Deputy Reviews

Deputy Reviews

Deputy

Scheduling, Time & Attendance, Tasking - anytime, anywhere

4.78/5 (103 reviews)
2,375     21,242

Adam Thompson

ROCK UP BIRMINGHAM

14/03/2017

EXCELLENT ADVICE, SERVICE AND SYSTEM................................................................

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Elisabetta Del Re

Highly Recommend

07/03/2017

Great time saver. Easy to use. helpful & prompt support network

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrew Wallace

Deputy makes timesheets easier

01/03/2017

The mobile app makes tracking/billing/and scheduling easier for this small tech business. Employees and contractors alike can clock in no matter where they are and I can see usage reports on demand.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dorothy Setton

Easy to use - Scheduling as Basic as needed

28/02/2017

I was looking for an easy to use and not too expensive scheduling software for the beginning. The more advance programs are great but we would not yet use all the features. After searching I am happy to start using Deputy. Its easy to log in. Overview is great. Information can be put in so easily. It has everything we need for the start to organize everybody.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Angela Lang

Extremely Happy to Have Found Deputy

13/02/2017

I've been using Deputy now for around 5 months now. I love what this software has done for my very small (3 employee) business. It allows us to communicate, schedule tasks, track time sheets and more. I love it. Makes running my business easier. I also love that it integrates with my Xero program as well. Thank you for a great, quality product with small businesses in mind.

Pros

Tracking of timesheets, schedules, tasks and communication

Cons

There should be a manager option where I can see what my employees task each other. The tasks also aren't shown in order by date (at least the last time I looked it wasn't). I would also like to be able to edit a task if needed. Once it's made, I have to delete and re-type if changes are needed. I would also like to task something to more than one person in a day.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Deputy

User friendly! But if ever there are issues, the customer service team is FAST to respond.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alletta Tate

Super helpful!

07/02/2017

As a new business owner, Deputy has helped keep my employees organized and made payroll a breeze. With such a steep learning curve when opening a business, it was nice to have Deputy to simplify having employees.

Pros

Ease of use, keeping track of payroll, allowing employees to mark off days they can't work

Cons

The iPad version does not let me do everything that you can do online

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tiffany Hoskins

WE use this for 5 employee veterinary practice

03/02/2017

WE use this software to track hours and vacations time requests sent emails to me so I can approve, does a good job at tracking employee hours which is what i need it for mainly, no complaints pretty straight forward, we use a kiosk for checking in/out

Pros

EAse of use

Cons

not really any cons I can think of, unless a large staff might be more complex

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Deputy

not really it is simple for timeclock easy to use

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Courtney Rittenour

Super easy scheduling

02/02/2017

Before I would write every scheduled by hand and this has made it so much easier to know how many hours each employee has to know their pay rate and the schedule accordingly !

Pros

Very easy to use

Cons

Everyone needs to have a smart phone but that's OK for us because everyone does

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Deputy

I would highly recommend this it is so easy and kind of fun to use

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anthony Morton

Verified Reviewer

Reduce scheduling time impact on your business

27/01/2017

We have over 170 staff in 6 regions nationally. We are looking to expand this to our international teams. We operate event merchandising at venues all around the country, however, we cannot install fixed hardware to have our team clock on and off for their shifts. The Deputy experience for our team created greater transparency and opened up a more robust communication culture. We operate under 3 awards across the business based on location and our team can work in multiple locations, so we needed to develop a script to understand how all the awards needed to interact with each other. Thanks to the thorough API library we were able to completely customize scripts and reports to cut our timesheet approval experience to less than 1 hour on a Monday and the payroll team was able to free up 2 entire days from their week. Our rostering team has been able to reduce the time working on roster production to 2 days and maintenance of the rosters has become a much more simple task - this can often be done in the app! Deputy has allowed our business to scale without increasing our scheduling workload. We have expanded our operations team to focus on our business practices and service delivery and because Deputy is part of our team now we have far greater visibility than ever before without additional time invested.

