Squarespace Reviews

Squarespace Reviews

Squarespace

Create your own space

4.72/5 (65 reviews)
213,865     146,172

Geoff Erwin

Verified Reviewer

Amazing

15/03/2017

Great software. Coming from a computer science background and living through the .com bubble I've had to use a multitude of software from basic HTML - Dreamweaver - flash - etc... When looking at companies to update our website I was getting crazy quotes all over the place. Looked into this, and its so simple. Took me a weekend to do the site myself, with zero programming. We dont use the ecommerce so I cant speak on that, but for everything else, amazing. Days of coding/HTML/flash/etc.. are long gone - Thankfully.

Pros

Simple to use. Super affordable. Always updating. Works in any browser/smart phone device. Getting compliments from clients on ease-of-use.

Cons

Could use more templates. No Calendar/Event/Scheduling yet. (coming soon?)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Squarespace

Just do it, free trial, totally worth it.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amanda Gordon

Easy to use

24/02/2017

Create a website within hours. The templates are easy to use and fast to understand. I've been using square space for 3 years and have been very happy with the service.

Pros

Fast and easy to use

Cons

Some templates do not have flexibility

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Squarespace

More manuals or how to guides.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Landon Davidson

DIY websites made easy

13/02/2017

I've used square space to make 3 websites. It's easy for a noobie to navigate and it makes super clean webpages. I really enjoy using the software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joe Kujawa

Great graphics

13/02/2017

We developed our web site using squarespace. Their templates are far more interesting then many of the other build your own sites I looked at. Easy to update and maintain. mobile friendly web sites are automatically created.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anastasios Petropoulos

Verified Reviewer

Beautiful and Easy to use, but lacking in features

13/02/2017

Squarespace lets you build probably the most beautiful websites out of an website host. They make it easy to build your own site and set things up. However they lack a lot in the ecommerce side of things. There is no support for subscriptions even though the company they partner with for transactions (Stripe) offers them and trying to manage an online store is a nightmare if you have more than a handful of items. You are limited in the way you can create offers/discounts and calculate shipping prices. When I started using Squarespace about 3 years ago, they were about on par or ahead of their competitors when it comes to ecommerce, however over time they have neglected the ecommerce part and have fallen way behind their competitors.

Pros

Beautiful Easy to use Fast Integrates with a lot of services

Cons

Lack of modern Ecommerce features Limited in promotions/discounts you can create

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Squarespace

Squarespace is great, but I can't recommend it for a company looking to set up an ecommerce store until they catch up to their competitiors.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jessica Effrig

creating a beautiful website--myself!

10/02/2017

I am a psychologist in solo private practice, so I didn't want or need an expensive or complex website. I was able to create a beautiful, clean, easy to use website by myself on Squarespace and had fun doing it. It took me a few minutes to figure out how to use all the features, but once I did, I was able to make my site in a few hours. I love the ability to customize nearly everything and make it my own.

Pros

So many options! The templates are clean, modern, and beautiful.

Cons

I struggled to figure out how to use certain features and had to poke around a bit.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anastasia Beresneva

Do not pay anybody to create your website!

10/02/2017

If you need to create your website, try squarespace. You can save thousand dollars by doing it yourself. Squatespace easy to use, and there are many youtube videos showing you how to create and customize for better looking website.

Pros

Easy to use

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Squarespace

Watch youtube videos if you have questions

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Cohn

I. Love. Squarespace.

10/02/2017

I was ready to upgrade from Wix and wasn't ready for the leap of learning Wordpress. SquareSpace has been perfection. I'll admit, there is a little bit of a learning curve, but now I know how to use it I'm often impressed by its functionality. The aesthetic is beautiful, and it does everything I need for the web presence of my business.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Neal Wagner

Verified Reviewer

Squarespace is a Great Small Business Hosting Solution

03/02/2017

I used Squarespace to set up a small eCommerce business at the end of last year. I purchased a domain and monthly hosting and eCommerce support from them. I've previously used other services but found Squarespace to be far superior. I got my site up and running in no time and was able to quickly integrate it with a number of other services such as Stripe, Google Suite, etc. Would recommend this to anyone looking to dip their toes in the water for starting your own site. It looks as if they have solutions for a number of needs.

