App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Salesforce.org Nonprofit Cloud Logo

Salesforce.org Nonprofit Cloud

Non-Profit CRM offered through Salesforce

see alternatives

(7)

Salesforce.org Nonprofit Cloud Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

39

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.17/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

We are ecstatic to have this program in order to grow and enhance our organization. It has been the best thing we have purchased.
Overall great to use easy to learn and I like all the Salesforce badges to gain.
Great reporting capabilities, as we were able to reach more farmers with SalesForce. Our IT manager was able to automate the workflow, and now its easy and less time consuming.
This makes me have to divide the work that needs to be processed into multiple steps, which can be really frustrating and confusing to others that take over pre-established processes.
Our nonprofit received free access to what would have been a very costly tier of Salesforce, but it was ultimately too difficult for us to use.
It can do anything...if you can afford to pay someone a lot of money to set it up for you.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


39 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Higher Education,

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Salesforce offered major improvements over cheaper software platforms we'd used

Reviewed 4 years ago

Data organization and reporting were fantastic tools for our organization. Strategic planning and decision making that previously occurred according to essentially gut feelings were now backed with substantial amounts of hard data and a real, concrete understanding of our business operations. We really remade our organization thanks to the information that Salesforce allowed us to collect, organize, and manipulate.

Pros

The robust package of features was entirely unmatched in our experience with a number of other less expensive packages. Reporting tools in particular were incredibly useful for our organization, and really allowed us to dig into our data and glean valuable insights that, in some cases, reformed our understanding of our organization, clients, and industry. We used the many tools in Salesforce to implement an array of positive changes that would not have been possible otherwise.

Cons

Costs are always a concern for small nonprofits, and that's probably the only part of Salesforce that we struggled with. Of course, we'd had experience with free/cheap software in this space, and all of it had major technical problems. Saelsforce just worked, and gave us everything we needed. In that regard, the cost was much easier to swallow.

SA
AvatarImg

Sabal A.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Salesforce for Non Profits

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

It does everything you need it to. It's very capable of using the most up-to-date technology available.

Cons

It is difficult to manage. Requires a lot of staff time to keep up to date with the latest updates and ensure everything is working smoothly. There's also a lot of add ons which can making initial pricing difficult

MK
AvatarImg

Mary Kate M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Not Created with Nonprofits in Mind

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use Salesforce as our main CRM at my non-profit, mostly so that we can keep track of clients, donors, and volunteers all in one place. I mostly use it to track volunteer participation and hours and pull reports on donor and volunteer activity to include in grants and marketing materials.

Pros

Salesforce for Nonprofits does add some additional features that nonprofits are likely to need for donor and volunteer management, and it allows everything to be in one CRM (versus having volunteers, donors, and clients in separate databases)

Cons

Salesforce for Nonprofits feels like it was a stretch for Salesforce. The way that Salesforce was built doesn't work well for many of the needs non-profits have, and Salesforce for Nonprofits is basically the same platform with just a few added features. It's clunky, and doing things like program management and pulling reports is not as easy as you'd expect given how it's described. Overall, it's clear that Salesforce kept it's sales mindset when building this software, rather than starting from the non-profit perspective.

BK
AvatarImg

Brad K.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overpowered for us, but can do everything we'll ever need

Reviewed 2 years ago

We manage all of our donors, event attendees, volunteers and any other human that's connected with our organization through Salesforce. We spend a lot of time cleaning up the database, and we devote a lot of staff time to Salesforce management in general, but we consider it essential.

Pros

The biggest advantage is that it can do ANYTHING related to donor management, and you can tailor it pretty much endlessly. We also like that there is a huge user base so we have lots of places to go for support and to hire data entry staff.

Cons

The learning curve is as endless as the potential. There's no plug and play here—you have to be prepared to spend a LOT of time wrapping your brain around this software. Intuitive is not a word I would use for Salesforce.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services,

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Even after a few years, still overwhelmed.

Reviewed 5 years ago

It helped me to get an introduction to what I could do with a membership database/CRM without investing a lot of money into programs that may or may not do what I wanted them to (because I didn't know what I wanted them to do). It allowed me to get my database set up and organized and begin to understand our donor profiles, locations, amounts, and more.

Pros

It certainly is powerful and has many customizations and features and things to build. It has lots of integrations across the web and there is something to be said for being the biggest. Also, it's free for non-profits, so especially if you don't know what you are trying to do with a CRM, it's nice to be able to play around with Salesforce and get an idea of what types of data are useful to you before moving to some other program that requires higher costs up front.

Cons

If you don't care to become a developer or aren't one already, this software can run away with you real fast. While it's great that Salesforce is so powerful, in many ways it is too powerful and complex. Even with the nonprofit customizations, it's very difficult to navigate and customize, understand what all the different programs within it are, keep up with all the updates and integrations and who even knows. Basically, I get it - this is designed for large groups that can afford to have a dedicated Salesforce employee(s). It's for large databases with many moving parts. If you are small and your employees or board are juggling many jobs and not just database management, this is difficult to use. Plus, the interface looks like it never got past 1992.

