App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Workzone Logo

Workzone

Cloud-Based Project Management Made Easy

see alternatives

(13)

Workzone Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

184

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.4/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

Possess all the good features of MS Excel and MS Project, which have been nicely integrated into a nice simple layout. Allows to share documents and message across the team, good for collaboration.
User friendly with great features that allow me to stay on top of things while maintaining efficiency.
Like that the company is easy to work with, responsive to customers, and that they are always trying to improve the product.
The software is not very intuitive. Because of that, our company's users felt discouraged and basically abandoned the CRM for traditional project management methods.
My only complaint is that you cannot open tasks in new tabs on your browser.
I dont like that anyone on the team can accidentally mark your task complete.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


184 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dan F.

Chief Growth Officer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Alright Project Management Tool

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Dan: Hi, I'm Dan. I'm a Chief Growth Officer, and I give Workzone a three out of five. For more reviews,...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Courtney J.

Insurance, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Our projects have never been more organized

Reviewed 3 years ago

WorkZone has made my job so much better! I no longer have to nag my designers to know when a project will be ready for review. All of our files are kept in WZ, too, so it definitely helps with version control.

Pros

Using WorkZone has significantly cut down on the number of emails I exchange with our designers. It's so much easier now to check WorkZone and know the status of projects in the design process. We can now set realistic timelines and accurately track how much time we spend on different clients.

Cons

I've had a couple of instances where WorkZone just quits on me. It's probably a user error and after submitting a support ticket, WorkZone customer service responds and fixes my issues right away!

KW
AvatarImg

Kristen W.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Helps me keep track of large projects involving many participants!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have nothing but positive things to say about our experience so far. It meets our needs, and if there is ever a question, a nearly immediate response from Workzone support can be expected. If you decide this is the solution for you, USE the support they provide. They'll help you work through your questions and ensure the ideal implementation plan is put in place for you.

Pros

The ability to customize this software to meet the wide variety of needs we have within our program. Projects can be big or small. Reporting options give multiple views of task/project status - as detailed or as broad as you would like them to be. Weekly "To Do" email reminders keep all parties abreast of progress, or lack of progress, on specific tasks.

Cons

Can what I like most also be what I like the least? There are so many features and ways to use the system that it might be overwhelming getting started. Take the time and ask for help if you need it. Even if you don't think you need it, talk it through with someone from the Workzone team. It's worth it to get off on the right foot with your planned use and they will have great suggestions for you.

CF
AvatarImg

Christie F.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great for managing work flow and incorporating online proofing!

Reviewed 8 years ago

Love the ease of use, however the ability to export reports or neat joblists still lacks complete satisfaction for me. Would prefer to send proofs through the job management system and keep all remarks with job, rather than send for approval from a documents folder. The project request should auto fill notes into converting it into a project. Sometimes if notes are added to the project request from the client, the email does not reach PageAnn. Overall though it is doing a great job for us and we plan to continue with Workzone for quite some time.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

RW
AvatarImg

Renee W.

Real Estate, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Lifesaver for Project Management

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have been using this tool for a long time and find it vital to our work processes. We use it more as a linear tool for each person to manage their tasks/assignments, and not so much for collaboration with outside parties, though it has that capability. As an administrator, it has been essential for tracking work across departments and to manage timelines. Technical support has been excellent and Workzone staff check in from time to time to learn what else we may need to do our work better. The software is constantly improving based on feedback so we know we are always getting the best product available.

Pros

We like the ability to have all Creative Requests in one place, to identify assignments, and track their progress within the system.Communication is tracked within the software by project, so it is easy to track all comments related to the work. We do a very large volume of work each month and the metrics captured within the software are helpful to assess resources and workload.

Cons

There are some reports that we would like that we cannot capture with this software. Also, workload tracking does not show the cumulative hours on a persons plate when projects are delayed and the hours are still tracked in previous weeks. It takes a bit to constantly update the timeline when items are stalled in reviews/approvals, but that will be the case with any project management software.