Pros

No fixed hardware required Scalability News Feed has our team communicating more openly Custom Reporting Award Interpretation - Once scripts written (we run with 3 different awards) App Experience Quick Payroll/Timesheet Approvals

Cons

Integration of Enterprise Version with Basic Version - Particularly Locations do not pick up the same address fields.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Deputy

Understand your award and legislative requirements Use templates provided Broad skill level User Acceptance Testing Be very open with your team about features (Particularly GPS)

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Allan Cuevas

Great product and great value

15/01/2017

We've been using Deputy for around 6 months now and we're really happy with it. The customer service team are quick to respond, and we find the interface intuitive and easy to use. The pricing also makes it easy for any size organization to be able to use Deputy without spending an arm and a leg. The only feature I would say is missing for us is for the whole team to be able to have a complete view of everyone on shift, so they can make shift swaps easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brad Burnett

Completely Inflexible Platform with Poor Logic

12/01/2017

Completely Inflexible Platform with Poor Logic The platform is not very intuitive and completely lacks administrative control. As the COO of a small company, I set and approve the time schedule for every employee. Once a schedule is "published" it is locked and cannot be changed. While this may make sense if a Manager level individual controls time review, it completely misses the mark of common sense to make it so the Administrator and person who sets the schedule does not have the ability to make changes. You are also not able to delete one employee's schedule once published, the only option is "Delete ALL". Once again this makes no sense. If you ever have to make changes to an employees schedule, I suggest you find another platform to use.

Pros

Ability to make individual time adjustments on the timesheet

Cons

Does not allow Admin level control, and upcoming schedules cannot be changed once they are published. If you select to have auto-clocking, it automatically does both clock-in and clock-out, they are not independent of each other. The customer service appears to be some sort of computer run AI platform. In my interactions with them they continually reverted to canned responses that had been previously provided in the conversation, even though the questions and engagement of the conversation was changing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Deputy

If you need any scheduling control or flexibility, find another platform.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Erin Dulle

Makes scheduling my staff so easy!

10/01/2017

Deputy has made scheduling my staff so easy. I can create the schedule online and then e-mail or text message out the final schedule. I really love that staff can pick up extra shifts themselves. I also love the messaging feature where staff can communicate with one another. When I send out a message I can ask for confirmation to ensure that everyone received the message. Very handy!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel Feodoroff

Great app for Small Businesses

07/01/2017

Deputy has changed employee management at a client's restaurant. With a wide range of features available, it makes the life of the manager so much easier. With the ability for staff members to go onto their accounts and request leave has gotten rid of phone calls in the morning when their sick or want time off. Another great feature is the ability to write posts to the team and let them know about certain events and changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Luke Docksteader

Good software for scheduling and tracking employee time sheets.

14/12/2016

Deputy is, in general, a decent system for scheduling and tracking employee time sheets. Personally, I think it's a little overpriced. I've also found the Newsfeed and Tasks feature useless. The scheduling software can be a bit buggy at times, especially on a mobile device, but is overall pretty good. I'm happy with Deputy, but sometimes find myself wondering if there is a better system out there with a better pricing model for small businesses.

Pros

Features and functionality. Mobile time-tracking app is great.

Cons

The pricing model for small businesses. Can be a bit buggy at times (especially copy/pasting shifts). Mobile web experience is poor at best I find myself needing to use my laptop or desktop to schedule shifts.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
C.O.O & Co-Founder (Internet company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great Tool

13/12/2016

This really helped me track the people that were working. I knew how many people I had working and what gaps I need to fix. I can always go back and see who was working that day.

Pros

everything is a pro on service

Cons

there is no con to this service

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Deputy

You should use this service it will really help.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff McCabe

Great scheduling tool

13/12/2016

Deputy has greatly improved our employee scheduling efficiency. The added cost of using Deputy over what we did before is easily covered by the ease, speed, and accuracy Deputy provides which saves us a lot of time. The communication features and ability to block out unavailable times makes scheduling much easier. Our business had a unique issue with Deputy which was dealt with quickly and efficiently. I will definitely recommend Deputy to others. Keep up the good work.

