App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Kaseya VSA Logo

Kaseya VSA

IT Systems Management Software for Internal IT and MSPs

(16)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Kaseya VSA Reviews

Overall rating

4.1

/5

199

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.72/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The account reps I have had for the past several years have been amazing. You need to get to know as many people as you can at Kaseya and learn to work as a team with them and you will be very happy.
My engineers love the Kaseya VSA, ease of use and speed. We have been a long time Kaseya partner and plan to continue our great partnership.
Fantastic product that provides the ability to securely manage and monitor your managed service customers.
Kaseya support is terrible, I mean really terrible. I think they only have one level 2 technician because the same guy gets back to me when the first guys can't fix it.
Terrible customer service, NO Support, slow, lousy features for the price. Constantly have to uninstall live connect and reinstall.
The lack of a 64 bit agent until recently was a pain point for a while. Updating Live Connect is time consuming.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


199 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Effective systems management on a budget

Reviewed 6 years ago

Remote access, patch management, software/hardware auditing, asset management, VSA does everything we need it to!

Pros

Kaseya VSA offers functionality similar to SMS/SCCM or LanDesk at a fraction of the cost. In addition, it includes options for additional endpoint protection management.

Cons

I was not able to get the VSA front-end working on our shared IIS server, I ended up creating a separate VM for VSA which is pretty trivial but it's one more host to manage. I probably should have just contacted Kaseya Support for assistance, but since I had licenses and VM host overhead available, the most expedient solution was just to create a new VM just for VSA.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Kaseya lego kit

Reviewed 4 years ago

We manage almost 8000 of our customers machines. On almost all servers we run monitoring to alert us to issues, like disk space problems, services not running or certain eventlogs popping up. Here the lego building part of Kaseya is obvious. You get the rough shape to help you set up, but you determine what machine needs what monitoring. You polish the whole in the right shape. We have good security...

Pros

- You can build a whole lot of automation with their building blocks; - The depth of information should cover your needs; - New leadership has taken some time to reform the company, but is now running full speed ahead; - The potential of venture capital is a big benefit to what they can do, if you make them see the need.

Cons

- Old building blocks have lived on too long (this year is supposed to be the big clean-up); - The mix of old parts (up to 20 years old) and very recent changes in limited places is confusing; - Support can be great, but usually takes a few days to get up to speed on technical challenges; - Integrations of Antivirus are limited and the Kaspersky Anti Virus option will cost you a lot of time;

MF
AvatarImg

Michael F.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The most buggy and useless pile of nonsense code in existence.

Reviewed 3 years ago

BUGGY, enough to drive anyone crazy. Take the tree structure drill down... They're actually drill UP, in that if you click ANYTHING, every "+" in the tree expands. If there are 300 customers in the tree, you've got to scroll like mad for an hour through everything you didn't want expanded, just to re-find what you WANTED expanded. Tons of applets in the program simply don't do work at all. The "Discovery" app, which should identify all devices on a given network actually can't identify anything that doesn't already have the Kaseya management agent on it, making deployment a totally manual process. The network monitor doesn't provide any meaningful information, just sends you thousands of emails telling you it failed.

Pros

Not one single "feature" is at all likeable.

Cons

Mostly it doesn't work, that is to say, it doesn't do what it's supposed to. When you ask support how to get a part of the app to function correctly, they just tell you "it's a known issue, we're working on it" The product has been out for over ten years, but they're working on it. One you pay them, say goodbye to that money, and they will never fix it. Why should they, you already paid them, so they have zero incentive.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful RMM Solution, if a bit complex.

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Kaseya VSA pulls together a powerful suite of tools for RMM. Scripting is extremely powerful, but you'll need to learn the "VSA way" instead of being able to easily pull a PowerShell script from some other source. The reporting capabilities allow us to easily report on almost any data collected for monitored devices.

Cons

VSA's interface really needs a modern web UI overhaul. The company seems to be making progress to at least provide a consistent look with fonts, icons and imagery, however progress is slow and it needs a lot more "love" from the design team. In this same process, there is a TON you can do with the solution, however data is often scattered across multiple tabs and sections in order to find everything you need. Often when working with clients, I'd have to move to several sections to find all needed details for a single device. It is all there, but I would love to see it streamlined.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Josemaria G.

