Namely Reviews

Namely Reviews

Namely

HR, payroll, and benefits

4.39/5 (106 reviews)
1,662     7,136

Anonymous
Marketing Manager (Information Technology and Services company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Easy to Use

02/12/2016

Namely is very user friendly on both ends of the spectrum, but there are some places where they could still work on, especially with the benefits side of things.

Pros

UI is great! Super easy to use, great looking app and website, love the newsfeed function where employees can keep up with other employees!

Cons

It doesn't work the best with benefit enrollment and our payroll unfortunately

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Namely

Its a great tool for the money that you spend for it!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Fatima Ruiz

Verified Reviewer

Excellent HR Software

30/11/2016

I use Namely HR daily for Benefits Administration, Payroll Processing, Onboarding and more. It's extremely useful for me as an administrator and also as a user because of it's user friendly interface and ease of navigation.

Pros

All in one HR Software Easy benefits enrollment Great for keeping employee information up to date Useful for collaboration with others Relevant payroll reports

Cons

I would like to see the calendar improved.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Namely

Feel free to ask any questions/concerns and be very specific in what your needs are especially during setup.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melissa Plumey

Verified Reviewer

Human Resources Coordinator

13/10/2016

Within the first day of being introduce to the Namely team that works close with GROUP PMX it has been nothing but a great experience for me. Our Consultants Hydee Kivowitz, Greg Autouri & Mallory Buscemi are always willing to guide us. GROUP PMX is currently a company of 50 employees, but Namely never makes us feel like we do not matter. I find the whole HRIS system very user friendly. The Learning Center is so helpful. My favorite thing is the templates you can build. Onboarding never has to be old fashion again. "NO MORE PAPER"!! So whether you are a big company or a small company you will be in the right hands with Namely.

Pros

User Friendly, Realtime Answers

Cons

I have no cons love the system

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Namely

You have picked a great HRIS if you choose Namely.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Angela Mauro, PMP

Verified Reviewer

Namely is a Lifesaver

26/09/2016

As is typical in a small tech startup, I wear many hats. My full time job is as Sales Operations Manager, but I took HR over when our HR Director left. Namely has been an invaluable tool that has allowed us to effectively manage our HR department with half a resource. It's great to have all of the information housed in the same portal and the customer support team has been fantastic.

Pros

-Great to have all information/documents housed in the same portal -Outstanding Customer Service -Processing Payroll is quick and easy -Onboarding portal makes it simple to onboard new employees

Cons

-can be confusing deciphering between the two portals (Namely and Payroll), to determine where information is housed and must be changed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Namely

-Make sure you determine what your level of support is before making a decision. Small companies just starting may want to consider a PEO which offers FULL support and guidance to companies who don't have any experience in HR, but aren't big enough to hire someone full time. On the other hand, Namely is great if you have a basic understanding of HR processes, and the laws that govern HR/Payroll (ie I-9 documentation); since they don't provide that level of support.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mikka Geller

Verified Reviewer

Great App - can't wait for future updates

26/09/2016

This is a great "client facing" app, it's great for employees to use as an on-the-go directory, and to access PTO requests. I wish they'd release an Admin app as well to help us HR Admins out there.

Pros

- Easy to use - Slick UX

Cons

- Not a real con but lacking admin abilities

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Namely

Regardless of the app, switching to Namely as an HRIS will make you a very happy HR Professional. The app is an added bonus that allows the employees access basic information.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ariel Lopez

Verified Reviewer

Absolute Lifesaver!

25/08/2016

Previously to adopting Namely, our team had been using spread sheets, Google doc, various calendars and multiple other tools that covered what the Namely platform would provide. This has been a true time saver and is so much easier to navigate having everything in one place.

Pros

I love the dedicated support teams.

Cons

We are still new to the platform, so no cons thus far. The team has been great about helping us find solutions to questions or items we have wanted to implement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Namely

I have worked with several other PEO and HRIS systems, this, hands down, has been a wonderful experience.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

HR Lifesaver

18/07/2016

Great platform that lets you whitelabel your HR community benefits and house all important information. We use it for our company and I log in frequently to check out who's new at the organization or what new benefits were added.

