App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Boomi Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

271

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.72/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

Overall, for the price, you get good ROI on your investments and it is a highly successful integration product. So I would recommend this.
Its pretty simple to use and development is made easy. It also has good online community guys out there are pretty helpful when in need.
It is a very easy to use product and I really like the monthly releases, great for a SAAS product.
In this software the only problem is that it is not compatible with excel, the rest are few things negative.
Monthly updates is a pain as most of the time there are issues with updates and also issues with extensions getting messed up.
Bit hard to use without much technical knowledge. Documentation can be little confusing.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


271 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kelly Michael S.

Marketing Manager

Construction, 51-200 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Strong & Complex Integration Tool

Reviewed 10 months ago

Transcript

Kelly: Hi, my name is Kelly. I am the director of digital transformation at Fiber Optic Center. I would...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Krishna C.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Dell Boomi as Integration software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, for the price, you get good ROI on your investments and it is a highly successful integration product. So I would recommend this.

Pros

Boomi provides lot of out of the box connectors, comparable to its more popular competitor Mule. However, it is much cheaper and highly performant than Mule.

Cons

The only thing, I wish Boomi has worked more on is the cloud deployment and central maintenance of hybrid deployments.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Useful

Reviewed 4 years ago

I started my career with Boomi technology and I am very glad to be apart of this wonderful technology so far. I love to part of Boomi ever.

Pros

I love Boomi's Gentle learning curve;their most user friendly UI;most interactive community;very useful user guide and process library and LMS. I like the new features and functionalities they incorporate in every releases. Boomi is the best Integration and Cloud tool I have ever used.

Cons

Some things which needs their improvement like providing flexibility in running the same execution simultaneously with multiple extension values etc. But Very few cons. Their API Management should be improved.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Retail, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

I really hate using Boomi

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I really like signing out of Boomi, going home and drinking a few pints of drain cleaner; just takes the edge off.

Cons

It's like buying a very expensive sports car, opening the hood and finding a clapped-out Trabant engine.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Boomi Developer Ease

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of developing an integration. The product is self document there are a lot of options for connectors pre-built. There is a vast support network of resources help and training available to aid in understanding the development life cycle.

Cons

The product requires a lot of resources when running. Some development processes and methods are not as straight forward and take experience and trial and error to work around what should logically work 1 way but need to be handled in a less straight forward manner.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Boomi Ease of Use

Reviewed 3 years ago

We've been modernizing legacy business applications and integrations, moving from installed software to using Boomi's iPaaS.

Pros

Boomi is very easy to set up and get started. It's easy to teach new employees and have them up and creating value for the company quickly. It's an intuitive product and makes creating integrations easy.

Cons

It seems like we're always running out of connectors. It takes careful management to not run out in our Non-Production environments. There's also no easy way to view queue management.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Government Administration, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Bhoomi a Easy Integration tool on Cloud

Reviewed 4 years ago

We tried to integrated different systems like SAP ERP from DOT, CRM from different departments, Mainframe systems, FTP and providing webservices for different external clients

Pros

It is very easy to use. 80 percentage can be done without coding and the rest of the development can be done with limited Java Scrpting functionality.It integrates seamlessly with different systems (etl, ftp, webservices etc)

Cons

Customization is the biggest challenge and lack of thd documentation of the product

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Speed of developement

Reviewed 4 years ago

We started out small with one atom and a single integration. This integration went so well we moved to adopt Boomi as our corporate wide iPaas.

Pros

Speed to deployment. We had a proof of concept up and running in one day. The development and deployment cycle fits perfectly with Agile

Cons

I'd like to see some more functionality in one or two of the connectors.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dana F.

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ease of Use

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall positive.

Pros

Simple to use, quick to develop. I was able to develop a workable process in one day!

Cons

Auto-names objects which can lead to confusion over which is the correct version. Gives 4 levels of errors when setting up email notifications - but there still can be an error during a process execution which would NOT trigger the email, so the only way to discover this error is the go to the Execution console.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ronald v.

Information Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Dell Boomi

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great. As administrtor we have had a few great problems. These where sorted out with Boomi support fast. Also we got extra support from Boomi on questions that we had ojn running our own platform.

Pros

The software is easy to use. The low code approach is really low code. There fore it get's you uo and runnin in no time.

Cons

Sometimes it is hard to translate the user manual, to real practice.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Joseph L.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Reliable

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have been using this product for years back when they were quest and will continue to use it. It's a solid investment.

Pros

Very versatile integrations with plenty of room for customization. We were able to automate many workloads that have been running for a couple years now.

Cons

Not quite turnkey. Take a lot studying and reference guides to stand up a working solution.

