This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Salesforce.org

Non-Profit CRM offered through Salesforce

see alternatives

Salesforce.org Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

I know the setup was intense because we had a 2-week training session with SalesForce. I was much more effective with my daily outreach & followed up with the right prospects due to the software.

Rachel P.

This saved our organization an incredible amount of money. The software is a great CRM that has helped us get organized.

Anonymous Reviewer

A fantastic all-around system for tracking and managing any stage of the student lifecycle.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Our nonprofit received free access to what would have been a very costly tier of Salesforce, but it was ultimately too difficult for us to use.

Anonymous Reviewer

The native reporting functionality in Salesforce is severely lacking.

Anonymous Reviewer

It's for large databases with many moving parts. If you are small and your employees or board are juggling many jobs and not just database management, this is difficult to use.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

28

11

2

0

0

95%
positive reviews
92%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


41 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Premier CRM, Set up for Higher Ed

Reviewed a year ago

Our university used Salesforce to communicate with students and track those communications. The ability to create custom solutions to meet that needs of our admissions team makes Salesforce the easy choice.

Pros

Salesforce is a very powerful, customizable platform that allows companies and admins to set up an environment/instance that meets almost all of their communication and tracking needs. Salesforce for Higher Ed takes that powerful platform and directs its power towards recruiting and communicating with students. Creating and managing objects and views is very easy. Can be used to support and communicate with a student throughout their whole time interacting with the university (prospect to graduated alumnus). Customer service, as with all Salesforce products, is excellent and abundant documentation exists.

Cons

The native reporting functionality in Salesforce is severely lacking. Outdated graphics, clunky reporting structure, and limitations make reporting in Salesforce less than ideal. If possible, I would recommend completing reporting in an external software that connects directly to your Salesforce data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overpowered for us, but can do everything we'll ever need

Reviewed a year ago

We manage all of our donors, event attendees, volunteers and any other human that's connected with our organization through Salesforce. We spend a lot of time cleaning up the database, and we devote a lot of staff time to Salesforce management in general, but we consider it essential.

Pros

The biggest advantage is that it can do ANYTHING related to donor management, and you can tailor it pretty much endlessly. We also like that there is a huge user base so we have lots of places to go for support and to hire data entry staff.

Cons

The learning curve is as endless as the potential. There's no plug and play here—you have to be prepared to spend a LOT of time wrapping your brain around this software. Intuitive is not a word I would use for Salesforce.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great option that will grow with your nonprofit

Reviewed 10 days ago
Pros

Salesforce is very customizable. The Power of Us Grant and Hub make Salesforce NPSP very affordable for any size nonprofit.

Cons

Salesforce is very customizable so there is not much preset features for nonprofits. To really setup well an outside consultant is needed which is very expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Not Created with Nonprofits in Mind

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use Salesforce as our main CRM at my non-profit, mostly so that we can keep track of clients, donors, and volunteers all in one place. I mostly use it to track volunteer participation and hours and pull reports on donor and volunteer activity to include in grants and marketing materials.

Pros

Salesforce for Nonprofits does add some additional features that nonprofits are likely to need for donor and volunteer management, and it allows everything to be in one CRM (versus having volunteers, donors, and clients in separate databases)

Cons

Salesforce for Nonprofits feels like it was a stretch for Salesforce. The way that Salesforce was built doesn't work well for many of the needs non-profits have, and Salesforce for Nonprofits is basically the same platform with just a few added features. It's clunky, and doing things like program management and pulling reports is not as easy as you'd expect given how it's described. Overall, it's clear that Salesforce kept it's sales mindset when building this software, rather than starting from the non-profit perspective.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Even after a few years, still overwhelmed.

Reviewed 3 years ago

It helped me to get an introduction to what I could do with a membership database/CRM without investing a lot of money into programs that may or may not do what I wanted them to (because I didn't know what I wanted them to do). It allowed me to get my database set up and organized and begin to understand our donor profiles, locations, amounts, and more.

