Xero Reviews

Xero Reviews

Xero

Beautiful Accounting Software

4.44/5 (505 reviews)
115,995     56,341

Donal Drought

Great accounting software

15/03/2017

Overall great product!

Pros

Easy-to-use, excellent for both early stage and established compananies.TransferMate add-on makes dealing with international payments so simple and quick.

Cons

Sometimes takes a while to incorporate new apps. Online version is occasionally slow but customer support is excellent.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Mayfield

Ease of use and access to support

12/03/2017

The Xero product is a great price and super functional. I am using it in the US and i found access to important information hard to find and was never prompted with crucial steps to take. there is no option for phone support and it took a while to get someone on the phone who can help. They were great once I got them but i had wasted a long time trying to get a new business setup and payroll

Cons

Lack of support Minimal guidance and tip

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jacoby Ware

Verified Reviewer

Integration

01/03/2017

Integrates with our daily Point of Sale application. No real complaints, if you think it should be able to do something it is very likely that it does it with ease.

Pros

Very professional and you can customize the way your invoices look for a very little price.

Cons

Please allows us to change the margins on the paychecks to fit double window envelopes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

Create it how you want it.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Templer

Expensive with ZERO support

01/03/2017

You cant run a business on an accounting system that has ZERO support.

Pros

They offer a 30 Day trial to see what you can and cant do and what you like or dont like about the product.

Cons

Exceptionally expensive subscription model with NO phone support (there arent even any numbers listed on their addresses) and email supports takes 24-48 hours for a response, and typically takes over 5 emails back and forth (ie a week) to get resolved (thats if youre lucky).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
sarah goldsmith

Great when it works.......

28/02/2017

Xero is really easy to use...... when its actually working! The bank feed has a weekly glitch, and at the moment, the whole of xero is down completely. I have no way of telling what invoices are still owed to me and Im very worried about my data, obviously because its cloud based. I also think that it could do with more features, like estimated income, estimating expenditure etc. I've had it for a year and Im now looking for something else, I think I gave them a fair trial, just too many glitches.

Pros

the bank feed when its working

Cons

its mostly not working and the holidays in the payroll feature are a nightmare

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
berren smith

"Xero is incredible!"

28/02/2017

I love that it intigrates with another program, Deputy, that I use daily. It's easy to use and helps keep me organized.I like that it is online so I can use it anywhere. Love it.

Pros

Relatively easy to set up

Cons

So far, zero complaints.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

I would recommend xero to anyone who is self employed and looking for a easy accounting system.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ellie Tocker

Verified Reviewer

Xero - The Easiest Accounting Software

27/02/2017

I can't speak badly of any aspect of this software. Now that we can upload receipts so it's easier for the accountant is just awesome! Such a time saver.

Pros

Time Saver Easy to use

Cons

None! Literally none.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

I'd start using it over MYOB - it's a breeze to learn and use.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Benjamin  Mayo

It's okay for basic bookkeeping

24/02/2017

This program has many glitches. When you can't get a live person you have to email.

Pros

Easy to use for reconciling. No budgeting tool.

Cons

Could use some explanations of terms.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Angela Sarafin

So much easier!

24/02/2017

I used Quickbooks for years but Xero is so much simpler to use. I'm very happy that my accountant encouraged me to switch. My favorite part of Xero is the reconciliation process between purchases and transactions imported from my bank and credit card issuer. I rarely have to do any extra work to complete the month end reconciliations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aron Brajtman

Great introduction to online accounting system

23/02/2017

Easy to learn.Whenever something was not immediately intuitive,the help menus supplemented by videos explained it all.

