Canopy Features

Canopy

Practice management software for accounting firms

4.53/5 (93 reviews)

Canopy Feature Summary

  • Activity dashboard
  • Add collaborators / collaboration
  • Assign tasks
  • Auto-populated IRS forms
  • Automatic to-do lists
  • Billing & invoicing
  • CSED calculations
  • Client management
  • Client portals
  • Cloud storage
  • Custom service workflows
  • Custom templates
  • Deadlines
  • Eligibility
  • Engagement tracking
  • Forms
  • IRS form auto-population
  • IRS standards
  • Instant transcript delivery
  • Notifications
  • Online payments
  • Penalty abatement
  • Practice management
  • Progress charts
  • Progress tracking
  • Recommendations and resources
  • Reports and documents
  • Share responsibilities
  • Surveys & survey status
  • Task workflow creation
  • Tax management
  • Tax resolution
  • Tax resolution analytics
  • Timelines
  • Track engagements
  • Transcript delivery & reporting
  • Various file types
  • Versioning
  • Year and section filters

Competitor Feature Comparison

API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounts Receivable
Activity Dashboard
Ad hoc Reporting
Alerts/Notifications
Approval Process Control
Approval Workflow
Archiving & Retention
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Portal
CPA Firms
Client Management
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Compliance Tracking
Configurable Workflow
Contact Database
Contingency Billing
Customizable Branding
Customizable Fields
Customizable Forms
Customizable Invoices
Customizable Templates
Data Import/Export
Deadline Management
Document Capture
Document Classification
Document Generation
Document Management
Document Storage
Due Date Tracking
Electronic Signature
Employee Activity Monitoring
Engagement Analytics
File Recovery
File Sharing
Financial Reporting
For Accountants
For CPA Firms
Forms Management
Full Text Search
Hourly Billing
Invoice Creation
Invoice History
Invoice Management
Invoice Processing
Meeting Management
Messaging
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Payments
Offline Access
Online Invoicing
Online Payments
Payment Processing
Percent-Complete Tracking
Progress Reports
Progress Tracking
Project Accounting
Project Billing
Project Management
Project Planning/Scheduling
Projections
Recurring/Subscription Billing
Remote Access/Control
Remote Support
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Resource Management
Rules-Based Workflow
Search/Filter
Staff Management
Survey/Poll Management
Surveys & Feedback
Task Management
Tax Forms
Tax Management
Time & Expense Tracking
Time Tracking
Time Zone Tracking
Timeline Management
To-Do List
Traditional Methodologies
Version Control
Web Forms
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounts Receivable
Activity Dashboard
Ad hoc Reporting
Alerts/Notifications
Approval Process Control
Approval Workflow
Archiving & Retention
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Portal
CPA Firms
Client Management
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Compliance Tracking
Configurable Workflow
Contact Database
Contingency Billing
Customizable Branding
Customizable Fields
Customizable Forms
Customizable Invoices
Customizable Templates
Data Import/Export
Deadline Management
Document Capture
Document Classification
Document Generation
Document Management
Document Storage
Due Date Tracking
Electronic Signature
Employee Activity Monitoring
Engagement Analytics
File Recovery
File Sharing
Financial Reporting
For Accountants
For CPA Firms
Forms Management
Full Text Search
Hourly Billing
Invoice Creation
Invoice History
Invoice Management
Invoice Processing
Meeting Management
Messaging
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Payments
Offline Access
Online Invoicing
Online Payments
Payment Processing
Percent-Complete Tracking
Progress Reports
Progress Tracking
Project Accounting
Project Billing
Project Management
Project Planning/Scheduling
Projections
Recurring/Subscription Billing
Remote Access/Control
Remote Support
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Resource Management
Rules-Based Workflow
Search/Filter
Staff Management
Survey/Poll Management
Surveys & Feedback
Task Management
Tax Forms
Tax Management
Time & Expense Tracking
Time Tracking
Time Zone Tracking
Timeline Management
To-Do List
Traditional Methodologies
Version Control
Web Forms
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Access Controls/Permissions
Accounts Receivable
Activity Dashboard
Ad hoc Reporting
Alerts/Notifications
Approval Process Control
Approval Workflow
Archiving & Retention
Billing & Invoicing
Billing Portal
CPA Firms
Client Management
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Compliance Tracking
Configurable Workflow
Contact Database
Contingency Billing
Customizable Branding
Customizable Fields
Customizable Forms
Customizable Invoices
Customizable Templates
Data Import/Export
Deadline Management
Document Capture
Document Classification
Document Generation
Document Management
Document Storage
Due Date Tracking
Electronic Signature
Employee Activity Monitoring
Engagement Analytics
File Recovery
File Sharing
Financial Reporting
For Accountants
For CPA Firms
Forms Management
Full Text Search
Hourly Billing
Invoice Creation
Invoice History
Invoice Management
Invoice Processing
Meeting Management
Messaging
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Payments
Offline Access
Online Invoicing
Online Payments
Payment Processing
Percent-Complete Tracking
Progress Reports
Progress Tracking
Project Accounting
Project Billing
Project Management
Project Planning/Scheduling
Projections
Recurring/Subscription Billing
Remote Access/Control
Remote Support
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Resource Management
Rules-Based Workflow
Search/Filter
Staff Management
Survey/Poll Management
Surveys & Feedback
Task Management
Tax Forms
Tax Management
Time & Expense Tracking
Time Tracking
Time Zone Tracking
Timeline Management
To-Do List
Traditional Methodologies
Version Control
Web Forms
Workflow Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App

