App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Smokeball Logo
Smokeball
4.8
(189)

Write a review

Legal productivity software for small law firms.

visit website

(7)

Smokeball Pricing

Pricing overview

Value for money rating

4.5

/5

189

Price starts from

29

/user

Per month

Pricing options
Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Pricing details

Smokeball offers different solutions depending on your needs, from cloud-based billing to complete firm management.

What users say

They appear to have changed their business model from one that provides software to once that makes money off "lending money. The first account managers were amazing.
Excellent, saves time and helps me earn more money.

Popular contenders

Price starts from

2999

One-time payment

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

55

/user

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

250

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

35

/user

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

30

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Reviewers who mentioned pricing said:

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Furqan M.

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SmallLaw Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, an excellent software and definitely worth considering for your law firm, especially if you handle real estate transactions.

Pros

1. Smokeball is an "everything" platform. We realized we were only using the other softwares for billing/invoicing, but found little use for them otherwise. Smokeball, on the other hand, is much more versatile. We track our to-dos there, create workflows, assign tasks/projects to others at the firm (it avoids the back-and-forth internal emails), share our draft documents with client through a secure portal, and much more! 2. If you are a real estate transactions law firm (as we are), Smokeball is the only platform specifically designed for that practice area. We love that it automatically calendars deadlines, has templates built in, and otherwise automates much of the closing process for us (and avoids costly mistakes such as missing a deadline).

Cons

1. Cost (yup, it's one of the more expensive options you'll find out there). But when evaluating options, the thought process should be whether you will save some time by implementing the features of the software. And if so, a few extra bucks monthly is well worth it. 2. A little glitchy at times. We sometimes would create an invoice but would not be able to load it or send to a client until the next day. I have no idea why this happens, though it hasnt been a big issue for us. 3. Requires you to invest a lot of time to set up to automate your documents and learn how to modify them as you go. But, again, it is time well spent.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Furqan.

LP
AvatarImg

Lee P.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Smokeball does not have legal forms as advertised; and does not interact with G calendar

Reviewed 4 years ago

I foolishly jumped in and signed up for a one-year deal with Smokeball. After I explained the shortcomings of their product and my need to buy additional software to make their software work, I asked to be released from my one year contract. Somkeball denied the request. I would strongly look for a product that is less expensive and has some type of money back guarantee.

Pros

The staff is friendly and tries to assist.

Cons

I bought the software for the forms library that you could use in your practice. I am a small practitioner in Oklahoma. However, the forms library for Oklahoma, and most states, is non-existent. Smokeball costs more than other practice software packages. I purchased it for these forms, but had to buy forms elsewhere. Smokeball does not interact with Google products including Google calendar even with work-arounds. My work was all automated through Google calendar. I worked with trying to use the work-around recommended, but none worked. To use Smokeball, I would have had to buy additional soft-ware. This made the one stop shop advertised by Smokeball not work for me at all.

Vendor response

I'm incredibly sorry to hear this, but want to clarify two points for any likeminded readers here: (1) It is true that we have more forms in some states than others. That's due to how many active users we have in each state; obviously as we grow in some states we add more forms. When users, say in Oklahoma, sign up and see that they need more forms, they can request that our dedicated Content team...

SF
AvatarImg

Sarah F.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic CRM

Reviewed 2 years ago

Awesome!

Pros

The tech support is spot-on and extremely reliable. The integration of Word & Outlook is very user-friendly. I became very familiar with the Automation, so I was able to modify my own forms very easily. The only downside to the software is that it is expensive and the price rises each year. The price goes up because there are so many new features that are added each year. We don't use most of the new features because our firm doesn't use many of the features for our area of law. The software that I do use is very reliable.

Cons

The only downside to the software is that it is expensive and the price rises each year. The price goes up because there are so many new features that are added each year. We don't use most of the new features because our firm doesn't use many of the features for our area of law.

JC
AvatarImg

James C.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good Product - Very customizable

Reviewed 2 years ago

Generally speaking, no serious problems.

Pros

We have access to all of our files during this remote work period. It is easy to scan & add documents to the files and keep them organized. The system syncs with Outlook and Word in order to communicate through E-mail and create documents. The feature to create letters with our letterhead pre-loaded is great. The overall system give us a lot of options. We do not use the billing features because of our contingency-fee work. And I think we could use it more for client expenses if we work to train everyone and implement that. It is a good system.

Cons

It is expensive. I believe that it's worth what we pay, but it is not inexpensive.

