Active Collab Reviews

Active Collab Reviews

Active Collab

Powerful, yet simple project management tool

4.63/5 (27 reviews)
4,773     16,085

Darius R

Great UX and combination of features/add-ons/api/management

19/03/2017

We migrated to Active Collab abount 2 months ago after attempting to work with Basecamp, Trello, and NutCache. The combination of project management, team+client collaboration, time tracking, expense tracking, and project templates, API, and accounting add-on integrations made this hard to beat. The UX is also the best that we've come across.

Pros

The combination of features, the API, the add-ons, permission management, project template creation, and UX.

Cons

We haven't found anything significant that we would improve about it so far.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Active Collab

This is allowing us to manage software, mobile, and web application development projects with team of developers which very mixed experience. The ability to create templates has been invaluable. Permission management, and client or client+ users has been really helpful. Tracking time and expenses, project goals, tasks, and deadlines has been invaluable. The platform is really well thought out and UX is WAY better than everything else we've tried. The mobile app could use some work but its on its way.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nadine Eich

Excellent team collaboration tool!

17/03/2017

I have implemented Active Collab at the beginning of January this year and I am absolutely excited to use it everyday. Its design is amazingly clean and it is so simple to use! Incredible! I love that all my freelancers got easily adjusted to it too. Moreover, I could implement my accounting system Xero which makes invoicing my clients super easy... It would be great if we could "like" and "celebrate" comments in the tool to make it even more fun. Other than that: I love it and I recommend it to everybody! Thank you!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tomislav Zovic

Very UX/UI

17/03/2017

retainer-based clients where they are paying a fixed monthly fee for our services. I would recommend Active Collab to any agency looking for a good overall project management tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sahar Madanat

Very Useful and Intuitive

28/01/2017

Customer support is excellent and very fast in their response, which has made the learning curve much faster. But the software is easy to understand and with a few trials, you'll have your projects up and running on it in no time.. so far it's been so useful!

Pros

Ease of use. It's does all the basics very well, it's also very reliable.

Cons

Some features like check in and check out, desktop download would be great so we are not dependent on internet connection...

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Active Collab

Try it out with ONE project and see how easy it is, before moving everything on it...but it's a fast learning curve.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Blade Mages

Great PM product from a progressive and adapting company.

18/01/2017

When we first started with Active Collab (2 years ago), we we're so excited by the offering. I had tried tons of PM softwares - Mavenlink, Wrike, Trello, Basecamp, 10,000ft, Podio, Asana, Paymo - you name it and I had spent a few weeks with it. When we came into activecollab, we found it to be almost tailored to our exact needs. Project management with time tracking, project budgeting and estimating/invoicing features. It was the right amount of sophistication with each of these features where the software did the job well, but it also wasn't overkill. Once we started using the product, we we're thrilled with the support. From basic questions to feature requests, we found that the team at ActiveCollab has done a great job of building the product and supporting it along the way. We're excited by the new features that are constantly being added which are meeting the demands of diverse teams - KanBan and Gantt style project management being two fairly recent additions to the software. Overall, the software is very flexible. We are a small marketing agency and use it for tracking both project-based work as well as retainer-based clients where they are paying a fixed monthly fee for our services. We've found ways to make ActiveCollab accommodate both client types and have used it to manage a variety of project types - from events to website builds to multi-channel campaigns. We've been thrilled with ActiveCollab, it's pricing model, and the overall feature set of the product. Yes, softwares like Mavenlink have much more robust resource scheduling, or basecamp having a better client-facing experience, but those softwares are also missing things. Or are ridiculously expensive! ActiveCollab is the perfect blend of features and price.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremy Haber

Great project management tool for web design agencies

18/01/2017

We moved from Basecamp to ActiveCollab and we couldn't be happier. We found that ActiveCollab had a lot of great features that you need to run an agency that other PM software just didn't have without additional 3rd party integrations. And AC imported all our projects directly from Basecamp so we didn't have to start from scratch. Ever since moving to AC it's been much easier to manage and track our time accurately ¿ and invoice for it too! AC does a great job at keeping track of what you invoiced and what you haven't. It's nice being able to keep track of our entire team's workload. The workload report is one we use often along with the calendar. It helps us keep track of our capacity. Communicating with clients is easy, as AC keeps everything centralized. Though it would be nice if clients had to tag at least one team member when they send a message or default to the project lead. The overall interface is very simple to use for the most part. We do find it confusing sometimes when we try and do bulk actions, I tend to accidentally mark the task as completed instead. I would recommend AC to any agency looking for a good overall project management tool. AC fits our needs well and that's what we like best about it. Overall I would say that if you are considering a project management software, you should definitely give ActiveCollab a try.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephen Hewitt

A more simple alternative to project management , but...

