App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Smokeball Logo
Smokeball

Write a review

All-in-one legal platform to boost revenue and productivity.

visit website

(7)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Smokeball Pricing

Pricing overview

Value for money rating

4.5

/5

254

Price starts from

39

/user

Per month

Pricing options
Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Pricing details

Smokeball offers different solutions depending on your needs, from cloud-based billing to complete firm management.

What users say

We have found Smokeball helped us to increase our revenue due to the automatic posting of billable hours. It was easy to learn and the customer service has been great.
They appear to have changed their business model from one that provides software to once that makes money off "lending money. The first account managers were amazing.

Popular contenders

Price starts from

29

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

8

/user

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

295

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

900

Per year

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

695

/user

One-time payment

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Reviewers who mentioned pricing said:

LP
AvatarImg

Lee P.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Smokeball does not have legal forms as advertised; and does not interact with G calendar

Reviewed 5 years ago

I foolishly jumped in and signed up for a one-year deal with Smokeball. After I explained the shortcomings of their product and my need to buy additional software to make their software work, I asked to be released from my one year contract. Somkeball denied the request. I would strongly look for a product that is less expensive and has some type of money back guarantee.

Pros

The staff is friendly and tries to assist.

Cons

I bought the software for the forms library that you could use in your practice. I am a small practitioner in Oklahoma. However, the forms library for Oklahoma, and most states, is non-existent. Smokeball costs more than other practice software packages. I purchased it for these forms, but had to buy forms elsewhere. Smokeball does not interact with Google products including Google calendar even with work-arounds. My work was all automated through Google calendar. I worked with trying to use the work-around recommended, but none worked. To use Smokeball, I would have had to buy additional soft-ware. This made the one stop shop advertised by Smokeball not work for me at all.

Vendor response

I'm incredibly sorry to hear this, but want to clarify two points for any likeminded readers here: (1) It is true that we have more forms in some states than others. That's due to how many active users we have in each state; obviously as we grow in some states we add more forms. When users, say in Oklahoma, sign up and see that they need more forms, they can request that our dedicated Content team...

JG
AvatarImg

Jennifer G.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Smokeball makes practice management easy

Reviewed 3 months ago

They have great customer service, each time a new feature comes out they help with acclimation, and they are big enough that they have integrations with basically all components of legal practice, which makes the software even more valuable, and true practice management.

Pros

We started using smokeball many years ago when they had less integrations, but it was great for keeping all client documents in once central place, and for document automation. Now they have integrations with many other products we use, like Chicago Title, Court filings, billing, which make the software even more useful. The interface is really easy to use and did not have much of a learning curve

Cons

The billing software is not super intuitive. I also do not like that the price keeps increasing.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, Jennifer. We're so glad that Smokeball is making your work life easier and more efficient. We're always here for you!

SF
AvatarImg

Sarah F.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic CRM

Reviewed 4 years ago

Awesome!

Pros

The tech support is spot-on and extremely reliable. The integration of Word & Outlook is very user-friendly. I became very familiar with the Automation, so I was able to modify my own forms very easily. The only downside to the software is that it is expensive and the price rises each year. The price goes up because there are so many new features that are added each year. We don't use most of the new features because our firm doesn't use many of the features for our area of law. The software that I do use is very reliable.

Cons

The only downside to the software is that it is expensive and the price rises each year. The price goes up because there are so many new features that are added each year. We don't use most of the new features because our firm doesn't use many of the features for our area of law.

LL
AvatarImg

Letisha L.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Implementation was super smooth and the support people are so responsive and helpful. It's amazing!

Pros

Smokeball is great because of it's auto document generation, billing integration, calendaring and tasking system, calendar integration, email integration, document version tracking, and work flow set ups.

Cons

The cost is high but that's really to be expected with how much you are getting out of this software.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Letisha.

TC
AvatarImg

Troy C.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smokeball Review - Cost = $$$$ - Value = Priceless!

Reviewed 7 months ago

Very friendly and helpful and out to see you succeed and get the most from the software. Everyone seems to have law firm experience from the Implementation Specialist and Account Manager who have many years of experience as a Paralegal to the Billing Trainer who is a Lawyer and they know what they are recommending or helping with and why. You are not alone, you have a great support staff, video training, webinar training, one on one training etc. Believe it or not...the Sales guy didn't lie.....pretty much everything he sold us on during the demo is true!

Pros

It tracks everything. Training and onboarding are fantastic. Customer Support is on top of things and great to help and give feedback. Everyone I have worked with seems to be an expert in the field with solid law firm experience backing their recommendations or help with the software. The integration with Ring Central, Microsoft Outlook and Microsoft Word is SEAMLESS and PRICELESS! The Communicate App for the Client is great as well and even those clients that have previously said they don't text or use apps now use the Communicate app with ease (and seem to like it).

