MailChimp Reviews

MailChimp Reviews

MailChimp

Send Better Email

4.35/5 (1,681 reviews)
279,850     228,727

Hafiz Akbar Lubis

Verified Reviewer

Great Tool For Your Marketing Campaign

21/03/2017

If everybody wants to win customers, they should have this tool on hand. From Solopreneurs, Marketers, and Big Companies, they need to have MailChimp.

Pros

It lets you start with FREE. It grows with you and it's fun to work on it.

Cons

User Interface could be better understanding. You will take a time or more, to learn about the interface. But, I believe it could be better.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering MailChimp

Don't afraid to start your business with MailChimp!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Wu

I use MailChimp extensively, and have helped two organizations switch to Mailchimp for all their email campaign needs

08/03/2017

Pros

Not only user-friendly, but an enjoyable experience. Rich in features. Reports are easy to understand. User interface to create beautiful emails second to none. Emails look great. Available integrations with many other software programs/services like Wufoo.

Cons

I have never found the homepage / dashboard to be very useful, but other than that I can't think of any cons

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
President (Internet company, 1-10 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Good App Even For Beginners

07/03/2017

I like using MailChimp. I started with Mailchimp a few years ago when one of my clients were tired of using Constant Contact. They very much liked the features Mailchimp had to offer and they thought it was easier to use. I agree that it is easier to use and I continue to use it for all of my client email marketing requests.

Pros

Easier to use than other email apps

Cons

The interface is a little "cutesy" but that's not really an issue for me personally.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Marketing Co-ordinator (Information Technology and Services company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Easy to use for emailing

01/03/2017

We chose mailchimp for it's great integration with other solutions and simply to use interface. Highly recommend to marketing teams who want to customise emails and segment.

Pros

Free trial is great User friendly Simple to customise Great analytics

Cons

I'm yet to find a negative!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering MailChimp

You won't be disappointed if you pick Mailchimp!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

not so easy

01/03/2017

you always hear about mail chimp being one of the most used email programs. Not so easy. I simply needed to set up email responders and a series of emails that go out to buyers of a certain product. all of my emails were already done and created. You can't upload them in Mailchimp. I need to hire someone and pay them to re do over 55 emails, if I choose to continue with mail chimp, plus the links won't be live (certain emails contain links that bring the reader to a survey).

Pros

can't find any yet. Although they do email nice updates and marketing materials.

Cons

so far everything. I have been unable to really use it as it is too complex and does not allow me to upload already created jpeg/pdf emails.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering MailChimp

look into it first, you may need to hire someone to manage it.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Allison Zang

Email software that integrates with software

28/02/2017

Easy to use and set up. If you have problems reaching them is hard reach them. We got locked out and that was very challenging.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kristina Hayes-Devlin

Affordable emails

28/02/2017

I've struggled with the unwieldiness of changing templates in MailChimp. Fonts and some formatting seem to have a mind of their own. However, I've gotten used to the program and become quite satisfied with it. The stats and A/B testing are on point.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Johnny Walker

Terribly overrated

28/02/2017

If you've never used a better, easier, cheaper solution, you may think that MailChimp is great. After all it's got a really cute name and everyone else seems to use it. However, after 10 years of HTML email development, I'm sad to say that MailChimp is not only overly expensive, it's also overly complicated to use, while also being very restrictive in certain areas. My email Email Marketing Platform of choice is Campaign Monitor. Cheaper, equally featured, superb customer service, and with a much more intuitive interface and system. It amazes me that MailChimp still dominates when better systems are available. Not recommended.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robin Stearn

Not so intuitive, but definitely usable, and a good option for a small business

27/02/2017

This office uses mailchimp to send out newsletters and flyers for marketing purposes. MailChimp allows us to create both newsletters and flyers and send them to different lists of people, plus gives a link for social media. My experience with the program has been somewhat mixed, but overall, I do like it and believe it is usable for a small office. Please note, that my office uses the free version, so some of the issues I face might be addressed in paid versions of MailChimp. For example, formatting within a template can be tricky. Most things can be edited, but some things, like a background color is not so easily manipulated. For the most part, it is easy to add text and format it, and also to add pictures or other kinds of media. Pictures can be edited within MailChimp, so that is a plus not having to leave the program and come back. Once a campaign (their name for the material being created) is completed, it is simple to replicate it . It would be simpler to be able to send the campaign to more than one list at a time, but in my version, I have to send each one separately. Speaking of lists, When entering new people to lists, the person must be added to each necessary list, rather than being able to enter once and designate in which lists the person should be participating. It would be nice to be able to add someone just once. The statistics in the free version are very useful for me because since I have separate lists, I can identify if a parent, a school or a colleague opened the material . It also give me some idea of from where the bulk of our referral come. Overall, I do like using MailChimp, and it has been an effective tool for our small office.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joe Arbogast

Decent Email client

24/02/2017

Would like to see more templates for ecommerce and pet industry, more graphics library. Some templates are difficult to work with because of screen/font color. Good value for the money, efficient sending system.

Pros

Fast if you use templates. Good integration with ecommerce package.

Cons

More pet industry related templates needed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bonnie A

Great Value for What You Get

24/02/2017

We've saved a ton of money moving to Mail Chimp. There are some limitations on reporting on this platform compared to some of the more robust programs but when we looked at how much we were saving switching to mail chimp the added cost of the other programs didn't make sense in terms of ROI.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jake Hunter

Verified Reviewer

Great Email Source

23/02/2017

Easy to use and makes things better for my company I recommend all companies to use MailChimp because its just a no brainer and makes things easier for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Nascimento

Great Starting Email Marketing Service

23/02/2017

I started out my email marketing with Mailchimp because the free version did what I needed starting out. As my business grew it did keep up with what I needed with simple automations, A/B testing, etc. However as my list grew and need for segmenting/different sign up forms and things increased it was no longer a good option for me (my business). From what I understood the same subscriber on 2 different lists is counted as 2 people (and remember you pay per person). So as my list grew, I found other providers more cost effective and giving more options.

