This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Segment Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Segment is great - great support & documentation. It's very reliable, covering all your third-party integrations.

Anonymous Reviewer

Easy to setup, great customer support, excellent choice of services, simply amazing.

Milan S.

Setting new events is easy and the software is very intuitive. The real-time debugger view is super helpful during software development.

Yaniv V.

Cons

Certain resolutions to bad data were a challenge to make work.

Wyatt M.

No matter how much I emphasize the urgency, they'll send 1 reply a day, with the most useless information and ask the same basic questions over and over and over again.

Or P.

The pricing model (MTUs) when you have a lot of anonymous users can be a problem.

Rodrigo de Castro R.

Overall rating

4.6

5

4

3

2

1

35

16

1

0

1

96%
positive reviews
100%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


53 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

All the info you need. In a snap!

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

It is incredibly easy to install with modules for any kind of source (app, server, API, jacasript). It sends coherent and consistent data to hundreds of destinations (I think there are ~200 and counting, but new ones can be added with very little coding), and new destinations can be added with no intervention by an engineer. Among the destinations, there's also relational Databases: you can really...

Cons

It is pricy: the cost is based on the average number of single users tracked per month and it's not cheap at all. So better to understand exactly how it can help you grow your business (and how you can fully exploit it) before you decide to adopt it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

This CDP is great if you have a plug & play website, more tricky if you have a custom built website.

Reviewed 8 months ago

The customer service team, while fast and responsive, was not particularly knowledgeable about how to get around these issues we were having with visual tagger, and thus we had to work with a consultant that had the know-how of how to fully integrate Segment with our website through GTM. However, now that we have gotten our custom Segment setup up and running, it is very powerful and we're able to communicate our website event and tracking data with a multitude of analytics and other marketing tools. So overall, it has been a challenging experience, but once you get it working, it is worth the extra effort.

Pros

Segment was easy to setup and integrate with our website, using the Javascript code they provided. Also the Segment interface is well designed and easy to navigate. The settings for your Destinations are all clear and laid out, so you can make changes effortlessly. The neatest feature is the visual tagger, which allows you to create and track triggers/events on your website without having to code anything at all. It's great if you want to track very basic behaviors like button clicks or form submissions.

Cons

The most difficult part of Segment was when we wanted to track more granular data, such as user identities/emails. I believe if you have a typical website, built off of WordPress, or Shopify, you might not have these issues. But if you have a custom built website like ours, you will need some technical know-how in order to capture the finer data. For example, visual tagger did not work for us when...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Useful marketing tool

Reviewed 17 days ago

great, it helps a lot in collecting customer's information

Pros

Segment is a great platform that allows a lot of different functions in customer's data collection. The best thing by my point of view is that a lot of marketing tools are ready to use, you have only to connect them to Segment and all the data will flow.

Cons

if your marketing tool is not on the list you have to code: that is not a bad thing, only you need a developer

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Data loss and bad customer support

Reviewed 5 years ago

At first it sounds great, one stop shop for all you analytics needs. What they don't tell you is: 1. Segment API is far less reliable than any of the underlying analytics tools. I've never had any data loss with mixpanel, since I switched to segment I had 3 severe data loss incidents, one was a segment server failure, one was a result of Segment's API and the 3rd is still under investigation. 2. It's literally impossible to get proper support for urgent issues. no matter how much I emphasize the urgency, they'll send 1 reply a day, with the most useless information and ask the same basic questions over and over and over again.

Pros

Reduce the amount of code that handles analytics and tracking No real alternative

Cons

Unreliable. Bad customer support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and powerful tool, recommended if you work with third-party tools.

Reviewed a month ago

One of the tools that we recommend has the possibility of data quality with the "protocols" which is very interesting too.

Pros

It is a very easy-to-use tool that with minimal training you can add/configure third-party tools, accessible to many user profiles.

Cons

We have previously been working with tag manager tools, we miss the possibility of have modifications before sending the segment to 3 party tools. The "functions" are somewhat complex, a UI environment would be nice. Possibility of alerts with ML, for example; if we normally send 1000 events of one type each day, wait that day for those approximate events, intelligent alerts not only when a violation fails.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Addresses a major use case | requires a data architect to own the implementation and instrumentation

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

The ability to easily connect disparate sources of customer data. The ease of adding sources and destinations with or without native integration with Segment. The ability to insert third-party snippets on our site through Segment. The pricing structure of charging by usage rather than by seat, making it easy to increase adoption across the org.