AJ
AvatarImg

Abhinav J.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing Work Management Tool

Reviewed 8 months ago

Workzone is an amazing tool, I love all its services and work on it on a daily basis especially its integration to other software such as Slack and Evernote provide a great level of Inclusion.

Pros

Workzone has a lot of tools for Workspace Productivity, I love its Project Tracking tool where we can not just see all the Project Tickets on a Single Page but also track the amount of time spent on each work. It provides tools such as Gantt Chart and offers both Micro as well as Macro Management software as a Service.

Cons

Workzone has a lot of Functionalities that are unexplored, because of its User Interface it's a bit complicated to understand what all things are possible.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Project Management Made Easy

Reviewed 4 years ago

Having moved from trying to track multiple projects with multiple teams using just spreadsheets, Workzone brought some much-needed organization and clarity to our processes.

Pros

Workzone is a simple, relatively easy to use project management platform that doesn't require a whole lot of studying before you can use it. It allows you to create customized project milestones and timelines and to add human resources that can be assigned at various levels. Once set up, Workzone allows you to view multiple project statuses, see if tasks are on track or falling behind, and even receive...

Cons

Getting Workzone setup was a very manual process but it was worth it in the end. It would have been nice to have a comprehensive set of project templates to get started with from various industries which could then be customized to save even more time.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

User-friendly tool and improves my productivity

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

My productivity is maintained while I can stay on top of things thanks to the user-friendly features.

Cons

The only thing I have against this is that I can't open tasks in new tabs.

RV
AvatarImg

Rose V.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Useful project tracking/management software with growing feature list

Reviewed 7 months ago

Workzone has enabled my department's expanding team to quickly and precisely onboard complex projects that involve members across different functions. Project tracking has been simplified thanks to the easy-to-use interface. Even customers that don't regularly use the software can easily pick up the system to understand when their requests will be fulfilled.

Pros

Features are continually being improved and implemented. Ease of project creation, task assignment, and ability to implement dependencies between tasks are incredibly beneficial for complex projects. Tracking approval of documents is also very useful when engaging with customers.

Cons

Some features lack in some minor useful features, such as the inability to attach descriptions or files to project templates that would flow through to all new projects created from those templates.

WS
AvatarImg

William S.

Writing and Editing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WorkZone is a Plus

Reviewed 6 months ago

We still don't use WZ to it's full potential but it has been a game-changer.

Pros

Ongoing support and training. The complete flexibility and customization options. Frequent upgrades and new features added often.

Cons

Initially users were not crazy about the timelines and how they updated. However, these were specific to our workflow and we simply turned off that feature and tailored it to our environment.

EP
AvatarImg

Emily P.

E-Learning, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A constantly improving product, packed with useful features

Reviewed 4 months ago
Pros

The software is densely packed with features. The development has been supportive and thoughtfully mapped. Customer service is responsive to enterprise level customer feedback.

Cons

Onboarding new users is a significant time investment.

BO
AvatarImg

Bridget O.

Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Incredible Software and Remarkable Customer Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE! The software/platform (both pc/mac & mobile device) are intuitive and easy to use, once you fully understand/ are functioning within the platform. Our Project Management efficiency has increased tremendously. Though, there was a pretty steep learning curve from our previous platform, it has been well worth it. My best advice - just get in and use it daily, set up a Test...

Pros

The over all concept of how the software serves the needs of comprehensive Project Management. From small (one task) projects to massive (hundreds of tasks) projects, the WZ software is capable of organizing and tracking it ALL.

Cons

Some functionalities that we were accustomed to from our previous software weren't included, which is to be expected when you make a software switch such as this. But we found work-arounds, and/or made suggestions to the WZ Team as to potential improvements to functionality.

AL
AvatarImg

Amy L.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Workzone makes project management a snap.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Project management is just one of the many facets of my job. After researching several software packages, Workzone met all of our needs for assigning and tracking marketing and design projects and well as task management for our events team. We use Workzone every day and would be lost without it.