Pros

Available from anywhere.Ability to access different menus simultaneously.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rebecca Wynn-hoffman

Xero has really helped me

22/02/2017

I'm a small business owner that didn't grow up in America, so moving here and running my own business I've had a lot.to learn when it comes.to taxes . This program has helped me.so much.. it's easy to use and understand and dare I say it it actually makes it fun! I would recommend xero to anyone and everyone

Pros

Ease of use and convinient

Cons

I like everything

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christopher Kirk

Easy, Intuitive Cloud-Based Accounting Software

21/02/2017

As a tax return preparer and as a business owner, I find it critical for accounting software to be easy for users to work with while giving professionals the tools necessary to process the information. Xero does both extremely well. Xero incorporates the usual features, allowing users to generate invoices and process deposits, to enter bills and expenses, and to synchronize electronically with online banking systems, all with a minimum of complexity. Additionally, it offers timecard, payroll, and employment tax filing and payment, all at no extra charge. Having used several accounting systems, I highly recommend Xero.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eric Schell

Xero is incredible!

14/02/2017

Xero is hands down the most powerful small business accounting software package I've ever used. Combined with its native payroll functionally and ease of payment reconciliation, it is worth every penny.

Pros

Payment reconciliation and linking with bank accounts/payment cards. User interface. Mobile apps. Customization. Ability to add additional users and control their access level. Third party integrations.

Cons

It seems to have issues making tax payments via ACH to the state authorities.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

It's better and more powerful than Wave and QB. Do it!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Will Roffe

Xero makes accounting easy

13/02/2017

I'm a long time user of Xero. It dramatically reduces the amount of time you spend on accounting. One of the features I like best is the integrations. For instance, my quoting software connects to Xero and places my invoices in draft format inside Xero. So no more double-handling. Yes Xero does quotes too, but nowhere near as elegant as Quotient. They've continued to raise prices, which is just the cost of business, but it's annoying to find my US colleagues paying up to a third of the price of what we pay in New Zealand. Whatever the silly excuse Xero provides, that's very uncool. Other than that little gripe, Xero should make accounting easy for you and your accountant.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Angela Lang

Great Accounting Software - Provides Everything

13/02/2017

Xero is just what I needed in an Accounting software! As a brand new business owner, I needed something easy to use, easy to understand, payroll and someone to help me file appropriate taxes. Xero has been a HUGE help to me in all these areas! Makes it so easy to file taxes and pay my employees. Love this. Highly recommend.

Pros

I love that my CPA has access to it as well, to help me at the end of the year. I love that it intigrates with another program, Deputy, that I use daily. It's easy to use and helps keep me organized. Love it.

Cons

So far, zero complaints.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

Try it out. I think when I started, I had a month free and then 6 months discounted if I signed on before my 30 days were up. It's worth it. Give it a go. Any issues, customer service reps are FAST and helpful.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Julie Prasad

Verified Reviewer

So easy to use

11/02/2017

I have recently moved from MYOB to Xero which works in conjuction with the CIN7 inventory system. The 2 systems together work so well and provides you with accurate reporting as well as it is so easy to use.

Pros

Easy to understand and use. If you make a mistake, it is not hard to fix.

Cons

No cons, it is absolultely fantastic

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

This is one of the best accounting systems for small to medium businesses, do not go for anything else apart from Xero.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Darlene Pearks

Accounting software xero

10/02/2017

I find xero very easy to use. It easily integrates with my bank and my booking system timely. I would recommend xero to anyone who is elf employed and looking for a easy accounting system.

Pros

How easy it integrates with our bank and the phone app for coding items.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Josh Warner

Great program for the cost

10/02/2017

Very simple to use accounting system for the small business. My only complaint is the lack of customization, we just switched our farm over from Sage 50, and cannot customize the check printing in Xero to fit our checks, they require that we use a 'quickbooks' style check.

Pros

Simple and easy to use

Cons

In some places it is too simple and is missing certain features, but for most small businesses this is not an issue

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Sommer

Great Accounting Software for Not For Profit

09/02/2017

I use Xero for my not-for-profit organization. We have a couple of fundraisers and a lot of transactions in short windows. Xero links with my bank, making cash reconciliation a breeze. I like the reports and can run them on a project basis, helping our Board of Directors understand how effective our fundraisers are. I like that it is online so I can use it anywhere. The expense reporting is good as well, though understanding how to allocate expenses to different fundraisers took some time. Fortunately, the help section is very robust. I recommend this for any small business or not-for-profit.

