App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Kayako Reviews

Overall rating

4.0

/5

164

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7.58/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

Pros and cons

Control of the conversations with my costumers, insights of what they need (What kind of doubts they have), a nice support that helps me with the configuration, a beautiful landpage for my articles.
I really like the clean and simple interface. Its a pleasure to use and looks really nice on a mretina screen.
I like the UI and again, the ease of use. The system is quick to pick up and is easy to recommend to someone.
The migration to the new version was horrible. There was little communication and I had to keep following up.
Features and functionality missing or not working.
I have used this and I am surprised that the review at your website is so much biased.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


164 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Brandon L.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We have used kayako for years now. It's very valuable to our day-to-day operations.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very easy to use. Helps us track hundreds of email tickets daily.

Pros

It's been easy to use, and makes it easy to stay on top of many different customer issues. Whenever we have had a question Kayako support is able to fix the issue quickly in real time.

Cons

I really don't have a negative comment to say about the software. It's invaluable to our operation. Kayako customer support is alway able to assist quickly in real time.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Recent price changes made it too expensive for us

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have our helpdesk using this every day. We get very few user complaints about the ticket system itself.

Pros

Admin tools for automatically dealing with tickets are great. Actually handling tickets is very easy, as is adding internal notes.

Cons

Agent ability to search tickets is lacking. We had to make some changes to let our supervisors see every ticket message even if it is deleted by an agent. We could never get the knowledgebase to work the way we wanted. Sometimes it is not clear who is getting copied on any specific ticket reply.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Software is buggy, support is not keeping up with requests. India-based support.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

- Standard support tracking software not trying to "re-invent" how support should run. - Price is "ok", but alternatives should be considered first, given more mature platforms are available for the same price point. - Ability to offer Email / Chat / Social support which are well integrated - KB articles is included which is good, fairly configurable on the visual front (ie more than Intercom) - Ready to go if you are looking for a simple support system with a single team / person / level of support.

Cons

- The integration with the KB articles is incomplete and there is no value-add in using a single platform for both KB + Ticketing. - Live Chat messenger is limited in functionality - We have discovered that the software was completely overhaul 2 years ago to make it cloud-based (previously server installed) and not as stable as one would expect for a 10 yo company. - Their support is passing the "buck" continuously and ends up closing issues which were not resolved. - features are promised to be delivered with ETA and are either not delivered or half-baked - full disclosure we are planning on migrating away within 3 months.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rodrigo C.

Computer Software,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Support system missing a CRM

Reviewed 5 years ago

We had Zendesk before but Kayako is a really serious support ticket system I wish the price were better

Pros

Easy to use, depending on your license is very customizable. Once the ticket is created adding notes, screenshots and files is really simple and fast

Cons

API or link to CRM directly is really needed External add on works but with serious limitations. Old kayako had a voip system to do phone calls

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel T.

51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We've used Kayako for years and it's been great!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great product. Great Support.

Pros

Simple, Easy to Use, Customisable and Good Support. We've used this software for over 6 years now and it's never let us down.

Cons

Some areas could use updating but they're not broken, just need some improvement :) Also the recent pricing increase was expected but of course paying more for something is always a dislike :)

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fairly good help-desk system

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is fairly easy to navigate through this software and sort through tickets. The custom views that you can create allow you to be able to chose what information on the tickets will appear in your ticket queue. Also the built in knowledge base is a helpful tool.

Cons

My only complaint is that there is not a feature to enter and keep track of inventory like other help-desk systems.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Alex L.

Telecommunications, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

We used Support Suite for tickewting emails and live chat

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

At the time, this tool was the big guy in the industry. It was overall very easy to use, and the support chat function was a gamechanger for us.

Cons

Pay to upgrade was the old way of doing things.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Internet,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great software for keep track of help desk inquiries

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Very easy to use and manage, great interface for help desk purposes that allows users to be assigned to various cases.

Cons

Could be easier in terms of archiving and searching for cases and would like to see more robust reporting features.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Like it, but needs a few more features

Reviewed 5 years ago

we upgraded from an older version and were able to retain old data.

Pros

live chat function is really helpful. easy to keep track of all customers questions and responses. I like the merge function. it really helps to condense multiple tickets when a customer keeps sending requests on the same topic without replying back to the original email response.

Cons

has a few bugs that keep it from being the best ticket system. there is no option to delete or remove notes. there is no option to EDIT notes. that is seriously needed as an upgrade.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Easy to use but lacks new age quality

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Having complete control of the software including custom branding makes using Kayako a good software support system. Everything is very simple to use and new users can pick up the software very fast.

Cons

There are features that are confusing to a beginning user. It does not integrate with other software very easily if at all where other support systems do.

HM
AvatarImg

Hannah M.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Kayako From a Customer Service Perspective

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It it nice to be able to pull up multiple conversations/tickets within one window, as it made it easy to switch between current ongoing projects and also complete research with little confusion. Also, Kayako shows in real-time who is looking at a ticket, thus it made it easy for Customer Service as we could see if someone was already working on that ticket. One of the nice things about Kayako was the ability to see when the recipients of an email opened it or looked at it. If there were several recipients, it would break down who opened the email, when. Thus, from a documentation standpoint, if someone was claiming to have never received an email, we were able to show that they had in fact opened the email.

Cons

There were few reporting tools and there was no way to set follow-up tasks. We relied on setting reminders on another system like our Google calendar. Also, Kayako was getting quite expensive, which was one of the big factors in our company switching to a different ticketing system.

cw
AvatarImg

cindy w.