Pros

It certainly is powerful and has many customizations and features and things to build. It has lots of integrations across the web and there is something to be said for being the biggest. Also, it's free for non-profits, so especially if you don't know what you are trying to do with a CRM, it's nice to be able to play around with Salesforce and get an idea of what types of data are useful to you before moving to some other program that requires higher costs up front.

Cons

If you don't care to become a developer or aren't one already, this software can run away with you real fast. While it's great that Salesforce is so powerful, in many ways it is too powerful and complex. Even with the nonprofit customizations, it's very difficult to navigate and customize, understand what all the different programs within it are, keep up with all the updates and integrations and who even knows. Basically, I get it - this is designed for large groups that can afford to have a dedicated Salesforce employee(s). It's for large databases with many moving parts. If you are small and your employees or board are juggling many jobs and not just database management, this is difficult to use. Plus, the interface looks like it never got past 1992.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A game changer for higher ed recruiting and admissions

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We use a customized 3rd party version of Salesforce within the Higher Ed space - primarily for graduate recruiting and admissions, as well as marketing. Salesforce, while a sales platform, is versatile enough to allow us to completely customize our org the way we need it to function. We keep track of prospective applicants, run our info sessions as campaigns, and have even built our application using Salesforce site pages. The amount of flexibility and potential for integration is staggering. We are not full on the HEDA model, yet, but are moving in that direction. In addition, the products being rolled out for Higher Ed such as Adviser Link are very intriguing, and have us considering how we could roll out Salesforce to other units in our grad school.

Cons

Salesforce in general is a huge platform, and can be a bit challenging for new staff to learn. In addition, because of the customization and natural deviation away from a sales-based mentality in order to get it to work for Higher Ed, Salesforce can quickly accumulate layers and layers of settings, permissions, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A fantastic all-around system for tracking and managing any stage of the student lifecycle

Reviewed 2 years ago

Salesforce for Higher Ed has revolutionized our enrollment practices, and continues to open new avenues for data-collection, enrollment management and prospect engagement. It's become the hub that our entire enrollment services operation runs from. Our main problems tend to be a result of our own inexperience, or lack of knowledge in navigating the truly vast potential of Salesforce. The learning curve is real, but we've found it worth it to stick it out.

Pros

I love the flexibility of Salesforce and the tailored customization of HEDA. It can do anything we need, and more. Salesforce also works hard to make sure every user has the training and documentation they need to make implementation successful.

Cons

The sheer size and flexibility of Salesforce imposes an enormous learning curve on users. Without proper guidance, some functions will be left idle, or even misused. Other functions are theoretically possible, but difficult to implement without extensive training and/or expensive add-on products.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Salesforce offered major improvements over cheaper software platforms we'd used

Reviewed 3 years ago

Data organization and reporting were fantastic tools for our organization. Strategic planning and decision making that previously occurred according to essentially gut feelings were now backed with substantial amounts of hard data and a real, concrete understanding of our business operations. We really remade our organization thanks to the information that Salesforce allowed us to collect, organize, and manipulate.

Pros

The robust package of features was entirely unmatched in our experience with a number of other less expensive packages. Reporting tools in particular were incredibly useful for our organization, and really allowed us to dig into our data and glean valuable insights that, in some cases, reformed our understanding of our organization, clients, and industry. We used the many tools in Salesforce to implement an array of positive changes that would not have been possible otherwise.

Cons

Costs are always a concern for small nonprofits, and that's probably the only part of Salesforce that we struggled with. Of course, we'd had experience with free/cheap software in this space, and all of it had major technical problems. Saelsforce just worked, and gave us everything we needed. In that regard, the cost was much easier to swallow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super agile and flexible to meet our needs. Very user friendly.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software allows for us to have one platform that scales across the organization. This allows us to build a real view of the student across all departments. This improves communication and allows us to also shorten staff training time when employees move from one area of the organization to another. So far, our biggest limitation is our own creativity. We have soo much we want to keep implementing that we haven´t completed it all yet. We already have full recruitment, marketing, admissions online and now are adding in Financial Aid Requests, and internal processes.

