App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Intercom Logo

Intercom

The #1-rated Business Messenger for customer relationships.

see alternatives

Intercom Reviews - Page 3

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


840 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for conversations - not for tracking

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, this platform would be amazing if the stats were figured out. Right now, it's a solid 8 even without tracking features. It's a keeper, but not once the team reaches over 100 and you really need to track solid numbers.

Pros

This software is easy to use and navigate. The support has been quick to respond and very helpful. They utilize all the tools and resources available to you and really embrace their own technology. Intercom has helped to create more of a conversational-based outlook for our success team.

Cons

This software's statistic-tracking is severely lacking. I'd give this a 0 for any crucial numbers you are looking for, time to resolution (you can't track ongoing conversations), tags are conversation based and pull the entire thread, not the moment the tag happened, and countless others. You will spend more time compiling your stats if you use Intercom's system and need to track valid numbers.

Vendor response

Andre, appreciate your review and feedback! We're continuing to invest in our reporting and have a dedicated eng team focused on improving this so will pass along your feedback and you should see improvements start to ship in the coming months!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Intercom Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

This experience has been very positive. The value we gain by using intercom helps us as a team to stay organized and on top of everything as we are a highly collaborative office. Not sure what all is in the pipeline for development. I've made a few request and not sure where those stand or really even where to go review those. I understand with ongoing development it's hard to give dates but some type of "under review" or "denied" status would be helpful.

Pros

This software is easy to use and the customer support is very friendly and will help walk through how to solve for an issue end to end - even if there is no developed solution, which can be difficult. I really like the "note" functionality.

Cons

Images in emails sometimes (and often) all turn into attachments. It becomes a pain to click through every image when a customer of ours sends in a screenshot when they have thumbnails in their email signature. It would be great if pictures came through a bit more naturally as it would via email. I've also sent in a bit of feedback here and there on how to improve reporting capabilities. It would be nice if adding people to conversations worked a bit better for our need being able to tie in our account team (they are not "agents") would be helpful rather than typing their whole email. Reporting on our reply time within our office hours would be huge as well (i.e. if we get a message at 5:01 and we leave on a Friday it won't knock us the entire weekend).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Just awesome

Reviewed 5 years ago

Intercom sets a new standard for software. Our team relies on it heavily for communication with our userbase and for note taking on issues. It's got really useful integrations to link to other efficiency tools for software teams as well. The team behind it is really helpful and answers support questions quickly and thoroughly. They also practice a lot of transparency so it is a company that feels good...

Pros

Great support team, constant improvements, easy communication with users and tracking over time, nice segmentation of customer base, great integrations for software teams

Cons

Hard to understand the differentiation between their product lines

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Intercom helps customer support teams manage their tickets

Reviewed 2 months ago

Intercom helped us control and manage all of our support tickets and also have better queue management, including SLA and different prioritization. Intercom has multiple ways of customer service such as sending emails to different types of users, in-app messages, chatbots, and knowledge base suggestions. It's a good platform considering its price x what it has to offer!

Pros

Intercom is really easy to use as a user but also as an admin. Easy to configure the queue and manage it, using different SLAs for each one!

Cons

It does lack a way to tag the tickets so we can have better metrics! Also, a way to improve chatbots and also better reports on SLA e user metrics. It also misses a way to categorize tickets (question, bug, information, etc) on the basic plan

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great tool for our support teams

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

Intercom is a great tool that we use across our customer success team, both for the first and seconline issues. It allows our teams to share and serve the tickets in an efficient matter and allows us for measuring the results. Moreover, our clients can review our team members what we really appeciate.

Cons

Nothing specific, we are happy with the service.

Vendor response

Hi there - thanks for taking the time to leave Intercom a review and letting us know what you like. It's great to hear that Intercom is allowing you and your team to be more efficient and collect feedback from customers! Thanks, Eabha (Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Okay for chat, not for docs. Support is DIY

Reviewed 2 years ago

If we are only using chat, then it's okay. No better than any other chat system and worse in many respects. We have moved our docs off of the Intercom platform to readme (not great, but better). We have moved our in-app chat off the Intercom platform to zendesk. We still use Intercom for our website chat.

Pros

The chatbot does have a lot of options. Nontechnical users can use the tool. You can structure automatic responses and decision trees to help direct the questions to the right people. That said, what customer or prospect wants to be treated this way? It's like the voicemail systems that require 5 prompts, before talking to someone.

Cons

The documentation feature (for housing your docs) is awful—readers don't know where they are, they can't navigate up a tree. They are beholden to search. The email rules don't always work. We set up a nurture for a separate persona (role) and even though one email rule said "don't send to role = dev" it still did. Support is DIY. Good luck getting someone to respond to you through their own intercom chatbot. Their response time is "1 day" but in four attempts at getting help, I've never received a response.

