FileCloud Reviews

FileCloud

Enterprise file sharing, sync & backup solution

FileCloud

Review Summary

Pros

All security concerns we had are satisfied by the solution and it also helps not having to maintain the infrastructure.

Jonathan B.

Ease of use and stability. I like the ability to log in from anywhere with ease.

Brett L.

It's fantastic that you can use this on all your mobile devices. It's time and money saving.

Joyce V.

Cons

Sync software is dreadful, hogs CPU & bandwidth and uses an outdated file - delete - copy mechanism from the 90s.

Gary H.

Sometime there is a delay when uploading files and when the limited user can access the file.

Carlos L.

Sometimes it seems to get stuck when drilling into the folder structure of your data from the web portal only.

Chris G.

Overall rating

4.7

(44)

5

4

3

2

1

35

7

1

0

1

95%
positive reviews
98%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


44 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

On-prem choice for file sharing and remote file access

Reviewed 9 months ago

We have a number of project managers, drafters, engineers, contract administrators, and estimators that need to share large files easily via email links. We prefer to host our own content and keep it under our control, so we used a popular self-hosted product for quite some time. The instability of the product and the politics and marketing of the sponsor company made finding an alternative compelling,...

Pros

All of the content is hosted by us, controlled by us, backed up by us, and secured by us. We don't have to train users on five different platforms, either - it's FileCloud, start to finish.

Cons

Well, you know how PHP likes to throw off goofy error log entries, that aren't really errors? That's kind of annoying.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Exactly What I wanted

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall I'm very happy with the service and I encourage people to use it on a regular basis.

Pros

I setup a lot of software on my OpenMediaVault-based server. I've tried other file hosting applications and they were fine, but hard to setup in a lot of cases. FileCloud was very easy to setup and use from the start. I've had no issues or downtime in my file sharing since I started using FileCloud.

Cons

I don't like that I lost the ability to customize my instance when I paid for a community license. I'm hosting the software on my computer. Why can't I use any of the customization features?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review by Suraj Verma at JAKTOOL Engineered Solutions

Reviewed 5 days ago

It is very easy to use and understand. The installation process is very simple. Most users did not even need training on how to use the app!

Pros

The encrypted sharing features, and the very easy-to-use sync drive.

Cons

Maybe create encrypted email along with it, encrypted file sharing is great, but being able to send encrypted emails would be a great addition.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

FC Review

Reviewed 5 months ago

Some data loss due to software bugs in FileCloud drive and Database interaction w/ Object Storage, good application but can be unreliable at times.

Pros

O365 integration, Endpoint Backup, ServerLink

Cons

Permission management, Group sync without AD

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great file sharing software

Reviewed 8 days ago
Pros

We needed to be able to host the software on premise. There was a lot of file sharing solutions out there but only 2 or three that allowed us to host it on our server. FileCloud was the one that was the closest to our budget.

Cons

The deployment was not that easy. It did take a bit of work and some back and forth with their team, but they were very helpful and quick at getting back to us.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very userfriendly

Reviewed 6 months ago

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has several businesses and can't always be here. We needed a solutions that is easy to use, fast and working without paswords, linking and all these things. It works perfectly!

Pros

It is very easy to use. It's fantastic that you can use this on all your mobile devices. it's time and money saving!

Cons

The integration was easy, and everything is just very friendly to use. We don't have anything bad to say about this software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply AMAZING !!

Reviewed 9 months ago

it's easy to use, easy to setup.

Pros

it's a marvel of software engineering.

Cons

there is nothing that i didn't like about FileCloud

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

FileCloud, A Must for Work From Home

Reviewed 6 months ago

My overall experience with FileCloud has been wonderful. So much so that I have implemented it at another company that I do consult work for and have also recommended it several times to others here at my current profession.

Pros

FileCloud enables our company to implement a DropBox like application to our on-premise data. It has wonderful features like drag and drop directly into the website and has applications to mount or sync your server drives via any mac or pc client. We used to use a different companies' software for this but FileCloud excels in so many different areas. Finally, I love how we can share files with the external world that are to big to email.

Cons

One con that I have experienced in the web portal is that sometimes you have to refresh the page in order for it to start working again. Sometimes it seems to get stuck when drilling into the folder structure of your data from the web portal only.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Useful for archive

Reviewed 5 months ago

Useful for allowing access to common files.

Pros

Able to implement user level security on folders. Good viewing access on multiple devices. Easy to admin users. Able to Sync and also able to WebDav.

Cons

Sync software is dreadful, hogs CPU & bandwidth and uses an outdated file - delete - copy mechanism from the 90s. Be aware if you move a set of folders on the server, the replication then deletes the folders on the client then recopies. Really bad if it is a big folder. (you cant do a basic function for example, setup a new laptop for a user, swiftly copy a set of files that will be mirrored, then start the sync. It will either delete all these files and recopy the lot, or, if they are in different locations, it will recopy them back to the server causing frustrating duplication.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent product!

Reviewed 4 months ago

I can finally access my files using my smartphone at any place at any time without the use of a VPN tunnel and SMB like applications! Setting it up is very easy and straight forward. To configure SSL complete and clear documentation is provided by FileCloud. (Sales)Support is excellent, I don't have a creditcard. After sending an email using the form on the website support/sales quickly helped me to my full satisfaction to get this "problem" solved and made it possible to pay using PayPal.

Pros

Integration in on-premise fileserver and integration with the active directory. Access to your files from anywhere around the world without the hustle of the use of a vpn client.

Cons

Lack of 2FA support on the Community Edition.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

All your data in one cloud

Reviewed 2 years ago

This product covers all basic needs for small teams or companies. They can make their data easily accessible for each employee, regardless of their location. As a result, you will get more agonized and dedicated team, as well, as a smooth workflow.