Cons

There are reports I would like to be able to customize for MY use vs a canned approach. As well as saving Favorite Reports the way I want them ran. I would also like to write my own reports. However, there is a great selection of reports that will make the majority of users very happy. Auto-time sometimes tracks too much time, however, it is better to see all and code those items as non billed vs not seeing the tracked time at all.

Vendor response

Thanks for your thorough 5-star review, Troy! We're delighted that Smokeball was everything you needed--and maybe even more. We appreciate your feedback on reports and are so glad you've enjoyed working with our team. We're here for you!

AW
AvatarImg

Amber W.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smokeball for the Win!

Reviewed 7 months ago

We needed a new software system because our old one (very old) was aging out of the version we used and was no longer going to be supported. When looking at other options with them, they determined that our firm just wasn't big enough for their software. They tried to sell us on a smaller platform that they had purchased, but after demo-ing for a week I knew it wouldn't work for us. Someone had mentioned...

Pros

The thing I like most about Smokeball is how integrated with other programs it is. I can create and save Word documents from inside the software. E-mails and attachments in Outlook are so easy to link. We changed the way we use our scanner so that it goes to our e-mails instead of a folder on the old server because it is so easy to get the documents into the correct file and name them correctly at the same time through Outlook.

Cons

The only thing I feel like Smokeball is missing is a date calculator. I miss being able to calculate forward and backward choosing calendar days or court days and such. Calendaring rules are great, but sometimes I need to know when I can schedule a motion for BEFORE it is calendared.

Vendor response

Amber, thanks so much for your thoughtful review! We're thrilled that Smokeball is streamlining your processes and making your work more efficient. It's also great to hear that onboarding was easy and that Smokeball is intuitive to your new staff. I'll pass on your great feedback about calendaring dates to our product team. Thanks again!

TL
AvatarImg

Timothy L.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Small Elder Law Practice

Reviewed 9 months ago

More efficient, able to handle more business in less time.

Pros

It took a while, but once I understood how things work it made it easy to manage my client workload. Before I would lose track of matters where the client should have gotten back to me and didn't. Now with tasks it is easy to keep track. Also like the billing options and the automation. I am much more efficient than before.

Cons

Still getting used to billing hourly. I like that it tracks my time, but the entries are not good for billing as difficult for a client to understand. Also wish I could have converted Time Matters client to Smokeball easily. It would have been expensive so I running two databases.

Vendor response

Thanks for your 5-star review, Timothy. So glad to hear that Smokeball is making you much more efficient than before and helping you handle more business in less time. If you ever have questions or need assistance, just a reminder that our Support and Training is available as part of your subscription.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Furqan M.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SmallLaw Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, an excellent software and definitely worth considering for your law firm, especially if you handle real estate transactions.

Pros

1. Smokeball is an "everything" platform. We realized we were only using the other softwares for billing/invoicing, but found little use for them otherwise. Smokeball, on the other hand, is much more versatile. We track our to-dos there, create workflows, assign tasks/projects to others at the firm (it avoids the back-and-forth internal emails), share our draft documents with client through a secure portal, and much more! 2. If you are a real estate transactions law firm (as we are), Smokeball is the only platform specifically designed for that practice area. We love that it automatically calendars deadlines, has templates built in, and otherwise automates much of the closing process for us (and avoids costly mistakes such as missing a deadline).

Cons

1. Cost (yup, it's one of the more expensive options you'll find out there). But when evaluating options, the thought process should be whether you will save some time by implementing the features of the software. And if so, a few extra bucks monthly is well worth it. 2. A little glitchy at times. We sometimes would create an invoice but would not be able to load it or send to a client until the next day. I have no idea why this happens, though it hasnt been a big issue for us. 3. Requires you to invest a lot of time to set up to automate your documents and learn how to modify them as you go. But, again, it is time well spent.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Furqan.

JK
AvatarImg

Jonathan K.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Never Practice Without It

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Complete end to end practice management solution. Fantastic tech support and client account managers. Constantly improving the product for users. Actually does legal template automation (caption and proof of service etc) as opposed to Clio.

Cons

Cost of entry seemed very steep on 3-year contract basis. Because Smokeball integrates with all accounting processes except for operating accounts payable there is a great deal of work to get it stood up. Both of these hurdles are surmountable and worthwhile given the excellent product and service.

Vendor response

Thanks for your 5-star review, Jonathan. We're so glad that Smokeball is providing high-value, end-to-end solutions for your firm. We'll share your positive feedback with our client teams, who are always here for you!