Vendor response

Thanks for the positive review, James. We understand that our price appears higher than our competitors, but we hope the value is worth it. Likewise our product is alone in the market in being all-in-one. So while others offer free trials and cheap entry-level packages, they are actually more expensive once you add all of their add-ons to get to Smokeball's level of functionality. And even then you won't get the personal account management and service we promise to our users!

PK
AvatarImg

Peter K.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I don't know how you practice in a small firm without this product!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I truly don't know how any small firm practices without Smokeball. I purchased Smokeball for the email tacking capabilities, but pay for because I capture ever minute of my time on a time. Just one hour covers the monthly cost. I can barely return emails outside the system because I am so addicted to the cloud based tracking of all file activities. I can securely transfer large files, encrypt messages, and automate every day forms. i think I am NY's biggest fan of this small office management software! I don't even use all of its functions.

Pros

I can multitask so easily by opening multiple matters at a time-- can handle 50% more files and matters because of this product. They finally upgraded their iphone App-- now truly portable!

Cons

I am not trying to be contrite, but there are very few "least" likes about this product. Some of my clients hae problems utilizing their encryption tools called "communicate" because it requires google Chrome, but most figure it out-- I would use it more if it worked more seemlessly.

LL
AvatarImg

Letisha L.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent product!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Implementation was super smooth and the support people are so responsive and helpful. It's amazing!

Pros

Smokeball is great because of it's auto document generation, billing integration, calendaring and tasking system, calendar integration, email integration, document version tracking, and work flow set ups.

Cons

The cost is high but that's really to be expected with how much you are getting out of this software.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Letisha.

DL
AvatarImg

David L.

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 2 years ago

overall, very good.

Pros

Automation is the best part of this product it also works well with Microsoft suite.

Cons

Price is expensive and does not work with Mac

ND
AvatarImg

Nicole D.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Decent for small firms

Reviewed 2 years ago

I think overall it increases efficiency in our firm.

Pros

I like that there is the option to have documents automated. That saves a lot of time. I also like the different matter types and how the fields are customizable to the kind of matter.

Cons

There's a cost associated with filing documents with the court. That should be built in to the cost of the product. I also don't think that the support team comes up with any valuable solutions to issues sometimes and that is frustrating.

sf
AvatarImg

spencer f.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Nice functions, too expensive for our little firm

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

the workflows and automation are great, the product was easy to use and we generally liked it. IN fact, I recommended it to several friends and they liked it as well.

Cons

After a year of beta testing, requesting and getting new features, the company raised the price subscription price 40%. This was too much for us to bite off, especially with no protection in the future. Some of the features like billing and accounting drove the price up but are of no use to our contingent fee based practice. In addition, my client data was on their server, not mine. The company was good to give quarterly backups on request but if the internet connection fails, which happens a couple times a year, we could only work on recently saved documents or from the last backup.

MN
AvatarImg

Michelle N.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Smokeball has been a game changer for our firm. I would (and have) recommended Smokeball to every firm.

Pros

During the COVID pandemic our office was able to seamlessly transition from office to home without any interruptions. Opening and closing files is very simple and billing is a snap.

Cons

It's expensive and renegotiating contracts is not as seamless as it could be.

EG
AvatarImg

Eric G.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great at what is goes well

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The program acts as a central hub for the entire firm. Storing all client contact information, case information and uploaded documents. The direct integration with Office 365 for document creation and editing as well as email tracking makes the product what it is.

Cons

There are several features that are subpar (billing) or unnecessary (complimentary website) that have made the price double yet go unused. In the case of the billing program it is very basic and limited with bugs that make it unusable.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Chris C.

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best legal practice management software tools!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

From the automated forms, document management, or the time tracking functionality, this software is perfect for any law firm looking to take their firm to the next level. The goal is to help attorneys run a more profitable law firm and that's exactly what you can expect when using it!

Cons

It is not cheap, but you get what you pay for - so that shouldn't be a deal killer for the firm that is looking to get the right pieces in place.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sarah S.

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent practice management software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Quite an intuitive platform with easy to use features. Time recording and billing are our favourite features! Smokeball allows easy file access in an organised platform.

Cons

Cost, however that's a pretty standard dislike for any legal software.

NC
AvatarImg

Nathan C.

Legal Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Comprehensive software and great support

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience has been very good.

Pros

Easy to use, includes billing software, and great support.

Cons

There have been a few price increases and I don't care for the name Smokeball.

Vendor response

Thanks for the review, Nathan.

SM
AvatarImg

Savannah M.