Vendor response

Hi Shawn, Thanks for leaving such detailed feedback about your Intercom experience, especially regarding our Articles product. I'll make sure this gets to the right people here. Ss of late our support reply times have unfortunately slowed but we've been working (and hiring!) diligently to speed things back up to the expected turnaround times. That said our reply times do range from a few hours to a few days based on subscription (Premium receives the fastest turnaround time) and nature or urgency of the query. I can see looking at your account now that you have received responses from a number of my colleagues, and you can expect faster response times going forward. Thanks again, Kate

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for Our Company

Reviewed 3 years ago

Coming from our previous chat software, this one is 1000% better. You can view reports of different employees and their ratings from customers they interact with, you can send emails from within Intercom, and I am sure there are many more options that I am not even aware of yet. Overall, a great product.

Pros

I love the main chat interface, and how it keeps everything clean, neat and organized. You can snooze chats for later, and create preset replies, which save a TON of time, when answering the same types of questions.

Cons

For some customers, if they are on a different page than the one they were on before, when chatting, Intercom sometimes makes another, new chat. In rare instances, I will have 4 or 5 chats from the same person. I don't know why this is, though it could be how it simply interacts with our website, specifically. Also, the chat sound will sometimes beep randomly, where there isn't a chat there to attend. Minor annoyances, in the grand scheme of things.

Vendor response

Thanks a lot for leaving us this review Chris. It's great to hear that Intercom is having such a great impact for you! The multiple chat issue you're seeing sounds strange to me so I would advise you get in touch with our Support team to see if they can help :) Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Supercharge & Automate Your Customer Interactions

Reviewed a year ago

I love it. Did I add that Intercom has a program that gives early-stage startups a 95% discount in subscription fees for the advanced Intercom features. That is what we got at our startup!

Pros

I love the fact that I can use Intercom to manage every interface with leads and my customers. From collecting their data, to monitoring sessions and getting some insights on actions with event-triggered email marketing. I also love the easy integration with Slack and the multiple integrations I can implement with other software like Calendly, Google Calendar etc. It's one robust software!

Cons

It could feel like a handful when setting up and you are going to need an engineer to help with some stuff. Other than that, Intercom is bliss for managing, nurturing and supercharging your customer interactions.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for leaving us this review and letting us know all of the ways Intercom is helping your business :) Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

An Excellent Support Platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great product, excellent customer support. Not many

Pros

Enjoy the integration with Help Articles, the ability to send targeted campaigns based on app engagement. Love that they offer special pricing for Startups. Lots of room to grow into the Intercom platform.

Cons

Their pricing model does not fit all business models well and can be difficult to understand. It can get costly quickly depending on how many products you choose and your business model.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review Intercom. I'm so happy to hear you found our Early Stage Program so helpful :) We always try to align our pricing with the value customers are seeing from our product so I've made sure to pass your feedback on to our team here. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Customer Support and Sales Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

We absolutely love intercom and our business is married to it.

Pros

We absolutely love Intercom! Our entire business runs through intercom, from customer support to converting leads. We house all of our funnel related customer data in Intercom to provide an amazing customer experience.

Cons

There is not much bad to say. I would like for Intercom to improve the outbound communication campaign feature set to be more like email marketing automation tools.

Vendor response

Thanks you for your wonderful review Josh! I'm so happy to hear your business is seeing such success with Intercom. And if you keep an eye on the 'what's new' section in the Intercom app you might just see something that will interest you very soon ;) Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great software!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Amazing. Felt like there were some scaling issues for a little bit, but overall our experience has been rock solid.

Pros

Intercom is super fast to set up and integrate. We rolled it out on 2 custom platforms and a wordpress site without issue. Their support team is amazing and responsive to user feedback. (I use their conversations with me as an example to our support team sometimes) Love their introduction methods for new and beta features. The integration of each IC product with our custom software cut an incredible amount of time out of our workflow.

Cons

The reporting is probably the least prolific part of the software. When using messages to email customers or sales leads, as of 11/14/2018 there isn't an option to check for duplicate emails while sending messages out if your user/lead records have UUIDs imported from custom software. The only lack of feature that I felt was big enough to bring up in a review as the team is generally very receptive to our input.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good application to reach customers

Reviewed a year ago

Intercom plays a very important role by making it easier to reach out to our customers as it is integrated into our products and works amazingly on both ends. The reports that it generates will be really useful. It is one of the best tools available for customer success.

Pros

The first thing I love about intercom is it’s easy to set up and use. We can integrate all of the systems we use that can automate a lot of our support needs and can provide our customers with quick access to our internal support.

Cons

It’s a great tool and you can figure it out easily but for some cases we require help and have to wait for support and it’s really difficult to get a customer support or technical support. Average response time for any request will be in days instead of hours which will be annoying.

