BambooHR Reviews

BambooHR Reviews

BambooHR

Personalized HR software for SMBs

4.49/5 (254 reviews)
22,673     9,636

Brooke  Jensen

Everything You Could Ever Need

21/03/2017

I could probably write a whole book about why I think organizations should be using BambooHR. I am currently a one-woman show at my company and was running most of our processes on dropbox and drive documents. BambooHR has freed up so much of my time, allowing me to be more strategic and take better care of my team. Bamboo makes our company even more organized and improves the hiring to on-boarding experience by 1000%. Let's start with the Applicant Tracking Software. I went from having no ATS and using google docs to Bamboo and it has made my life so much easier and our lines of communication to applicants even better. It allows me to stick to deadlines, keep everything in one place, and never misplace an applicant. I don't know how I would have gotten through hiring for our summer internship program (180 applicants) with out this software. On-boarding: incredible. I can send a new hire packet to my new hire and they feel so well communicated with every step of the way. Being able to fill out their paperwork online is so important - they can do most of it before they even step into our office. Then they have access to everything later - what more could they (or I) want? Reporting time off - We have unlimited vacation but still use Bamboo to keep track of where people are and how many days are spent out of the office. It's so incredibly easy to set up and my freedom loving team loves using it. (There is even an app!) The day to day - it makes everything easier. I have everyone's phone numbers, addresses, SSNs, EVERYTHING in one place. I'm an evangelist for a reason, it's hands down the best thing I've implemented for my team.

Pros

So simple, effective, customizable. Customer service is amaaaazing. You can do everything you would possibly want and now they have payroll.

Cons

I literally don't not like a thing about Bamboo.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering BambooHR

Just go for it. It's a very cost effective way to make your life easier. If your manager is on the fence about purchasing, they can call me and I will talk their ear off about it and you'll be able to do your job even better once you have it in place.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Patch Garcia

ot better than and Excel spreadsheet.

13/03/2017

In an Excel spreadsheet one can move/archive candidates who are no longer in the running. This is not possible with the BambooHR. In other words, with BambooHR you're forced to keep EVERY APPLICANT who applies. This means that as your pipeline grows so does the time it takes to move around. Once the role contains several hundred applicants you must slog through multiple pages (10+ ?) of information that's only slowing you down. As we veterans know, time is money and efficiency is the key to success.

Pros

Easy UI (user interface). Inexpensive. Quick password changing/finding tool. Rating stars 1-5 is good. Can sort by date, stars, status, name, etc. Quick link to Linkedin profile (an absolute must), allows companies to write their own email templates. Works much like

Cons

Limited. Can't move candidates to another role (Change from Project Manager to Project Analyst, for example). Can't archive: don't want to see all those folks who don't even meet the minimum qualifications for the role. Company is NOT open to adding or updating features. We wrote to them and got a canned answer back from the engineering team via our customer service rep. A company that doesn't take advice from its users isn't going to make it in this highly competitive industry for very long.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sam Mai

BambooHR Review

01/03/2017

I like the simplicity yet with adequate features that a small company would need.

Pros

Simplicity Domestic customer support team

Cons

limited customization

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Keepper

Great Value for the Price

28/02/2017

Pros

It is very cost effective for a smaller company and it is very easy to use. The video tutorials and customer service team are also very helpful.

Cons

Because the cost is lower, the functionality isn't as great as more expensive systems and there isn't as many options to customize certain features within the platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
sandip sandip

Complex but very rich features

28/02/2017

I have used this software one of the working company and found useful for employee and employer. I also likes User interface.

Pros

- UI - Lot of Features

Cons

- Complex

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dan Griffiths

Great, Intuitive HRIS

25/02/2017

Perfect for a company that doesn't need a massive system and wants something they can implement quickly and inexpensively.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Valeska Wanke

We recently signed up to use Bamboohr services. So far we like all the features that we've been using. It has made our tracking of new hires much more easier.

22/02/2017

Pros

Easy to track and customize the job openings applicants and communicate with them. Also the employee's database is really helpfull. they also have a good customer service.

Cons

We would like to customize the email address to the company one when communicating with the applicants.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jessica Higbee

BambooHR is amazing!

22/02/2017

I love using BambooHR! It holds and organizes all of our HR paperwork automatically! We have been using BambooHR for a few years now and I really love all of the changes that they have made in the last year or so! It has made it easier to use and give me more functionality I love it!!

