App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Productboard Logo

Productboard

Customer-driven product management system

(29)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Productboard Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

150

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.62/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Great for productivity, clean and intuitive user interface, love that they continuously improve by requesting new feature adds from users.
Productboard is customizable and has a lot of features built-in (Drivers, Objectives) to help you prioritize and plan effectively. It has a portal for intake and the ability to save views is helpful.
It has a pretty UI and can handle a lot of data, plus give you the ability to really organize it effectively. Does a good job for early customer discovery.
Miss an integration with Gitlab. Pretty weak on the customer feedback management.
A little cumbersome when searching for content. I will search for items that I know are in the board and no results come up.
The upvoting features can be difficult to use.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


150 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ryan L.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product for managing large amounts of feedback into a concise roadmap

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

So easy to record feedback through email, chrome, intercom, slack and many more integrations Easy to use inbox for running through this feedback and matching it up with your roadmap The look and feel of the site is excellent Customer support is quick and very helpful Excellent community including a slack channel with helpful tips, articles etc. Portal is an excellent idea and great for engaging users and displaying the roadmap to prospective enterprise customers

Cons

I have been a customer for a while now and have had issues sharing the roadmap view with CEO/Investors etc. and it is still not perfect but I can see where improvements are being made to work towards this.

AK
AvatarImg

Alex K.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for iterating on customer feedback

Reviewed 2 years ago

Productboard is a great tool for software companies looking to build a process around their customer feedback.

Pros

Productboard's insights are a great way to process customer feedback and group that feedback into actionable features for our engineering team. The user impact score helps us prioritize this feedback based on needs, and when a feature is complete we can circle back to the insights and see everyone who requested the feature.

Cons

Sometimes the customization options can be overwhelming. It would be nice to have a templates feature that lets you reuse certain processes & functionality between views. I sometimes think I'm doing something the 'wrong' way because there are so many ways to accomplish it.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nathan B.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great roadmapping and insight capture tool

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I love the UI of the platform, the app feels modern and straightforward

Cons

The UX can be a little clunky, very easy to lose a feature and unable to search unless the term is exactly right

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Life saver for product managers everywhere

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Product board is an easily-navigable single source of truth for all product ideas along with a single source for all product feedback. Saves so much time and hassle for product managers whilst bringing together all stakeholders from around the business.

Cons

Can't really think of anything to be honest.

CG
AvatarImg

Cody G.

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and helpful

Reviewed 4 years ago

We were able to use it to communicate with others and to organize our backlog. I love how feedback is tied to things we are working on or considering working on.

Pros

It has a good deal of flexibility and is easy to grasp.

Cons

It is not really meant for multiple teams. I am having a hard time figuring out how to manage several dev teams and their unique assignments and backlog.

TP
AvatarImg

Tanya P.

Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game changer

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love being able to see accurate customer data in relation to feature requests.

Cons

The flow from feature list to roadmap is clunky

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Richard S.

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Lack of Reporting lets this Product Down

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have used Productboard in 2 companies now. The UI is a bit funny, but once you get used to it is intuitive enough. The limitations on reporting make it difficult to recommend.

Pros

Capturing feedback from external sources, prioritisation against company goals & objectives

Cons

Unfortunately, there is almost no reporting available. So although I can prioritise against company objectives, it is nearly impossible to report back on how much time and resource is allocated. I don't know how long features take to get released. Or to move from Long-term to short-term etc. I can't therefore set any metrics around speed of development, and can't report back to the board on where resources are being allocated. This makes the product useful for only half of my role.

KC
AvatarImg

Kyle C.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best must have Product tool for companies

Reviewed 5 months ago

Overall phenomenal experience and has truly helped me grow as a product manager and helped me focus my time on the important things.

Pros

Love the roadmapping and the ability to assign releases, and status's and organize your product as you like, extremely flexible and useful tool

Cons

The way it sometimes integrates with other tools and updates the formatting of text, and the inability to correctly format words when pasting from a microsoft word document into the Productboard

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ozan O.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product roadmap planner that makes everything visible

Reviewed 5 years ago

Productboard is a very useful tool to make our relationships transparent with our stakeholders both inside and outside the company.