Pros

- Easy setup - Integration with domain name - Support for a number of external partners - Analytics mobile app provides info on the go

Cons

- Slightly more expensive than competitors - Web development tools are not always intuitive

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Squarespace

I would definitely look to make sure that Squarespace will suit your business needs. For example, it doesn't integrate with ALL partners, so map out what exactly you will need to make your site successful.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Krista Mansini

Easy to use for non-designers

01/02/2017

I am a freelance designer and frequently recommend my customers use Squarespace for their sites, as it is so easy for them to update themselves! Most people want the freedom to update their site on their schedule, even if they need a little help getting the overall look and feel set up. I love that Squarespace has some really solid templates to use and the interface is really pleasing to the eye as well!

Pros

Easy to use for non-designers or coders

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kristen Wallace

Creating a New Website!

01/02/2017

I just started using this site for a new website platform for my business. So far, the ease of the tools is great and beautiful templates to work from!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paige Ferro

Sleek, functional, easy-to-use blog platform--my favorite yet!

01/02/2017

Squarespace is my favorite blog host to use. I have dabbled in Weebly, Wordpress, and Squarespace, and I finally settled on Squarespace because I loved the sleek, functional, easy-to-use sophistication of this host. I run an editing/writing blog and I loved how minimalist and straightforward the platform is. My customers can find the information they need quickly and the site looks professional and clean. Updating my information, tracking followers and comments and site traffic are all easy and quick to do with the layout Squarespace uses. I have not tried to utilize the commerce portion of Squarespace, but I would feel comfortable giving it a go considering the positive experience I have had with Squarespace already.

Pros

I love the look of Squarespace, and the easy-to-use features. I don't have to go clicking around forever to find what I need to update, review, or track anything about my blog. Squarespace is sleek and professional and I am confident I am receiving a great product for a great price.

Cons

There is not a lot to not enjoy about Squarespace--not much to say here.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Recommendations to others considering Squarespace

While Squarespace automatically gives your website a .squarespace url, I highly suggest buying your own domain name. This will show your customer and visitors you are professional and committed. Squarespace is a great host, but there is no reason you need to display their name right alongside yours.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dipali Dey

Excellent to create websites

01/02/2017

The best thing about Squarespace is that both amateurs and professionals can use the site to create websites. They have a variety of template designs and they are all mobile-friendly. It's a very intuitive site and does not require a degree in website designing/coding to create a website effortlessly. They provide competitive pricing that caters to individuals and organizations. They even have a special pricing model for students.

Pros

- Easy to use - Good variety of templates - Excellent customer service - SEO-friendly

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Squarespace

- Reach out to customer service if you face any problems. They are great at resolving issues.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Johnny Wolfenstein

Build A High Quality Website With Little Effort!

01/02/2017

I've been using Squarespace for the past 5 years and have had a fantastic experience with them. I'm able to build a beautiful website with minimal effort and it allows me to focus my time on creating content. Their customer service is very responsive and have gotten me the answer I need in a timely manner on the few occasions I've had to reach out to them.

Pros

ease of use

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Foster

Makes anyone able to create a webpage

31/01/2017

I've been using squarespace for over 4 years now. The product is frequently being updated and it is so easy to use. Accessibility to Getty images makes creating a beautiful page a thing of ease.

Pros

Ease of use, good cost point.

Cons

Formatting can require a bit more tinkering with to get used to how to work with it effectively.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sasha Hansen

My favorite program for web development

30/01/2017

Really like this program, easy to use, great templates. You can easy customize your website after choosing the template that you like.

