Zoho Creator Reviews

Zoho Creator Reviews

Zoho Creator

Low-code platform to build custom business apps

4.16/5 (32 reviews)
109,106     1,631

Irv Villacorta

Build applications quickly and instantly improve your team!

14/04/2017

The applications I have built and also help create have been essential in reorganizing our management team, allowing everyone to track issues and leads in a centralized location, removing the reliance of email trails and phone calls. Without this software, our processes would be completely differently and likely lacking in structure and reliability. It is important to understand that this software is primarily learned on the go, though it is user friendly for non-programmers. There are several missing scripting functionalities I found were not available at this time or the coming future. My biggest issue was the field number limit which caused issues when creating surveys with multiple drop down options.

Pros

Easy to learn and allows free flow scripting for advanced users Perfect for building your own web based applications Ability for multiple users to edit applications simultaneously Great community of supporting users

Cons

Maximum field # for forms is 70, anything else will break the app Very slow load time for multiple "on user input" field actions Poor internal support (several outstanding tickets without a response 1 week plus) Deluge script is only used for Zoho to my knowledge

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonathan K

Verified Reviewer

I love it!

14/03/2017

I started using Zoho's emails first and then gradually other features. Great company, cheap and effective. Their interface is better than Google Apps for sure - Put the two side by side and compare, you will see.

Pros

Great value for money.

Cons

Their live ticket generation system takes way too long.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Zoho Creator

Forget GMAIL, Zoho is the best corporate emailing solution there is.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Annette Anderson

So simple to use

05/01/2017

Very user-friendly. Some limitations that can be forgiven because of the ease of use. Used it to create an online application form.

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

Limitations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Zoho Creator

Great for those who are not tech savvy.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dan Gustavsson

Easy to create your own Database

16/12/2016

The creator makes it easy via forms etc to add content into a database. They have themes to choose from and the option to build one from scratch. It's easy to use once you get the hang of it. Basically, you can create your own CRM if you just want a good system to store information in. The creator is fun to build in and easy to add cool features with ease.

Pros

Easy to create your own database without any knowledge or experience in doing a database before.

Cons

Took a little time to get used to but once there its easy to work in.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Zoho Creator

Wanna build your own CRM or something like that without a bunch of functions you dont use this can be an awesome option!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Guillaume Lévy

Best application creation platform

09/12/2016

With Zoho Creator, I can build any kind of applications in a very short time. Very easy to use and a lot of possibility to extend the application with some easy development.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sanjeev N

Good experience

08/12/2016

Honestly, I really didn't like the interface, I needed to help a friend with initial setup and it's a little confusing. Here's what it offers - Start with 15 days free trial( After the 15-day fully featured trial you will be moved to our Free Plan, without losing anything but with limited access to premium features) - Drag & Drop Development - Reports & HTML Pages - Unlimited Workflows - Schedules - Webhooks. Zoho offers everything you need to build custom applications on the cloud. Again worth trying!!

Pros

Everything at one place. Build custom applications on the cloud. Yes, Zoho Creator's drag-and-drop interface makes it easy for any non-programmer to build custom applications.

Cons

Not so simple as it seems. Initial setup is time consuming, confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Zoho Creator

Keep it simple, stupid.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kevin Hill

Super simple to start, then can get overwhelming!

01/12/2016

Needed a simple database to keep track of media inventory. I created something simple, which worked, but after a demo by a zoho expert I am upgrading the whole system through a zoho consultant. This system seems to be able to do anything (that's the overwhelming part) but if you do your business requirements and use cases carefully it is a great value.

Pros

Great value. Very simple to start, but super powerful if you need it to be.

