Help Scout Reviews

Help Scout Reviews

Help Scout

Web-based help desk designed for a great customer experience

4.85/5 (71 reviews)
1,993     8,859

Dustin Danelius

Verified Reviewer

Help Scout is fantastic

05/02/2017

Been using Help Scout for years. The main reason I went with them over others was the still small business feel you can give your customers even with dozens of employees being involved in customer interaction. The tickets are silent to the customer, unlike many other products which a customer is nothing more than a ticket.

Pros

- Easy interface - Lower learning curve - Continually improving - Good customer support - All cloud based

Cons

- Per-user costs can add up

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Help Scout

I recommend you try it, it's a great product.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Beaumont

Terrific product. Great UI. Does lack on the integrations

05/02/2017

We've used Help Scout for several years. It's been a great product, really served us well. One of their best features is actually their marketing and weekly (twice a week now?) blog posts on Support, Marketing, and other related fields.

Pros

Super easy UI. I don't have to train newbies on using Help Scout for more than 10-15 minutes. It's that simple to use. VERY customer focused. It's not about a bunch of bells and whistles that are flashy fish hooks only intended to get bought by fishermen but not actually catch fish. Their product signs for the customer and the Support rep in it 8+ hours a day.

Cons

The lack of integrations. They just rolled out with a Salesforce integration, but lack integrations in other areas. Also, they're primarily focused on email so tracking chats and calls aren't that helpful...you would need to drop that data into Redshift, Gooddata, Domo, etc. to get much functionality in it. So unless you do that, you're stuck compiling a bunch in Google Sheets. Caveat: if all you do is email and maybe chat, then this product is everything you need and more.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Help Scout

Definitely. Review Zendesk and a couple other offerings, but Help Scout is fantastic for small and medium teams. Where Zendesk shines with their management level controls and granular options, they fail in the actual UI and "using it every day" area. Help Scout is the inverse.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lucas Karpiuk

Easy to use, flexible, and great support

01/02/2017

We've been using Help Scout for ticket management for about three years. Prior to Help Scout we had used several others, most notably Zendesk. We found that Help Scout was the easiest for our team to use, while still providing a good set of features for customization. The support team at Help Scout has been fantastic as well; they've been very receptive to feature suggestions, quick to resolve what few issues we've encountered, and every contact with them has been a great experience. That last part is important; I personally deal with the support teams of a dozen or so vendors on a regular basis and sometimes the lack of attention to detail and reading comprehension in level 1 support is astounding. Very refreshing!

Pros

Easy to use.

Cons

No android app, but the web app is still quite functional on a small screen.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Omar AlEisa

Easy and Powerful

08/01/2017

Our work became much more efficient ever since we started using Help Scout for our customer support. I love their ticketing system and the ability to assign tickets to different employees and write internal notes. I also love their saved replies feature that could include variables such as the name of the customer.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cammy Ang

Move over Zendesk, I now love Help Scout!

14/12/2016

They make it simple to set up to run a small support team. Creating docs are as easy as creating a blog post too. Having one inbox for all the team to attend to is also helping us, and for sure others who are using this. And of course, the saved replies save us a lot of time. Move over Zendesk, I now love Help Scout!

Pros

It works much more like an inbox. Logical ticketing system. Set up one inbox that could be managed by multiple people (Even their FREE plan has this!)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carl Nasal

Best Customer Support Software with the Best Customer Support

07/12/2016

Having tried or reviewed every customer support solution we could find, we have found Help Scout to be the best solution because of it being as simple to use as regular email, yet powerful enough to handle all of our company's communication. Help Scout is the key tool we use in our web development and hosting business, handling all of our client communication and allowing us to easily discuss requests internally, pass around messages, and provide quicker response times to our clients while making our lives easier. Additionally, the customer support Help Scout provides is the best we've ever seen. They are super friendly, very quick to respond, and understand requests the first time. They are the model for customer support, and they even blog regularly about how to provide great customer support with very useful tips.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike Mackenzie

A great tool for organization!

06/12/2016

We use Help Scout on a daily basis to receive, track and send emails to countless customers. It's a great tool that helps us stay organized!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Roxane Ost

Great value for your money and ease of use!

06/12/2016

This is a great straightforward ticketing system, with awesome built-in reporting. There is no learning curve with this tool, which makes it easy to train new support hires as it is all very intuitive. I love the reporting functions which is also very easy to use. Prefer this over zendesk!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Greg Habstritt

Verified Reviewer

Completely changed our business - for the better

17/11/2016

Most companies using Help Desk software are in software development, tech or online commerce of some kind. We're in the boring, traditional business of veterinary medicine practice, and deal with hundreds of emails a day from clients and the rest of the outside world. We're the only vet company I know of that uses a help desk, and we use Help Scout - and absolutely LOVE it. We did use Zendesk previously, but found that it's way too complicated and not very personal. Pet owners don't want to be given a ticket # and feel like they're speaking to a robot. Help Scout solved that immediately when we switched. We have a lot of complex conversations via email that require multiple people being involved, communicating internal messages to each other about certain threads, etc. etc. Help Scout is absolutely fantastic, because it's very elegant in it's simplicity - but tremendously powerful in it's capability. On top of that, we've found their support team to be kick ass, highly responsive and always eager to try and figure out a solution to any issue we bring them. We are very loyal Help Scout clients, and plan to be for a long time.