Pros

How easy it is to use and all of the extra functions that they are coming out with.

Cons

The customer service is a little lacking when I have to call and ask questions. Their staff is not as knowledgeable as I would like or expect. I do always get my questions or problems worked out but it can be a little time consuming.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Simon

Wasn't right for us

17/02/2017

The system didn't have even functionality for our users. Would be great if there were more options for file storage/sharing and easier navigation.

Pros

Beautiful layout and easy to use.

Cons

Not enough features to create a robust HRIS database.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Theresa Martin

HR Director

15/02/2017

BambooHR is an AWESOME tool that helps us to keep all our employee data in one place. Whenever I need help with BambooHR, their support team is very knowledgeable in getting me the answers. Even if they do not necessarily have the answer I am looking for, the team always points me to additional resources to help find me a solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sue Kim

Excellent customer service and user friendly

15/02/2017

The implementation experience was seamless and well supported not only by our implementation specialist but also the support team afterwards. The product is user friendly and flexible to adjust to various needs of the organization.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alicia Hanawalt

Bamboo HR is Amazing

14/02/2017

I have used other HRIS systems with prior companies; however, Bamboo HR is by far my favorite. The current company has less than 60 employees and did not have a HRIS. Since implementing Bamboo HR, the report feature, automated emails for trainings, directory, and employee profiles has made my job more efficient. I absolutely love the app - and so do my managers.

Pros

The ease of use.

Cons

I wish I could customize the app home page as we don't use the time off feature of bamboo.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Freya Reynolds

Verified Reviewer

Needs to expand beyond the USA

13/02/2017

As an employee it's an easy framework to use but as an admin it's pretty tricky. It's quite a complex backend system. I joined for the integrated aspect of performance reviews which I was led to believe could be tailored and it doesn't appear that they can

Pros

Good layout. ........

Cons

Being based in the UK and only being able to gain customer support during US West coast working hours is frustrating. If an error occurs in the morning I have to wait the whole day before I can attempt to get it rectified.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering BambooHR

For those outside of the USA consider it thoroughly before making the step. If you rely on support it's probably not the best option for you.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Josipa Kovacevic

I recommend bambooHR to all who want to have an "all in one" tool

07/02/2017

I have evaluated many tools. In the end bambooHR offered me everything I was looking for: - all in one tool - good design - user friendly - good support although a different continent

Pros

It is a tool that has all in one and there is no need for other tools. Also it is very easy to use and has a great design.

Cons

Time-off has potential for improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dale Jakins

Literally saved my bacon!

06/02/2017

I'm a brand new HR employee and I needed structure that was a) affordable b) functional c) easy to implement and d) something I could train our leadership on that was very user friendly. BambooHR saved my bacon! I am so thankful that the process took less than a month from soup to nuts and it's just been an amazing experience all around. If you're anywhere close to the same boat I'm in, just go for it! You will not regret it and you'll be glad you did! I've loved the system and very much an overnight fan.

Pros

Ease of use. Friendliness and professionalism of BambooHR employees. High functionality and high value add for a very tight budget.

Cons

A few limitations, but honestly, everything in the system planning from Bamboo's side has been well thought out and I couldn't find a lot of complaints even if I tried.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kadesh Simms

Great User-friendly system

01/02/2017

BambooHR has a great user interface and is easy to navigate. It is not the cheapest option but it is well-organized, user-friendly easy to set up and to utilize. How they handle performance reviews is very easy and not complicated.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melissa Johnson

Great for start ups or small companies

01/02/2017

We did not end up going forward with implementation for BambooHR, but I liked the fact that they allowed for a pretty extensive demo/trial site to make sure it would fit your needs. It ended up being a little too small for us, we were already using other tools and systems wherein BambooHR would not have solved all of our gaps. It's more geared toward companies that are completely paper-based or using spreadsheets. Great for a startup.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Haley Mitchell

Decent program, could be cheaper

01/02/2017

I have enjoyed using this program, though I feel the price might be a little high for its limited features. Have not ever used customer service, but it seems they are easily available.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Valerie Kelling

Excellent HR Resource

31/01/2017

BambooHR is very user-friendly has many great features, is a great place to keep and store employee files and information all in one place, and it is easy to set access for users. You can post jobs, onboard, request signatures on forms, upload documents, manuals, set your own PTO policy's and have as many policies's as you want/need and manage the time taken, run employee evaluations, etc. There are many reports which are clear, easy to run and are a very useful for many departments to use. I would highly recommend this product for anyone looking for a simple, easy-to-use, cost-effective HR resource.