Cons

It is so flexible, sometimes we do things that are good "in the moment" but later have to be fixed because we weren´t forced to think about them too much.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent tool for non-profits

Reviewed 4 months ago

Excellent tool - lots of features that make it easier and more effective for NPO's to manage their data, including donor management, grant management, volunteers, campaigns, etc.

Pros

Non-profits get 10 free licenses of this highly-vetted software, and are able to buy more at a discount. Salesforce.org is constantly growing and adding new features, with the help of their very talented team.

Cons

It's part of Salesforce, which is both a pro and a con - however, you aren't going to get this kind of price, support, experience, without being backed by a huge corporation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Thought it was a Cadillac but received a box of parts

Reviewed 2 years ago

Timing consuming at first.

Pros

Reporting capabilities and the fact that if you have a techie person on staff, you can develop more robust AMS features. These features do not come out of the box though.

Cons

You really need to have a very technically oriented person on staff to get this set up to meet your nonprofit's needs. It took us a year to get it really set up and functioning the way we'd envisioned.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

It can do anything...if you can afford to pay someone a lot of money to set it up for you.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, I would choose another program for nonprofits.

Pros

- It really does have an incredible amount of functionality. You can create any kind of automation or workflow that you can dream up. This can save you an incredible amount of time in the long run. - The Nonprofit Salespack is a great template for starting a donor management system. - You get 10 free licenses as a nonprofit, so if someone on your team is a nonprofit whiz, go for it!

Cons

- As an admin, Salesforce not intuitive AT ALL. I've used 5 other donation management software programs, and this is the hardest to learn and be admin for on your own. You can figure other programs out just by using them and knowing the basics. Salesforce requires an incredible amount of time and dedication to learn, so much so that you really need to hire someone to build it for you and also to make any changes for you later on. - All of our staff had a hard time transitioning to using it, especially our older staff. - The pull is that it's free for nonprofits, but I promise you, it's NOT free. You will definitely end up spending more on Salesforce than any other software if there isn't someone on your team that is a salesforce expert.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Platform; Detailed Reporting Capabilities

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I appreciate how clear and easy the layout of everything is. Users are able to categorize each prospective student by the stage they're in. The reporting capabilities are incredibly helpful. Users can generate specific reports on basically anything regarding prospective students. Additionally, the platform has attractive visuals (graphs and more) to track each recruiter's progress.

Cons

While the capabilities of the report-making are great, the initial creation of the report can be tricky. I sometimes feel like I'm writing algebraic equations when creating a new report. This isn't always the case, but training new hires how to create new reports is probably the most time-consuming part of our CRM training.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best thing shown to our organization that changed the dynamic of what we do!!!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are ecstatic to have this program in order to grow and enhance our organization. It has been the best thing we have purchased. You have to try it!

Pros

This program is great for non-profits and convenient for organizing, tracking and reporting. We compiled everything into one system now from multiple sources. This program has helped transform our organization by being to build reports for donations, donors, residents, etc. We have been able to customize our features, communicate with this tool and build grant reports.

Cons

Sometimes there are features that cannot be customized particularly in the way would like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

A steep learning curve

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

SalesForce gives the potential to be a company-wide CRM, rather than a CRM just for Admissions. This is something we would like to do and have started working toward. This is SalesForce's largest benefit over many other popular Higher Ed CRMs. There is a lot of potential here and I am pleased with a lot of the features, though there are some ones that feel basic that are missing.

Cons

The data architecture is very convoluted and there is a very steep learning curve. It is clear when using SalesForce as a CRM tool for Higher Ed, that it was not built for Higher Ed. Despite that, it is still a strong solution. The other biggest pain point is responsiveness and slowness. The UI (ironically called Lightning) is incredibly slow which makes working on configurations very time-consuming for System Admins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I absolutely love everything about Salesforce!

Reviewed 3 years ago

With ease, we can keep track of our Affiliate organizations, their staff and our communications with them. Understanding your constituent base and their various relationships to your organization is invaluable and SF makes it easy.