Pros

Ease of use, communication features, ability for employees to take responsibility for availability and knowing when they work

Cons

I would like to see a 3rd option when offering a shift where it can be offered to everyone, specific individuals, or to a group that is defined by their job or by area of work.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Fox

Verified Reviewer

Blown away

29/11/2016

Coming from a background in IT I was very impressed with the product. It is top notch. What really sets it apart is the support. I wish all software companies had the support. 24/7 chat support with knowledgeable, professional and friendly people.

Pros

Support - staff went above and beyond helping me with every aspect of the software. It would make it very easy for a non technical person who is comfortable with chat support to get down and dirty with the software. Usability - the learning curve for my staff is not steep at all and even the non tech savvy folks were able to get on board. Any bumps in the road were ironed out by the excellent support. Openess - I look forward to leveraging the API that the software exposes. It will help me automate tasks such as tip calculation at the end of the evening saving me hours a week.

Cons

Why aren't other software companies this together?

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Deputy

You won't be disappointed.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
jessika paquet

Easy-to-use software

22/11/2016

Easy to track your working hours , list your tasts, share messages, etc. I have it on my Samsung Note 4, and it is working great!

Pros

I can use it on my cell phone an enter my working hours, where I am working (away or not), etc. I can add comments . Alerts when something seems odd with times entered

Cons

If I forgot to enter my shift, I can add it at night but I made a few mistakes by selecting AM or PM.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Div Grover

Great product

22/11/2016

Excellent product and easy to use, great for any company looking to change from manual process to an automated online efficient product To do rosters and to manage people ie holidays days off

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dan Perl

Super helpful platform

21/11/2016

I was intimidated by using the scheduling feature and initially planned on just using the time tracking. Once deputy imported my spreadsheet schedule into the web, I was sold on the benefits of using the schedule in addition to the time tracking. For someone like myself who struggles with scheduling, deputy makes it so much easier, and it allows my employees to always have the same, current schedule so that we are all on the same page. It also saves me so much time when i need to approve time sheets. Being able to view actual hours v scheduled hours in the same pane makes approving hours a breeze. And exporting hours into my payroll program directly also saves time. Thanks deputy.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Louise Inglis

Much quicker making rosters

16/11/2016

I manage a team of 7 carers for our disabled son. Deputy has made my job of scheduling shifts much easier & quicker. It's also made it much easier for carers to swap, without needing me as the "middle man." I like how the software starts to predict which hours I'll put in, as often the shifts are similar each week. Syncing with outlook was tricky & I needed quite a bit of customer support doing that, but once I got that sorted it was great. I'm very pleased to have Deputy, wish I'd had it years ago!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Todd Lawson

Good app and easy to use

15/11/2016

Very easy to use on the laptop not as much functionality on the iPhone but still A great tool. Rescheduling quickly and notifying people schedules and other communications

Pros

Works great for my laptop

Cons

I wish on the iPhone and have as much functionality

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paula Holstein

Great program !

15/11/2016

I did a lot of research before deciding on deputy and I'm happy I did, the price was reasonable and the team learnt to use it quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karen Sinclair

Very Easy to Use

14/11/2016

Has been great, for rostering. Much easier then using Excel and then emailing it all. Customer service is excellent. Gave me heaps of help on set-up.

Pros

easy to use

Cons

as above

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Deputy

makes things easier when staff read it though!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Peggy Adams

Schedule made easy

11/11/2016

Love this software!!! Staff and management use this program and find it easy and helpful. Great features like the news feed that young workers appreciate

Pros

Fast schedule making, all important staff info captured, great communication system built in, utilizing mobile apps as well

Cons

Not much, I love it

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Deputy

Nope

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more