Building Materials, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best tool for Sysads!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Super happy to have this tool. It makes life funu for our IT office which makes them even more proactive than traditional reactive. :)

Pros

Best feature... remote access to end-points! This allowed our small helpdesk team us to monitor and manage hundreds of end points (mostly desktops) all over different sites. No need to physically go to the office to install a patch or troubleshoot. Also, it was very useful for our hardware and software inventory. The reports are easy to generate and use especially for budget decisions. We get to monitor also unauthorised software, and sometimes, with the consent of the respective pc users, we get to monitor their pc activity in real-time. Plus! It supports all our devices (mac to pc and even linux, iOS and android).

Cons

Functionality wise, I have no complaints. However, in terms of UX, it looks a little dated. Perhaps the interface navigation can be improved.

MK
AvatarImg

Max K.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very nice and customization IT management solution

Reviewed 6 years ago

I work with Kaseya every and it allows us to accomplish about 95% of what we would like it to do.

Pros

Kaseya offers a lot of modules and so includes a lot of features for managing endpoints. Kaseya is very reliable. Fairly easy to configure (in relation to the number of features you want to utilize, but if you have a lot of agents then it is well worth your time).

Cons

There are bugs in the software and sometimes update break things that were previously working well. Customer service is probably good for resolving issues for small or medium deployments on Kaseya VSA, but is not great for large deployments.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

It was great

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have been working with Kaseya since an early version. It was a great tool back in 2009, but they haven't change too much. Functionality is there, but the interface is inconsistent between the different modules. Support has been terrible, but it got better on the last year.

Pros

Kaseya VSA is a powerful RMM solution that includes everything you need to manage your customers networks. From remote access tool, network discovery, patch management to scripting.

Cons

VSA seems to be made from different teams each one with its own interface. It is not consistent and it you need to click several place just to do another task in the same machine.

LD
AvatarImg

Lee D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kaseya has made managing a large fleet of systems with minimal resources a breeze.

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have saved a lot of time dedicated to working on each machine locally. Between remote installs and remote access it keeps out efficiency maxed out.

Pros

We make the most use of the ability to create scripts for automating day to day tasks such as installs or updates on the client machines. It has saved a lot on our man hours since we manage the entire District with one full time and one part time IT staff.

Cons

The only issues we've run into with the software is some issues with the earlier version of the KAV component. Many of the issues we had have been patched out of the system at this point however.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great software, takes time to make great

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall the software is great, I have tried all the major RMM software options over the past 10 years and still feel Kaseya VSA is the top of the line one.

Pros

Scripting engine is better than other RMM software I have used. Remote Control protocol is fast and has useful features like session shadowing on Terminal Servers. Lots of community support for Addon for popular software.

Cons

Support over the past 10 years has always been bad, there have been ups and downs but overall not good. Tree/Hierarchy for settings still seems like an after thought Promised features that never arrive.

BG
AvatarImg

Bernard G.

Government Relations, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kaseya VSA

Reviewed 6 months ago

Very good. Hard to do our work without anymore.

Pros

Ease of use, versatility, the information available, patching of Windows and third party applications.

Cons

Not very intuitive on where to find information

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Technical Director

Reviewed 5 years ago

Having a remote control solution in the same web based app that allows patch management and scripting is the best efficiency aspect of this product for us.

Pros

Everything is integrated. One screen gets you a 360 degree approach to systems management... from AV and Backups, through 2FA & password management, through remote control and patch management.

Cons

The remote control feature works well on Windows Pc's, although can be quite intrusive on guest resources while active... and no remote control support for Mac, Linux or Android Much of the interface will run in any web browser, but I find that you have to jump through a lot of hoops to get it running in a browser on anything other than a PC. As soon as you need to do anything that requires running...

DM
AvatarImg

Doug M.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software. Has a learning curve but there is nothing you cant do.

Reviewed 6 years ago

To many to describe. Remote access, auditing, reporting, patch management, scripting....the list goes on.

Pros

Live Connect is a great feature, giving everything from remote support sessions to remote shell access. The scripting gives you ability to do almost everything behind the scenes making end users very happy. There is no better feeling than being able to tell your customer you fixed a problem without ever needing to bother them or interrupt their day. The reporting functions of Kaseya VSA allow administrators to parse almost any information possible, into nice PDF or Excel reports. Customers are usually very impressed and excited to see the reports, showing them any and all information they want to see regarding their company.