Pros

- Ease of use is key. The training we provide for new team members takes about 1/2 hour. -The cost of Workzone (for us, a nonprofit organization) was a pro. We have all the facets of the product we need and the cost is very reasonable (especially compared to other products we tested). - Customer service deserves an "A" if not an "A+". -Because project management is just a facet of our job, WorkZone appealed to us because it had just the right amount of features, without being overwhelming.

Cons

- I wish there were more templates set up for the type of projects we use (design and copy). Now that we've used WorkZone for several years, they may have these, but we've built out own. - You can easily get carried away with email notifications, especially if you oversee many projects/ staff. (This is customizable and probably has more to do with how we choose to use WorkZone.)

SB
AvatarImg

Sharon B.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Fantastic customer service

Reviewed 3 years ago

The professionals at Workzone were always available to assist with one-on-one instruction, team instruction, prompt answers, troubleshooting, and solutions. By making the process and system easy to understand through a customized training video, we experienced a smooth launch to our campus community with a high adoption rate and positive feedback. This proved to be highly beneficial. Despite launching only a few weeks prior to the Covid-19 pandemic, we were able to work remotely without missing a beat and easily onboard new users.

Pros

A project management system and a standard process for intaking design projects did not exist in our work environment prior to implementing Workzone. Workzone provided the structure we needed while being user-friendly. The dependencies and automated notifications allow for an efficient workflow and ensure projects are kept on track. The customer service is outstanding!

Cons

Our team found the markup functionality to be cumbersome when there are numerous comments/edits as it's difficult to easily tie the comment to the markup on the proof. Fortunately, the folks at Workzone are open to suggestions and are working to improve upon this. The approval status can be confusing when there are multiple rounds because it retains the previous response and approval comment. From the perspective of the admin and contributors, navigation isn't always direct—you're not always taken to the correct project or folder, requiring more clicks to get to the correct place.

JM
AvatarImg

John M.

Higher Education, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Order for a disorderly designer

Reviewed 2 years ago

Very good experience, overall. Workzone provides the needed structure to the often chaotic world of graphic design. A deep organizational feature set allows us to keep tabs on all of our projects, providing a consistent delivery of content to our clients.

Pros

To-do lists, push notifications, task lists, advanced search features. Pretty easy to navigate for such a deep-featured software system.

Cons

I have had some difficulty returning to the overall task list from other pages.

TP
AvatarImg

Terri P.

Marketing and Advertising, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Software

Reviewed a year ago

Workzone brought us out of the dark ages!! It has been a pleasure working with Workzone over the last 4 years, it has been an overall great experience!

Pros

When we onboarded Workzone, we did not have a project management software. The integration was very easy, the software is very user friendly. I like the fact that when you check your task complete it notifies the next person in the timeline to start on their task. Workzone has also worked with us to help implement changes to help improve our business.

Cons

One thing that we've discussed with Workzone is the lack of a financial tool within the software. We know this is a project management software, first and foremost, but having that tool would amplify the system.

AY
AvatarImg

Anita Y.

Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Workzone Review_08/17/2020

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It helps with daily project functions and let me know what other team members have on their desks. The Software Training is a 5-star item. This is so important because often people are left to figure things out on their own. Unfortunately in today's busy world if you don't reach out and physically tap someone on the shoulder and say "hello, ..." things get either overlooked or undiscovered. We don't use the software to the fullest and hope to expand of that this coming year.

Cons

What I find a con is not on Workzone's part, it is on my companies management for not being able to expand additional members to use it. The cost is divided here in the US and overseas. It is a brilliant tool and should be used accordingly.

GD
AvatarImg

Gail D.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for project management and reviewing/routing projects

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's great for project management tool and useful for reviewing or routing projects that needs to be approved by different reviewers.

Pros

It's great for collaboration and our review and routing process. It also shows different versions, so we can go back and track a project at different stages. I like that I can send it to multiple reviewers and get their feedback or approval easily, all in one spot. It has a lot of features/options/settings available, which is great, but we don't even use all of the features/options/settings that are available. Overall, it's been really easy for me to use.

