App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Donately Logo
Donately

Online fundraising for nonprofits, businesses & individuals

visit website

(8)

Donately Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.4

/5

164
91%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.39/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The user interface for the giver is easy to use and clean, and looks good on our website. We love that there's an option to make a recurring gift and that we can fairly easily change the interface.
Most features we needed were included out of the box, and we were able to customize other functions with help from support to get exactly what we wanted. Customer support is just outstanding.
Donately has been a great resource to help our nonprofit designate specific projects for fundraising campaigns. It is easy to use and connects securely with the Stripe payment platform.
I don't like the administrative aspects...they can be confusing.
We were loosing donations due to our clients problems with Paypal's support of immoral policies. I didn't know what to do, I didn't know that other options existed.
No email notifications when donations are made.

Donately users...

Classy-logocaret
listing-logo

Classy

Network for Good-logocaret
listing-logo

Network for Good

How would you rate Donately?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


164 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The quickest way to accept donations using Stripe

Reviewed 6 years ago

Donate.ly lets you accept one-time and recurring donations using an easy to configure platform. Fees are a very reasonable 3-4% depending on your use-case. It's quick to customise a secure page which you can embed on your website. It only supports USD at the moment but look forward to international currencies becoming available.

Pros

It's quick to customise a secure page which you can embed on your website.

Cons

It only supports USD at the moment but look forward to international currencies becoming available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

High Automation

Reviewed 6 years ago

I love the fact we can create our donation form and in minutes embed it into our website. No other product offers this level of seamless integration. For small and medium-sized nonprofits with resourceful teams, Donate.ly is the perfect product. We don't need a lot of hand-holding. What we need is reliable, cost-efficient products that provides appropriate acknowledgments to donors. Donate.ly's product's do just that.

Pros

Cost. Integration. Clean design.

Cons

Considering price, none.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Service took our fundraising to a new level!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Before Donately - we were running all of our fundraising through several different systems that didn't integrate. Switching over to Donately made it possible to properly track our donors and fundraising campaigns.

Pros

Donor Profiles, ability to incentivize fundraisers.

Cons

Wish it would integrate with our ticketing software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Too new to know

Reviewed 2 months ago

Like the product...not helpful in getting it online and functional.

Pros

Price and ability to customize the donor form are the most compelling features of this software so far.

Cons

Customer support is minimal...VERY disappointing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Overall pretty satisfied!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The interface is nice and clean. Super easy to use. I love the option for donors to set up a recurring donation!

Cons

It would be nice to be able to pull reports for the year or longer if necessary. Also, it would be nice to get some sort of alert/notification if a donor's recurring payment was not able to be processed.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback, Rick! We will take this into account as we continue to improve the platform.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Annual Donations

Reviewed 6 years ago

Very easy and minimal amount of work to do on our end. Like the summary downloads we can call when we want to review all donations.

Pros

It's just easy and we don't really need to think about if our money will get to us. Cheaper than paypal, too.

Cons

Nothing, we only use for the basics

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Donate.ly Solves Need

Reviewed 3 years ago

Donate.ly has allowed me to collect donations easily, both on the giver's end and on the administration end. I'm not sure right now what we would be using without it.

Pros

The user/giver has no problem navigating to make a donation, and the interface looks very professional. It's very easy for the giver to use, and I appreciate there not being monthly fees for times when slow donations may not have covered the cost. The per-donation fees are reasonable and at or below what a competitor might charge. I'm just getting into the donation tracking tools now but they appear easy to navigate as well.

Cons

I haven't been able to associate multiple bank accounts but that's a relatively minor issue.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We look forward to continuing to serve your organization.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great way to raise donline donations!

Reviewed 6 years ago

This has helped out ministry raise awareness to our cause and take online payments. Highly recommend for anyone looking for a payment database online.

Pros

Ability to accept online payments easily

Cons

Payment percentage is high but expected for low dose of credit card donation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent, Easy Donation Functionality

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Really easy set-up and the customer service is wonderful

Cons

You have to have a payment processor like Stripe to connect to, so there is additional set-up beyond just Donately.

Vendor response

Thank you for your kind words, Ken!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Customer Service

Reviewed 6 years ago

The thing we like best about Donate.ly is how great their customer service is! They answer our questions the same day that we ask them. Being a small nonprofit, this is extremely helpful as we grow.

Pros

Great customer service. Looks great on our website. Easy for users to sign up.

Cons

Some limitations on software. Cannot personalize reciepts. Cannot merge contacts. Users who send in checks cannot see their donations online.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Crowdfunding review

Reviewed 3 months ago

Not very good, but this is also due to external factors

Pros

Cheap, easy to set up with many payment options. Monthly and single donation options was the deciding factor in choosing this platform

Cons

Difficult to get donations, not enough support

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Donately has been a real plus for our nonprofit!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Rwanda Children, the nonprofit I serve, has been using Donately for almost two years. Like all nonprofits, we are always on the lookout for ways to stretch or donor's dollars... and Donately has helped us accomplish that. First and foremost, Donately initiated a reduction in their fees charged to nonprofits. This shows me I'm dealing with good-hearted folks! Secondly, they consistently deliver quality service to us by taking great care of our donors. And when our donors have encountered problems (and these have been few and far between) Donately's customer support has been outsanding. Rwanda Children is benefited by our partnership with Donately, and we look forward to that partnership continuing!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Some kinks, but otherwise an effective tool

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I love the ability to have recurring gifts and the process of setting up a campaign is easy. The fact that I can easily link this via Constant Contact, Wordpress, and other applications that we use is also much appreciated.