Mobile apps

iOS App


170 reviews

Requires iOS 11.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Android App


49 reviews

Canopy Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about Canopy's features:

CHRISTINA M.

Canopy Review

2019-02-22

Pros

Time tracking, client management, & notice and letter templates

Cons

That the time tracking and billing cannot connect to my Quickbooks online

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Louise H.

The people at Canopy and their products have been phenomenal to work with.

2018-05-29

better client management and organization less time looking for client correspondence better "to do" lists easier form filling fantastic customer support a new job

Pros

I like the ease of integration between things, especially with the Firm Management and client management modules.

Cons

They are not quite working with iPads or other iOS yet. That would be very helpful to me and my clients.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer

Robust office management tool that is consistently rolling out new features and improving product.

2018-02-08

I am able to view my team and company status on a variety of indices easily. As new features roll out I have been able to reduce my reliance on other software solutions.

Pros

I love that is product is a one stop area for many of my daily management duties.

Cons

I would like a couple of reports to have more customization.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Danny N.

Canopy takes the headaches out of client management by offering a way to keep client info organized.

2018-04-27

Improved practice management and time management.

Pros

It has helped eliminate the need to jump around from application to application to find the info I need to manage all my clients accounts.

Cons

I still prefer Jetpack Workflow to help manage my tasks until Canopy improves this feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
(Management Consulting company, 11-50 employees)

Sold a False Bill of Goods

2018-10-04

After a lot of $, we have been so frustrated we haven't even gotten off the ground. The support is terrible and there is very amateurish implementation planning.

Pros

auto reminders, client portal, bulk email, transcripts

Cons

horrendous, clunky design makes it very ineffiecient, and the reporting is practically non-existent.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

1/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Canopy


Hello, we're sorry to hear that your experience hasn't been what you expected it to be so far. However, we'd love to help you make the most of your investment in Canopy. We offer a library of help articles here: https://canopytax.zendesk.com/hc/en-us, and if we could get your name, your Customer Success Manager would be happy to reach out as soon as possible.

Read more
Paul A.

Good, but expecting more

2018-07-24

Client Portal should support working with non-local clients.

Pros

E-mail integration was easy to set up. Alerts were easy to customize.

Cons

Import was not intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Canopy


Paul, thank you for your review of Canopy. We thought we would give you an update on one of our new releases, you can make everything your own brand in Canopy now! If you need help with this please reach out to our customer support team and they can hop on a call with you to help you navigate this new white label feature.

Read more
Marcy B.

Had the software for a few years it manages our whole practice.

2018-04-27

practice managment

Pros

Love the enhanced search by phone and email, billing has been very helpful, wonderful team, love this is cloud based.

Cons

I would love to be able to brand my invoices with color and logo.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nehemiah J.

The Canopy Software has streamlined and organized my practice. A time saver. Time is money!

2018-04-10

Pros

It combines both practice and process management.

Cons

It would be great if there was a single case offering. That is a cost to use on a case by case basis. Hopefully the developers are considering an App.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mona W.

The screen is very hard to read at times and I cannot see where to type in responses.

2018-05-14

Quick transmittal retrieval and forms filled out quickly.

Pros

The ease of sending/receiving data from clients and the transcript retrieval process makes gathering multiple transcripts a breeze.

Cons

It's difficult to get answers and then when I get someone, they tell me no one has every reported that before.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
EMERY S.

Product not yet ready for production.

2018-12-29

I was told I could cancel within 30 days and get back my initial deposit. I sent a written cancellation in 20 days and told I would get a phone call. No one to speak to in customer service and I just received a charge for next months service. I think its a real product but smells like a scam. I just want to cancel and get refunded.