Cons

Sometimes I have issues with the calendar/dates feature, but it's not a big issue. I just have to adjust dates a lot because it's not as intuitive as I would have thought. It has a lot of features/options/settings, which might be overwhelming if you don't know exactly what you need it for.

BE
AvatarImg

Brandy E.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Crucial for everyday use

Reviewed 3 years ago

WorkZone helps keep my head on my shoulders, I dont know what I would do without it. Its great for keeping organized, gives me a full list of all my to-do's for the week and can easily check something complete once. It's also a great place for communicating with team members, sharing documents, adding edits to the documents, and much more. It is an all-in-one type software.

Pros

organized, great for teams who all work on different tasks, easily notify other teammates, share documents and suggest edits/mockups on the documents, see you to-do list for the whole week (or whatever date range you want)

Cons

I dont like that anyone on the team can accidentally mark your task complete. It might be nice if only the people assigned to the task could mark a task complete.

MC
AvatarImg

Marcia C.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, simple interface

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent customer service. Can always get someone on the phone and they check in every once in awhile to talk about issues or wishlist items.

Pros

Not a big learning curve to start utilizing the software. Like that the company is easy to work with, responsive to customers, and that they are always trying to improve the product.

Cons

Could use some improvements on expenses and calendar, but hopefully those are coming.

VA
AvatarImg

Vincent A.

Government Relations, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Workzone From A User Point of View

Reviewed a year ago

Overall, my experience has been positive. I can't really think of a negative, from my point of view. I'm a training specialist, and I develop and deliver training for the clients our project managers support.

Pros

We use Workzone for managing multiple projects. It is an easy way to interact with clients and co-workers and keep all of the pertinent information in a single, accessible location.

Cons

I really can't think of anything other than the fact that the expand and collapse feature on tasks seems to have changed to collapse only. I liked the ability to expand everything in a particular client's project in the past.

PP
AvatarImg

Pravil P.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great management tool!

Reviewed a year ago

Keep up the good work!

Pros

Overall, it is a great tool to organize plans and streamline processes . It has a well designed interface and I found it easy to navigate. So, the learning curve is shorter if you are transiting from other tools. Further, I can view entire project information on the dashboard at a glance.

Cons

Nothing to mention here. Everything works fine for me.

NH
AvatarImg

Nathan H.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WorkZone has literally changed the way we work and coordinate in our agency.

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are much more organized and able to meet project deadlines. Everyone can go to a central place to see where we're at on every aspect of the work.

Pros

WZ has a ton of features and helps us keep track of everything going on. I can look at the workload for each person on my team to know the status of their projects and where new work should be assigned.

Cons

The learning curve is steep, but that's probably true with most PM software. Sounds weird, but there can sometimes be too much granularity so that particular information can get buried in a random spot. Would love a better in-app notification system.

LS
AvatarImg

Laurie S.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Organizing Efficiency

Reviewed 3 years ago

Workzone was great for our department. When it was discovered its many features, others piggybacked on our template. Our department used the features we needed to the fullest.

Pros

We were able to set up templates to organize our processes. Being able to follow the process, step-by-step, is critical to the success of our course development. Faculty and supporting department tasks are all under one project for at-a-glance status review.

Cons

We added unique fields, and were not able to pull reports from these fields. Once dependencies are broken between tasks, manually changing dates is a bit difficult.

CA
AvatarImg

Casey A.

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Thank you

Reviewed 2 years ago

it's been a great experience

Pros

Project and task tracking, creation of projects

Cons

reporting flexibility, template hiccups here and there

KL
AvatarImg

Keri L.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Greater collaboration for creatives with crazy schedules!

Reviewed 4 years ago

WorkZone has allowed us to access projects while on the road, track down communication timelines when projects fall into "proof limbo," and gain insight into our department's capacity.

Pros

It's strange to love software because of the customer service, but WorkZone's responsive, witty team made deploying this robust program with 30+ reluctant creatives successful. I love being able to tell at a glance which projects are on track (or not), taking more (or less) time than anticipated, and who should have time to work on urgent requests.

Cons

At first I hated that there were multiple ways of doing nearly everything in the system.