Cons

Beyond the "simple" stuff, if you want to take advantage of all the power of the system you'll need assistance.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Zoho Creator

If you are going to use an outside zoho creator consultant, make sure you scope your project carefully and completely.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Terri Daniel

License renewal tracking system

16/11/2016

I use Zoho to track license renewals and continuing education requirements for a large design firm. I used to have to use multiple Excel worksheets to track all of the variables involved in this task. Zoho allows me to have all of my info in one place, but I can still create specific spreadsheets on request.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Debra Haraldson

Great product at a great price

03/11/2016

I use this relational database to manage over 600 architectural licenses and association memberships. One database contains all of the licenses for 100 architects for all fifty states plus several Canadian provinces. The other database contains the continuing education (CE)requirements for each jurisdiction. The reports and query modules are used to alert me to expiration dates and how many CE credits that licensee needs before renewing. States and provinces may impose heavy penalties if the licensee does not have the required credits, or renews late.

Pros

Flexibility: I can add and modify fields and drop lists, create and modify reports and queries, perform bulk edits.

Cons

While backing up the data, it does not tell me when it's done. Sometimes it's done but the status is still "backing up." Usually refreshing the page helps.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Zoho Creator

The customer support is excellent. I have used the live chat on occasion and someone is always there and will contact me later if they cannot troubleshoot right away.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dheeraj Swami

Zoho Creator Review

25/10/2016

Provide Easy to use, Drag and drop , From Design, Reporting , Marketplace and developer connect and easy APi integration

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Knight

Verified Reviewer

Crashes

19/10/2016

Phone app crashes, frustrating on a long report adding pics in the app while reporting do not save to phone I can not save a report as I am inspecting

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve Shepherd

The BEST Online database development platform bar none...

17/08/2016

We built solutions in days (NOT MONTHS) and had staff working on custom solutions in no time at all. The support is excellent and you can build a database for nearly anything you can think of in no time. Wow Wow Wow

Pros

Easy drag and drop form and table creator Extensive reporting Works on Web and Native apps Very affordable

Cons

Interface was a bit older looking but they have just upgraded that...

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Zoho Creator

Don't tell too many people about this as it will put us out of a job building quick solutions that are brain blowing.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nathan Chukueke

Verified Reviewer

Stable

15/05/2016

Zoho is great for a free online database. I was been using then for years The helpdesk in available to talk to you on the weekend. Even is you have a free account and something is not working the most likely will help you. Just don't ask design question as a free users. Its easy to switch back and forth between paid and free account

Pros

New features[Pros] Image or photo integration in to a database 3 users on three on a free account.

Cons

Not easy to export to other database programs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Great for Prototyping Application, Too Slow for Business Use

23/11/2015

I started using Zoho as a quick way to prototype an application. It took a few weeks to build an application that would have taken months in .Net and SQL. My customer loved the application and wanted to use the prototype right off the bat. The service generally runs fast, however in the afternoons here in the US, the service can grind to a halt. Form loading goes from seconds to minutes. These are serious problems that made me wish I had stuck to using Zoho strictly as a prototype.

Pros

Great interface, email and text integration.

Cons

1) Speed is too slow for "real" business use. 2) On premise application is forever stuck in Beta, there is no choice but to use Zoho's slow servers. 3) URL and mobile app customization is not possible.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Zoho Corp


Thank you for giving Zoho Creator a try. We believe the issue faced by you could be specific to your Zoho Creator application as we haven't had reports of latency from other users. The sluggishness experienced by you in accessing Creator Form especially during a certain time of the day is something that we would like to look into further.

Could you email form details of your Zoho Creator app to presales@zohocreator.com/support@zohocreator.com, please? The team over here would like to ascertain the reasons for the latency issue and revert with possible solutions, if any.

Ahmed
Zoho Creator

Read more
John Parker

Verified Reviewer

Zoho Creator is as complicated as it is useful

18/09/2015

If you're looking for a tool that will help you create an MVP with absolutely no technical background, then Zoho Creator is for you. It feels like the people at Zoho threw all their products into the blender and Zoho Creator came out. It can be truly valuable for testing a market and gathering information as well as defining processes but odds are you will fell frustrated at first with the steep learning curve, then again when you can't find the exact data types and fields you need.

Pros

Absolutely no technical background required. You can build an "app" in a few seconds. You can define a process and trust Zoho Creator will be very consistent in keeping the order.