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Smokeball

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, the software is not "bad," but it leaves so much to be desired. This would not be a bad fit for a small, low-volume law firm that does not do a lot of marketing, outreach, or communication.

Pros

Smokeball has an excellent training team. The system itself has been a significant upgrade from the software we were using before.

Cons

Their reporting features are not the best. They also lack CRM functionality that many other providers are offering. Their closed API also makes it difficult to integrate with other software providers. They also do not provide a month-to-month billing option, so we were locked into a plan we did not want to be in when trying to leave.

JV
AvatarImg

Julie V.

Law Practice, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Billing and Practice Management Program

Reviewed 2 years ago

This has increased my income by almost double by simply keeping better track of my time for billing and the ease of billing.

Pros

It is super easy to use and combines the best features of most practice management programs that are more expensive!

Cons

I love everything about it. The form library still needs to expand to include all court mandated form but they have a really good start.

MS
AvatarImg

Michelle S.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Does Not Deliver on its Promises

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very Poor.

Pros

The software was not set up for California Family Law. As such we were constantly having to find work around for things we had done with Practice Panther.

Cons

It did not deliver. When it didn’t work for us they refused to cancel or assist me in any way. I was never given a support person to launch the product. The cost for setting up the program through a third party provider ( given to me by the company) was twice what the sales rep told me it would be. The auto billing feature double billed in many cases making more billing work not less.

Vendor response

Hi, Michelle. I'm terribly sorry for any miscommunication on our part. If there's one thing we pride ourselves on more than our product, it's our customer support. Because you began onboarding with your designated account manager, but didn't yet complete the process, and because we never received any support tickets related to your concerns here, we assumed everything was going well. Again, I'm...

MK
AvatarImg

Michael K.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A major time-saver for a reasonable price for a solo practitioner. Great customer support!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Once you master form automation, there is no need to go back and re-draft the document. Better yet, a user can request that a new form be automated or created for his/her needs.

Cons

Sometimes automation process is counter-intuitive. Given the enormous number of possible fields, finding the one needed is not always easy.

AW
AvatarImg

Andrew W.

Law Practice, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Perhaps if I had my own IT team on staff... but this was a waste of money. And they viruses us

Reviewed 5 years ago

Access to documents. Calendaring

Pros

Great promise for what it could do. And of you had a dedicated IT team it probably would work well. But as a small law firm it has been an expensive failure and disappoint

Cons

Bad support. Their new release effectively disabled my secretary's computer. And they couldn't find any problem. So my IT consultant had to do an emergency fix. Then it corrupts again when she tries to load smokeball. Yet smokeball tech support who looks at system says its running fine. It's not. Her computer is again on the virus ward at IT consultants office. Thanks Smokeball

PS
AvatarImg

Peter S.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Smokeball's Website Service

Reviewed 6 years ago

I recently signed up for Smokeball's case management service and discovered that they had wonderful web designers, who create professional mobile-friendly websites for attorneys who subscribe to Smokeball's service at no additional cost. My firm saved thousands of dollars and my website was up and running in under a week. They found beautiful photographs specific to my locality in the Hudson Valley and came up with a design that looked as great on a mobile phone as it does on a computer screen. The team was very helpful in understanding our marketing needs as a small firm and our desire to have a website that provides helpful information for both new and existing clients.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Adam Joseph C.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

You get what you pay for

Reviewed 5 years ago

Time and ease of mind knowing everything is in one place.

Pros

The integration with word and outlook is better than any other mgmt software I have used. I was using Clio, but switched and have not thought twice or looked back. The document automation features in word make setting up a template a breeze. It's been more than expected.

Cons

Cost was the main concern I had going into this transition, but you get what you pay for and the time I save is extraordinary in comparison to other law practice mgmt software.

TH
AvatarImg

Tia H.

Self-employed

Used other for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Supportive

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The customer support, they are local, ease of use and navigation, training videos, 1 on 1 outreach by staff, the automation, integration with word and billing function, different matter types and forms, the free website hosting, the cloud based storage, and the phone app for on the go accessibility.

Cons

No integration with google and the system freezes noticeably enough but that could be just my computer. Speaking with other solos I heard they are more pricey but I would put them in the affordable range considering all they offer

RG
AvatarImg

Robin G.

Legal Services, 1-10 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

ease of integration with Microsoft Outlook, Word, etc.

Cons

pricing structure/options for term of use

VU
AvatarImg

Vitaliy U.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good Product, Good Customer Service and a Great Price

Reviewed 6 years ago

I'm a recent user, and am completely happy with the software, the customer service and the price. I recommend Smokeball to any small law firm

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review