18/01/2017

We looked for a long time at various project management tools and came back to Active Collab multiple times. The simplicity and ease of use are very welcome. Collaborating with and invoicing clients is easy and worked well. Clients would enter questions or feature requests as discussions. If this became work we would do, it was easy to convert those to tasks. Simplicity can have a price ... in this case, there were a few pieces missing that we really wanted: - create a defect or subtasks and estimate it separately - see at a glance how much work was committed to for each "list" - export data

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marco Giorgetti

Best in class Digital Project Management tool

13/01/2017

I'm a user of Active Collab since version 4.x and with the introduction of version 5, I'm a proud user and contributor of this awesome tool. With AC5 our company found a project management platform which supports all our activities by focusing on fundamentals and giving us great flexibility on how to manage our own workflows and integration with all our tools. AC5 is helping us to reach our goals of efficiency, easiness and precise project management. Hope it will keep improving! :)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dragana Markovic

On of the best project management tool

12/01/2017

I have been used this tool for one year now and it is perfectly fits my needs. It is easy to use, customer experience is great. Also our team easily switched from other project management tool and started to use it for our daily projects.

Pros

easy to use, very fast. Short time for team to adjust it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Maureen Allen

Works for us

12/01/2017

I've been using this for about 6 years now, 4 at my employer's and when I opened up my own company went with it again. It's intuitive, and handles most functions that an agency needs, in one spot. I am able to use it well for internal team as well as managing freelancers, and adding them as needed.

Pros

Easy to use, intuitive, even for those not as familiar with it

Cons

Very minor, things like printing invoices or SOWs directly from system instead of downloading to my computer first

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rob Wilson

Activecollab helps us stay organised

12/01/2017

We use activecollab to manage all our projects between our studios in the U.K. and USA. It's enables us to work together smoothly and is so much easier than constant emailing. I love the ability to make our own tags to make it work for us.

Pros

Ability to customise tags.

Cons

Having to scroll to get multiple projects to load. Not being able to change tags from projects page but having to go into the project to edit. The licensing structure makes adding our next employee (number 16) a big price jump.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Emanuele Dal Carlo

Overall a good product with Great value for money

12/01/2017

We landed on Active Collab after a long process during which we tried several competitor's products. As an advertising agency our goal was to have a slim, fast and complete system to manage our projects that range from small projects to national campaigns. We use the self hosted version that was very easy to have it up and running with very thorough help from AC help desk. One of its main pros is the price, in this range it beats hands down all the credible competitor. Using AC has also allowed us to drop many other services we were using and concentrate all our communications and activities in one simple and friendly environment.

Pros

Price, features, ease of use

Cons

non the best GUI, somewhat confusing at time. The mobile APP ( we have android ) is still al long way from being useful

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Active Collab

Increase the number of integrations

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mário Martins

Excellent tool

12/01/2017

With Active Collab we become an even better company! Now we can have a full overview of all our projects in evey place at all time. Our programmers love it and our managers are able to have a full overview.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alex Favin

Our Favorite CRM Program

12/01/2017

Creative Outfit Inc. uses Active Collab to manage our Projects, Tasks, Hours, R&D and more. It has been more functional, effective & affordable than everything else we've tried. The Support is also helpful & communicative during any Troubleshooting we've done. We use Active Collab in the Office & On-Location via the Mobile App. It is simply the BEST!

Pros

The range of options in the Dashboard are great for any Start-up. Our Managers & Staff use almost All of the Features.

Cons

I wish there was 'Subscription' driven Hour Tracking. So we could balance Time against an Account that Renews every Month.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Active Collab

The Hour Tracking around Subscriptions could be enhanced. You should also Sell a White Labeled version. We would Buy it.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nemanja Veselinovi¿

Amazing project management tool

12/01/2017

We've been in a search for a long time trying to find a PM tool for our design agency. We've tried Asana, Trello & Active Collab and trial each of them for some time. Active Collab was a huge winner. Tracking tasks, expenses, time & working with clients is simply astonishing and they've built user interface which is unbelievably easy to use. (If we take into consideration that most of the PM tools have the hard time to stay simple due to the huge amount of content). Active Collab addresses the key issues in project management and brings your agency messy things into order!

Pros

The way how everything is built and organised. It's simple, and if you need additional features, you just add them via add-ons.

Cons

none

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Osman Ajkic

north2 team

09/01/2017

Great piece of software. Our team works with Active Collab project management application for 6-7 years and we find it great. It is great for project management, team communication and communication with our clients.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Active Collab

Add labels to subtasks Resolve bugs with loading and reordering

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Damien Hottelier

Great collaboration software...

09/01/2017

... but be prepared for frequent massive changes. We had some headaches in the past for updating activeCollab and switching from the old version to the next one. The ability to run it through php and mysql is great. It needs elasticsearch and this is not great at all. Right now, the software is well-done. It offers the essential features for a collaboration software. It lacks : two-phase authentification, integration with office 365.