Cons

The user interface is a little dated, and before you learn it can be cumbersome to get around in. Another issue, when you schedule a script for a date/time that already occurred, it executes immediately, without warning. Not a big deal for some things, but when you accidentally schedule a reboot script for the wrong time, you don't get any warning before your customer computers are rebooting in the middling of the day. Live and learn :)

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic software for managing your enviroment

Reviewed 4 years ago

Absolutely love it. It does so much more for us than what we had before. The Kaseya knowledge base and public agent procedures site is helpful. Patch management is my biggest love from this product. The ability to access machines with just Internet access is a huge plus. It has also made managing our inventory considerably easier.

Pros

Easy to see all machines and servers in real time with connectivity status. Agent install is quick and customizable. Patch management feature is robust. Agent procedures allow a wide range of management possibilities. I love that I can access any of my servers with just Internet access. This have come in handy many times when iDRAC or VPN access has been lost.

Cons

Management for Macs is less robust. The lack of a 64 bit agent until recently was a pain point for a while. Updating Live Connect is time consuming,

MM
AvatarImg

Matthew M.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Review from a user and an administrator of the Kaseya VSA

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall I (and our business) have a very positive experience with the Kaseya VSA in our day to day operations. The VSA allows us to centrally manage all of our customer remote operations including Endpoint Security, Backup of differing technologies, Patching, monitoring and remote access. The VSA also allows us to provide many of these same benefits to our customers which we support, enabling them to have a similar positive experience when needing to access their own systems.

Pros

I am most impressed by the functionality and ease of use of the Kaseya VSA for everyday operations, from the perspective of a managed services provider. Supporting our customers in a way that allows quick resolution of their issues is a driving force behind our software purchasing mandate, and the Kaseya VSA allows for this without being cumbersome to use.

Cons

My primary issue with the Kaseya VSA is around the licensing model. We run an on-premise VSA, but would prefer to have the flexibility of a monthly subscription service around our licensing as this is how our customers consume services in the cloud driven era we live in.

GM
AvatarImg

Gregory M.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great use of User Interface to keep the experience for techs consistent and still fully featured.

Reviewed 6 years ago

It really helps decrease the amount of time we spend working on client PCs and allows us to more quickly deploy global solutions to our clients.

Pros

Consistency of user experience and large feature set which allows techs to easily perform tasks while still being powerful.

Cons

Inability to use "Policy Management" for all modules as I haven't seen any 3rd party modules in there, nor have I seen the ability to apply policies for Network Monitor. I'd also like to see a way to track the amount of time various automation are saving us. Such as software deployments, patch installs, etc. I can do some of this manually by having monitoring open a ticket then the ticket triggers actions which then add time and then close the ticket. But doing this for all automation isn't currently possible and this data would help justify Kaseya and Automation time to administration both internally and externally more readily.

MW
AvatarImg

Mark W.

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Kaseya Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Their tech support was very helpful in helping me to get it up and running initially. Overall I would recommend it to a MSP or IT director with a lot of computers and/or branch offices.

Pros

Kaseya VSA is very powerful and makes managing large groups of computers much easier. There are a number of different tools that allow remote control, remote task management, event monitoring, alarms, inventory and auditing, software inventory, push programs and patches and more. It's been around for quite a few years and is a leader in the MSP arena. I have the on-premises version and run it off of a local web server.

Cons

It's a little tricky getting it setup initially. I think the Cloud version would be much easier to implement but I opted for the on-prem version because it had a few more extra features and was less expensive.

EH
AvatarImg

Elliot H.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

VSA X Needs Improvements

Reviewed a year ago

A much simpler and user friendly interface than VSA 9 but more limited in features.

Pros

Modern interface with good functions, such as pinning systems and good filtering

Cons

We were moved from VSA 9 to VSA X but this has reduced functionality, reports are now very limited for example, and performs worse in remote sessions than previously.

DG
AvatarImg

Dan G.

1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Kaseya touts a powerful system, but their Mac support is poor and their alerting is confusing compared with others.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I feel that this software is better for people who are extremely tech savvy and can tell right off which alerts can be ignored, and which ones are legitimate. We received thousands of alerts per month, with only maybe 10% of them being actionable items. This service ended up being quite a time-consuming. Also, with its per-agent pricing, the costs got a bit out of control.