Pros

cost effective to begin, free version, simple functions for small lists and not a lot of requirements

Cons

counting the same person as 2 people if on different forms/list

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
William Bailey

Great way to build your business

22/02/2017

It's so easy to use. Very easy to set up, you just enter your email contact or you use the import feature then you start an email campaign. Simple as that. They direct you through templates to set up and customize your emails. It has an auto response feature for those that want to opt out so you don't have to manually go in and remove recipients.

Pros

So easy to use and set up. Follow the templates and you are emailing a campaign in less than 10 minutes. There is a free version based on the amount of clients you have but you'll want to purchase the package as it's got even better features such as tracking sales etc.

Cons

I could not find any. I love MailChimp.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering MailChimp

Use the free version to see if you like it but the price is good and I feel I get a good return on each email campaign I send out.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Liz Rick

Love for mass emails

22/02/2017

Love this for mass emails to families in our church. Allows us to customize the email and keeps the email groups together!

Pros

Love that it is easy to use!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Caitlin Pietrosanto

Easy Email Software

22/02/2017

I love MailChimp and I use it for my medical practice to send out monthly email blasts, special events and promos. It's totally easy to use and the free version is great! I love that there are some free and some items that you need to purchase but the freedom to design is yours. There are SO many options for layouts, themes, pictures, graphics, shapes and text that you won't need anything else. Using their pre-designed layouts are a quick way to get that professional look and feel very easily.

Pros

I love the ease of use, the multiple layout options, the variety of shapes and designs to use and the ease of printing.

Cons

None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jasper Pakshong

Mail chimp review

17/02/2017

Well made and relatively easy to use but definitely some key limitations in terms of managing the lists and editing the templates

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
DeAnna Denis

Criteria too strict with no support

17/02/2017

I have been trying to send an introductory email for a Health Retreat. Mailchimp would not let me send because they "detected" a violation of terms of service. There are no violations. I think whatever method they are using is too robotic, and there is no human contact to help if it goes awry, which it did. Now the whole account is suspended from sending anything. We will not be continuing our paid account, and are looking for alternatives.

Pros

Ease of use for design purposes

Cons

NO support

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

2/10

Recommendations to others considering MailChimp

Your criteria are too strict for prohibiting emails

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
kelly Michalczyk

Mailchimp is Great

14/02/2017

Free! Easy to use! I would love more templates. I would love to be able to send attachments. Great program.

Pros

End product great. EAsy to use. Free.

Cons

More templates please.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nelarvanh Thavone

First time users

14/02/2017

We are a start up company, new to these services. MailChimps blogs and guides were so helpful and extremely comprehensible. I learned how to create a fancy email and code in the necessary features all in a timely fashion! The integrations are seamless as well! Definitely worth the investment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Katie Van Thomme

Such a streamlined, easy-to-use interface!

14/02/2017

We are so pleased with MailChimp. Nothing else we've tried comes close. It's streamlined and clear. I even love the "are you sure?" notifications that come up before sending. Gives you that one chance for a look over. I appreciate how it really considers requirements for gaining subscribers, how it's not so easy to just dump a list without permission. That's really important to maintain a clean list.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aaron Renfroe

Free version of MailChimp

13/02/2017

I would like to note that on the two area's i didn't give 5 stars is due to me using the free version that offers no support or additional features and functionality. This being said, the product is simple to use and has many templates for you to choose from. If you plan on sending less than a couple thousand emails a month you can use the free version and it is AWESOME!

Pros

Well put together and easy to use.

Cons

Not really a con, but you have to pay for the better features and support that don't come with the free version.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bethany White

Great Tool!

13/02/2017

Mail Chimp is the great tool that I use almost on a daily basis! All of my different lists are there to choose from and the segment from, and the reports are great!

Pros

Easy to use and fully customizable.

Cons

Sometimes sends to my clients 'junk' folders.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering MailChimp

When you are initially sending an email out to your constituents, make sure they allow your mail to come to their inbox. Otherwise, the mail chimp emails will end up in their junk mail.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Adam Wegener

Great tool for reaching customers to promote your product(s)

10/02/2017

I have used MailChimp for 3 years now, it's a very slick email marketing tool. They have a great blog called "What's In Store" which teaches you about how to sell your product online, using MailChimp and e-commerce. I was able to easily import my list of contacts and other contacts from Gmail. I send out periodic emails, including images, text, videos, social media links, and even gif moving images. I have never had a problem, the website is very streamlined and good design. There is mobile app which is also nice to have

Pros

Easy to import contacts from lists or gmail, yahoo, etc. Can have up to 2000 subscribers with the free edition - awesome! Pay to get unlimited subscribers, as well as A/B testing, and other cool features.

Cons

I have had a few problems with formatting emails properly for desktop vs. mobile, but I think recent updates in their software has made it very easy to see both desktop and mobile previews during email creation, and the emails are coming out correctly on mobile in more recent times.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering MailChimp

They have many great tutorials which teach you how to use the software. Also check out their blog called "What's In Store"

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Hetherington

Mail Chimp

10/02/2017

A solid email platform that has features for all ranges of user and customer types. The Free functionality is perfect if your running a small or new buisness. Whether your going to get enough ROI is going to be down to individuals to decide.

Pros

Easy to use, easy to customise

Cons

some of the features hidden behind subscriptions are nice but to get a great service you have to pay a fair amount.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more