App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ChurnZero Logo
ChurnZero

Customer engagement & retention for subscription businesses

visit website

(5)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

ChurnZero Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

128

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.09/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

ChurnZero is super easy to use, which makes for an easy rollout process internally. The application has allowed my team to be more proactive and even better, more timely in their proactive outreach.
Great customer service! my main contract is always happy to help. Great way to keep track of client usage/adoption.
The CSM we have been assigned to is great, and is always very responsive when I have a question. CZ has certainly given us a glimpse into our customers that we did not have before.
The HelpScout sync only shows a small preview and formats badly to where the small preview takes up the whole page making it difficult to easily see past conversations.
There's nothing I can say that I outright dislike about ChurnZero, just 'wish-list' types of things that come up.
Data is pushed in 1 day after it occurs. Lack of time of day activity is occurring reporting, only total for the day.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


128 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sam P.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Visibility Is Power

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's all about protecting the MRR, my experience has been great.

Pros

There are so many benefits in utilizing ChurnZero. However what I like most is that you're able to see the big picture. From churn scores to net promoter scores, you're able to see client health. When you have dozens and dozens of clients, it's easy to lose track of what's going on. It's easy to have client's slip through the cracks. Using ChurnZero significantly reduces that risk.

Cons

Learning how to use a lot of the features does take some time before you're comfortable with it.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Almost one year in, and zero regrets

Reviewed 3 years ago

ChurnZero is slowly but surely making us better at Customer Success as a team. Every journey we implement, every play we create, every report we run, makes us more process-driven and less reactionary. Our ChurnZero CSM has been amazingly helpful, our onboarding specialist helped us navigate the hellscape that was our system previously, and the support team have been quick and excellent. While the software itself is great, the experience of working with the team over at ChurnZero, especially our CSM Bree, is what tips them over the bar into excellence. ChurnZero are our partners in customer success, not just our vendor.

Pros

ChurnZero has an extreme emphasis on the user experience of the Customer Success Manager. This is absolutely vital. Every second one of our team spends wasting thought on "Why isn't the system working" or frustratedly struggling with some unintuitive menu is one not spent tending their book of customers. ChurnZero comes at customer success from the right angle - when customer success managers are happy and equipped, they succeed.

Cons

The software isn't great at handling a multi-tenant or multi-product subscription-based SaaS product like ours. We're going to have to do some major restructuring to our account structure for the ChurnZero event tracking to actually get usable data. This is because at the time of writing journeys and events are tied to accounts rather than subscriptions or sites, which is a level of abstraction the system is not set up for. This structure is fine for single-site customers, but when a customer can have multiple products and subscriptions on their account, it gets clunky and mixed up fast.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good platform, some integration issues

Reviewed 3 years ago

Prior we were only using Salesforce for CSM management so this platform helped a lot but there are some shortcomings.

Pros

Overall this product gives the customer success team the information they need to see. It is simple for them to see aggregate NPS Score, Revenue, etc of all their accounts.

Cons

The integration with Salesforce is not designed well- its pretty basic, if you have a more complicated SF setup it may not integrate well. Example- it does not integrate with custom objects, we use a custom Task/Event object for activities rather than the out of the box one and churner activities will not sync with out custom object.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Optimize your CSM team with ease!

Reviewed 4 years ago

We had the need to make our CSMs more efficient. With the high number of accounts each is set to manage, we needed a way to automate as much as we could and have a way to serve up the information rather than spend time researching it all. ChurnZero made that possible. From the initial sales process, through implementation and now in production, the ChurnZero team continues to be phenomenal to work with.

Pros

ChurnZero is very easy to use. The automation of tasks, emails, etc that make the proactive aspect of the CSM role so valuable are the most beneficial parts of the tool. Being able to segment customers and determine targets makes sifting through data a thing of the past.

Cons

I like this feature, but I think it could use some enhancements. Currently only able to add certain segments to command center for quick look. And perhaps opening up the ability to make more changes to the opp data coming from SFDC - not a deal breaker, but would love to be able to live in just ChurnZero for all updates.

HL
AvatarImg

Hardin L.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great CS product for medium sized businesses

Reviewed 5 years ago

Before CZ we were managing our customers and churn with various different user metrics buried within our own platform, multiple spreadsheets and reports, and different BI and martech software. CZ has been able to surface all of those data points into one central platform. Now we have valuable data that can be accessed easily, segmented and acted upon quickly.

Pros

Highly customizable but not too cumbersome. Support on the ChurnZero side has been great. They are quick to respond and provide valuable insight with each interaction

Cons

Like most products in the same space the implementation was long (and still ongoing to a point). There is also a pretty steep learning curve. However, it can be intuitive once you know what you're doing.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Churnzero

Reviewed 2 years ago

[SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been fantastic. Whenever we have an idea or an issue, she's always quick to jump on a call and brainstorm solutions with us.

Pros

I like how you can send out a combination of email cadences (plays) but also tie in internal tasks for yourself, update account details, etc.