Building Materials, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Kayako rocks

Reviewed a year ago

Awesome Love it!

Pros

Ease of use and consistency, quality cost effective

Cons

Nothing really, just the spam. Too many spam sometimes but you'll learn to cl;ean it up

AS
AvatarImg

Allison S.

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Kayako is an advance in potential customers.

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been able to establish better attention with potential clients within my company, in this way, it has had a better control and thus obtain better finances. Potential customers have been satisfied when we use Kayako because we serve them at any time of the day.

Pros

The best thing about Kayako is that it has many, many ways to communicate with a potential client, and this is very important and very influential because it allows a connection with more progress and makes the client get more attention.

Cons

I think you should improve a couple of things, such as prices, and customer service, the design should leave it as it is since it gives a lot of comfort and is nice, but should fix the support by 80% so that a better customer service.

EC
AvatarImg

Ed C.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product. Works well. Customer Support stinks.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Just a very nice, easy to use helpdesk service.

Pros

Layout is nice, many great features, customize-able, good price, very easy to use, very easy to set up and implement.

Cons

Customer services stinks. If anything goes technically wrong their tech support is outsourced. The workers work 9-5 so the only way to talk to them in the USA is by staying up until 2am. The tech support that you talk to during USA hours are fairly helpful with basic things but take a long time to get back to you.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome platform, great service!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Kayako provides the flexibility we need to keep engaged and communicated both with our external and internal customers. Our support departments love the simplicity and clarity of the communication, and our clients have gained a tool through which they feel close to our team. Working with Kayako has made our life easier!

Cons

There are not many cons to our experience. Even as we believe that the tool might help us better integrate additional internal users to simplify the behind-the-scenes processes we have, we do believe that they way the tool is built now is great.

JJ
AvatarImg

Jack J.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to buy and easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We have really liked Kayako's ability to provide context. Unlike other solutions out there, Kayako gives us a complete view of every interaction a customer or prospect has had with our business. This includes interactions with agents as well as software we have integrated on our site (for example paypal). If a payment fails we know of it before a user gets in touch. And when they do we're ready with a solution. The Customer journeys and conversations feature is fantastic. Really puts customer and prospect interaction history at my teams fingertips.

Cons

There are times my team is unavailable and during that time i feel a chatbot could really help direct users to resources. We are making do without it right now but i imagine such a feature would take things to the next level and make life easy for both our team and our customers.

JP
AvatarImg

Joe P.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Kayako has changed our member experience because now members have one central platform for support.

Reviewed 5 years ago

great customer service

Pros

The way you can have email flow into Kayako and form request in one system. The macros which allow quick answers to everyday request. The tech support is great and always have a solution

Cons

To change from Classic to the hosted version is a big change and if you have customized pages something will not transfer over.

Sr
AvatarImg

Sterling r.

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Stable and easy to use software

Reviewed 5 years ago

Able to easily support clients with questions.

Pros

Super stable, secure, trouble free. Reply via email is quick and convenient. Easy to ban users and manage staff.

Cons

Some advanced settings can be hard to find. The change from perpetual to subscription based fees was not welcomed and significantly increased the cost of the software.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Kayako Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, Kayako works fairly well. I use it daily in my IT role to support our organizations users and to manage tickets.

Pros

Kayako is an efficient ticket management system and it's affordable.

Cons

Occasionally there will be issues when creating tickets or adding attachments and multiple attempts will need to be made.

SD
AvatarImg

Stephen D.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

excellent product and support. have been using for years and highly recommend

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like that we are able to integrate it into our workflow using the APIs. It is easy to use and helps us manage lots of support email and phone calls.

Cons

It has got more costly over the years, with a per-user-per-month license fee and support requires a separate support fee

BB
AvatarImg

B. B.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Kayako has been effective for our company.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I most like the easy real-time communication that is possible through Kayako. We are able to quickly assist our customers because of it.

Cons

I wish I could delete the feature that tells the customer approx. how long it will take us to respond. When we receive a chat outside of our business hours, we aren't able to get back with them until the next day. This causes our "time to respond" to give an inaccurate estimate.

RL
AvatarImg

Ryan L.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ideal for new company

Reviewed a year ago

Very helpful to start-up business as it provides total help desk and customer support in a more efficient manner. The product is recommended to all types of business especially the starting ones

Pros

An application where can make your life easy as they provide quality help desk solutions to the business.

Cons

The application is a little bit pricy compared to other help desk solution provider

MP
AvatarImg

Melissa P.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

It has been a good experience except when it comes to renew licensing.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Ease of use, features, email alerts, categories, issues identifications, ticket statuses, the notes sections are very important to us.

Cons

Pricing is high, didn't work well with Jira plugin and other plugins we wanted to integrate with Kayako.

CE
AvatarImg

Cairn E.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great support platform.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

We like the ease of use, flexible and customisable reports. These are paramount for supporting our customers.

Cons

The cost is a little high for our budget. Also, the design interface is becoming a little dated for our clients.

NW
AvatarImg

Nathan W.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

We have Kayako classic cloud. Good for a basic support but overpriced and no plugins.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Simple to use and setup. The ability to setup escalation and different groups of users allowed us to manage multiple support teams.

Cons

The interface for Kayako Cloud Classic is dated. There are no plugins to the cloud version of classic meaning we had to manually copy tickets to our internal ticket board for long term feature requests.