Pros

Highly engaging and fun

Cons

Limited plugin capabilities

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Customer Service Lead (Retail company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Simple enough and gets the job done.

30/06/2016

We use Namely predominately as a way of clocking in and out for work days, as well as for scheduling and and submitting annual performance reviews. It's simple enough, and allows our Payroll managers to make amendments as needed with little effot.

Pros

Simple, easy to use.

Cons

Can't think of any major criticisms for what we use it for.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brittney Braganza

Verified Reviewer

AWESOME scalable all in one HRIS tool!

02/03/2016

Namely is great all in one HRIS tool that has really benefited our team with it's time off features, performance management tool, benefit wizard and reporting of employee data. It's very convenient and our account manager has been a great resource for us! With any implementation there are hiccups but Namely was able to help us with any issues along the way and we successfully rolled out on time.

Pros

Great benefit wizard that has direct carrier feeds to all of our health care providers. This has really saved us a lot of time and paperwork! Namely was able to roll out our implementation quickly and just in time for open enrollment. Not only has their benefit wizard been a great tool for us, their performance management tool has been very beneficial with their annual, 360 and peer review functions.

Cons

Only an on-boarding e-signature function and restricted company calendar functions. Some functions within Namely take a little "learn by doing" but overall has been a great tool!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Erin Carr

Verified Reviewer

Great Product

22/02/2016

I was hired in when we were implementing this system. Being named "owner" of this product for our company I was afraid; the previous HRIS took me so long to learn and now i had to be able to answer all sorts of questions for our employees. Namely was so easy to learn!

Pros

The customer service is impeccable! our representative will always call when she says she will- she has called us while on a train before when we had an issue with payroll. everyone on the Namely team is so dedicated to making Namely the best.

Cons

I wish there were more features for the calendar. i have made this suggestion and they told me they would take it into consideration when making updates and implementing more features. since Namely is so culture based- i believe this will happen. and on privacy settings- its confusing for me to know how to edit it and what the results will be. but our rep always is willing to help!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lauren Lippello

Verified Reviewer

Exceptional Support, Brilliant Product!

09/01/2016

Namely has been instrumental in taking our HR department to an elevated level in managing data, engaging our employees, and taking us from a purely paper process for conducting employee performance reviews to an entirely automated system. The best part about this platform is the fact that it combines Performance Reviews, PTO Management, Payroll, Benefits, all into one system that works seamlessly with each other. I love that Namely always takes client suggestions, I have experience them making many changes and developments based on client feed back. It's awesome to know your ideas are used to help improve the product!

Pros

The customer service for Namely is incomparable, we know if we have any issue or questions would we have a direct line of contact with our account manager who always helps us solve this problem. He is an asset to me as we implement different Namely modules and I have never been to find a question that he was not able to answer. I have worked with companies who hand you off to any available account manager not the case with Namely, it's so comforting to always talk to an advocate who you trust.

Cons

One minor improvement I would like is In the Company Organizational chart, It would be more convenient to have the people tiles move by dragging clicking. Currently the employees have to be set by associating to who they directly report to which is important, but it also would be nice to quickly move employees if they were to change a position or if you wanted to put your Organizational chart in a particular sequence. The reporting could be developed more, I would like to see improvements on the functionality on how reports are built.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Leatherman

Verified Reviewer

We're loving it!

16/11/2015

We began our search for an HRIS in May of 2015 and ended up going with Namely in Sept 2015. We are loving our decision and have since expanded our product options from just the HRIS to include payroll, benefits administration and performance management. This is HUGE for us as our internal team had been looking for a software that our external accountants also loved and would be willing to move payroll & benefits to. One of the biggest reasons we first purchased namely was to revamp our on-boarding process. The same time last year we had maybe 30 employees. We were subleasing a small office space and everything was done manually with paper or google docs. That was fine for 30 employees, but when we tripled in size it became extremely tedious and unprofessional seeming. Tasks and new hires would get lost in all the emails and spreadsheet and it was just unmanageable. Insert Namely. Lifesaver! We have no automated the entire on boarding process and there are no long back and forth emails, tasks getting forgotten about or paperwork going missing. We love it!