Pros

The Productboard has a beautiful interface design and is very easy to use. We can easily plan product roadmaps from general to the finest details. Prioritization scores of product features are calculated automatically according to different parameters. Thus, we can clearly see which feature we should develop first. User feedback and tools for collecting new ideas are also outdated and very useful. We can also include our users in our product development processes.

Cons

Using the Productboard first time it should be confusing to make a setup according to your needs, but when the system understood everything gets clear and runs smoothly. Although it has very different layouts, you may not be able to create a layout for your specific needs.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Marcel P.

Computer Software,

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This product made me a better product manager.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

As a CEO of an early stage company, I wear a lot of hats. I had to find a way to create really clear roadmaps for the team and change them as we itterate that was visual, easy an most importantly, fast. Productboard was everything I was looking for and so much more. - The UI looks fantastic. - There are views for every kind of roadmap discussion, whether that's sprints, waterfall, high level, releases....

Cons

I had a tiny bit of trouble getting a hang of the UI the first few hours. Which was frustrating at first, then I watched a few tutorials, got the hang of it, and was off to the races. Ultimately that's pretty good for a product that is as robust as this one. But do yourself a favor and watch some tutorials before you try to create your first roadmap.

SH
AvatarImg

Simon H.

Computer Hardware, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The end of feature spreadsheets and a great single source of truth!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The ability to link customer insights directly to the different pains and feature requests. Before Productboard much of the insights we had to go on when designing/developing solutions would be anecdotal evidence from the commercial team or the few interviews we could do with select customers. Now we have the ability to see customers' own words about their requests before we start building, without...

Cons

There are some great missing pieces that would hugely improve the product, such as a CRM integrations, an API and a proper Zapier integration (in lack of the first two). Right now Productboard is valuable in itself, but it would extend the value so much further if we could properly link it to our other systems.

MH
AvatarImg

Marcin H.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Productboard - good "core" for the product management teat

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

- ability to gather, tag and process insights from both clients and internal staff - semi automatic prioritization - ability to create public roadmaps for clients without duplicating the inputs for them (however this is tricky, as it requires from you to keep internal notes very clean and "client ready") - well working integration with jira (two way sync)

Cons

- To use it properly you must work using objectives, which for some features may be tricky - the features dependencies are limited to "blocks / is blocked", misses quite important one "shall be developed in parallel with" - jira integration is not visible from jira (when I browse jira project I don't know that certain task was linked with productboard)

JM
AvatarImg

Jessy M.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

This is one of my favorite tool.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Productboard makes it simple for teams to review and plan improvements to their products in order to achieve the company's goals. It is simple to enter ideas, notes, and plans into the system, allowing teams to grow and move forward rather than simply thinking about what they should do. To begin, teams may just use the most important features of productboard, gradually incorporating more of it into their workflow. It's not difficult to get ideas and backlogs into productboard, and seeing the development may be gratifying.

Cons

At times, the quantity of customization choices offered might be daunting. It would be beneficial if there was a feature that allowed you to reuse specific processes and features across views. Because there are so many different ways to achieve everything, I frequently wonder if I'm doing it correctly.

IV
AvatarImg

Inga V.

Broadcast Media, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Constant feedback and feature management

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I'm amazed by productboard UX that is totally covering the needs of PMs. And, eventually, the needs of the users. We can easily track all the insights and convert them to features. Amazing customer service btw.

Cons

Hm..have nothing bad to say about it. I'm using it around a year now and have never experienced any issue.

AC
AvatarImg

Angie C.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Product-led platform, built for PMs

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

As PMs know, the key is getting lots of insights then filtering down into the ones that bring about actual value. Productboard enables everyone in the company to contribute ideas and insights. Once PMs have done prioritization, they can visualize the plan in multiple dynamic roadmap dashboards. Overall this works well as a product-focused tool which can also integrate with other systems.

Cons

Feature-wise it's still a bit sparse. From an insight perspective, it would be nice to add constraints or templates to help structure the feedback. This would help when pruning the backlog of items.

MR
AvatarImg

Miroslav R.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing helper for every organization1!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

- central location for gathering all your product feedback from several locations - easy collaboration with a team (e.g. comments) - data driven decision support (e.g. user impact score, driver impact) - roadmap preparation capabilities

Cons

There are definitely minor thing to improve, but nothing that would prevent us from using the tool efficiently. Really, we love using Product Board on a daily basis.

