App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Act-On Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.3

/5

250
86%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.99/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Act-On is extremely easy to use and starts providing working data immediately. Act-On has a quality product with a friendly UI and wonderful support when the occasional question comes up.
I like the breadth of capabilities with superior customer support by both the Customer Success Manager and Technical Support.
There may be other big brands out there, but this is a great solution at an affordable price.
In some cases, metrics are just a bit confusing. In particular, there's a metric that compares SEO-type things, but the explanation is inadequate.
It could have better designed templates for emails and landing pages; the ones provided are dreadful. There is a major shortcoming, though, and I think it's a fatal one: e-mail deliverability.
As a small business testing out systems this is horrible.

Act-On users...

HubSpot CRM-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

HubSpot CRM

How would you rate Act-On?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


250 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

Easy to use, but not our top choice

Reviewed 2 months ago

Transcript

Andrew K.: My name's Andrew. I'm a program manager. And I would give Act-On a four out of five rating....

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good alternative for Pardot, but not as comprehensive

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Act-On is great for most tasks. I can create emails, forms, and drip campaigns with ease. It syncs really easily to Salesforce and I haven't seen a single issue with that yet.

Cons

It's not as comprehensive and contemporary as some platforms. The forms aren't dynamic, and the emails are in a modular form instead of an easier drag-and-drop format.

Vendor response

Hi Brian, Thanks for taking the time to share a review on Act-On. We really appreciate your feedback. If you haven't done so already, I'd encourage you to check out the Act-On User Community for great tips, tricks and best practicing sharing. https://community.act-on.com/home Thanks! Sarah

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

We specifically communicate with the C-Suite and particularly with the CEO or President of our clients. It's a relationship-selling process and a one-to-one marketing environment with the most difficult demographics imaginable. We needed a marketing automation platform to track visits to our website from various sources: print campaigns, event follow-up, quarterly articles, etc. Before Act-On we...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Fully Featured Marketing Automation Solution for Right User

Reviewed 6 years ago

ACT-ON is a very powerful marketing automation tool that we decided upon after much research. It allows a great deal of work in segmentation, customer behavior analysis, etc. However, at $600/mo plus the $450 a month for the Salesforce CRM that we used with it, it was too much expense and, as a very small company, we were not able to take advantage of the features. Support is TREMENDOUS with this company and that goes a long way. We're dropping Act-On for now but if we grow to the size of a company that can afford a full-time marketing person and who can devote the time necessary to utilize all the great tools, we would definitely look at them again.

Pros

Great features Support

Cons

Price Contract length term

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Act-On Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The ease of reporting and how well it integrates with Salesforce

Cons

the customer service can take a while to resolve an issue

Vendor response

Hi Michael, Thanks so much for posting a review for Act-On. We really appreciate your feedback. We've recently added chat support as an additional channel for help. Initial feedback has been very positive. Check it out... https://university.act-on.com/Your_Account/Act-On_Support/Contacting_Act-On_Support Cheers! Sarah

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

I use this software regularly (almost every day) for work as a marketing specialist.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Building mailings is relatively straightforward. There are a decent amount of functions that allow us to customize our mailings in different ways based on content and branding for our various campaigns.

Cons

The sorting and filtering functions for sent mailings isn't very robust. The mailing builder is actually really quite finicky sometimes. Adding borders around image blocks causes extra white space around mailings. Also, buttons and other smaller elements render differently in the mailing builder than in Outlook, which is one of the primary email clients people use. Mailings end up looking less polished in Outlook.

Vendor response

Hi Stephanie, Thanks for posting your review. We really appreciate your honest feedback and take it to heart. Best, Sarah

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent service without needed to hire more staff

Reviewed 3 years ago

Excellent customer service, fantastic training program, continued support

Pros

Ease of use, integration into company process, no need to hire more staff to manage the program

Cons

Not as many integrations as available as other platforms, but not necessarily holding us back.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for the great feedback! We love hearing from customers and appreciate that you took the time to post a review. Cheers!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

A 2nd tier product in the race of Marketing Automation

Reviewed 4 years ago

In my experience with using Pardot, Marketo, Hubspot, and Act-On (email marketing only solutions such as MailChimp and Constant Contact as well...), Act-On is still playing catch-up with the bigger, more enterprise companies in terms of technical capabilities. Its support system is great, however.

Pros

Support team, the fact that Act-On is growing quickly

Cons

Inability to sort information on the platform itself, rigid reporting and display of data, certain key functions that should be given to everyone are add-ons, has no predictive, real-time adjustment, automated insights, multi-channel marketing funnel value analysis, etc. yet.

Vendor response

Thanks for posting your review. We value your feedback and share it with the product team so that we can continue to improve Act-On to be the best it can be.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Act-On review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Act-On is a very good Marketing tool which has been very helpful in my emailing campaigns, creation of forms, polls, landing pages, lead generation, media library hosting, and integration with our CRM.

Cons

Sometimes the Customer support can be a bit slow. We have also found the tool stalls at times, though rarely.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback. We love hearing from customers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A Decent Marketing Automation Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

You can do a lot with Act-On, so long as you know how to use it. It integrates well with SalesForce and is really useful for tracking engagement and behavior via email and web pages.