ME
AvatarImg

Momen E.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Complete CRM Platform and More!

Reviewed 6 months ago

I love the platform, it has transformed my life in my professional career and in real life. Now I try to understand the back end use cases of almost everything I do so I can understand what I am dealing with and to arrive at the best solution based on that understanding of systems. Life changing.

Pros

The most important features of Salesforce NonProfit is visually seeing the link from the donor, to the dollar, to the fun, to the program it is impacting to the number of beneficiary we are serving. This is vital!

Cons

I wish that the Setup Page can be customized where you are able to remove or hide certain settings. It can get overwhelming especially if you are a new admin.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super agile and flexible to meet our needs. Very user friendly.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The software allows for us to have one platform that scales across the organization. This allows us to build a real view of the student across all departments. This improves communication and allows us to also shorten staff training time when employees move from one area of the organization to another. So far, our biggest limitation is our own creativity. We have soo much we want to keep implementing that we haven´t completed it all yet. We already have full recruitment, marketing, admissions online and now are adding in Financial Aid Requests, and internal processes.

Cons

It is so flexible, sometimes we do things that are good "in the moment" but later have to be fixed because we weren´t forced to think about them too much.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Boost your Nonprofit

Reviewed 3 years ago

Connecting with customers better. Making better business decisions

Pros

Giving back is at the heart of salesforce. Salesforce provides 10 free licenses for non profit orgs, while this probably isn't enough to run an entire organization this is probably a great start. Cutting edge technology that gets better every day

Cons

None! Salesforce is probably one of the top software platforms I have every used.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Love salesforce. Sometimes its overkill, but is great for reporting.

Reviewed 5 years ago

This has really helped us optimize our organization.

Pros

this software is very flexible and has grown with our organization. I have appreciated the help and support of the salesforce team.

Cons

Setup can be confusing, but Trailblaser/consultants have been helpful. Sometimes though the Nonprofit packages does not differentiate itself them the general salesforce.com product.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Highly Recommended, Conscious of Tight Non-Profit Budgets, Delivers Great Value

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This is essentially Salesforce's usual products and capabilities catered to the nonprofit sector. I've had a lot of success deploying this for several different kinds of nonprofits, and all have been able to garner value that greatly exceeds the cost of the product with effort efficiency. Where I've deployed it, organizations have grown via new sources of funding, donations, and other forms of support and awareness via Salesfore for Nonprofit's toolset. It also charges your organization based on usage, so you don't have to pre-purchase a large commitment and then struggle to get your limited money's worth.

Cons

While they did make some sensible accommodations, Salesforce is ultimately designed for the for-profit sector, so there are some lasting relics that aren't designed perfectly for cause-based, non-corporate organizations.

LM
AvatarImg

Lisa M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Thought it was a Cadillac but received a box of parts

Reviewed 3 years ago

Timing consuming at first.

Pros

Reporting capabilities and the fact that if you have a techie person on staff, you can develop more robust AMS features. These features do not come out of the box though.

Cons

You really need to have a very technically oriented person on staff to get this set up to meet your nonprofit's needs. It took us a year to get it really set up and functioning the way we'd envisioned.

DC
AvatarImg

Danielle C.

Philanthropy, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

It can do anything...if you can afford to pay someone a lot of money to set it up for you.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I would choose another program for nonprofits.

Pros

- It really does have an incredible amount of functionality. You can create any kind of automation or workflow that you can dream up. This can save you an incredible amount of time in the long run. - The Nonprofit Salespack is a great template for starting a donor management system. - You get 10 free licenses as a nonprofit, so if someone on your team is a nonprofit whiz, go for it!

Cons

- As an admin, Salesforce not intuitive AT ALL. I've used 5 other donation management software programs, and this is the hardest to learn and be admin for on your own. You can figure other programs out just by using them and knowing the basics. Salesforce requires an incredible amount of time and dedication to learn, so much so that you really need to hire someone to build it for you and also to make any changes for you later on. - All of our staff had a hard time transitioning to using it, especially our older staff. - The pull is that it's free for nonprofits, but I promise you, it's NOT free. You will definitely end up spending more on Salesforce than any other software if there isn't someone on your team that is a salesforce expert.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michelle B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best thing shown to our organization that changed the dynamic of what we do!!!

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are ecstatic to have this program in order to grow and enhance our organization. It has been the best thing we have purchased. You have to try it!

Pros

This program is great for non-profits and convenient for organizing, tracking and reporting. We compiled everything into one system now from multiple sources. This program has helped transform our organization by being to build reports for donations, donors, residents, etc. We have been able to customize our features, communicate with this tool and build grant reports.

Cons

Sometimes there are features that cannot be customized particularly in the way would like.

AJ
AvatarImg

Angelica J.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I absolutely love everything about Salesforce!

Reviewed 5 years ago

With ease, we can keep track of our Affiliate organizations, their staff and our communications with them. Understanding your constituent base and their various relationships to your organization is invaluable and SF makes it easy.