VL
AvatarImg

Victor L.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our new product goldmine!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Better customer insights. Raw feedback that even developers can read about. Centralised team ideas.

Pros

We love using the feedback highlighter tool to link it to features and components, this is such a flawless function! The custom views you can get on the different sections of the product really make our jobs easier. You can really deep dive into your target groups preferences, understand the major needs and remove unnecessary noise. The progress of the features is easy to track and to share with stakeholders.

Cons

On Firefox, there is a very slow scrolling speed when all features are expanded, which can be frustrating. Also, the fact that there are only one-way integrations with Trello and Github makes us create many duplicate features.

AO
AvatarImg

Alejandro O.

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great product and market leader for a reason

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

It's a very easy to use product while still providing very robust functionality

Cons

There have been some features that we've missed and some integrations that would help a lot with our specific workflow, like with Asana, for example.

TJ
AvatarImg

Tobias J.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for planning, prioritizing and communicating product development

Reviewed 4 years ago

Planning, prioritizing and communicating product development across many individual products / modules.

Pros

Higher level planning of product features with details in Jira. Ability to link stages (e.g. Design, Dev) to their individual Jira Epics. Communication of Roadmap and easier prioritization and capacity planning. Link customer feedback to Features. Great and responsive customer support when it's needed.

Cons

Somewhat high price per admin user. We'd add more users at a different price point.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gus G.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Helps us organize our feedback and stay aligned

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Productboard has been a game changer for both our roadmap and for capturing insights from across the business. I love having the ability to categorize insights, assign them to users/companies, and attach them to features or ideas on the roadmap. Having a dynamic roadmap that I can assign these insights to makes it incredibly easy to recognize areas of opportunity.

Cons

I would love some form of persona management, and a way to categorize insights and feedback by persona.

MN
AvatarImg

MELANIE N.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intelligent + Intuitive

Reviewed 5 years ago

Love it. It's giving me an easy and centralized place to gather all the information about my product for the team and stakeholders, and creates a more streamlined way to plan our roadmap.

Pros

The way the software works is very intuitive for a Product Manager, and feels as if someone was inside my head when they built the software. It has smart features that accomplish things other products or spreadsheets never could. The ability to link and adjust different views for different audiences is very helpful. Insights tool is in and of itself valuable in linking different email chains or conversations to single features or requests.

Cons

Jira integration could use some work. It seems a bit too simple sometimes and I wish there were more fields that I could set in Productboar because it's not super seamless to push a ticket - always need to go into Jira and finish everything up.

MP
AvatarImg

Marina P.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great software for Product Managers

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The ability to organize and prioritize my product roadmap and its features with a great deal of customization and granularity. Product Board has been instrumental in achieving our business goals and detail our product roadmap every step of the way.

Cons

The cost per user is a bit high. Still has to work some UI issues that are detrimental to user experience.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This tool has quickly become integral to our product process.

Reviewed 6 years ago

We were able to set up a repeatable, teachable process for centralizing, processing, sharing, and incorporating feedback in order to make valuable evidence based product decisions.

Pros

The Insights section is the most efficient tool I have found for parsing feedback from all of the sources we have. From in-app feedback, internal feedback, to customer interviews, and field observation notes, we can capture it all in one place and take out actionable insights. We use this to build a case for evidence based product decisions that come from the voice of the customer.

Cons

We have a lot of data about our sources in SalesForce that we would like to use to help evaluate the feedback. We want to make sure that other attributes like Customer Success Score, NPS, and ARR are taken into account when weighing feature priority. A SalesForce integration would make that part of the app much more valuable.

TM
AvatarImg

Thomas M.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Put in place our product management process and productBoard is a perfect fit!

Reviewed 7 years ago

It has helped us a lot driving our roadmap and is now mission critical.

Pros

The way it helps driving data driven product management, with really easy ways to collect the information and choose what to do ... plus the customer support is just amazing

Cons

Not working well on iPad ... but really that's all. Also a webhook and better zapier integration would help.

JG
AvatarImg

Jaskaran G.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Most customizable solution we've tried

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Productboard is customizable and has a lot of features built-in (Drivers, Objectives) to help you prioritize and plan effectively. It has a portal for intake and the ability to save views is helpful.

Cons

The integrations, especially to software development workflows, are limited (Github). It doesn't replace project planning/tracking software unfortunately.