Cons

Still requires technical support to map out the integrations and instrument the right tracking events in your app or on your website. Not all connections are intuitive and the UI makes it hard to find payload information and logs. I recommend pairing a business owner with a technical owner at the outset of implementation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Segment does all the heavy lifting so you don't have to

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

A centralised place to standardise all of your data through ETL, analytics as well as computed traits that create consistency of information across operational saas systems. Segment's investment in protocols roadmap provides the tools required to address the automatic monitoring of data.

Cons

There aren't many things that come to mind.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Segment Event Tracking

Reviewed 2 months ago

Segment does a great job of event tracking for analytics. It integrates well with other tools like Heap and is very easy to explain to others about how to add a new event to track.

Pros

Segment is great at handling event tracking. Once configured, it's very easy to add new events and also specify data associated with those events. We use the tool across multiple codebases and server provisions. It integrates well with other tools like Heap for further analytics.

Cons

It can be a bit difficult to debug, but this isn't really an issue with Segment, but rather event trackers in general. The feed of events can be a bit difficult to filter through when testing new events.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The easiest way to pull data from your site or app -- and maintain it

Reviewed 9 months ago

We've drastically reduced the amount of time spent adding in code or removing old code. It also results in a marginal performance improvement since there is just one javascript to fire instead of multiple. You send the data to segment - then it sends it to all the connected apps.

Pros

Segment's value proposition is really simple. Instead of having many different code snippets in various places on your website or app to track page views, clicks, etc, you can just put a segment snippet wherever you need it and then from segment's control panel you can feed that data into any third party tool with one click. Even better - you can feed in historical data as well.

Cons

No cons to think of - the only "hassle" was having a developer put the snippets into the app and website - but I don't see any way around that.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great addition to our marketing stack

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

The ease of use is one of the biggest pros. There's a long list of possible destinations and it's possible to turn them on/off very easily, without any development.

Cons

The pricing model (MTUs) when you have a lot of anonymous users can be a problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Segment - The Data Layer to Have

Reviewed 2 years ago

Segment solves the problem of add script once. Enable quickly. Data flows and needs a pipe to steer it in the right direction. Segment makes this easy. Create a data science team in seconds and connect to a wide and vast number of tools and connections from Adwords to Facebook all the way through to iOS and Android. This covers many bases.

Pros

Segment have built a best in class data layer and data management tool. The tool is easy to set up and creating destinations and understanding sources is simple. Add the code for Web, Mobile or a data warehouse. Then enable product and marketing teams to enable and disable marketing and product tools easily. The new personas feature is also incredibly powerful. Make collecting analytics .track and .page and .identify easy.

Cons

Segment does make data easy and because of the quality of the tool it does come at a cost. The benefit is it does scale with you because the price plan works on MTUs. But it really depends on the size of your business. Beware not to over enable and connect too much if you are not using it. This will add un-necessary load which can impact mobile page speed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A reliable tool for event tracking and syncronization

Reviewed 2 years ago

In our organization Segment is mostly used to track events from the website backend. There are other feature rich alternatives for frontend tracking but server-side tracking is not a priority for them. Segment really saves a lot of software, devops and data engineer hours alike by reliable continuous data delivery.

Pros

- Intuitive UI. - Event tester on the UI. - Several client libraries. - You can sync even your backdata, e.g. when setting up a new warehouse. - Pricing is based on users not events.

Cons

- Custom schedule for synchronisation or event validation is only available in higher packages. - Some integrations just don't support a moderately sophisticated setup. E.g. if you don't want 1 million API calls a day you should construct specific Segment calls to update Salesforce leads.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good tool for startups

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, it helps you to start really fast. We at www.quiznext.in use segment to collect data from our app and send it to warehouse, firebase, fb etc.

Pros

Easy setup, Easier to collect data and send to warehouse. Integration with other tools is easy.

Cons

Not all integrations are seemless. Many integrations require client side app installation, which just reduces the code a bit. Once you start attracting decent users, it turns out to be expensive and need to look for alternative tools.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software to remove the burden of countless API integrations

Reviewed 3 years ago

Saved a ton of dev time

Pros

It takes the burden off of our own teams to manage a slew of API integrations. This saves us a ton in developer costs in time, and makes it very easy to vet new tools for our analytics and marketing stacks.