Pros

Ease of use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Deanna McDermott

BambooHR is Fantastic

31/01/2017

This product makes an HR expert's life a dream for having all employee information online and in one place. Onboarding and offboarding process are customizable and very user friendly. The reporting feature with over 30 standard reports helps HR have data at their fingertips. The simple touches of including employee pictures and celebrating milestones and birthdays are important and now easy. And the people at BambooHR are truly amazing from sales to implementation to ongoing support, no question is ever a bother and you get answers promptly so you can provide them to your management and team. Our company is very happy to have BambooHR as our HRIS...make it yours too.

Pros

It is super easy to implement and there are so many features that help make doing HR simple.

Cons

You cannot assign emails by name, only by job title. Some employees have manager titles without managing staff so it can be difficult to send information and ensure it gets sent to only those who need it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sharon Slonaker

Solid HRIS for SMBs

27/01/2017

I've used BambooHR is small, growing companies of 50 -150. It gives you most of the functionality you're looking for and will eliminate most, if not all, of your manual processes. Their continuously adding new modules like recruiting and onboarding. I've found these extras to be okay but not the best available. If you don't have these tools, then it's a good place to start.

Pros

The UI is clean and the system is easy to set up and maintain. The employee self-service was also easy and intuitive for our employees to use. They have many different modules that can be added to address many of your HR needs. It integrates with many other SaaS providers, so we were able to link our ATS and performance management tools.

Cons

Doesn't integrate with all of the payroll providers, so we had to maintain two separate systems. Fortunately, the payroll provider was able to handle the integration with our benefits provider and the carrier feeds.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Danielle Quan

Easy to Use, Great Management

27/01/2017

It took our Company a long time to realize we needed some kind of software to manage our employees -- It was becoming a total pain keeping track of everything in the HR department, and when we spotted this software, it was perfect. We had no trouble setting up, and it has made life far more easier in the office. Any help we need, we can count on the Customer Support. It's perfect.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sheri Grupp

Easy to Use

27/01/2017

We tried BambooHR and the software was really easy to use and it was so easy to track where in the hiring process our new hires were. If you're looking for an ATS/Onboarding system, this is probably the best for the money. The only reason we didn't stick with it is because it didn't have all the features we were really needed one system to track applicants, placements, changes in assignments and pay rates, etc.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alexandra Rusnic

Love Bamboo-ing!

26/01/2017

We are a small company but found that general HR tasks were very time to consume and overwhelming since employees here wear multiple 'hats' -- BambooHR was just what we needed. For the price, this software has some great features and grows with the company. As a user, the company will also send out emails for training and other external events for interested parties - another great benefit of BambooHR!

Pros

So many features to make HR as easy as possible. Different training areas can be set up for multiple staff types, dashboard makes checking upcoming employee announcements easy to follow (such as time off, birthdays, anniversaries, etc). Enjoy the ease of uploading documentation into employee files as well as the employees having access to particular areas and documents (which can all be assigned by Admin). Additional software can be implemented and used right along with BambooHR - also a plus. The company sends out emails reporting pending updates to the software so we always feel like a part of the changes as they are occurring instead of after the fact.

Cons

While we love the ability to make pdf files editable, don't like the amount of time it takes to set them up. Once they are set up, they work great until an update of the document is needed - which means another set-up. Offering current subscribers new products at a discount (or free) would be great. Since we are a smaller company, we can't often spend - spend - spend but BambooHR does offer continued options for subscribers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering BambooHR

Suggest others find out exactly what they need from the software.... the list of needs / wants, etc. and go from there. Not all software is created the same so do your homework before jumping in.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Samantha Glasberg

Really happy with BambooHR

24/01/2017

We switched to BambooHR and I'm really thrilled we did. It's super easy to use, my team likes it and has been helpful in keeping us organizing. I can't imagine my day without it now! For a small company (30 people) - this is the PERFECT tool.

Pros

Ease of use, interface, the value of what you get for your $$$, multiple partners to integrate with, etc.

Cons

Setting up permissions is a little more complicated than I think it should be. Setting up and getting documents signed is also difficult. I wish the ATS had more features but that's just being nitpicky. You get so much with Bamboo for so little!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more