Pros

- extremely simple to use and understand as a user - treats communications like human beings and provides a much more personal feel to communication (as opposed to making people feel like numbers) - fantastic support team that's very responsive and solution focused - solid API that allows you to bring in data from other apps so that you have a consolidated view of a client, beyond just their email history

Cons

- wish that the interface could be a little more customized for our specific needs - really don't have any downsides to it - it's a great product

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Help Scout

If you've looked at help desks and felt they were overpowering or too complicated to use, Help Scout is the antidote. Using it is like using an email client, and our clients feel like they're emailing individually to someone as opposed a big team. I love that they do away with the "ticket number" mentality which makes most help desks feel robotic and sterile. We've loved being with Help Scout as the product has gotten even better, and we're grateful for the massive amount of simplicity the product brings to our workflow.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laurel Grey

Verified Reviewer

My business would be totally lost without Help Scout

23/06/2016

We use Help Scout within our small team to manage ALL customer interactions. It's amazing, and we love the mobile app for ease of communication within the team. This way nothing falls through the cracks and customers get a fast response time.

Pros

- Super simple user interface - Built in canned responses make collaborating with the team really easy - Ability to add notes between team members - Merge feature between tickets to streamline operations

Cons

- Load time can be slow when forwarding in emails - No real-time notification when a new ticket comes in (you have to constantly refresh the page)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris  Quandt

Help Scout streamlines workflow

26/04/2016

Pros

Saved reply's and search feature. Really enjoy how this increases productivity and workflow.

Cons

Help Scout doesn't refresh as often as I would like.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Help Scout

I would recommend trying out all the features as best as you can

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Harrison Bond

HelpScout is literally the best support software ever!

26/04/2016

Pros

Helpscout is so easy and intuitive to use. I love that there are saved replies so I can easily communicate, with consistent solid messaging, concerns over similar issues to my customer base.

Cons

I have yet to find something I dislike about Help Scout, no joke!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Help Scout

I've been using Help Scout for over a year now. I fell in love with it after one month. Give it at least one month and I'm sure you'll fall in love with it too!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dom Briggs

Love the branding, great UI, lighting fast support

18/04/2016

I find the interface nicely designed, lots of good spacing and font sizing. Features are great, sometimes very very rarely it might feel a tiny bit slow moving through cases but that never affects usability. The support are really friendly and very fast. Overall a great product and I would recommend it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Adam Donovan

Best Ticket Manager I have Ever Used

13/04/2016

Pros

Help Scout is fast and efficient. Everything works smoothly 95% of the time, and for the other 5% their support team is on it, making you aware of slow down + new features. I could not imagine running a support team of any type without Help Scout.

Cons

I have to stretch to think of a negative, but I have wished that we could get reports on the click-through rates for emails. Some mass email features would be nice as well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Help Scout

I have looked at 5-6 other companies that offer similar, if not identical features, but no other company comes close to the sleekness. Their support is amazingly responsive, and you will not find a better product short of spending hundreds more! Could not suggest it more highly. :)

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jiri Richter

Splendid UI, best of all helpdesk software we have used. Customer service is great.

31/03/2016

Using HS since 2014, this is the best helpdesk we could find. , , in paid plan there is email automation. Best ui.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonathan Lansey

The absolute best, crucial for running my ecommerce business

28/03/2016

The helpscout interface makes it really easy to send personalized messages to customers extremely quickly and easily. It separates emails from customers into separate threads even if they are responding to the same email, so that it you never miss responding to a customer. Adding team members is seamless and allows you to quickly use the help of support staff (if you have any). Another crazy-awesome feature is the relevant information they loop in. The two I used on a daily basis are: The shopify interface so I know about a customer's previous orders with me, and the mailchimp interface so I know if they signed up, when they did, and can even add a customer to a mailing list in 2 clicks. I can't recommend Helpscout enough. --Jonathan

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sierra Tuttle

Awesome software with even better customer service

22/03/2016

Help Scout has made it easy for our team members to be up to speed with any new communication the group has made and makes our clients feel like they have a true team rallied behind them. The integration's have given our clients an easy way to tell us how we're doing, and the reports make it easy to make sure our team members are hitting their numbers and serving our customers well. What I'm most impressed with is the level of customer service. They are quick to respond, friendly, and will help out in any situation even if the root problem doesn't have anything to do with their software. Their level of customer service is one to be admired and modeled after.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Todd Balsley

Bringing Happiness to Buffer customers

17/03/2016

Love Helpscout. It's only fitting that they have amazing support for being a support service company. :D The tools in HS are extremely critical to the success of our relationship with our customers! :)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robin Carman

We use it to handle emails regarding our app and services

09/03/2016

Great for repetitive responses from users, Saved Replies saves us so much time. The system also keeps track of customers, so that we can keep track of their concerns over time and act accordingly. Very intuitive and their support team are very responsive and helpful.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andre Esteves Perrone

Very good software for client support

07/03/2016

I am start using help scout as my support ticket system and I am really glad with the features and support! 10/10

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel Hutchinson

Our company has been using Help Scout for a little over a year now.