Pros

It is easy to deploy Kaseya. I like the integration with the Amazon cloud backup and the antivirus. The dashboard looks nice, and you can run custom scripts to help maintain your systems.

Cons

Many extraneous alerts come through, and it's difficult to manage which monitors you want. Also, it advertises Mac support, but the agent crashes on Mac quite a bit and there aren't half as many management features on Mac as their are on PC. Every time Apple OS updates, there's a problem with the Kaseya agent. We switched off of this software. It is very expensive for what it does, and there are good alternatives.

CW
AvatarImg

Christine W.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Some functionality not obvious

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, this has been an easy to install and implement software.

Pros

Overall, it is easy to set up and administer. There are lots of functionality options in order to automate the environment and keep track of all workstations and assistance needs.

Cons

Some of the modules, even using the help options available, are not obvious for set up and require some tweaking and re-tweaking. Occasionally it also requires reaching out to support, which is just a slow process. However, the people we have worked with have been thorough, knowledgeable and have been very helpful. Additionally, once data gets to a certain amount within Kaseya, it makes searching for tickets very difficult - and you can't search by ticket number.

BT
AvatarImg

Bernard T.

Business Supplies and Equipment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Long Time user

Reviewed 4 years ago

Kaseya user for over 10 years, and only now looking to change, that should give you an idea

Pros

Kaseya has been pretty much consistent since day one

Cons

No local support, VSA not managing blackout windows and causing Windows 10 update issues with clients. Would like to use Webroot module but not as good as company dash board. Have been totally disappointed to have t wait over 4 months to get patching sorted, no amount of calls could fix the issue that made us look so incompetent to our customers. With so many opposition suppliers on our door, there is not much time left to get it sorted before we start looking to change after over 10 years with Kaseya.

LS
AvatarImg

Lynn S.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Managed Service Provider Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

Nice to have the automation so I don't have to higher staff to due work that can be automated and repeated consistently.

Pros

It is a extremely flexible product, which allows you to make your own end point management tools, but you can also buy the scripts too. Lots of bolt-ons, so you can add as you grow your MSP.

Cons

Needs a bit of work on the remote control tool as it has limited tools on the remote control screen, but then you have to open another management tool for advanced functions. I would also like to see the permission cleaned up as you have to login to see what restricted users can see...not labeled well

JD
AvatarImg

Jul D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

VSA really help our business to grow as MSP

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

features, easy to deploy & keep updated technology. Live connect, remote access & remote control so light and almost seamless experience considering in Indonesia internet infrastructure is challenging. IT Automation best practice using Kaseya VSA is the most powerful selling point to the market. Minimum functionality to managed IT System management & automation in the business are there.

Cons

MDM features should be improved. We are expected for software metering features will be available as part of Kaseya VSA. We need for MSP business model using Kaseya best practice.

JA
AvatarImg

Jack A.

Computer Hardware, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This is the single most important package for my business.

Reviewed 6 years ago

It allows me to support large numbers of computers with the immediacy required in todays business environment. Single best piece of software in my business. We are able to be proactive, and at the same time react quickly when issues arise.

Pros

Remote control is lighting fast, Audit gives you everything you need to know, Scripting the most powerful piece of this software that differentiates from the rest, & automation a must for efficiency & immediate results.

Cons

Documentation is better than it used to be but not good. Needs more how to and examples in help. Needs to have real documentation.

SI
AvatarImg

Sezer I.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Kaseya Review, Too many features that aren't impltement correctly

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

- Remote control is fast - Helps track assets. - Monitoring and scripts work well.

Cons

- Too many modules that are not developed fully. - Focus on one thing and get it right not 100 things that are half finished, eg Software Management does not work properly. Ninite is a better product for this. - Cant copy and paste into Windows passwords fields. - Support tickets take too long to resolve, they ask to collect info and logs then end up escalating to senior engineers. Just escalate to the senior engineers first so they can fix the issues.

JL
AvatarImg

Jeff L.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

As a user since 2008, Kaseya has been a very decent RMM

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Fast, powerful remote control and scripting. Easy to use and understand scripting language. Through monitoring.

Cons

the VSA has had some rough spots in the past, but their renewed dedication to the product gives us hope they will keep up with their competition. There are still some bugs and occasional inconveniences/annoyances, but support is dedicated and fast to respond. I guess they're all doing this now, but some of the features that are nice to have are only available at an additional cost. Reliance on legacy technologies like Flash.