Pros

- Create an auto updating company directory & org chart! - Allow new hires to easily on-board without manual paperwork hassles - Keep tasks lists and assign tasks for each product in one place - Automatically integrate to payroll - Seamlessly enroll in benefits

Cons

- No e-sign (yet, coming soon!) - Cannot make performance reviews annual

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Patterson

Verified Reviewer

Namely makes me look like a rockstar!

27/10/2015

We implemented Namely at SnapRetail in January of this year and never looked back. We were coming from an outdated payroll platform and a myriad of manual processes surrounding employee HR data, benefits, PTO tracking, etc etc. From day one, we saw a huge ROI in the automation of PTO and payroll. The second stage was benefits administration which we are finalizing for our open enrollment process happening within the next 30 days. Overall, Namely has far exceeded our expectations, both from an HR perspective (ie our back office staff) and our employees.

Pros

The biggest pro to Namely for us is the automation of onboarding/terminations/employee changes that flow directly to payroll. This removes so many manual steps which helps to minimize errors.

Cons

Namely still has some items to automate through their onboarding processes (allowing new hires to complete tax forms and direct deposit information online) but aside from there, we haven't run into any negative aspects of the product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike Cilla

Verified Reviewer

Namely has made HR Tech accessible and FUN

11/09/2015

In my opinion, Namely destroys the market for HRIS in SMB - however I think there are scenarios where they are also in a position to replace enterprise-level solutions, especially in situations where an organization has separate (and sometimes disparate) platforms for performance management, payroll and time keeping, and benefits admin. My favorite feature of Namely is easily the design and functionality. The "social-media...esque" feel of Namely makes it very easy to use, and our people (who are primarily Millennials) engage with it. We use several different applications on a daily basis, so having yet another tech tool for HR meant that we wanted to make it as friendly and accessible as possible for our team. Companies spend so much on technology that never gets used, and Namely combats this perfectly with its smooth UI/UX. Finally, it's also very powerful, i.e., meaning that it doesn't lose functionality nor reporting capabilities due to it's ease of use. Namely to HR is akin to Tesla to Automotive! Our company has grown substantially in the last year, and we wanted to set up a solid HRIS foundation to support future growth. Namely has allowed us to keep all HR data centralized and secure, while also automating our performance review cycle. Namely truly supports my role as an HR Department of ONE! So I might be pretty biased ;)

Pros

Namely provides an easy-to-use platform for HRIS that increases engagement for users. They totally understand what I believe many people feel is frustrating about enterprise-level HRIS/HRM systems, and completely combat those aspects. Namely balances the soft and beautiful UI with very robust and powerful reporting and functionality. If you need to run any report, you can customize to extreme levels of detail. Namely integrates all tactical HR processes in one platform! They have a solid payroll bureau, benefits admin, and a performance management tool that allows features and benefits which are typically only found in stand-alone solutions. Finally, Namely has insanely great customer service! A very Zappos-esque approach to service delivery, all the way from initial pre-sales to implementation, to daily use and maintenance.

Cons

Honestly, I don't have any feedback regarding problems with Namely. Implementation is a big project with any SaaS, so it was still tough with Namely, however the Client Service Delivery team was AMAZING!!!!! Namely's customer service is like Zappos - I can just email my Account Manager on the fly and ask any number of questions, and he gets back to me almost immediately without fail.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heather Neisen

Verified Reviewer

Great, modern software that is a game changer for HR

10/09/2015

Namely replaced 4 different tools our organization was using and rolled them all into one. This is incredible from not only a value (cost) standpoint, but also from a ease-of-use for HR admins and employees standpoint. This is a product that we see enabling us to grow because of ability to grow with our workforce. The icing on the cake? Namely treats us like we're their only customer. Customer support is quick, proactive, and responsive.

Pros

Namely has found a way to integrate a number of key resources for employees into a format that is great for a small-and-growing company. While large enterprise software offers all the bells and whistles, that’s not what every company needs. Namely’s high-touch client success team is also a huge asset, especially when handling payroll.

Cons

The only thing I could say as a con or a dislike is that they haven’t built an ATS and a learning portal! I know, I know they’re just getting started. Seriously hard to find anything that I dislike about this great software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Justin Morency

Verified Reviewer

13/12/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Read more