LS
AvatarImg

Laura S.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I'd be lost without Smokeball

Reviewed 6 months ago

My firm has used Smokeball for almost 5 years, and I'm still as happy with it as the day we onboarded. There are certainly cheaper options out there (most of them browser based), but you really do get what you pay for and Smokeball does pretty much everything. The main PC software is a tank, and there's also a lighter phone/tablet app for use on the go. My office uses tons and tons of features (most of which I don't see any other firms in our area using), and I bet we still don't utilize even half of what Smokeball has to offer. The integrations are excellent, and from both efficiency and organization standpoints I just don't think it can be beat.

Pros

Tons of features, useful integrations, time-saving, organization

Cons

There are so many features that sometimes it's hard to wade through everything at a glance, but when I make time to sit down and do a deep dive I almost always find what I'm looking for and the setup is easy and straightforward.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for your review, Laura. Really smart that you invest time to learn about the new functionality. If you ever need assistance, training is included in your subscription and our Training and Support teams are here for you!

SR
AvatarImg

Sharbel R.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to maneuver

Reviewed 5 months ago

Very good. Happy I made the change to use Smokeball for my practice.

Pros

I like how easy it is to access the client's file. I do not need the hard file in order to review documents, share documents, and file documents.

Cons

The fact that the free website went away. When Smokeball was initially being presented to me, it included a free website, which I used for several years. Eventually they decided to do away with the website; now I pay $100 per month for a website. AND my smokeball subscription cost went up.

Vendor response

We're so glad that Smokeball is easy to use and was a positive change for your practice. To ensure we were providing the best solution to our clients, we partnered with LawLytics for website service. We understand that no one likes increased costs, but we're glad you believe Smokeball is worth the money. Thanks for your review, Sharbel!

JC
AvatarImg

James C.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Product - Very customizable

Reviewed 4 years ago

Generally speaking, no serious problems.

Pros

We have access to all of our files during this remote work period. It is easy to scan & add documents to the files and keep them organized. The system syncs with Outlook and Word in order to communicate through E-mail and create documents. The feature to create letters with our letterhead pre-loaded is great. The overall system give us a lot of options. We do not use the billing features because of our contingency-fee work. And I think we could use it more for client expenses if we work to train everyone and implement that. It is a good system.

Cons

It is expensive. I believe that it's worth what we pay, but it is not inexpensive.

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive review, James. We understand that our price appears higher than our competitors, but we hope the value is worth it. Likewise our product is alone in the market in being all-in-one. So while others offer free trials and cheap entry-level packages, they are actually more expensive once you add all of their add-ons to get to Smokeball's level of functionality. And even then you won't get the personal account management and service we promise to our users!

PK
AvatarImg

Peter K.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I don't know how you practice in a small firm without this product!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I truly don't know how any small firm practices without Smokeball. I purchased Smokeball for the email tacking capabilities, but pay for because I capture ever minute of my time on a time. Just one hour covers the monthly cost. I can barely return emails outside the system because I am so addicted to the cloud based tracking of all file activities. I can securely transfer large files, encrypt messages, and automate every day forms. i think I am NY's biggest fan of this small office management software! I don't even use all of its functions.

Pros

I can multitask so easily by opening multiple matters at a time-- can handle 50% more files and matters because of this product. They finally upgraded their iphone App-- now truly portable!

Cons

I am not trying to be contrite, but there are very few "least" likes about this product. Some of my clients hae problems utilizing their encryption tools called "communicate" because it requires google Chrome, but most figure it out-- I would use it more if it worked more seemlessly.

SM
AvatarImg

Savannah M.

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Smokeball

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, the software is not "bad," but it leaves so much to be desired. This would not be a bad fit for a small, low-volume law firm that does not do a lot of marketing, outreach, or communication.

Pros

Smokeball has an excellent training team. The system itself has been a significant upgrade from the software we were using before.

Cons

Their reporting features are not the best. They also lack CRM functionality that many other providers are offering. Their closed API also makes it difficult to integrate with other software providers. They also do not provide a month-to-month billing option, so we were locked into a plan we did not want to be in when trying to leave.

MS
AvatarImg

Michelle S.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Does Not Deliver on its Promises

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very Poor.

Pros

The software was not set up for California Family Law. As such we were constantly having to find work around for things we had done with Practice Panther.

Cons

It did not deliver. When it didn’t work for us they refused to cancel or assist me in any way. I was never given a support person to launch the product. The cost for setting up the program through a third party provider ( given to me by the company) was twice what the sales rep told me it would be. The auto billing feature double billed in many cases making more billing work not less.