Pros

Great templates

Cons

Takes some time to figure out at first

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Murad

Quick, Simple, Professional Web Software

24/01/2017

We use Squarespace and are extremely satisfied with the ease of use and how professional it looks. It is able to provide most needed functionality and without programming knowledge.

Pros

I like most the ease of use and available features.

Cons

The page editor can be a little tricky sometimes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tera Madigan

I love building websites with Squarespace

19/01/2017

I won't use anything else to build a website. The templates are gorgeous and easily customizable without any CSS knowledge, BUT you are also able to inject code if that suits you as well. Using Squarespace I am able to create awesome websites for various industries in no time at all. No headaches trying to figure out how to update style sheets, it's very intuitive.

Pros

I love how easy it is to customize the design and styles of a template

Cons

I wish that you could share via social accounts easier when blog articles are published. You aren't able to add hashtags or change the message of the social post from Squarespace.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joey Pickens

Love it! Excellent product for my needs.

12/01/2017

I'm not a web designer by any stretch but Squarespace has been a life saver. Great design, unique templates, etc...

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

Not much.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wenlong Yu

A very easy way for people to build their own website.

09/01/2017

Squarespace provides users an extremely easy and user-friendly interface to build their own website. The customer service is also great.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joshua Davies

My favorite website creation software

09/01/2017

I've used Drupal, Joomla, Wordpress and many other CMS platforms but honestly after switching to Squarespace I will never go back. If they could add a few more features it would be perfect.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kyla O'Neill

Easily Create an Ever-Beautiful Website

08/01/2017

I have been using Squarespace for my e-commerce business for a few years now and love it! Squarespace sites are easy to create and update, while always remaining beautiful. I have used other drag-and-drop website building software in the past and even though the layouts looked right when I was editing, once I viewed them live and on different devices, there were always problems. With Squarespace's platform, my site always looks exactly the way I expect it to. I recently added the e-commerce component to my site and while it doesn't have a ton of features, like other sites, it works perfectly for what I need. Some templates are better suited for e-commerce, so if that's what you're looking for, make sure to look into which ones those are. Squarespace websites are also automatically optimized for search engines! Last year I took an SEO course to improve traffic to my website and a bunch of the suggestions involved manually updating parts of my site every few months so that search engines would continue to find my site. When I inquired with Squarespace about how to go about this, they let me know that their platform already does this for my site automatically--yay! I also discovered a variety of other SEO features that are built into every Squarespace site, so you don't have to worry about updating or even knowing about much of it--it's all done for you! While Squarespace doesn't offer customer service by phone, they are timely with responding to inquiries via email and their robust online knowledge base has answered many of my questions in just a few minutes. They also offer a chat feature Mon-Fri. Finally, one of the reasons I decided to switch to Squarespace was for integrations, like MailChimp--they make it easy to connect with my customers and streamline collecting their information. They also just added an integration with PayPal for checkout, which I can already tell has made purchases easier for my customers. Overall, I am extremely happy with Squarespace and look forward to discovering, even more, features!

Pros

Ease of use Beautiful designs Great customer service Affordable useful integrations (PayPal, MailChimp, etc) built-in SEO constantly updating and adding more features

Cons

e-commerce platform has minimal features No customer service phone support Some features are only available on a limited number of templates

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Doug Kwong

Made our website in next to no time

05/01/2017

I am not a web designer, nor am I artistic, but after some clicks, we had a professional web page up and running live. I highly recommend this platform!

Pros

Ease of use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Becky Taylor

Quick and Easy to Use website builder

05/01/2017

Squarespace allows those with no web development experience to quickly and easily set up basic websites for their product/company/etc. I love how easy it is to just snap things into place and have them work. If you do have issues, customer service was quick and helpful!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lexi R.

This is a great product!!

20/12/2016

Squarespace is a great product for creating and designing your own custom website. It's UI is very intuitive and easy to pick up, but there are endless possibilities for creating a beautiful website.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more