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm happy to hear that you've found Intercom to be easy to set up and good for integrations. I'm sorry to hear our support hasn't lived up to your expectations. There were a few weeks when our response times were not where we'd like them to be but we've made a lot of changes to bring us back on track. We aim for a few hours to 2 business days to be the maximum wait time for a conversation first response, depending on your subscription and the nature of the query (i.e. topic and urgency). I hope the next time you need our support team you'll see the improvement. Thanks, Eabha (Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for small businesses and large support centers but not for in-between

Reviewed 2 years ago

Intercom is overall a really good, professional product. They have great quality of support, good training material, and they still keep releasing

Pros

Intercom is really easy to use, it was reliable, and offers a lot of great features.

Cons

The solution's pricing doesn't fit medium sized organizations well. It's very reasonably priced if you have a very small team of agents and a few thousand customers, or if you are running a massive help center, but if you fall between the two, Intercom gets very expensive. Especially if you need to deal with SLAs and similar more advanced options.

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review Anna. I'm glad to hear you found Intercom so easy to use and enjoyed using our features. We continue to work on our pricing structure to ensure it aligns with the value our customers are seeing. That being said, we know we're not going to be able to get it right for every business type and I'm sorry to hear we couldn't make it work for you. All the best, and we're here if you ever want to revisit us as an option :) Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Intercom - Bringing all your communication on a single page

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall experience has been great and we would love to recommend intercom to any person new to similar products. This is highly useful for small businesses and startups.

Pros

We have set up intercom to be active on more than 40 of our product websites. The best thing is that we do not have to be on separate places to respond to chats from customers/potential customers. Every chat/communication comes directly to the intercom main page from where we can see the link the customer is viewing right now, their location and country. The software also has options to automatically assign chats to different people. We can define rules such as rule according to geographical location of customer. That makes it easy for our globally located teams to address customer requests from customers in their areas only.

Cons

The pricing is a bit aggressive. It costs per seat. The pricing has been revised recently in 2019. Before that the pricing was slightly better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent platform - more than just customer support

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We switched to Intercom intending to use it for simple customer support messaging. We now use it for so much else. Intercom is constantly innovating and releasing new features, from sales tools to product tours to bots and AI - Intercom is a very powerful tool.

Cons

Every new feature is an add-on - wish there were a way to bundle everything and reduce the cost a bit more. It gets pretty expensive for a small, growing business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Makes Everything Easier

Reviewed 5 years ago

This allows us to provide top notch customer service while maintaining an organized system on the back end that would only be a headache anywhere else. We are able to flow live chats and email tickets as well as any other inbound activity to one main hub.

Pros

I love Intercom - nearly every function it has makes my job easier, and it makes sharing information between teams regarding a single customer really easy. Bonus functions like notes/mentions, giphys, and integrations with other software systems we use really make it the best thing since sliced bread.

Cons

The messenger app. We use our own live chat system and maintain use of Intercom for email communication only. Unfortunately the messenger app looks and feels exactly like live chat, which we do not want, because we use it for email communication. Users perceive it as chat, and when they do not get an immediate reply they get frustrated. I have been told that this cannot be turned off nor is there any solution for us regarding this problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Integral to our support team

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall it's been great! I came into my office shortly after we switched from our previous platform and it's apparently been quite the upgrade.

Pros

-Provide great support (would be super ironic if they didn't) -Make it really easy to train other people on the platform -Reporting options since we moved to Inbox Pro have really improved -Now that we've figured out the tags, we're getting super great data.

Cons

-The way they set up how you pick your hours of availability really annoys me -While not common, we have experienced issues that we're pretty sure aren't user error (ie. need to refresh your page after turning on your beeping sound) -A lot of the integrations require you to share out the emails of all of your clients which is annoying

Vendor response

Hi Hannah, thanks so much for this review. I'm so happy to hear you're getting great use out of our tags - they're a game changer! I've passed your feedback on availability settings and integrations to our product teams. Comments like these really help us continually improve our product. The issue you've seen with your audio notifications sounds odd to me so please do get in touch via the messenger if it happens again. Kate - (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Cool but hard to understand the final price (and could be expensive)

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Very esay to use. Good interface. Easy to implement and detect loginusers. Cool feauters

Cons

So hard to know final cost. prices are always a mistery. Diferrence of essential and pro are also hard to undesrstand.

Vendor response

Thanks for leaving us this review and letting us know how easy to use you have found our tools. We're constantly working on ways to not only better align the costs you pay with the value you see, but also to make the billing process more accessible. I'll make sure to forward your feedback on to the team responsible. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Extremely useful software

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Easy to manage contacts and customers, create events and automations, etc. Also has strong integrations with a lot of other tools we use. It's great for being able to manage users of our SaaS, and contact them via email or a message within our app. Great for creating automated support, too—this saves our support team a lot of time and means they don't waste time dealing with repetitive and simple queries.