Pros

It is user friendly even for those who are not as tech savvy. We are able to easily track complex relationships for our organization while ensuring that we can report on the information in a way that is effective for us.

Cons

I wish that mass email was a bit easier to use or more aesthetically pleasing, adding images to a mass email can be difficult at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ease and volume of work I am able to accomplish because the software is so productive to the work we do.

Pros

Once you learn how to use it~ it is so easy. Being able to access a student page and knowing all information is there for the student on his contact or application page helps with ease. Report building is relatively easy too.

Cons

Usually when I get "tripped up" it is my own error. Knowing the language of the reports is where this usually happens.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Boost your Nonprofit

Reviewed 2 years ago

Connecting with customers better. Making better business decisions

Pros

Giving back is at the heart of salesforce. Salesforce provides 10 free licenses for non profit orgs, while this probably isn't enough to run an entire organization this is probably a great start. Cutting edge technology that gets better every day

Cons

None! Salesforce is probably one of the top software platforms I have every used.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I've set up SFDC Nonprofit Starter Pack for many NPO's. SFDC never disappoints

Reviewed 3 years ago

Fast, easy to scale, handles multi language, multi currency, free

Pros

It's free, it's easy to customize, and is quick to set up for nonprofits. Additional objects can be added and up to 10 users can be set up.

Cons

Most nonprofits do not have the technical capabilities to utilize SFDC to its fullest potential. That being said - SFDC does offer trailhead for free - and it is a great way for new Admins to learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Love salesforce. Sometimes its overkill, but is great for reporting.

Reviewed 3 years ago

This has really helped us optimize our organization.

Pros

this software is very flexible and has grown with our organization. I have appreciated the help and support of the salesforce team.

Cons

Setup can be confusing, but Trailblaser/consultants have been helpful. Sometimes though the Nonprofit packages does not differentiate itself them the general salesforce.com product.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Salesforce CRM

Reviewed 3 years ago

We had a long learning curve because the axiom did not function at all with our SIS and data had to be manually implemented for 5 months. To be fair the implementation was also not handled the best. Once we got all the components speaking between the software program it is a powerful tool. Again the way it is arranged is better as a communication tool and trying to adapt it to applications for university is not as user friendly.

Pros

I like the ability to track all the student data from inception as a prospect through to alumni and potential donor.

Cons

How it is structured to be student centric. When using it to look up data as application, attachments etc it is cumbersome with many steps.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Highly Recommended, Conscious of Tight Non-Profit Budgets, Delivers Great Value

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This is essentially Salesforce's usual products and capabilities catered to the nonprofit sector. I've had a lot of success deploying this for several different kinds of nonprofits, and all have been able to garner value that greatly exceeds the cost of the product with effort efficiency. Where I've deployed it, organizations have grown via new sources of funding, donations, and other forms of support and awareness via Salesfore for Nonprofit's toolset. It also charges your organization based on usage, so you don't have to pre-purchase a large commitment and then struggle to get your limited money's worth.

Cons

While they did make some sensible accommodations, Salesforce is ultimately designed for the for-profit sector, so there are some lasting relics that aren't designed perfectly for cause-based, non-corporate organizations.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Data Segmenting

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love how this software helps automate our broad reaching. We have increased our reach ability by double because of running automated campaigns on a regular basis. I fully recommend Salesforce for handling your data management.

Cons

I don't like that the query time out is thirty minutes. This makes me have to divide the work that needs to be processed into multiple steps, which can be really frustrating and confusing to others that take over pre-established processes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very useful tool

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Salesforce helps organize many aspects of the business

Cons

It can be a little difficult to navigate and learn some functions

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Uniquely Customizable Platform for Nonprofits

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The surprising thing about Salesforce as a solution for nonprofits is the limitless ways that you can customize the software. With someone who is skilled enough it is possible to accomplish pretty much anything you can imagine.

Cons

It requires hiring or finding someone who is uniquely gifted in building your unique platform, this is both it's strength and it's limiting factor.