Pros

Easy to use Easy to install Cheap to host

Cons

Future not clear Frequent changes in recent times

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michel Mueller

Best Collab Tool Out There

07/01/2017

Over the past 10 years I worked with several online project management, collaboration and accounting tools, including Basecamp, Harvest/Forecast, Freshbooks, Trello, Asana, Teamwork, Podio, Wrike, etc. Two years ago we started working with Active Collab, and it is the most comprehensive tool so far. Not everything is perfect yet, but compared to all other tools out there, it does the best job in modelling your business, enabling collab workflows and being on top of all projects developments. And it has a nice UX, which is very important if you work 8+ hours a day with an app/software/tool.

Pros

Covers almost everything you need for team workflow and managing (digital) project, nice UX, rich features, moderate price

Cons

Lacks a dashboard/cockpit, reports should be more flexible and easier to use, design of estimates and documents should be more flexible, billing options should be more flexible

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Active Collab

Add a cockpit, a chat, and more ways to style the invoices/estimates and more/easier billing options, e.g. being able to invoice selected tasks with hours and expenses per task.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gleb Makarov

All great, just misses some "sprint planning mode" :)

06/01/2017

We use activecollabe every day for project management, but now when we paln sprints and use scrum, we had to look for some other sof for planing sprints, if such feature will be available in active colab out of the box, would be just awesom! :) Something there you can see all open tasks from all projects and you could drag them to back log of the sprint and than drag over to sprint todo or done or what ewer there can be (kind of list/kanban view) and of course setting a spring length and so on :) This is one of the most missing features for us :(

Pros

Easy of use, all in one place, we like invoices a lot!

Cons

Missing sprint planing option, a lot!! :) we now use scrumdo.com for sprintplaning :( would be coll to have such functionality inside activecollab. this will make activecollab bes projectmanagement tool out there!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Hyde

Verified Reviewer

Active Collab helps deploying Collaboration tool on my Intranet

25/04/2016

I have been using Active Collab since about 1 year and I have installed it on my local intranet. We use it to collaborate within our team and assign project activities to team members. This tool has helped us with effective communication.

Pros

Its very helpful to manage tasks and can be assigned to team easily.

Cons

The latest version (5.x) has some issues with permission management and does not import the permission levels from version 4.x. I also cant get my phone numbers within the people Tab with version 5.x. Seems this field is hidden or removed from latest versions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dilek Coskun

ActiveCollab is the best project manager I've ever met

03/07/2014

I've used many project management tool. Basecamp, Jira, Teamwork but AC is fast, simple and hassle free. Using activeCollab on cloud is amazing. Our team will know what they have to do, when it must be done and who needs to do it. activeCollab is a nice tool for project management with very attentive support. I love it! I think every project manager will also love it : )

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anna McCambridge

activeCollab is a relief

03/07/2014

Although I'm new to it, I can say the activeCollab is quite a relief from our old system of job tracking and client/designer communication. In the past, I've used other systems, such as BaseCamp and Workamajig, and most recently a custom app which was not working well for our team. activeCollab is actually quite easy to use and rather intuitive in its interface, and the only reason I gave it 4 of 5 stars is because I've not mastered it yet. Again, have only been using it for a very short time. The customer service is remarkable¿very quick to respond, friendly, knowledgeable and not just helpful, they want to make it right for the user, and will make it right for you. Overall, I'm very happy with this product and look forward to delving deeper into its many layers of usefulness. I recommend it to anyone needing a better collaborative system.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tevfik Erkan Sahan

AC has changed all our work methods.

24/06/2014

In 2007, I first tried activeCollab version 0.7 and I have been using it ever since. AC has changed all our work methods. I love how the product has evolved over the years. Not only as a project management tool that we use as a tool for accounting. Able to integrate with other applications through the API, through reports were able to improve our processes. I do not know how you can work without AC :)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hayley Tompsett

I can't imagine managing the business without it

23/06/2014

We use Active Collab on the Cloud platform to run all our internal communication and project management, aswell as our external communication with clients. We have also recently moved on to managing our invoicing and credit control within AC too. Task management, priority control, budget reporting, timer clocks, quote system, customisable dashboards and much more have all been instrumental in streamlining the day-to-day running of our business. I honestly don't know how we managed before we found it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tom PM

Standard Project Management Tool

28/03/2014

Does a good job of tracking and assigning tasks. Good assignment of tasks and following of items. We also integrate with Quickbooks. Poor time tracking, can only enter time against a single task and not able to enter a weeks time across multiple projects. Reporting needs to support reporting by weeks and months without manually generating a report and then combining in Excel by myself. Cust Ser said I could build it myself.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Active Collab


Thank you for the review Tom. You can log general time on a project, that is not associated to a task. Reports by week and month are available and can be exported. Regarding the new features you were suggesting, activeCollab has a modular structure that allows adding new features by writing modules. We are not able to do customization ourselves, as we are focused on improving activeCollab for everyone, but we have provided instructions for writing modules and we can give you a list of developers with experience. Feel free to contact us if you need any further information.

Read more