Pros

It is user friendly even for those who are not as tech savvy. We are able to easily track complex relationships for our organization while ensuring that we can report on the information in a way that is effective for us.

Cons

I wish that mass email was a bit easier to use or more aesthetically pleasing, adding images to a mass email can be difficult at times.

KM
AvatarImg

Karen M.

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I've set up SFDC Nonprofit Starter Pack for many NPO's. SFDC never disappoints

Reviewed 5 years ago

Fast, easy to scale, handles multi language, multi currency, free

Pros

It's free, it's easy to customize, and is quick to set up for nonprofits. Additional objects can be added and up to 10 users can be set up.

Cons

Most nonprofits do not have the technical capabilities to utilize SFDC to its fullest potential. That being said - SFDC does offer trailhead for free - and it is a great way for new Admins to learn.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great option that will grow with your nonprofit

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Salesforce is very customizable. The Power of Us Grant and Hub make Salesforce NPSP very affordable for any size nonprofit.

Cons

Salesforce is very customizable so there is not much preset features for nonprofits. To really setup well an outside consultant is needed which is very expensive.

AO
AvatarImg

Amanda O.

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool for non-profits

Reviewed 2 years ago

Excellent tool - lots of features that make it easier and more effective for NPO's to manage their data, including donor management, grant management, volunteers, campaigns, etc.

Pros

Non-profits get 10 free licenses of this highly-vetted software, and are able to buy more at a discount. Salesforce.org is constantly growing and adding new features, with the help of their very talented team.

Cons

It's part of Salesforce, which is both a pro and a con - however, you aren't going to get this kind of price, support, experience, without being backed by a huge corporation.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Consumer Electronics,

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Data Segmenting

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love how this software helps automate our broad reaching. We have increased our reach ability by double because of running automated campaigns on a regular basis. I fully recommend Salesforce for handling your data management.

Cons

I don't like that the query time out is thirty minutes. This makes me have to divide the work that needs to be processed into multiple steps, which can be really frustrating and confusing to others that take over pre-established processes.

AM
AvatarImg

Ari M.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very useful tool

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Salesforce helps organize many aspects of the business

Cons

It can be a little difficult to navigate and learn some functions

JN
AvatarImg

Jean N.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best CRM

Reviewed a year ago

Overall great to use easy to learn and I like all the Salesforce badges to gain

Pros

Very easily integrated with other programs ability to share with colleagues

Cons

No features are least like as I feel Salesforce is the most complete CRM on the market

JG
AvatarImg

Jonathan G.

Individual & Family Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Uniquely Customizable Platform for Nonprofits

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The surprising thing about Salesforce as a solution for nonprofits is the limitless ways that you can customize the software. With someone who is skilled enough it is possible to accomplish pretty much anything you can imagine.

Cons

It requires hiring or finding someone who is uniquely gifted in building your unique platform, this is both it's strength and it's limiting factor.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Music,

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

I use SalesForce to track donations received for my nonprofit.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy to log gifts, save contact information and organize contacts by relationship.

Pros

I like that SalesForce for Nonprofits is free, and that it can be used to track a lot of information, including relationships.

Cons

There are a lot of help articles in the knowledge base, but sometimes I just want someone to chat with. I don't like that emails can only be uploaded in a Contact role, and not an Account role. I find the reports and dashboards difficult to create. Sometimes I think there is almost too much functionality, and that while its great to have this product for free, many nonprofits don't have the budget for a SalesForce administrator to set up the database for full functionality.

AK
AvatarImg

Alexandra K.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

21st Century Database

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm so happy that our org switched from our old software to Salesforce. It has really made our donor management processes so much easier and less time consuming.

Pros

Coming from Raiser's Edge, this software is significantly easier to use, much better for GDPR compliance, and doesn't look like something out of the 1990s. It is much easier to manage our donor profiles, grants, preferences, etc. on Salesforce

Cons

The transition period from our old software to Salesforce was difficult and there's certainly a learning curve (not Salesforce's fault).

EK
AvatarImg

Eva K.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Reporting Capabilities - SalesForce

Reviewed a year ago

Still learning about the other available tools available on Salesforce. Our reports are well articulated and very easy to understand

Pros

Great reporting capabilities, as we were able to reach more farmers with SalesForce. Our IT manager was able to automate the workflow, and now its easy and less time consuming

Cons

While the reports were great, it was quite tricky for us to configure. It took us some time to configure but we eventually succeeded. Training new employees on Salesforce is time-consuming, as its one of our main systems

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael D.

Verified reviewer

Nonprofit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Non-Profit SalesForce

Reviewed 4 years ago

Positive for the most part, with some difficulty in initial implementation.

Pros

This software helps organize our donor and grantor database and helps monitor deadlines, scheduling follow-ups, measuring donation details, and more. We are pretty new to the system, but the customer support and training accelerators are very helpful.

Cons

It is expensive and difficult to implement, especially if you are a new user. We were fortunate that we had staff experienced with the software and received grant money to implement it.