Vendor response

Hi, Michelle. I'm terribly sorry for any miscommunication on our part. If there's one thing we pride ourselves on more than our product, it's our customer support. Because you began onboarding with your designated account manager, but didn't yet complete the process, and because we never received any support tickets related to your concerns here, we assumed everything was going well. Again, I'm...

JO
AvatarImg

John O.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Way too much $ for way too little return

Reviewed 6 months ago

Ending my subscription in Feb due to astronomical price hike and little value received. Like every service, it's about 80% of what I want it to do, and it not doing the 20% takes more time in workarounds. Maybe if I had an extra 40-60 hours to train myself in how to use the systems it could be better, but as a solo, I don't have that time to try. Their customer service is slow when you try to get help and frequently ends in "we can't do that but will add a feature request."

Pros

It's hard to say. It's really just "meh" all around.

Cons

It's hard to use, expensive, doesn't do what I need it to do, and customer service is below average.

Vendor response

We're sorry to hear that Smokeball wasn't an ideal fit with your practice, John. We hope you find the right legal software solution for your firm.

AW
AvatarImg

Andrew W.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Perhaps if I had my own IT team on staff... but this was a waste of money. And they viruses us

Reviewed 7 years ago

Access to documents. Calendaring

Pros

Great promise for what it could do. And of you had a dedicated IT team it probably would work well. But as a small law firm it has been an expensive failure and disappoint

Cons

Bad support. Their new release effectively disabled my secretary's computer. And they couldn't find any problem. So my IT consultant had to do an emergency fix. Then it corrupts again when she tries to load smokeball. Yet smokeball tech support who looks at system says its running fine. It's not. Her computer is again on the virus ward at IT consultants office. Thanks Smokeball

DL
AvatarImg

David L.

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 3 years ago

overall, very good.

Pros

Automation is the best part of this product it also works well with Microsoft suite.

Cons

Price is expensive and does not work with Mac

ND
AvatarImg

Nicole D.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Decent for small firms

Reviewed 3 years ago

I think overall it increases efficiency in our firm.

Pros

I like that there is the option to have documents automated. That saves a lot of time. I also like the different matter types and how the fields are customizable to the kind of matter.

Cons

There's a cost associated with filing documents with the court. That should be built in to the cost of the product. I also don't think that the support team comes up with any valuable solutions to issues sometimes and that is frustrating.

sf
AvatarImg

spencer f.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Nice functions, too expensive for our little firm

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

the workflows and automation are great, the product was easy to use and we generally liked it. IN fact, I recommended it to several friends and they liked it as well.

Cons

After a year of beta testing, requesting and getting new features, the company raised the price subscription price 40%. This was too much for us to bite off, especially with no protection in the future. Some of the features like billing and accounting drove the price up but are of no use to our contingent fee based practice. In addition, my client data was on their server, not mine. The company was good to give quarterly backups on request but if the internet connection fails, which happens a couple times a year, we could only work on recently saved documents or from the last backup.

MN
AvatarImg

Michelle N.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Smokeball has been a game changer for our firm. I would (and have) recommended Smokeball to every firm.

Pros

During the COVID pandemic our office was able to seamlessly transition from office to home without any interruptions. Opening and closing files is very simple and billing is a snap.

Cons

It's expensive and renegotiating contracts is not as seamless as it could be.

EG
AvatarImg

Eric G.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great at what is goes well

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The program acts as a central hub for the entire firm. Storing all client contact information, case information and uploaded documents. The direct integration with Office 365 for document creation and editing as well as email tracking makes the product what it is.

Cons

There are several features that are subpar (billing) or unnecessary (complimentary website) that have made the price double yet go unused. In the case of the billing program it is very basic and limited with bugs that make it unusable.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris C.

11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best legal practice management software tools!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

From the automated forms, document management, or the time tracking functionality, this software is perfect for any law firm looking to take their firm to the next level. The goal is to help attorneys run a more profitable law firm and that's exactly what you can expect when using it!

Cons

It is not cheap, but you get what you pay for - so that shouldn't be a deal killer for the firm that is looking to get the right pieces in place.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sarah S.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent practice management software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Quite an intuitive platform with easy to use features. Time recording and billing are our favourite features! Smokeball allows easy file access in an organised platform.

Cons

Cost, however that's a pretty standard dislike for any legal software.

NC
AvatarImg

Nathan C.

Legal Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Comprehensive software and great support

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience has been very good.

Pros

Easy to use, includes billing software, and great support.

Cons

There have been a few price increases and I don't care for the name Smokeball.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Nathan.