Cons

Act-On gets the job done on marketing automation, but it's not pretty or easy to navigate. Its UI looks like it dates back to the early 2000's. It is very cluttered and disorganized. Although there are a lot of features, they are a pain to find and implement smoothly together. It is difficult to manage data inside of it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

Our company is an insurance brokerage firm specializing in employee benefits (health, dental, life, pensions) for midsize companies in Brazil. Our sales process is based on inside sales cold calling clients to schedule face-to-face visits with our sales consultants. We already have a great telemarketing platform, and we wanted to extract more value from the interactions we have with our prospects,...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

When it came to a marketing automation solution, our organization took the Goldilocks approach: First, we tried Pardot and found that it really didn't deliver what we were looking for. Their lack of lead attribution functionality just didn't work for us. We wanted to be able to connect the dots on sales and marketing touches but ultimately know which touch landed us the business. The process that...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great value package

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

A full feature digital marketing platform that's well integrated with other CRM platforms, but at a modest price.

Cons

Lacks ability to post to Instagram, and doesn't have the full functionality with Facebook.

Vendor response

Hi Krystal. Thank you for posting your review and sharing your feedback. Love hearing that you get a lot of value from Act-On. Cheers!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I use Act-On to do marketing work for a consulting firm

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall it's been a great experience. I think I need more training.

Pros

The ease of use and clear structure of saving my files and documents

Cons

connectivity with my crm is difficult and i still dont think its working properly to be honest

Vendor response

Thanks for posting your review. If you're interested in training, I'd recommend you check out our virtual and regional boot camps. Boot Camps are an awesome way to hone your Act-On skills and set you up for success. Check out the upcoming dates here: https://www.act-on.com/datasheet/act-on-university-new-user-boot-camp/

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Act-On Review

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The customer support, they are very quick to respond and follow-up.

Cons

The ease of use you could be improved. More tutorials on new features.

Vendor response

Hi Kasey! Thanks for your review. I encourage you to check out Act-On's User Community for additional resources and best practice tips. You'll find it here: https://community.act-on.com/home

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Use act-on daily for email marketing, segmenting and landing pages

Reviewed 5 years ago

It makes sending emails efficient and pulling segments easy for someone that doesn't have a lot of technical background.

Pros

Basic functions are easy to use,. Setting up automating and more advanced functions are tricky. But resources available help.

Cons

Sometimes have issues with saving a draft and then going back and my changes weren't saved. Also the drafts don't automatically save so I've accidentally shut down and lost my work. It would be better if it auto saved every so often.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Act-On to Get Your Act Together

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

I really like how easy it is to set this product up with other 3rd party platforms. It was very easy to integrate with Salesforce, BigCommerce and a 3PL system for logistics. The logic is very easy to understand and easy to test. Pricing is great as well.

Cons

I don't really dislike anything about the platform. I do not like that is not as popular as some of it's competitors. Other than that I have only found good things in relation to this platform.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Marketing Automation for sales teams not using a CRM

Reviewed 4 years ago

I am a big fan of Act-On and have implemented it for a variety of small to medium size companies.

Pros

I love the ease of use and the sales tools.

Cons

I would like to be able to have a seed list category, so my seeds don't keep opting out.

Vendor response

Thanks for posting your review. We're so happy you're happy!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

I'm happy with the product

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, Act-On worked well for what we wanted. It allowed us to create campaigns, landing pages, emails, etc. and generate and track leads. I would use Act-On again if I need it in the future.

Pros

I used this software while working for a marketing company, and Act-On was great at allowing us to generate and track leads. Lead generation was one of our clients' major needs, and Act-On worked very well when it came to that.

Cons

We chose to design our own emails rather than use the email creator Act-On had. We just didn't like that feature very much.

Vendor response

Hi Michael, Thanks so much for sharing your feedback and posting a review. We really appreciate it! Cheers, Sarah

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 9 years ago

Act-On is one of the most powerful - yet intuitive - marketing and lead nurturing software tools I've come across. I implemented Act-On for a large accounting firm who is one of our clients and needed better tools to nurture their prospects in a long-term complex sales cycle. In selling professional services - or in many other businesses where a decision to purchase is made over a matter of months...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great value

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Hands down the best customer support. Anytime we have any question about /anything, their customer support is extremely responsive.

Cons

There are a few qwirky things about the software and they can be slow to adapt at times but they do listen to customers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A serious advancement in our company.

Reviewed 5 years ago

You need to be patient with this software, people arent going to start calling overnight. Invest your time into this product and you will begin to see a difference.

Pros

Due to the features Act- on offers we are able to attract more and higher quality leads to our business. The marketing is targeted, AND we don't have to deal with the pushy 3rd party advertising companies that are only trying to up-sell us and not HELP US.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent Support and Customer Service

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I love the customer support and service we get from Act-On. The staff is always friendly with us and very helpful. If they don't have an answer or an issue resolved, they will take the time to email us later in the day to ensure we get the correct information.

Cons

I don't have too much experience in HTML or other coding, and this is a software that is very heavily relied upon for those skills.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

High functionality but not intuitive to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

You can do quite a lot with Act-on, although it does not have as much functionality as Marketo it is more affordable.

Cons

The interface is not very intuitive or free-flowing. Integration with Salesforce.com could be better

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Resourceful Marketing Automation

Reviewed 3 years ago

Their support is amazing now that they have the live chat option.

Pros

Bang for your buck since it is priced off of contacts. Other competitors charge by emails sent, which can be more expensive.

Cons

Not intuitive if it's your first time using it.

Vendor response

Hi Shalia, Thanks so much for posting your review! We love customer feedback and are so glad to hear you're an Act-On enthusiast and like the new live chat support option. Cheers! Sarah

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Marketing Automation Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

marketing automation, forms, lead nurturing

Pros

Features, easy-to-use interface, customer support

Cons

Slow at times. It could have been our internal network.

Vendor response

Hi Cristian, Thanks so much for posting a review and sharing your positive feedback! Sarah