App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

TrackingTime Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.7

/5

36
100%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.08/10

See full reviews by rating

Top 3 alternatives

Pros and cons

I would recommend this to anyone. It works well and keeps track of everything wonderfully.
The experience was good, it was particularly useful to have reports issued in excel format.
The ability to report on project timeline performance with traceable, direct metrics was immensely helpful in justifying the business case for increased personnel and additional budgetary resources.
There are sometime where I go and forget to set the timer off. I read somewhere that there was a new update that detected this and stopped to tracking.
Integration was difficult with the software I currently use.
I switched to a different time tracker when I needed to only track the hours spent for billing at another job. I only really needed a phone app with a stop watch at the time.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


36 reviews

Recommended

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great time tracking tool on the go

Reviewed 2 years ago

The experience was good, it was particularly useful to have reports issued in excel format.

Pros

I really like that you can track time spent on tasks in real-time by hitting the 'play' button on a particular task in a project and then pressing 'stop' to stop tracking.

Cons

When forgetting to hit 'stop' the time would continue to accumulate so sometimes it would go on over the weekend. Perhaps it could have some sort of timeout or a notification to flag such occasions.

RC
AvatarImg

Reginald C.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's awesome!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love TrackingTime! It always saves me from pulling out a watch and manually creating a spreadsheet in order to track everything!

Pros

I love how easy it is to track/adjust time per task.

Cons

It may have been a bit of a challenge to reopen archived projects.

MN
AvatarImg

Monika N.

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Time Tracking App

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

It's affordable software compare to other ones.

Cons

Only one issue I had is that customer service is not very friendly and helpful. Besides that, everything is excellent.

DB
AvatarImg

Dustin B.

Research, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Multiple Job Organization

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, in a basic sense it works well but wish the functionality for our particular situation was better. It's time consuming to fill out time sheets when we have to enter multiple 18-25 digit numbers in the comments for multiple jobs per day.

Pros

The interface is relatively self explanatory and easy to use in a basic sense.

Cons

We work on multiple jobs per day that need to be charged to multiple accounts. The issue that that we can't figure out is how to setup the software so that it's possible add job #'s to the pay categories to select from, like the "Reg Pay" selection. We currently work around it by entering our time as "Regular" but then we have to enter the account numbers and a brief description of what we did on that account in the comments section. It would be nice if under "pay category" that we could have it setup with a job number, like #8508, and then the software automatically applies the account information to the job # in the background. It seems like this is how the software is setup but it seems to be non-functional on our end.

Vendor response

Hi Dustin, thank you for your review! Regarding the issues you explain, we recommend that you contact our support team to find a solution. Thanks!

RM
AvatarImg

Richard M.

Online Media, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

On Track - On Time!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I know where to pull my resources of time, energy and management and use them effectively for every unique project that comes across my desk.

Pros

I have many aspects in projects going on at the same time. For example: Audio Production, Video Production, Research and general touching base with all those involved on our end and the client's. I have accountability data....THIS is of great value!

Cons

I have no problems with the standard features. A timer of proposed and projected time of what a possible part of a project may be estimated. That could come in handy.

YD
AvatarImg

Yaroslav D.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It's awesome daily analytics

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

- setting the goals, ie you have achievements for each day. For example," more than xxx hours of Software development" etc - access for the analytics on both desktop and mobile - reasonable small memory footprint, you keep doing great! No builky and heavy windows, this program not even noticeable in background.

Cons

Not particullary, everything working as expected.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Robert Jose V.

Verified reviewer

Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Record your work hours

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This application has many advantages when working with freelance clients or with remote companies. You can calculate your hours worked with just start the tracker, if you forgot to start it you just have to start a new time log and edit the start time at which you started. You can also indicate in detail what you did during that period of time, have a record of hours worked per day, week or month, and an average of days worked in the week. Actually this app has made me manage my time and labor cost.

Cons

It can be improved in many aspects, such as taking screen capture while you work, connecting with a payment gateway to send a receipt with your summary of hours attached.