VV
AvatarImg

Vivek V.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

My Dell Boomi View

Reviewed 6 years ago

Overall experience is good but I still see a lots of improvement points for the development environment. Also memory and multi threading options appears a bit tricky with Dell Boomi. Checkpointing of the processing would add lots of value to the product in terms of recovering the the half way processed transactions.

Pros

Common development environment along with version control and revision history. Development environment on cloud can enable a developer to become productive from day one. Single place deployment and complete code life cycle management. Common Dashboard to monitor the integer landscape components. Automated housekeeping of logs and temporary files.

Cons

Memory management is a bit tricky, no option to allocate memory to specific integration processes. Multi threading not very efficient and controllable. Configuration Parameter management through process extentions is a bit complex and confusing. Dependency on internet for development activity. In case of any network issue developer cannot continue with the development.

JP
AvatarImg

Jacob P.

Broadcast Media, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Boomi is great for simple integrations, would like to see better organization/reporting

Reviewed 3 years ago

We have successfully tied together several financial platforms with Boomi as well as leveraged it for our master data management of customers. It has shown great promise in early applications and sparked ideas for many more integrations.

Pros

Boomi makes basic integrations extremely simple, non-technical staff are able to view and understand the integrations. There is a lot of power in the platform for complex integrations with the ability to expand using java. Ability to submit test cases is great and lowers the QA load for monthly releases.

Cons

Process reporting has a lot of information but it isnt always easy to view. When managing errors on a mobile device we must request the desktop version to even view the error specifics. Reporting on overall usage of the platform can be a challenge currently, technology is a data driven world and I would like to have more robust reporting to view runs/errors/platform stats/ and deployed processes all in one place.

MK
AvatarImg

Martijn K.

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Steep learning curve, great community and amazing performance

Reviewed 6 years ago

Having experience with different integration platforms got me up and running in Boomi relatively quickly. However, due to the differences, the learning curve was rather steep still. There are a number of non-intuitive features, that require advanced knowledge of the platform to get right. Fortunately, there is a very active and very knowledgeable community of other Boomi users, always willing to...

Pros

Performance; the community; the smooth, all features included development platform.

Cons

A number of features take quite a lot of time to develop in the platform. The lack of XPath search and map functionality is tough to handle. Web service integrations (the core business of my company) feel rough and rudimentary, a lot of work still needs to be done on this field

YK
AvatarImg

Yechiel K.

Oil & Energy, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ETL Made Easy

Reviewed 6 years ago

I started working in Boomi with no prior IT experience. I walked into an already complex business model and some pretty complicated processes. I was able to quickly catch on and make myself an important piece to the 'Integration' team. My company has premier support and this team was very helpful at times when trying to build something difficult. Even as someone who is not familiar with coding...

Pros

Drag and drop canvas, easy to use.

Cons

Flexibility

TY
AvatarImg

Trey Y.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Go to Boomi if you want to innovate

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall our experience with Boomi has been great. Integrations that have previously taken months to build, test and implement can now be done in weeks. Not only that but Boomi makes it easy to build modular integrations, so if one piece no longer works for you it can be easily replaced.

Pros

Boomi is a tool that can be picked up easily by just about anyone and allows for very quick development. Boomi makes prototyping integrations incredibly easy and quick and moving those solutions to production takes a few clicks.

Cons

As with most graphical programming languages there are limitations as to what the tool can do, and while there may be workarounds that can be done in the system sometimes those carry performance implications.

GC
AvatarImg

George C.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use product for fast development

Reviewed 6 years ago

Boomi is a fantastic tool to use for integration between systems. Reusable components speeds up development and implementation, changes are easy to propagate through all relevant processes and the UI is very intuitive and easy to learn. Features are limited by willingness to upgrade the account but a lot can still be accomplished with just the standard set of features available. A great adaptable platform that can handle all sorts of mess with an active community forum that provides support and help as much as possible and regular updates with features suggested by the community itself is leading this product to even better times ahead.

Pros

Easy to use, intuitive. Simple to set up schedules, deployments, tests. Changes are easy to make, test and rollback. Copying map functions that were recently added!

Cons

Limitations imposed by account features and cloud atom. Search can be slow, drop-down loading can also be slow for document properties for example. Adding identifier instance also collapses entire json tree which takes many clicks to reopen. Logs aren't the greatest, not always as detailed as it could be and are temporary.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Boomi Makes IPaaS easy

Reviewed 3 years ago

On the projects I have been on Boomi has been able to deliver everything that the clients have wanted and more. From EDI, to API integrations, and even MDM integrations, Boomi has been able to deliver. Developing for these projects has been straight forward and support has been awesome!

Pros

Boomi makes integration development a simple easy way to connect to other applications. The ability to create patterns that can be used in other integrations within Boomi makes development simple and accessible for new projects.