Pros

I was able to get 1 client report that was well organized. 5 other client attempts failed.

Cons

The program was not consistent in processing transcript requests.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

0/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Canopy


Hello Emery- We were able to check into your account and it looks like you were refunded. Have you been able to pull any transcripts with our Chrome extension? That should have fixed any bugs you were experiencing. Since Transcripts is free you do still have access to that feature.

Read more
George D.

Software really helped to simplify the tax season for me.

2018-04-30

Establishment of client database, transfer of files/documents through the portal and the integrated Stripe support for collecting credit card payments.

Pros

Ability to collect fees through Stripe integration with Canopy.

Cons

I chose to integrate with Google and most of my messages were instantly rejected by Google.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Elisabeth G.

I have had an outstanding experience with Canopy!

2018-05-30

I feel like i didn't have time to dive in to all feature fully during tax season, but hope to spend some time this Fall tinkering with the software.

Pros

Helping me organize the data and correspondence of 200+ tax clients.

Cons

Annual subscription fee that will likely increase as the product is continually enhanced.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark J.

Canva has most definitely allowed me to streamline my tax business!

2018-04-09

Streamline and mobility

Pros

I like that I have the ability to not only keep all my tax clients separate, but I can invoice and open up the application and work anywhere there's an internet connection!

Cons

The only thing would be to the interface, allow the user to hide some of the details when using the interface.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tiffany B.

So far so good.

2018-05-30

Pros

Canopy has helped our office become much more organized. We are absolutely loving the portal for our clients too.

Cons

I wish there were a way to track updates on tasks and a way for us to do our billing through canopy.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anthony B.

Great software, and the company is very good about ongoing development!

2018-03-20

Time savings, efficiency and clarity of reports. Completeness of the reports, and a very professional presentation of the information.

Pros

Very efficient, and for the most part, easy to use.

Cons

I'd like more contrast between the different fonts to make navigation and other functions a little easier. I consider this fairly minor, as the other aspects of the software lend themselves to ease of use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Victoria D.

price is great for transcripts

2018-08-01

Pros

very good reports make things very easy to read and to interpret. this software saves a lot of work

Cons

very slow in producing reports from transcripts have called about it but no results. does not come back to say caf is not on file yet

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John B.

Great product extraordinary customer support!

2018-05-30

At the moment we use the product primarily for form population and transcript reports.

Pros

Integrated Form population - detailed client survey - transcript reports - assistant for innocent spouse and penalty abatement

Cons

no chronological record per client to record calls and history of actions taken - no integrated calendar per user per client integrated to a record showing actions taken - email is not very functional or user-friendly at this point.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Roxanne G.

Excellent and Secure

2018-11-20

I don't feel I'm using this program to it's full functionality, but I'm not sure how to integrate it into our work flow.

Pros

Clients and I can exchange data securely and without size limits.

Cons

The price increase, minimal customer service as to work flow integration.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bernadette S.

Canopy is extremely functional having secure portal, workflow & tax controversy resolution abilities

2018-04-30

Pros

The ability to route workflow between team members with color coded statuses allows us to work efficiently.

Cons

Cannot identify a spouse as an interested party - which is helpful with kids' portal when the entire family has to file separate returns.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lori G.

I've only used Canopy Tax for a few months so I haven't used it to its full potential yet

2018-04-01

Pros

Email sent to notify that client has uploaded files or paid invoice

Cons

My clients have informed me that they don't like the idea of not being able to see and confirm that the documents they upload can not be seen until I've downloaded them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Terry H.

very helpful in pulling information for client support

2018-03-24

The ability to extract and retain information related to client tax information for multiple years in one concise manner.

Pros

Convenience of extracting info from IRS website in a concise manner and the ability to see a lot of information as once

Cons

It appears that it is designed to offer more practice management functionality but it seems once I paid for it, the support to train how to use it disappeared.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Edward B.

I love that we can have all of our representation clients in one place.

2018-04-09

Pros

Organizing clients and keeping their data in one place, getting transcripts.

Cons

No alerts or ways to ensure we can create a calendar to keep track of deadlines.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sharon C.

New Customer

2017-02-07

I also love the look of the reports produced by the tranacript delivery system.

Pros

Easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tony P.

Great help for Tax Resolution

2019-06-18

Pros

Ability to pull entire reports from IRS for clients.

Cons

Sometimes hard to navigate without watching the instructional videos to get you to the right spot

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer

Great tool for managing client tasks

2018-05-03

Pros

I like how easy it is to use for our clients.

Cons

Sometimes, this is not a frequent event, it doesn't allow me to edit an existing invoice, but once I refresh, the issue is taken care of.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more