, then I would recommend you check out both before deciding. Weebly is pretty limited in terms of what you can do, but the limitations make it easy to use. If you've tried out Wordpress and found it overwhelming, then you might want to check these out. The limitations and ease also mean that you can put together a website very quickly, and it will look decent, though probably not mind-blowing. Ultimately neither Wix nor Weebly had the design options and features that I wanted, but they might be a great fit for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa Natividad

Great value for the less than experienced computer person

31/01/2017

I needed to design my own website and used this program. Great customer support. If you are not happy with their final product, you don't have to pay. Great support and user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Mellon

Free and easy to use not very powerful

30/01/2017

Very easy to use and customize what is available because it is free it is great but not many options available due to low costs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jason Waltersdorff

Well executed and easy to use...

30/01/2017

However it is costly for what it is. There are a lot of WYSiWYG editors out there, and this one does a little more than most. I do recommend it, especially if you knowledge of web design is limited (or minimal), but the problem with editors like this is that you can only do the sorts of things that they (in this case, Wix) have pre-configured for you. ...and of course with enhanced "ease" comes a monthly cost. So, there's that.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Speirs

Easiest to use

26/01/2017

Wix is by far the easiest content management system I came across. It's new ADI is also doing wonders for those who really cannot spare few hours to make a website.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heather Peters

As a graphic designer, I prefer the more robust customization of Wordpress...

25/01/2017

I am a freelance graphic designer, and I have many clients that start out their webite on Wix, simply because it is free and the features are there, but not overwhelming for someone trying to do it themselves. I was managing a client's website through Wix, but even they deemed it a "temporary" solution for the site at hand at the time. Wix is definitely a great "starter" for someone needing to get a website up and going quickly and on a tight or no budget, but I much prefer the custom abilities with Wordpress and the ability to truly make it look like "your own".

Pros

Ease of use for beginners Great for a budget

Cons

Not as customizable as other platforms Features can be restrictive

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephanie Miller

Verified Reviewer

Wix is like a business in a box!

16/01/2017

Creating dedicated websites to promote property for sale is a core part of my business. I needed a way to market real estate that focuses on an individual property and wasn't more advertising for a real estate professional and their entire inventory of listings. With Wix, creating websites for home sellers makes their property look so good, my clients have second thoughts about selling!

Pros

The Wix app market is full of free apps to enhance the visitor's experience with professional videos, and galleries. Their business apps can help do everything from bringing traffic to your site to communicating with visitors to setting up an online store. Connecting a Wix website to a domain name is easy. I've never experienced any security issues with their cloud-based platform.

Cons

There are less expensive options to purchase a domain name outside of Wix, so I would recommend connecting to a domain name you already own.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Wix

Wix is constantly introducing new features. Their latest allows you to create paid video courses. If you have a course on Udemy or one of the other course platforms, setting it up on a Wix site is an alternative worth exploring. Wix is my go-to platform for creating websites for my business and for clients. Once you create a client site, it's easy to transfer it to them and remain an admin of the site.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lynsey Vestal

Pretty neat

09/01/2017

I have used wix twice. Once for an online portfolio project for work and the other to build a website for my business. It was easy to use, but you can go in and add details and can be as time-consuming as you want. If you want simple, you got it, if you want more you can have that too. I did not need customer service, so I think that is a good thing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Justin Metz

Excellent Product

09/01/2017

Wix is extremely easy to use to build a website. Can create a custom website in a few hours. Plenty of free templates and photos.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more