03/03/2016

We are a small business that has been steadily growing over the past two years. We began searching for a unified help desk service about 18 months ago. We tried another service first but found the cost and initial setup too daunting. We began a trial of Help Scout shortly thereafter. During our trial the Help Scout staff was eager and willing to offer assistance but I never felt pressured into committing to anything until I knew it was the right service for our company. They even extended our trial by two weeks because I had been so busy with other things I hadn't had enough time to test it out. In the beginning we only used the service to handle our e-mail and fax business. The fact that Help Scout integrates with our phone/fax service as well as our live chat service is awesome! Over the course of the next year we began utilizing more and more of the services and features Help Scout offered. We have found that the company has always been quick to respond when we had a question or needed assistance and was very open to any ideas or features we would like to see. They have implemented new features that have been invaluable in our day to day operations. We found the pricing structure to be very fair and flexible to suit our needs. The initial setup was very intuitive and only took a few hours before all of our services were up and running. I never felt pressured into paying for any services we didn't need. Overall we have been very happy with their flexibility and willingness to offer assistance when needed. We've very excited to try out some of the new features just implemented in the Help Scout Plus service and appreciate the offer to test it out before we commit to upgrading. Very happy customer!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Taylor Hansen

Help Scout is pretty cool

17/02/2016

Pros

Simple and easy to use. Help Scout is fairly reliable and has given our team a way to efficiently answer support requests.

Cons

Does have some down time and a couple "bugs". I was told that the bug I reported would be fixed in a future release.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Help Scout

Great product for a team looking to handle a larger volume of email support requests.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jesse Bye

Help Scout - a help desk that doesn't suck

17/02/2016

Pros

First of all, Help Scout does exactly what it needs to (facilitate organized, efficient conversations between customers and support people) without getting in the way. The UI is great (especially since 2015) and the workflows are easy to learn and relatively powerful. Keyboard shortcuts are killer. But most of all, I love that Help Scout doesn't feel "heavy" or "dated". It feels modern, fast, and clean. And the support people are just plain awesome. Oh, and did I mention their blog posts?

Cons

Like many companies, they had to grow to keep up with their customer base - which is awesome! But some of their new hires weren't the greatest at support (ironic, eh?). Also, they've had a fair share of downtime recently, though they've been excellent at communicating and building confidence even through these rough times.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Help Scout

Besides making sure that the software you choose has the features you need, I'd recommend just trialing a few solutions and seeing how hard they are to pick up and use. I was able to learn Help Scout in about 15 minutes... can you say the same about another Help Desk? Also look into the KB options (Docs is pretty good, though missing some features I'd like to see) and you'll probably want to use the same solution for both your help desk and KB, since the integrations between the two are essential.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Markovits

HelpScout - best support tool for email

08/02/2016

Pros

From the apps I've tested, Helpscout has the best and simples UX. Easy to set up and use out of the box. It's just, well, simple.

Cons

Love the team at Helpscout. Only thing I was missing was tighter integration/native IM/phone support tools.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Help Scout

If you're looking for an email support tool, or email fist tool - look no further. This is the one!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Beaumont

Organization and focus on delivering excellent customer service

07/02/2016

Pros

They are super responsive. They are pretty rad and transparent: if something goes wrong on their end they are not afraid of admitting fault. Which leads me to trusting them because I can believe them. I know that tells you very little of the product, but as leadership that's something that I really need. Other environments—blameshifting—I cannot stand and can't trust, believe, or hope that they'll hold true to their promise. We're leaving another vendor for that reason. Their system is very responsive, quick, simple, and easy to learn. There aren't too many bells and whistles which simplifies my life when onboarding new teammates. Their docs are well written and engaging.

Cons

The vendor is great! I'd say a better or more thorough live chat & phone integration would be great. We communicate with customers via email, phone, live chat, and Twitter. It's hard when all these are fairly decentralized. Help Scout *does* have a live chat integration (which we use) and we can forward VMs to Help Scout (which is great). But if you're looking for tracking call length, live chat length, or some of the other nifty metrics in one central place, you'll need to use Excel or a Google Sheet. Or use everyone's API to feed into your own system.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Help Scout

Talk with them. They are real people. They'll tell you where they are good and if you need to look elsewhere for what you need. They do email really, really well. I am stoked that we get to use them.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more

Customer testimonials for Help Scout

The following testimonials have been provided by Help Scout.

We looked at Zendesk, but it’s way too complex for our small team of 7. Help Scout is exactly what we’re looking for. Absolutely loving it!

Darren Sproats, The Lad

“We love it! Help Scout allows us to quickly and easily manage and reply to a large volume of email while still being able to interact with each and every customer one on one. It does exactly what we need without all the superfluous bells and whistles that ultimately just get in the way of focusing on what is most important: reliably communicating directly with our customers. ”

Carl, Rocket Genius

Help Scout is the best app I've used in a LONG time. It's simple and just works perfectly. Very impressed!

Carl Mercier, Codified Inc