Cons

It gets pretty pricey if you have a lot of active contacts, so would definitely recommend utilizing a different software for managing marketing emails and leads, etc.

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to review and recommend Intercom Michael! It's great to hear our tools and integrations have been so helpful at saving your team time. We always aim to align the costs you pay with the value you see so I'll flag your pricing feedback with the appropriate team here. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An essential tool for customer support

Reviewed 2 years ago

We 100% depend on Intercom to support our users and get feedback from them that allows us to troubleshoot technical issues. We also use their help center product to provide detailed technical documentation for our own team.

Pros

Intercom is lightweight, easy to deploy, and intuitive for the end user. We use it every day to provide timely customer support to our users, as well as to communicate with our customers.

Cons

Intercom's Articles offering is a bit neglected and lacks basic features that other help center products have. It also lacks some features around managing end user privacy (e.g. not inferring user location) that are troublesome with regard to international privacy law.

Vendor response

Hi Kieran! Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review and letting us know how you depend on Intercom to support your users. I've made sure to pass your feedback about our Articles product on to our product team here - I know they're working on some exciting updates in this area :) Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent option for live chat!

Reviewed a year ago

Intercom was great to use for day to day work. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone looking for chat software.

Pros

The interface of this software is extremely clean and easy to use. It's very easy to keep track of all of the different chats you're currently handling and to see who is waiting in the queue.

Cons

Honestly there isn't much that I didn't like. The reporting wasn't quite as robust as it could have been, but that was my only qualm.

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to leave Intercom a review, Tyler! I love the interface too so always like hearing customers feel the same. It's great to hear that Intercom is allowing you track your customers better and know who is a priority in your queue in terms of SLAs. Thanks for your feedback around reporting, we are always looking for ways to improve and reporting is something that we are constantly evolving. We have some exciting stuff coming down the line which I hope you will be pleased about! Thanks, Eabha (Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Honest Intercom Review

Reviewed a year ago

Intercom has many functionalities such as push notification. It can be pretty simple to integrate in to other tools and it's automation is very efficient

Pros

Intercom set's in motion customer acquisition and onboarding. It's very intuitive and boost customer satisfaction team productivity. It also provides 24/7 support and customer engagement.

Cons

Intercom Premium features are very pricy

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Foster. It's great to hear that Intercom has helped you set your acquisition and onboarding in motion. We love hearing that our products have helped customers increase their customer satisfaction too. I'm sorry to hear that you have found our solution to be pricey. We try to find a price point that shows our value while allowing both our businesses to succeed but understand this can't always be the way. We've done a lot of work on this in recent months and hope that in the future this will allow our customers understand our pricing better. Thanks, Eabha (Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for customer engagement and insight

Reviewed 2 years ago

Once I learned how to use the tool, I really came to appreciate the powerful insights and information available from Intercom. I like how easy it is to send targeted message to a small subset of customers or even an individual via chat or email. I am sure there is even more that I have not even begun to explore. I recommend Intercom for organizations that want to get a deeper insight into user engagement on their website/app.

Pros

Intercom is great for tracking user engagement, support, and marketing. I love that you can see what a user is doing on your site and send messages (email or chat) based on specific criteria. Realtime and asyncronous commications are easy to deploy and manage. Analytics provided detailed information on user engagement.

Cons

It can take some time to gain a working knowledge of Intercom. Setup can be complicated and require a developer if advanced or deep site integration is desired. Once you get over the learning curve, the tool is well worth the time invested in learning to use it to it's full capability.

Vendor response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review. I'm delighted to hear you've found Intercom so powerful! I work very closely with the team who develops our onboarding materials and our Intercom Academy courses so thank you for your feedback about the steep learning curve. One great way to unlock even more Intercom knowledge is by joining our customer community, Interconnected (https://forum.intercom.com) - take a look if you haven't already had a chance! Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best customer management platform on the market

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The usability is out of this world. All features are well thought out and works well. Complex features are being boiled down into easy understandable interfaces. Their support widget is awesome. Also, the support is great.

Cons

The pricing is very high for a startup, and the structure of the pricing models are not easily comprehensible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for engaging & converting website visitors

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall no major complaints with Intercom and plan to continue using it for the foreseeable future.

Pros

We love how easy it is to engage with our website visitors and help answer questions or direct them to the resources they're looking for. We bring in a good number of leads to the sales team each month from the use of Intercom chat. We really enjoy how you can integrate it with Slack so that you don't always have to keep Intercom open in your browser.

Cons

It's kind of annoying how a lot of the features cost a good amount of additional money. And some things aren't super intuitive as far as navigating and what lives where within the platform.