Cons

contact management between salesforce and churnzero is difficult to manage. If there's a duplicate contact created, you have to contact support to have them delete it for you.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Managing Customer Accounts is Easy with ChurnZero

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, my experience has been great using ChurnZero. It's easy to manage accounts, send bulk emails, and get a grasp on how all my accounts are doing without having to dive deep into each account. The reports are upfront and fully customizable.

Pros

The organization and integrations with ChurnZero make it so easy to manage all customer accounts. The marketing emails are great too.

Cons

Task Management just needs a slight tweak. Right now it's tough to quickly jot down notes on accounts without having to navigate through a few check boxes to get it added. This is what I need to fully switch over to using it for all task management.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sharon P.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software to manage your customers and reduce churn

Reviewed 5 years ago

Excellent. ChurnZero assisted us to keep our churn under control and reduce it. Their support team is super efficient and fast and our queries quickly addressed.

Pros

Very simple to to use when we compared it with competitors, integration to other software like SalesForce and Zendesk was smooth. ChurnZero is the 'working platform' in which our CSMs manage their daily operations, good dashboards exists to provide 360 view of your customers overall health.

Cons

I'm hoping that in the soon future they'll develop some AI capabilities that will be able to predict churn according to data analysis.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Emily P.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Completely customizable for your needs

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We integrated our product in with ChurnZero so that we could track how our customers are using our product and what features they like and what features are not getting use as much. I love that we were to complete customize what data from our product gets pushed to ChrunZero. At every step of the integration we worked with our ChurnZero account representative and she was so helpful and very tentative to our needs and questions.

Cons

The integration has taken longer than we expected it to take, and are still working on some minor kinks.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Trey G.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect for what we needed

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The product is flexible enough for our diverse customer base. Some need high touch and others we want to automate. We have that choice and flexibility with ChurnZero. Their implementation team is very good and has put in the time to make sure we are seeing results.

Cons

We were a little aggressive setting up a ton of events from the start so implementation has been intense although its completely self imposed. I would suggest starting off with just the events and properties that are must haves and add the nice to haves later.

GM
AvatarImg

Ghizlaine M.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Must-Have for Customer Success

Reviewed 7 years ago

Increased visibility into how and when our customers interact with our platform. The ability to communicate with customers in a scalable way. The ability to build out trends and usage benchmarks as they relate to the customer journey.

Pros

ChurnZero revolutionized the way we communicate with our customers. Not only can I build targeted cadences (that include email and in-app messages) based on activity, but I can quickly search for a particular user to determine how they've interacted with our platform prior to a call. The cadence feature, known as Playbooks, is KEY to engaging with customers in a scalable fashion. I can build Plays...

Cons

Honestly, I can't think of anything. It'd be great if we could see which browser a user is on when interacting with our tool - this is key for us as we don't support particular browsers. When "bugs" are reported by users, we almost always ask about the browser. It'd be awesome to know this during troubleshooting but also to build a Play around this to remind folks to use a compatible browser. I'm fairly certain this is on ChurnZero's roadmap though.

Bd
AvatarImg

Beatriz d.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great segmentation

Reviewed 3 years ago

Even with some hiccups, I believe ChurnZero has helped us a lot to understand the best way to look at Customer Success in our company and how to better apply it with the information we have.

Pros

Chunzero is a funcional, relatively easy to learn and implement software if you use other softwares with native integration like Salesforce. Churnzero can also do great segmetation with all the information it has, and we can be really creative with how it works and can do. We use a lot of the segments to create presentation and reports to the company's manegament and higher ups.

Cons

Unfortunatelly it is not a cheap product, and it has some limitations. Some segments are not that easy to do or to export, for example, when checking the responses to a survey, you can see in the survey area all the answers, when answerd, the answer itself, how many times that person answers (if the survey is recurrent) etc, and from there you can extract the segment manually. But it is not possible to extrat all the info automaticly via "live export" like other kinds of segments.

PP
AvatarImg

Pete P.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use platform providing user engagement in real time

Reviewed 6 years ago

Improved loyalty and reduced churn. Ability to easily send NPS surveys and tabulate results and address issues as required.

Pros

Simple set-up, easy to use, great customer support. The product easily interfaced to our CRM and customer cloud-based SaaS platform and provides real-time insight to client usage and behavior. It is an awesome tool to segment your client base into manageable areas and to target each segment with automated campaigns to address concerns or give shout outs. Great at NPS surveys and allows quick replies to comments/scores. Over-all highly recommend to improve retention and reduce churn.

Cons

Ability to predict client churn is based on criteria chosen by company then red, yellow, green colors indicate those groups most likely to churn. In our case, criteria is difficult to determine and we change choices based on input from sales, support, etc. Not easy to see if our choices are the best determination in churn prediction however that is on us. ChurnZero does not automatically calculate churn percentages of clients by day, week, month, etc. exporting to data to spreadsheets still required.

TS
AvatarImg

Thomas S.

Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product!!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent!

Pros

ChurnZero is super easy to use, which makes for an easy rollout process internally. The application has allowed my team to be more proactive and even better, more timely in their proactive outreach. At the end of the day, ChurnZero has definitely helped us to reduce churn, and drive customer retention and engagement.

Cons

One thing I would love is to have access (even extended trial access) to some of the enterprise features.