NH
AvatarImg

Nathan H.

Online Media, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Use the software every day!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Its been great, I've tried many other programs and this one just works and just keeps working.

Pros

I love how easy it is to track my time and add new projects. I also love that I can get a overview of my week and how many hours a day I've worked. As a freelancer this is extremely helpful information. Also being able to sync with my phone is a God Sent!

Cons

I don't love that its a subscription. Much rather have a one time cost.

LC
AvatarImg

Lily C.

Design, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love Tracking Time for my freelance business

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Tracking time makes it super easy to track hours for different projects in a day or even the same time. It's a great addition you can have it as an extension on google chrome if you need to quickly clock in. I also find the reports and manage projects tab so helpful when creating invoices and ability to track what I worked on and when in a week.

Cons

I don't have any cons about the software for the moment.

JT
AvatarImg

Julie T.

Internet, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Free or Paid it is worth it and reasonable.

Reviewed 2 years ago

I would recommend this to anyone. It works well and keeps track of everything wonderfully

Pros

It is so easy and straight forward to use. I have been using it for years and never had a complaint. When I decide to actually go for the monthly payment version, it got even better and is very reasonably priced.

Cons

There really isn't anything I can say that is bad about this item. It works as advertised and a great producte.

RR
AvatarImg

Roget R.

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A lightweight, full featured time tracking service that gets the job done.

Reviewed 5 years ago

The ability to report on project timeline performance with traceable, direct metrics was immensely helpful in justifying the business case for increased personnel and additional budgetary resources.

Pros

The ability to get instantaneous metrics on hours tracked, performance targets, and overall usage without having to spend time creating or reviewing complex reports. The dashboard view alone is virtually everything a Project Manager needs to be able to proactively adjust resources and priorities.

Cons

The inability to have two users contribute to a common task is a SERIOUS deterrent to wider rollout and adoption within our organization. That, combined with the limited access control features and lack of flexibility in input methods is what reduces this from the best in class application to merely an excellent entry in an already crowded field.

JP
AvatarImg

Justin P.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Time Tracker with a Great Free Version

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to learn. Tracks projects with multiple elements.

Cons

The free version limits the number of tasks you can have active. Honestly, I've been using TrackingTime for a couple years and have only ran into this a few times.

TS
AvatarImg

Ted S.

Law Practice, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great product that you can use for free

Reviewed 2 years ago

Are use tracking time to track all my Billable hours that and then transfer into our internal system. Overall tracking time it’s been a year to use and well designed product

Pros

What is views and what you can get for free is a great value

Cons

It is pretty expensive for what it offers. There are a ton of extra incentives to go behind the free product

DP
AvatarImg

Danielle P.

Photography, self-employed

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This product is easy to integrate into project management platforms, which I loved very much. And it was easy to use! And allowed me to track time spent on different aspects of a task or project.

Cons

I would love for there to be reminders. Sometimes I forgot to start and end tracking, so had to go back in and manually edit the time. I like that I can go back and fix times. But really wish there was a way there could be a start and end button always on top of whatever I'm doing. Or at least reminders.

FS
AvatarImg

Flavio S.

Design, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall very good.

Pros

That it has a bar measuring the time you spent on a project within the budget assigned to each

Cons

There are sometimes where I'm not tracking time and the ball on Chrome (the chrome extension) still shows red as if I was. That confuses me. Also, to start tracking time you need to create a task, that should be optional, I would want to start tracking time just by the project. There are sometime where I go and forget to set the timer off. I read somewhere that there was a new update that detected this and stopped to tracking? But it's not working for me. So I have to edit the time. Abd to get to the time log, it's not that easy. I wish it was easier.

MF
AvatarImg

Mary F.

Research, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Free Version

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use this for my own personal planning and only use the free version because I am not convinced that the paid version would be much better for what I need (at the moment).