Cons

Minor performance issues with large volumes of data. There are also instances where some component windows do not work as expected or have a poor usability due to limited visibility.

BS
AvatarImg

Brian S.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Accelerate Integrations

Reviewed 3 years ago

Dell Boomi makes Integration with Healthcare hospitals and clinics very easy for us. We can do a typical integration in hours or days rather than weeks or months as with traditional integration engines.

Pros

Easily able to integrate out of the box. Powerful enough to use for complex use cases.

Cons

There is nothing we do not like about Dell Boomi.

kk
AvatarImg

kalaiselvan k.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Dell Boomi Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall it is very easy tool to learn and develop integration with other applications. Checkpoint for debugging is very impressive for trouble shooting the problem.

Pros

Dell Boomi is an component based drag and drop tool for different types of integration. We can do the development in browser based cloud dell boomi UI with different set of components and adapters. UI is very simple to develop and deployment is very friendly with inbuilt version control . We can use Groovy and Javascript for custom logic business handling. Components functionality avoid developers to spend much time on coding

Cons

The number connectors/adapters available for integration with heterogeneous application is limited. Since development happens over browser in cloud, any dis-connectivity with internet will block the development.

RI
AvatarImg

Ramish I.

Broadcast Media, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Boomi is a powerful automation tool which allows non technical individuals to do complicated process

Reviewed 5 years ago

- Being able to design,develop, implement and execute processes in a short timespan - Rolling back production processes with bugs is quick and efficient - Version control - Complex architecture can be done in a simple manner (maps, business rules, decision shapes etc.)

Pros

Pros of Boomi - - Easy to use interface - Fast and reliable support guide and helpdesk operatives - Powerful tool for non technical background individuals - Deployment of dev process and roll back is very efficient and easy to do

Cons

Cons of Boomi - Load can be an issue when transaction count exceeds a certain limit - Reporting has to be compromised when dealing with load (turning low latency mode on but sacrificing process reporting) - Moving to multiple molecules requires a separate license purchase. Existing package only allows a certain threshold

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Key to integrate our customers, but sometimes challenging doing things correctly

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, the experience has been positive for us as a Partner and our customers. The biggest area of improvement is within monitoring as we expect the product to have those capabilities baked in and not us having to develop our own monitoring.

Pros

Dell is great for connecting disparate systems and helping us streamline our go-lives.

Cons

The biggest complaint with Boomi is the lack of built in monitoring and the level of knowledge within Support when calling in. Most of the time when relying on Support I have combed through the kbases, documentation and community forums. It can be frustrating getting kbases I already tried back from support.

GD
AvatarImg

George D.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Created integrations in a short time without code required.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Managed to create integrations, in a very short period of time. Boomi made iPaaS accessible to anyone.

Pros

What's not to like about Boomi. It's so easy to use, 0 coding required, the platform is on the cloud, it provides out of the box connectivity to most platforms/saas, easy to maintain and very active community. All these factors contribute to make this iPaaS the perfect solution to for any user with common logic.

Cons

The only downside that I can think of, is the cost. But you will realize it's worth it once you save time on developing.

AF
AvatarImg

Allan F.

Oil & Energy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

New starter with Boomi but going OK so far, bit of a learning curve.

Reviewed 6 years ago

We have implemented a few processes and web services using this product thus far. We have a large backlog of processes using other technology to move into Boomi environment.

Pros

Not much to manage in terms of the environment setup. i.e. the Java runtime aka "Atom" or "Molecule" (group of atoms) are managed for you. System upgrades are managed for you. The development area is all web based (e.g. via use of Chrome). Once you have past a bit of a learning curve, the approach is fairly straight forward and simple. Forum is responsive with people helping. Support tickets are addressed quickly.

Cons

Somewhat locked in to keep using the tool, once you start using Boomi. The process documentation is via screen prints into word documents. There isn't a way to export processes to keep a copy of process outside of the Boomi system. Performance of larger scale ETL (say half million data rows) might be worse by factor of three compared to other ETL tools. Development environment limits you to small tests (100 records/documents) .. Have to deploy to dev atom to test larger scale tests.

DY
AvatarImg

Deepika Y.

Marketing and Advertising, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Basic Concerns of Dell Boomi

Reviewed 3 years ago

All the master data movement between the data based and the end application teams . Web services designing is simple and easy

Pros

The functionality provided by Boomi to integrate the systems by having a centralized repository of all integration components in atmosphere.

Cons

The licences part is something which the team should act upon .

JP
AvatarImg

John P.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Boomi Revolutionized Our Integration Layerr

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Boomi provided full function while still being easy to use and train others to use. We are a a multi-tenant Private Atom Cloud install so need our citizen developers to come up to speed quickly with the minimum amount of ramp up timre.

Cons

I wish Flow and MDH were more available to us.