Cons

No CSS or JavaScript editing. No easy way to inject and/or extract information to use in third party software. Creating functions and Zoho Code can seem very daunting for a non programmer audience.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Be careful before choosing.

12/04/2014

Building an application takes a tremendous amount of time to perfect and grow. Starting on the right application that will allow long-term development is critical. For a DIY database, Zoho Creator has features that I could not find with another option. Their customer service though, will have you asking for MUCH more. Several times I dealt with significant problems that left our organization crippled and got ZERO response or consideration from customer service. Every time the problem was with their servers or software. I could go WEEKS struggling with an issue and get no help from customer service. When your organization's core application is down, you do not want to be with Zoho Creator. After struggling with issues and no help from Zoho, I realized that my growing company had to leave Zoho Creator. I found an open-source CRM called Zurmo. You NEED to check Zurmo as an option. Being open source, you can install it, modify the source code and it's free! They also have a paid version where they provide support and premium options. We have spent the last couple months building our new application in Zurmo and we love it. Overall, it's taking much less time than starting in Zoho Creator. Best of all, we aren't at someone else's mercy if the application has an issue. We can fix everything we want and host our own database. Although it takes a little more know-how to start on Zurmo, it was probably just as easy as Zoho, because accomplishing some things in Zoho was overcomplicated.

Pros

- Easy to use - Cost effective - Dynamic customization

Cons

- Customer services sucks - Might cripple your company operations with no solution - You will eventually need to leave Zoho if your company continues to grow - Can't use Javascript or customize themes (use Zurmo instead)

Source: GetApp
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John

No more $15 plan

02/09/2012

It is a pretty good product based on my use of the free plan. Was about to upgrade to $15 per month plan when I discovered that the minimum plan is now $25 per month. I think they made a mistake dropping the $15 plan. Based on the price rise, I'll stick with the free plan for now.

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
G S

Zoho Creator

31/03/2012

I've been building business applications in MS Access since 1992. But sharing and collaboration via the internet requires a lot of .NET programming and constant troubleshooting. Or a sharepoint server. I have stopped working in Access and have been using Zoho Creator to design and publish commercial web based applications for two years now and its a fantastic platform that is functional, usable, and gets the job done right everytime. See a sample at www.sdturtle.org/listings.htm

Pros

Flexible with numerous features. Easy to learn and use... but the Deluge Script language will open up even more opportunities.

Cons

Everytime I have found a con, the Zoho team has published an upgrade or fix soon after.

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Terry Jones

using for 12 months zero downtime

14/02/2012

If you are looking for an online database I strongly recommend Zoho Creator! There support staff are very helpful and fast to respond. It provides options to change color themes for your databases, and create customized views by combining HTML code and deluge script.

Pros

Free for databases with 1000 or less entries which suits me for now.

Cons

No local version if the net goes down

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bob Levy

a simple online database builder

14/01/2012

I gave Zoho Creator a try and was impressed by it’s intuitive user interface as well as it’s fast loading time, which is very important because you’re actually doing development work on it. The experience needs to be able to match the speed as if you’re developing from a desktop application. Zoho Creator loads up fast enough.

Pros

Ability to export data to spreadsheet, pdf, html and more

Cons

no mobile version

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Abbi  Sinclair

Good solution for SMBs

21/11/2011

The Platform of this application is intuitive and includes a lot of features which help to build database applications that work. The user only has to write the business rules and Zoho then handles deployment and hosting. With Zoho Creator you can import data from Excel, csv. etc and supports many different field types (single line, multi-line,...). The software is very adaptable to suit your branding. Another good feature is the possibility to differentiate between private access, public and sharing options.

Pros

Free for up to 2 users, elegant design

Cons

Setting up an initial data structure is not very easy with this software

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Darren Linkstrom

Verified Reviewer

24/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Gunjan Ganatra

Verified Reviewer

21/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Shawn Welk

Verified Reviewer

16/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Nuno Oliveira

Verified Reviewer

15/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: GetApp
Read more