Cons

Like any abstraction layer, not everything is plug-and-play. As you start to use more integrations, this becomes more complicated in it's own right, and you sometimes need to regress back to a standard API integration.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for integrating product with multiple products and extending over time

Reviewed a year ago

Integrating with multiple other products, it's meant we can add additional products without changing our core product or needing development time. It's meant we can add and test new products and decide if we want to keep them or drop them without needing development to do it.

Pros

The ability to set and forget it, essentially set it up when you launch the product and then needs very little maintenance or hand holding to do the job, and do it well.

Cons

Did feel complicated to set up, and to look into the workflows. Having said that once set up they've worked perfectly and we haven't had to keep working on them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Segment for analytics integration

Reviewed a year ago

- Great experience, easy integration, saves a lot of time when working with multiple analytics services

Pros

- easy integration - can work with many analytics Saas vendors

Cons

- can be better with some data visualization capabilities

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Segment is a great tool, if you can afford it then you should start using it right now.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Always happy to recommend segment ! A great tool.

Pros

The last tool to integrate with various apps. Write once and integrate infinitely. Time saving is worthless and make your app load much faster.

Cons

Pricing is not small businesses friendly ;( Would be great if we can write and view integrations comments from other users. Please share future integration pipeline.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Segment - the best system to control and analyze your customers!

Reviewed 8 months ago

I integrated Segment with the Drupal 8 site. I’m supporting it and improve.

Pros

The great debugger web-based tool. The tool to create audiences to group users by some properties or events.

Cons

All if fine. I can’t even be thinking about cons. Probably would be great to have the ability to copy data between sources.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Must have software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Not sure how one can manage app and web tracking without Segment. It quickly enables you to track millions of events and funnel it to the appropriate tools like advertising, analytics, salesforce ... without engineering power

Cons

The capacity to decide which events are sent to each vendors to limit data overusage

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Modern data consolidation solution

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

There’s nothing out there that even comes close to Segment. With just a single integration we can funnel our data to all the essential tools that we use to run out business (Intercom, Amplitude, Google Analytics and many more)

Cons

Nothing specific. Everything works great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Segment Data collection

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very good and solve the key pain point very well

Pros

3rd party integration is very good , ease of use and whole ecosystem

Cons

Pricing after free tier is very steep instead of restricting free tier on no of sources it should restrict on number of data points or MAU

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Segment help turn your data into dollars

Reviewed 2 years ago

My overall experience with Segment has been incredible. Never before have I

Pros

There's no single thing I like most about Segment. The mere power to connect all our web properties, product/platform touch points, and marketing campaigns into a central database is incredible, and that's what Segment is all about. It's the whole package that impresses me. Need to sort email interaction data into your database, while filtering out users who have engaged with your product in the last 48 hours, while tracking inbound clicks on your product pages? Yeah, Segment can do all that at the same time and way, way more. I don't know how we did business before.

Cons

Segment has a steep learning curve. It took weeks to really come to grips with everything that Segment can do and how to do it. This is not a weakness, but just be prepared for a lengthy implementation period.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Integration and journey

Reviewed 8 months ago

Its really good but not extreme.

Pros

This will be very simple to integrate with any website in short time. The clear understanding of user activities via your api calls. This event module will helpsl us to analysis what user did in the page and what they are trying to make it. If something's broken when user browse, we could pretty much identify easily by debugging via segment instead of searching our code base log files.

Cons

User funnel is not much as per the exception. When I want to compare the multiple user journey, I couldn't feel much.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lifesaver for growth & marketing tech stack

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- Implement tracking once, automatically and consistently send data to all downstream destinations - Hundreds of integrations (and, with the recent Zapier integration, millions of possible combinations) - Easy to understand pricing

Cons

- Integration implementation can vary widely. Documentation is usually thorough, but often confusing / complicated / out of date / (in the case of beta integrations) not accessible or non-existent - At scale, I could see costs spiraling pretty rapidly

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

really great, simple analytics platform

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Extreme flexibility with data. because segment is just a loudspeaker for your event tracking and analytics, it can be piped to any other platform. the problem with vertically integrated analytics tools is that they create a walled garden for your data. Segment prevents your data from being hoarded by allowing you to directly pipe it into your own data warehouse, for no extra cost.

Cons

No cons were added to this review