Pros

This platform has different plugins, which provides a decent level of customization. Also, you can integrate this software with different apps, so your work process, which can improve your work process drastically. Big plus is that you can access internal file server data from any place in the world, of course, if you have a high-quality internet connection. We use FileCloud on a daily basis, as it is a cloud based data sharing plus sync system. It allows coworkers to access and sync all essential data from any type of device. This software provides with all necessary features for successful work: file sharing, backup, sync or remote access.

Cons

Tech support is weak and incompetent. They respond non-regularly, with delays and zero useful information. Very often instead of fixing an issue, they blame users. FileCloud has an old school and non-intuitive interface, so you need to invest much energy to learn how the system works. Also, if you are Mac user, be prepared to face some issues, as this app doesn’t work well with iOS. Moreover, this product is actively being updated, with preventing this app from working for several hours, till a new update will be loaded.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A perfect cloud for my small company server

Reviewed 6 months ago

Great experience, and I'm mastering my privacy.

Pros

The software is easy to use, overly simple to setup. I'm tech-savvy without being an engineer, just a usual geek, and it's been as simple to install as any software on my PC.

Cons

I didn't find a way to connect my network drives to the system using SMB file sharing. This is a bit technical and I'm pretty sure it's a solvable issue. It made little sense to me to have 3 kinds of users, being the "full access" "limited" and "guest" without further explanation at first, but I understood it by myself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

5 star service and response to issues! By far, one of the best vendors I have worked with!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We get the benefit of utilizing different storage types from SAN storage to Network Attached storage. The ability to scale quickly and easily allows us to respond to the users quickly and efficiently while utilizing one of the most intuitive and easy-to-user administration interfaces I have ever used.

Pros

1. Top notch, responsive support 2. Ease of manageability 3. File Versioning 4. Office365 Online Collaboration (with Team Folders) 5. Granular controls

Cons

We have a lot of teams utilizing this tool, currently, there is no way to put a quota on the individual sub folders for teams, however I believe they are reviewing this issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent On-prem File Hosting

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great alternative to cloud hosting for private data.

Pros

Easy set up Reliable Customizable Extensive option set DUO 2FA support External sharing capability

Cons

A remote connectivity analyzer would be helpful Codelathe portal is obscured by sales materials

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Qualiy File Sync and Share alternative to Dropbox / Box / One Drive

Reviewed 2 years ago

Dropbox will not run properly on a server. Wanted to "cloud-ize" our file server while keeping a local copy for certain offices.

Pros

The software works well and is fast. Customer support is by far the best I have ever seen.

Cons

Still a few quirky things. Scans the whole archive each time looks for changes rather than allowing Windows to just alert of changes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Customer Review

Reviewed 5 months ago

We will be using FileCloud for a very long time. We're very happy with it!

Pros

After installation the product is very easy to use and reliable. Customer service is great! They have a very quick response and have fixed any issues and answered all of our questions.

Cons

We've had a few errors with FileCloud syncing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Quick and easy to implement and use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Super easy to learn and use quickly. Everyone on the team was up and running without a hiccup. And the implementation is a snap.

Cons

It's great, and affordable, but it's not free

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Innovative Product!

Reviewed 6 months ago

Amazing!

Pros

I like that it allows me to create a network share and lets me add and delete user access to this share. I like how easily it integrates into windows just like a normal network folder.

Cons

Setting it up was a little confusing at first, but the technical support really helped me figure out all the problems I was having and got my server up and running.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Solid Product

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

solid product with consistent updates keeps getting better!

Cons

the overall request for tech support process

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This Cloud has a Silver Lining

Reviewed 5 days ago

secure file sharing with customers

Pros

The integration into our business and ease of use

Cons

there is noting I can think of that I do not like

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Happy Convert.

Reviewed 7 months ago

I am a convert from nextcloud, and for me I won’t go back. I would happily recommend filecloud to anyone. Easy to use but I am still working on the setup.

Pros

Ease of use and stability. I like the ability to log in from anywhere with ease.

Cons

There is nothing I like least, however I would like to see more installation guides. However, i have discovered my android app has stopped functioning, but am looking into this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product, answers ITAR security concerns

Reviewed 6 months ago

It brings an easy file exchange solution to our relationship with customers. Being able to customize to our branding makes it look more professional.

Pros

We had a great first impression and it stayed with us while implementing the solution. All questions and concerns were covered and answered one by one. The solution is easy to implement and you also get a lot of support and help with starting kits and follow-ups. All security concerns we had are satisfied by the solution and it also helps not having to maintain the infrastructure.

Cons

We would appreciate being able to use a protocol different than HTTPs for the downloads as some companies can restrict it. Having the possibility of using sFTP would bring a huge plus in the flexibility of the tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cloud For Days!

Reviewed 7 months ago

I love it! It’s working great and would definitely recommend to anyone that needs upgradable local storage with remote access to the data.

Pros

Having the ability to upgrade my storage at any time is a big plus for myself and my company. We work with large video files and sometimes need access off site from our own server. FileCloud resolved those access problems for files needed offsite.

Cons

The set up process can be a bit intimidating but I found various resources that walked me through the process!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great software for file storage and sharing

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

Excellent price, has a lot of tools and it's very easy to implement and use.

Cons

Storage limit is a little bit small. Other than that there was nothing about it that I didn't like.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the best storage tools.

Reviewed a year ago

I have been using this app since 3 years, and I can say it worth it!

Pros

- A descent tool for storage & sharing of multi-media. - Easy use. - Multiple options available.

Cons

- Not much popular. - The limitation of storage!

page 1 of 2