CP
AvatarImg

Craig P.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great insights at the click of a button

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall we are happy with CZ. The CSM we have been assigned to is great, and is always very responsive when I have a question. CZ has certainly given us a glimpse into our customers that we did not have before.

Pros

Consistent theme throughout the product makes it easy to figure out. Shows great insights into your accounts, and you can manipulate the data to see exactly what you want.

Cons

Data is pushed in 1 day after it occurs Lack of time of day activity is occurring reporting, only total for the day.

CD
AvatarImg

Chinasa D.

Public Relations and Communications, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Churnzero provides insight into Customer use and patterns that are complete gamechangers!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Provides visibility on client use of our software. Helps identify possible gaps in use, where I can step in as the account manager to not only help our clients fully utilize our tools, but also show the value for clients to add on features that may not be currently in their system in order to make their day to day jobs easier.

Pros

Tool provides the great insight! This tool is like having a cheat sheet on how our clients engage with our software. Most clients have a million tasks they have to deal with, instead of trying to gauge client use through asking, this provides tangible and reportable data on client usage.

Cons

Still waiting on in app messaging. I know this already on the roadmap, and available for a lot of other users, I am really just anxious to go live company wide over here.

CP
AvatarImg

Chris P.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product and Support

Reviewed 3 years ago

Vanessa P has been an outstanding CSM.

Pros

Creating segments and tasks are super easy and makes the day to day data easy to access. NPS can be set up very quickly and is very efficient in staying ahead of any upset clients, as well as getting reviews from happy clients.

Cons

Initial setup will take some time to fully understand all of the features and how to set them up correctly

AV
AvatarImg

Allison V.

Market Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ChurnZero provides us with insight to customers that we normally wouldn't have.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Helps us identify when a client has or hasn't adopted our product - Scoring helps us understand the health of an account - Improved customer conversations - Email campaigns are very helpful with adoption -Reporting helps us with our daily workflow and responsibilities

Pros

Helps us identify when a client has or hasn't adopted our product Scoring helps us understand the health of an account Improved customer conversations Email campaigns are very helpful with adoption Reporting helps us with our daily workflow and responsibilities

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Fight churn like a pro

Reviewed 5 years ago

If you own or run a SaaS company, don't let your customers leave you. Use ChurnZero to keep them hooked.

Pros

ChurnZero is a customer success software for SaaS that lets them reduce churn rate by employing techniques like segmentation, health scores, NPS, and automation. I have used multiple tools to deal with churn and burn for SaaS companies and apps. ChurnZero is one of the best among them all primarily due to its ability to anticipate churn based on multiple factors which lets you take precautionary steps to reduce churn.

Cons

The tool needs to fix bugs. It needs to add new features.

AK
AvatarImg

Andrew K.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for CSM teams

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great tool. Highly recommended!

Pros

Love the customer service provided by the Success Management team. They've taken the time to understand our company, anticipate our needs and help us understand how we can implement ChurnZero for our team's needs.

Cons

Naturally, an important piece of ChurnZero is the data that you're pushing into it. If you're not pushing clean, normalized data in, you're going to get bad data out. I wish it were clearer how the data is being translated and what we needed to do to make it work well in ChurnZero.

VC
AvatarImg

Vivia C.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good use for very linear functions and businesses

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

A good way to see utilization and engagement from a client

Cons

Not the best when it comes to non-linear businesses. For example, it's good for a business that does say, 4 calls a month and to see engagement. However, when it comes to multiple timelines and "journeys", things get messy and not as easy.

PB
AvatarImg

Peter B.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A must have! This product has made a major impact on how I successfully manage my book of business.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The customer activity tracking and alerts. It allows me to better understand how my customers are using their systems and if they are not using their systems so I can better support my clients.

Cons

There is honestly nothing I dislike about this software. It provides me with everything I need to help me better manage my book of business.

SS
AvatarImg

Stuart S.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The key to pro-active Customer Success!

Reviewed 2 years ago

The key to the success of CZ, for me, has been in the service received by Jeff, their CSM. He has the same passion I have for my customers & is always looking at ways to support the company improve how we engage/manage our base!

Pros

An extremely intuitive piece of software, that allows your business to switch from reactive to proactive CS management.

Cons

Reporting ability, in base level, but even that has a work around, so struggling to find anything if I’m honest.

LR
AvatarImg

Lydia R.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Custom dashboards are amazing!

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Ease if use, customization of the product through segment and dashboards. You can tailor it to do what works for you.

Cons

It has a steep learning curve, if you want to maximise it.

BH
AvatarImg

Brian H.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fits our need as we scale

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are able to publish metrics to the organization which keeps a pulse on who is engaged and who is not. It has provided tremendous insight to our leadership team.

Pros

This software has allowed us to manage and scale our business as we get larger. We have more clients to manage and our support staff doesn't lend itself to a high-touch model. Therefore we rely on ChurnZero to deliver the insights that we need on a daily basis. This allows to get out in front of adoption and engagement before the client churns. I like the event tracking and live export functionality.

Cons

Like any SaaS application, we don't have the time or resources to learn every feature inside/out. However, our CS and Support reps are quick to help us out.