Pros

Xero makes cash reconciliation very easy.

Cons

Fixed assets has been a little bit clunky.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

Service businesses will love it.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patricia Tiatia

PCTC accounts

09/02/2017

my experience was because i used Xero accounting package in the Training/Education business that i was a co-director, Porirua City Training Centre. i found the Xero extremely good, one of the features i found very good was the fact that as it was cloud based i was able to authorize our accountanct to have access, therefore when i had a problem he was one click away for putting it right. (i am not a qualified accountant therefore this aspect was invaluable. the end of the year account which was verified by our accountant was also made easy due to their access to all our information.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
shelly long

Easy to use

09/02/2017

Easy to use and simple for people who have not used this type of software before.

Pros

Cloud-based and has an app that can be used from a tablet or phone.

Cons

Took some getting used to when going from quick books to xero.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

Try it. It breaks it down very simply.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
doug gordon

Xero Review

09/02/2017

Easy to use and good for small businesses that don't require complex accounting entries.

Pros

Cost effective and fairly straight forward.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Very ammatur

08/02/2017

Xero is very basic as an accounting program. The market to which it markets it has no understanding of, is, therefore, unable to address any questions or requests coming from businesses in these markets. Customer Service is appalling. Many requests that are essential to business have been open in some cases more than 5 years and they seem to only reply to requests posted online once a year. If you looking to do partial invoices for one quote you have sent you are unable to. keep a separate spreadsheet for every job you quoted the partial invoices you sent, to ensure that when you need to reconcile you are able to keep track. There seems to be an add-on for every possible shortcoming of the program and be prepared to budget a lot for these add-ons. When you do quotes it does not keep track of revisions and does not carry over the titles and basic information to invoices. If you are doing multiple quotes and invoices for on client keep a separate spreadsheet to make sure you know what you changed in what revision should the client want to revert back to an older revision. Have the spreadsheet keep track of the headings so that you are able to know and give quick feedback as to which invoice was for which project allocated to which department.

Pros

Relatively good online/mobile app.

Cons

Takes forever to respond to customer requests. Have very generic type responses when they eventually respond which could be a year later. Has features that are meant to implement open for more than 5 years. Not made for small business that deals with small to large enterprises. No Partial invoicing. Can't deal with different departments having different functions ie quotes to buying department, invoices to the financial department. There is no way to allocate contacts to these functions you need to a separate spreadsheet. No track record between quote and invoices, you have to open invoice and quote to know exactly which job belongs to which quote and invoice.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

Do not take it up.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Number Cruncher (Accounting company, 1-10 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Beautiful Accounting!

07/02/2017

Xero helps all of my clients better understand their money and therefore better their business! It's also much quicker to work in than other accounting software. It's easy to add users giving CPAs access to books and the 1099 report is flawless. Xero helps by making daily, monthly, quarterly, and end of year bookkeeping quick and painless! Everyone we have moved over from QB has loved the switch.

Pros

-Customizable reports -Easy-to-read dashboard -Budget manager -Incredible app connections -Automatic bank feeds -Customizable invoice settings -Cash coding + Bank rules

Cons

Slight transition in training moving out of QB but you will love it!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

Create a trial and see for yourself! The Help Center is incredible if you get lost anywhere (but with Xero's interface, that's unlikely).

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shelly Lingor

Verified Reviewer

Xero ROCKS!

06/02/2017

Best and easiest accounting software out there. Easy to train clients on also. Great for small to medium businesses with single or multiple locations.

Pros

Ease of use and real time data is the best.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Xero

I love Xero and recommend it to everyone.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more