Pros

I have used the free version to keep track of my time on projects, and it seems to be pretty good. I like that it reminds me of an ongoing activity as well as being able to backtrack to fill in my time.

Cons

I wish it was available to use on a phone application. Additionally, I wish that you could set the time you want to spend on each task and it would notify you when you should switch and ask you if you have switched.

JB
AvatarImg

Jayne B.

Graphic Design, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Time Tracking Software I've Tried

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The tool is super easy to use, they have a desktop version that tracks automatically, making edits is a breeze as well. And as a designer, it's aesthetically appealing compared to others that I've tried.

Cons

I'm actually really pleased with this software and I've tried many out there. This one is by far the easiest to use with the features that I need.

RA
AvatarImg

Robin A.

Apparel & Fashion, self-employed

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

TrackingTime was very easy to use and quick to setup. I used this for short-term projects with a lot of pieces to manage. For example, it was a great help as a graduate student tracking the time spent on different elements in my thesis. I could look back at the end of the week and see how much I got done.

Cons

I switched to a different time tracker when I needed to only track the hours spent for billing at another job. I only really needed a phone app with a stop watch at the time. Would try TrackingTime again in the future.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good software, difficult to understand at first

Reviewed a year ago

I used the free trial to track the hours for my freelance services. I loved the PDF reports, it's a pity they are gone after the free trial.

Pros

I love the features and the look of it, you can track your hours easily

Cons

It takes a while getting used to it, wasn't easy to find everything at the beginning. Not very user-friendly

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, self-employed

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Efficient Tracking Software for my Small Business

Reviewed 2 years ago

It helps me accurately bill my clients using the time tracker apps

Pros

Its simple to use, with mobile apps and integrations with other tools I can customise projects and tasks and get detailed reports of projects I'm working on

Cons

Its fairly reasonable nothing overly wrong with it

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alexandru Cristian I.

Verified reviewer

Internet, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Using TrackingTime to track my time on multiple projects, insividual

Reviewed 6 months ago

I am using the application as individual, to track my time that I spend on multiple products.

Pros

The ease of use of the application and the fact that multiple projects can be added and integrated. A very cool feature that I like is that you can integrate calendars so the time will be easier to be tracked amongst meetings / other activities.

Cons

I don’t have any cons at the time, really enjoying the app, even on the free tier plan.

SK
AvatarImg

Seontaik K.

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple & powerful task manager

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Great way to keep track of how much time I spend on my tasks. Also, this app is cloud-based and syncs well with the desktop app

Cons

The only thing lacking is the ability to change the hourly rate to a project rate.

AV
AvatarImg

Arpit V.

Computer Software, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Nifty tool to analyze where your time is being used

Reviewed 2 years ago

It was good. I was expecting two way communication for some of the integration but I am okay with what I got with TT

Pros

- Omnipresent: You can use it from any where from email, to a desktop app - Auto Sync: Dashboard stays in sync with the timmer running from anywhere - Analytics: proper analytics of activity in which you are spending your time in

Cons

- Some features are paid which should be basic. Like analytics report. Free plan only allows you to see basic analytics - Support chat bubble come up all the time in desktop app

HB
AvatarImg

Helena B.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really great app to track and make you aware of your time, it will help you be more productive

Reviewed 2 years ago

I am very happy with the software, I think it's one of the best out there on tracking time and staying productive, together with an app Freedom this is great for anyone who might struggle with procrastination

Pros

I really enjoyed the ide behind this and the easy use, I do really appreciate the stop and play feature, where when I start the task I can just click a simple button and know the exact time

Cons

I think it can be made just a bit more simpler, I wouldn't add more features, I would maybe think of ways it can be a bit more simple

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Anna A.

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great For Motivation + Project Tracking!

Reviewed 4 years ago

This is a life-saver for me!

Pros

I use this software to track how much time I spend on hourly projects as well as keep myself motivated and focused! I love that you can assign dates to pieces of the projects as well as urgency marks!

Cons

The support for TrackingTime is really slow.