Cons

Our Office Manager has difficulty figuring out someone's actual donation (TO US; after subtracting out Donately fees and other associated costs); We have donors who use both Donately and checks and I don't like that the campaigns only factor in progress toward our goal with what has been received by Donately...feels like we should be able to manually input funds raised toward the overall campaign goal. The formatting for the campaign photo is a nightmare.

Vendor response

Hi, Elena. Thank you for this review of Donately! We're glad to see that you've found our fundraising tools useful and that you've made the most of the many integrations we offer! We also appreciate you letting us know where we have room to improve. I will reach out to you directly, as you are able to earmark both live donations AND manually entered checks towards a campaign, which will give you an accurate count to your goals.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Does the job of a donation page very well

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

They are great for setting up a donation page for your nonprofit that only charges a percentage fee.

Cons

I would like if they had a bit more functionality for white labeling and inserting into the website. The only way we were able to figure out how to insert the donation form into our wix website was by using a module that imported an html page. This worked fine but still had donately's branding so we had to put a white block over the top of the module to make it truly white labeled. All over it does the job though.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Strong Value; Clean Layout

Reviewed 3 years ago

Donately has allowed us to receive donations for our non-profit arm of our organization.

Pros

The low cost of this software is probably the most attractive piece of it all. It has a beautiful, simple layout for donors to utilize. Furthermore, it only costs a fraction of the price some its competitors charge.

Cons

For our purposes, it was a perfect platform. (Any of the functionalities that we would have liked to have used were available with the upgraded version.)

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We look forward to continuing to serve your organization.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review of donately

Reviewed 6 years ago

Some features could be improved. Not easy to run reports. Also would like the feature after fund raising pages are archived to go away from dashboard view. But still be able to call up if needed.

Pros

Ease of setting up a fund raising page

Cons

To be able to hide some donors. Ease of running reports.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good For Our Non-Profit

Reviewed 6 years ago

I really enjoy using Donately as a way for our supporters to donate directly to our cause. I love being able to see a list of people who have donated. I never have had any supporters complain about difficulty or anything of that nature!

Pros

It is easy

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

It's fine

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It takes the money. It maintains decent records. It hasn't been hacked.

Cons

The fees are a little higher than some comparable products and we use them when we can.

Vendor response

Hi, Matthew. Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We take pride in our product and are disappointed that we haven't met all your needs. I will be reaching out directly to see what we can do to improve your experience with Donately.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple Setup - Helpful Support

Reviewed 6 years ago

We use Donately on a Squarespace site to receive donations for a year-long fundraising campaign. Integration with Squarespace was a breeze. The form looks great out of the box and had all the styling customizations needed to make look like it was a part of the site. We had zero issues during setup and have had zero issues with both one-time and recurring payments. The application has many features to suit our needs and their support response time has been less than 24 hours, and often within a couple of hours. Combination of setup ease, overall feel of the application, and helpful support make this a no brainer.

Pros

Look and feel, ease of use and install, customer support

Cons

Nothing I can think of

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Satisfied

Reviewed 6 years ago

We are very pleased with the Robly service and are happy with our move from Constant Contact. It is easy to use and we feel as though the value for the money is superb.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Donately has been very easy for us to use at Akola! We appreciate how it captures information and messages from the donors.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

Not integrated with salesforce

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Recommend for any small nonprofit

Reviewed 6 years ago

As a startup nonprofit, Donatello helped us provide an avenue to secure funding easily with easy plugin integration. The small processing fees can't be beat which keeps our administration budget low (which everyone loves). The customer service is quick and personal. The only negative I've found is the campaign pages are limited in their design ability, which can also be a pro for those with little experience in design and coding.

Pros

Easy to use, analytics, exports data, plugin integration easily with Wordpress

Cons

Campaign pages - the formatting options a minimum.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great donation tool for non profits!

Reviewed 6 years ago

The dashboard and setup is very functional and intuitive. Integrations are very helpful as well. Makes managing new and reoccurring donations a snap. What I wish this platform had is better styling options as I am not very good with CSS. Sometimes it's not as mobile responsive when embedded in a pop up. As with anything more integrations would be great. Keep up the good work.

Pros

I like that it is stripe based. I like the campaign fundraising tools although we have not yet used it.

Cons

Wish the styling was better. Or at least easier to understand what to do with CSS on the back end. A video tutorials would be fantastic.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Donately for Integrative Crowdfunding

Reviewed 6 years ago

Donately provides an intuitive and easy to use platform that integrates well with our website. I've rarely contacted their customer service which is a testament to the ease of their product, but when I have my questions have been answered swiftly. Their backend is organized well and it is easy to find the information that you need. The one downside we have found so far is the financial reporting when connecting through third party apps like Stripe to Xero is less organized but not difficult to figure out. Overall we are really happy with our experiences with Donately!

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

all good

Reviewed 2 months ago

it give the trust to my work

Pros

all is good for both side, the charity org and the volunteer

Cons

pricing, for the youth nonprofit, as we do not having enough of budget on the technologies, to support mission