Smokeball Pricing, Features, Reviews & Alternatives

Smokeball

Legal productivity software for small law firms.

4.75/5 (181 reviews)

Smokeball overview

What is Smokeball?

Smokeball is a cloud-based practice productivity software designed to help users manage small law firms with email, document, calendar and task management functionality, plus time tracking and billing technology. With native mobile apps for iOS and Android, Smokeball affords users the flexibility to access and manage practice information anytime, anywhere. Offline access allows users to keep working without internet access.

Automatic time tracking and timesheets enable law firms to track and record their time and activities accurately. Automated legal forms also aim to enhance productivity by providing users with over 14,000 preloaded country, court and federal forms. Smokeball’s legal document automation and assembly tool allows users to create custom legal template forms. Case management technology helps users to organize contacts, documents, tasks, and more.

Smokeball stores client case details and related documents in one place, thereby giving users quick and central access to all digital files. Supporting electronic signatures through DocuSign, Smokeball allows users to get documents, letters and agreements signed securely online. Users can manage appointments and events as well as sync their Outlook or Google Apps to the Smokeball calendar.

Other Smokeball features include legal website, onboarding and performance profitability management. Visual dashboards provide users with law firm insights. Users can manage tasks and workflows with assignment management technology and daily reminders. Integration with LawPay allows users to manage invoicing and trust accounting.
www.smokeball.com

Pricing

Pricing options
Subscription
Value for money
View Pricing Plans

Devices

Business size

S
M
L

Markets

United States

Supported languages

English
Smokeball screenshot: Smokeball activity monitoringSmokeball Testimonial AnthemSmokeball screenshot: Smokeball MS Word integrationSmokeball screenshot: Smokeball create invoicesSmokeball screenshot: Smokeball staff detailsSmokeball screenshot: Smokeball attachmentsSmokeball screenshot: Smokeball client information sheetSmokeball screenshot: Smokeball eventsThe Smokeball Differences

Smokeball user reviews

Value for money
Features
Ease of use
Customer support
  4.5
  4.6
  4.7
  4.8
Furqan M.

SmallLaw Review

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2020-11-29
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, an excellent software and definitely worth considering for your law firm, especially if you handle real estate transactions.

Pros
1. Smokeball is an "everything" platform. We realized we were only using the other softwares for billing/invoicing, but found little use for them otherwise. Smokeball, on the other hand, is much more versatile. We track our to-dos there, create workflows, assign tasks/projects to others at the firm (it avoids the back-and-forth internal emails), share our draft documents with client through a secure portal, and much more! 2. If you are a real estate transactions law firm (as we are), Smokeball is the only platform specifically designed for that practice area. We love that it automatically calendars deadlines, has templates built in, and otherwise automates much of the closing process for us (and avoids costly mistakes such as missing a deadline).

Cons
1. Cost (yup, it's one of the more expensive options you'll find out there). But when evaluating options, the thought process should be whether you will save some time by implementing the features of the software. And if so, a few extra bucks monthly is well worth it. 2. A little glitchy at times. We sometimes would create an invoice but would not be able to load it or send to a client until the next day. I have no idea why this happens, though it hasnt been a big issue for us. 3. Requires you to invest a lot of time to set up to automate your documents and learn how to modify them as you go. But, again, it is time well spent.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Brooke A.

I Love Smokeball

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-11-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I love Smokeballs features. The document automation saves me time and headache with formatting. The integration features make sure that nothing I do is missing in the client files. The cases are always complete. the ease of integration for the products that I use is excellent and seamless. The time tracking capabilities help make sure that I don't miss a billable.

Cons
They recently updated the mobile software so it is more difficult to use on a tablet or my phone.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Nancy P.

It has been a god-send.

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2021-05-18
Review Source: Capterra

We have had a great experience with Smokeball thus far.

Pros
The feature that instigated our interest in Smokeball, and that keeps us loving the product, is the automatic time tracking feature. I'd literally been complaining for years that no one had figured out how to do this, and then we found Smokeball! So glad there are smart folks thinking through how a lawyer's practice, time keeping and billing can be streamlined.

Cons
I wish the billing system was integrated as part of the software instead of being separate (online).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Lee P.

Smokeball does not have legal forms as advertised; and does not interact with G calendar

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2019-02-21
Review Source: Capterra

I foolishly jumped in and signed up for a one-year deal with Smokeball. After I explained the shortcomings of their product and my need to buy additional software to make their software work, I asked to be released from my one year contract. Somkeball denied the request. I would strongly look for a product that is less expensive and has some type of money back guarantee.

Pros
The staff is friendly and tries to assist.

Cons
I bought the software for the forms library that you could use in your practice. I am a small practitioner in Oklahoma. However, the forms library for Oklahoma, and most states, is non-existent. Smokeball costs more than other practice software packages. I purchased it for these forms, but had to buy forms elsewhere. Smokeball does not interact with Google products including Google calendar even with work-arounds. My work was all automated through Google calendar. I worked with trying to use the work-around recommended, but none worked. To use Smokeball, I would have had to buy additional soft-ware. This made the one stop shop advertised by Smokeball not work for me at all.

Response from Smokeball


I'm incredibly sorry to hear this, but want to clarify two points for any likeminded readers here:

(1) It is true that we have more forms in some states than others. That's due to how many active users we have in each state; obviously as we grow in some states we add more forms. When users, say in Oklahoma, sign up and see that they need more forms, they can request that our dedicated Content team pull public forms and load them directly into Smokeball for all users to access.

(2) It is true that we currently don't have direct integration with the Google suite. We do, however, integrate directly with MS Office products like Outlook and Word. Our Sales people in charge of demos should make this absolutely clear in initial conversations, and we will ensure that they continue to do so for all future consultations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review

Patricia V.

So happy I made the switch

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2021-05-18
Review Source: Capterra

They made it easy to migrate from our other system despite the lack of cooperation from Abacus. They train the staff and make sure that we are aware of all features. Our productivity has increased significantly since leaving Abacus.

Pros
It automatically tracks your time and gives you time report through email. It is easy to link to your emails in the matters. You are able to customize workflows and documents. It integrates with Zoom and ring central. I am so happy that I changed to Smokeball

Cons
No cons to date. This product is easy to use and easy to learn. They are responsive when we have questions about the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Smokeball pricing

Pricing options
Subscription
View Pricing Plans

Contact Smokeball directly for detailed pricing information.

Smokeball features

Access Controls/Permissions
Activity Dashboard
Alerts/Notifications
Billing & Invoicing
Calendar Management
Case Management
Case Notes
Client Management
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Conflict Management
Contract/License Management
Document Generation
Document Management
Document Storage
Email Management
Search/Filter
Task Management
Time Tracking

Reporting & Statistics (96 other apps)

Videos and tutorials

Additional information for Smokeball

Benefits

Smokeball is available as a native mobile app on iOS or Android, giving users central and flexible access to legal matters including emails, documents, memos and contacts.

Users can manage invoicing and trust accounting activity accurately through integration with Smokeball and LawPay.

The document assembly and automation tool allows employees to create standardized letters and agreements quickly.

Users have access to a library of more than 14,000 automated county, court and federal forms.

Via DocuSign, Smokeball enables users to sign legal documents such as engagement letters or retainer agreements securely online.